Customer Reviews for ST. CROIX St. Croix Avid Fly Rod

ST. CROIX St. Croix Avid Fly Rod

St. Croix has completely redesigned its versatile Avid Series rods using Integrated Poly Curve® (IPC) Tooling Technology and premium, high-modulus SCIII graphite. This IPC® technology creates tapers with a continuous curve from tip to butt that result in stronger rods and actions that produce smooth, powerful casting strokes and precise line control. Fuji® Alconite stripper guides with black frames and hard chrome guides and premium cork handles. The 2 to 6-weight rods feature an ebony wood reel seat and the 7 to 10- weight rods have an anodized-aluminum reel seat with fighting butt. Comes with a 1,000-denier nylon-covered rod case with a divided polypropylene liner. Backed by St. Croix’s lifetime limited warranty. Made in USA. Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
24 out of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Review 1 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lancaster, Pa
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Small Stream Rod

Date:January 14, 2011
The Avid seris 4 wt is a great rod for small streams. Fast enough for the experienced fly fisherman, but easy to use in those tight spaces. An American manufacturer that I I took the time to call and they took the time to talk to me. Cabela's and St. Croix is a great combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mid-Alantic fishing along the coast
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

St Croix Avid Fly Rod

Date:July 12, 2010
I chose this rod for my first foray into fly fishing. I expect to do primarily bass fishing with this rod with some trout, so I chose the 6 wt rod (4 piece). It is model 906.4. It comes with a nice case.
I have done a lot of fishing over the decades, but never fly fishing. I have more than two dozen casting and spinning rods, and more than a half-dozen of them are St Croix rods. I like the brand very much and that partially influenced my decision somewhat. I have done a LOT of casting with them, ranging from saltwater to freshwater.
I wanted a responsive but forgiving rod that would be easy to learn but wouldn't be outgrown as I got better. Something at a price point that was reasonable but not at the lower end (quality without much compromise). I read a lot on the web and thought about the recommendations people made and why, plus I talked with fly fishermen including one friend who pretty much lives to fly fish.
The rod has turned out to be all that I expected. It has great feel and a good action, so you can really feel what the line and lure are doing as you learn to cast. The rod loads smoothly as you get the line moving back and forth. This will help with accuracy as I become a better fly caster. The rod is nicely balanced and you don't notice the reel when you are casting. It has quality components (guides, reel seat, handle and rod blank) and is very well made.
Two friends who have fly fishing experience tried my St. Croix rod and liked it a lot as well.
Having used it a couple of times, I would buy this same rod again. I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avid 9' 5wt

Date:May 19, 2010
Bought this rod for my wife last summer. We fish the San Juan River in Northwest New Mexico where there are pretty sizable trout. It performs like it is a more expensive model, very tight loops and very accurate. I fish with a loomis Streamdance and I sometimes catch myself pondering which rod to take when I go out by myself. Very satisfied with ST. Croix.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: albuquerque NM.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great small stream rod.

Date:March 7, 2010
I bought the A793.4 great rod for the price excellent quality rod. I fish mainly for trout in small streams in new mexico could have not picked a better rod for this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Griffith , In.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avid 9054

Date:February 23, 2010
Fishing for Bluegill and Crappie in NW Indiana doesn't get any better when using this rod. The action , fun and thrill can only be described by the look on my face. Job well done by St. Croix !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice small steam rod

Date:January 3, 2010
A good six foot rod for small streams and tight quarters. Casts well. Typical St. Croix quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Laurel MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD LIL' ROD

Date:December 21, 2009
I USE THIS ROD IN 7'9" FOR SMALL SMALL TROUT STREAMS IN EASTERN MARYLAND. I ALSO USE IT FOR FISHING FOR BLUE GILL IN MY AREA. I HAVED IT TEAMED UP WITH A ROSS FLY START REEL AND A TRIANGLE TAPER FLOATING LINE BY LEE WULFF. THIS IS A GREAT ROD WITH A NICE FEEL.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: U.S. Army soldier
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

St. Croix Avid, 9 ft. 4piece, 7 wgt.

Date:August 18, 2009
This rod is very impressive. It not only looks real nice, it also casts real nice. I am in no way an expert fly caster, but I can cosistently 60-70 ft. I like the 4 piece design because it fits in my duffel bag easily, and yet when it is all put together, it feels and casts as good as my Orvis 2 piece 7 wgt rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great all around trout rod

Date:July 18, 2009
I purchased the Avid 4wt 8ft and I am very happy with it. I do alot of smaller stream fishing in Washington and this rod is light and delicate enough to make good dry fly presentations and stiff enough to cast beadhead nymphs and indicators. I love the color of the rod also, It's a mellow color unlike other mustard colored rods i've seen. The rod has a comfortable feel. I'm glad I got this rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redding, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avid 2 pc, 9ft, 4WT

Date:July 5, 2009
This rod had some large shoes to fill. It replaced my 20+ year old Loomis IM6 that I built myself. It wasn't that my old rod was so perfect, it had simply been my friend on many fishing trips and I missed it. Unfortunately, it was a casualty of some rather cavalier hiking over rocks on the upper Sacramento River.
All that said, I absolutely love this new rod. The SCIII glass outperforms my old IM6 rod hands down. It casts longer with nice tight loops and yet has very nice touch. I have only caught a few small fish so far but I have no doubt it is up to the challenge of our large rainbows.
The rod is attractive but subdued. Also, the reel seat stays tight once the reel is inserted. There is nothing I hate worse than reel seats that periodically come loose.
I can't imagine how a more expensive rod could be so much better. All that said, it is made in the good old USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

npj3

Date:June 30, 2009
very nice do'es what more expenceive models do
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9wt 4 piece

Date:October 20, 2008
I use this as my primary rod for all salmon species in Alaska. This rod has performed flawlessly and handled every specie of salmon extremely well. Throwing those heavy salmon flies with a sinking line is no problem either. Highly recommended especially with the lifetime warranty that St. Croix has.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful fly rod - Avid 7'9' 3 weight

Date:September 8, 2008
This is a fun rod that is light weight, smooth casting and just a joy to fish with. It loads in tight very well and easily makes the short to medium casts as you would hope. Still, it has enough power when you need to lay out a longer line. Great for small to mid-sized streams where wind isn't a big factor. Perfect for mountain brookies or cuts and super for bluegills as well. I can't say enough good things about this rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Avondale, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Small Stream Rod!

Date:August 11, 2008
I own the Avid model 664.4, a 6'6", four piece rod rated for 4 weight lines. In my opinion, this is one of the best "little" rods available. It casts beautifully with either the rated 4 weight or with 3 weight lines, has enough backbone to handle scrappy fish, shows outstanding build quality, and is quite elegant to look at. At 2.5 ounces, its not the "absolute lightest" small fly rod, but it honestly feels just as light as any I've used. It breaks down into sections 21 inches long, so it's absolutely perfect for those backcountry excursions to the land of brookies and cutts, and when you get there you will have more fun catching them! The accuracy and feel of this rod makes it an absolute joy to fish, and the short length is just perfect for the small brushy streams here in AZ, or anywhere for that matter. I also own two Sage TXLs, and to tell you the truth, these cast and fish just as well and overall are just as nice. Of course, the hardware on this rod is not as nice as the TXL, but it looks quite sharp, and functions MORE than adequate, and in my opinion you are not going to be disappointed! As ultralight fly rods go, for half the price of rods such as the TXL, Orvis Superfine, or any number of other expensive small rods, this rod is a no-brainer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennington, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Versatile Rod!

Date:July 10, 2008
I have owned the 8 ft 4wt Avid for 2 seasons and have been consistently pleased across a range of fishing situations. From small pond bluegill to solid largemouth and large brown trout this rod delivers. It is impressively sensitive, provides excellent feel when casting or fighting fish, and has surprising backbone. I have a previous generation Avid that I also love, but the new version looks and acts more refined. Excellent!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avid 7'6" 4WT 4PC

Date:May 21, 2008
This is my second St. Croix fly rod. I bought this rod for trout fishing in some of the mid to small streams here in Virginia. I decided to take it down to the pond on my property to give it a few casts and was extremly pleased at the action and casting ability of this rod. I then tied on a small leech to see if a bluegill would bite. I had caught about 8 - 10 when there was a large splash at the fly. To my surprise I hooked and landed a bass that was about 4 1/2 pounds. This rod is amazing. The sensitivity for the little bluegills and then the strength to land this bass. I can't wait to get back up in the mountains and chase some trout.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avid 4pc 10 wt

Date:February 14, 2008
I live in Alaska and fish for all types of salmon with this great rod I've had this rod for 5 years and fished it hard every season still its like new , if your looking for a geat rod that you want to last this is a must buy .I also have a 6 wt 4 pc for trout I'll never buy another brand of rod .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Charlestown RI.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rod

Date:December 27, 2007
I use the 4pc. 7'9'' 3wt. to tackle trout in eastern CT.. This rod has great accuracy needed for short delicate presentations, but enough power to cast up to 50 60 feet. I love the backbone in this rod it gives you plenty of power to haul in the big ones. I would highly recomend you check these rods out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Avid 7', 3 weight

Date:July 3, 2007
This was my first ultra-light fly rod. I purchased it with a Cabela's 3 weight floating line and found it to be perfect for small trout and small flies. It is also a beautiful rod, with wood seat and high-end cork. Great price, made in USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for St. Croix Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alexandria, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

St. Croix 2 weight

Date:July 3, 2007
Recently purchased the 7'6" 2 weight for mountain fishing in Virginia and I love it. The rod's action is fast enough to put the fly in tight spaces and roll casts like a dream.
I own two Sage rods and would put this one right up there with them.
Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25