Customer Reviews for ST. CROIX St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod

ST. CROIX St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod

St. Croix has completely redesigned its versatile Avid Series rods using Integrated Poly Curve® (IPC) Tooling Technology and premium, high-modulus SCIII graphite. This IPC® technology creates tapers with a continuous curve from tip to butt that result in stronger rods and actions that produce smooth, powerful casting strokes and precise line control. Fuji® Alconite stripper guides with black frames and hard chrome guides and premium cork handles. Comes with a 1,000-denier nylon-covered rod case with a divided polypropylene liner. Backed by St. Croix’s lifetime limited warranty. Made in USA. Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Review 1 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2015

Love this rod!

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have been fishing my Avid 902 6wt for 5 years now. It is my go to. I have caught browns in the White and numerous bass. The rod is a nice balance of power, speed, and sensitivity.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011

Small Stream Rod

By
Location: Lancaster, Pa
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The Avid seris 4 wt is a great rod for small streams. Fast enough for the experienced fly fisherman, but easy to use in those tight spaces. An American manufacturer that I I took the time to call and they took the time to talk to me. Cabela's and St. Croix is a great combination.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2010

St Croix Avid Fly Rod

By
Location: Mid-Alantic fishing along the coast
I chose this rod for my first foray into fly fishing. I expect to do primarily bass fishing with this rod with some trout, so I chose the 6 wt rod (4 piece). It is model 906.4. It comes with a nice case.
I have done a lot of fishing over the decades, but never fly fishing. I have more than two dozen casting and spinning rods, and more than a half-dozen of them are St Croix rods. I like the brand very much and that partially influenced my decision somewhat. I have done a LOT of casting with them, ranging from saltwater to freshwater.
I wanted a responsive but forgiving rod that would be easy to learn but wouldn't be outgrown as I got better. Something at a price point that was reasonable but not at the lower end (quality without much compromise). I read a lot on the web and thought about the recommendations people made and why, plus I talked with fly fishermen including one friend who pretty much lives to fly fish.
The rod has turned out to be all that I expected. It has great feel and a good action, so you can really feel what the line and lure are doing as you learn to cast. The rod loads smoothly as you get the line moving back and forth. This will help with accuracy as I become a better fly caster. The rod is nicely balanced and you don't notice the reel when you are casting. It has quality components (guides, reel seat, handle and rod blank) and is very well made.
Two friends who have fly fishing experience tried my St. Croix rod and liked it a lot as well.
Having used it a couple of times, I would buy this same rod again. I highly recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010

Avid 9' 5wt

By
Location: New Mexico
Bought this rod for my wife last summer. We fish the San Juan River in Northwest New Mexico where there are pretty sizable trout. It performs like it is a more expensive model, very tight loops and very accurate. I fish with a loomis Streamdance and I sometimes catch myself pondering which rod to take when I go out by myself. Very satisfied with ST. Croix.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2010

great small stream rod.

By
Location: albuquerque NM.
I bought the A793.4 great rod for the price excellent quality rod. I fish mainly for trout in small streams in new mexico could have not picked a better rod for this.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2010

Avid 9054

By
Location: Griffith , In.
Fishing for Bluegill and Crappie in NW Indiana doesn't get any better when using this rod. The action , fun and thrill can only be described by the look on my face. Job well done by St. Croix !!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2010

Nice small steam rod

By
Location: Connecticut
A good six foot rod for small streams and tight quarters. Casts well. Typical St. Croix quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2009

GOOD LIL' ROD

By
Location: Laurel MD
I USE THIS ROD IN 7'9" FOR SMALL SMALL TROUT STREAMS IN EASTERN MARYLAND. I ALSO USE IT FOR FISHING FOR BLUE GILL IN MY AREA. I HAVED IT TEAMED UP WITH A ROSS FLY START REEL AND A TRIANGLE TAPER FLOATING LINE BY LEE WULFF. THIS IS A GREAT ROD WITH A NICE FEEL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2009

St. Croix Avid, 9 ft. 4piece, 7 wgt.

By
Location: U.S. Army soldier
This rod is very impressive. It not only looks real nice, it also casts real nice. I am in no way an expert fly caster, but I can cosistently 60-70 ft. I like the 4 piece design because it fits in my duffel bag easily, and yet when it is all put together, it feels and casts as good as my Orvis 2 piece 7 wgt rod.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2009

Great all around trout rod

By
Location: Washington
I purchased the Avid 4wt 8ft and I am very happy with it. I do alot of smaller stream fishing in Washington and this rod is light and delicate enough to make good dry fly presentations and stiff enough to cast beadhead nymphs and indicators. I love the color of the rod also, It's a mellow color unlike other mustard colored rods i've seen. The rod has a comfortable feel. I'm glad I got this rod.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2009

Avid 2 pc, 9ft, 4WT

By
Location: Redding, CA
This rod had some large shoes to fill. It replaced my 20+ year old Loomis IM6 that I built myself. It wasn't that my old rod was so perfect, it had simply been my friend on many fishing trips and I missed it. Unfortunately, it was a casualty of some rather cavalier hiking over rocks on the upper Sacramento River.
All that said, I absolutely love this new rod. The SCIII glass outperforms my old IM6 rod hands down. It casts longer with nice tight loops and yet has very nice touch. I have only caught a few small fish so far but I have no doubt it is up to the challenge of our large rainbows.
The rod is attractive but subdued. Also, the reel seat stays tight once the reel is inserted. There is nothing I hate worse than reel seats that periodically come loose.
I can't imagine how a more expensive rod could be so much better. All that said, it is made in the good old USA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2009

npj3

By
very nice do'es what more expenceive models do
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2008

9wt 4 piece

By
I use this as my primary rod for all salmon species in Alaska. This rod has performed flawlessly and handled every specie of salmon extremely well. Throwing those heavy salmon flies with a sinking line is no problem either. Highly recommended especially with the lifetime warranty that St. Croix has.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2008

Wonderful fly rod - Avid 7'9' 3 weight

By
Location: Michigan
This is a fun rod that is light weight, smooth casting and just a joy to fish with. It loads in tight very well and easily makes the short to medium casts as you would hope. Still, it has enough power when you need to lay out a longer line. Great for small to mid-sized streams where wind isn't a big factor. Perfect for mountain brookies or cuts and super for bluegills as well. I can't say enough good things about this rod.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2008

Outstanding Small Stream Rod!

By
Location: Avondale, AZ
I own the Avid model 664.4, a 6'6", four piece rod rated for 4 weight lines. In my opinion, this is one of the best "little" rods available. It casts beautifully with either the rated 4 weight or with 3 weight lines, has enough backbone to handle scrappy fish, shows outstanding build quality, and is quite elegant to look at. At 2.5 ounces, its not the "absolute lightest" small fly rod, but it honestly feels just as light as any I've used. It breaks down into sections 21 inches long, so it's absolutely perfect for those backcountry excursions to the land of brookies and cutts, and when you get there you will have more fun catching them! The accuracy and feel of this rod makes it an absolute joy to fish, and the short length is just perfect for the small brushy streams here in AZ, or anywhere for that matter. I also own two Sage TXLs, and to tell you the truth, these cast and fish just as well and overall are just as nice. Of course, the hardware on this rod is not as nice as the TXL, but it looks quite sharp, and functions MORE than adequate, and in my opinion you are not going to be disappointed! As ultralight fly rods go, for half the price of rods such as the TXL, Orvis Superfine, or any number of other expensive small rods, this rod is a no-brainer!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2008

Versatile Rod!

By
Location: Pennington, NJ
I have owned the 8 ft 4wt Avid for 2 seasons and have been consistently pleased across a range of fishing situations. From small pond bluegill to solid largemouth and large brown trout this rod delivers. It is impressively sensitive, provides excellent feel when casting or fighting fish, and has surprising backbone. I have a previous generation Avid that I also love, but the new version looks and acts more refined. Excellent!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2008

Avid 7'6" 4WT 4PC

By
This is my second St. Croix fly rod. I bought this rod for trout fishing in some of the mid to small streams here in Virginia. I decided to take it down to the pond on my property to give it a few casts and was extremly pleased at the action and casting ability of this rod. I then tied on a small leech to see if a bluegill would bite. I had caught about 8 - 10 when there was a large splash at the fly. To my surprise I hooked and landed a bass that was about 4 1/2 pounds. This rod is amazing. The sensitivity for the little bluegills and then the strength to land this bass. I can't wait to get back up in the mountains and chase some trout.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2008

Avid 4pc 10 wt

By
Location: Eagle River, Alaska
I live in Alaska and fish for all types of salmon with this great rod I've had this rod for 5 years and fished it hard every season still its like new , if your looking for a geat rod that you want to last this is a must buy .I also have a 6 wt 4 pc for trout I'll never buy another brand of rod .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2007

Great Rod

By
Location: Charlestown RI.
I use the 4pc. 7'9'' 3wt. to tackle trout in eastern CT.. This rod has great accuracy needed for short delicate presentations, but enough power to cast up to 50 60 feet. I love the backbone in this rod it gives you plenty of power to haul in the big ones. I would highly recomend you check these rods out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for St. Croix® Avid Fly Rod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2007

Avid 7', 3 weight

By
Location: Nevada
This was my first ultra-light fly rod. I purchased it with a Cabela's 3 weight floating line and found it to be perfect for small trout and small flies. It is also a beautiful rod, with wood seat and high-end cork. Great price, made in USA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 28