Customer Reviews for Classic Accessories Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Classic Accessories Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon

One of the few boats on the market you can pack into your favorite fishing hole. The entire boat, including 6-ft. oars and pump fit into a compact 42-lb. backpack. The 8-ft. long pontoons, with cold- and heat-resistant PVC bladders and nylon outer cover, give you a good, stable place to fish. The powder-coated steel tube frame, padded rowing seat and walk-through footrests, which adjust to any length, can be assembled without tools. Large armrest compartments with a large middle pocket, two sloped gear pockets and outside mesh pockets for drinks. A detachable foam fly patch. The unique dual-side stripping apron allows entry and exit without unclipping. One-year warranty. Weight: 42 lbs. Weight capacity: 350 lbs. Colors: Red or Yellow.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.591 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
31 out of 44(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Review 1 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this boat

Date:September 30, 2009
I have used the heck out of my boat. It is comfortable and has a lot of pockets for storage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

backpacker pontoon boat

Date:August 3, 2009
Three solid seasons with this boat. This is just a step up from a float tube anyone who thinks it is a full size/use pontoon boat isn't paying attention.
First off ditch the back pack this is a pontoon boat that fits nicely into a large duffel bag. I have it all in one duffel. Waders, fly rod, fins, all the gear, I grab the duffel toss it in the trunk and I am off to my favorite lake.
The valve issue was solved by going to the farm/hardware store and buying a couple of tire tube valve stems($2.00). tapped a threaded hole in the middle of the valve, threaded the stem in applied a little epoxy to give it a great seal. Now I fill the pontoons with a battery operated air pump and carry a cheap wally world bike pump while I am out on the lakes. (cold water will cause a pontoon to lose volume. (warm air expands - cold air constricts)
This is a nice step up from my float tubes as I can get to the far end of the lake with the oars and then get around using my fins. Many a place it was 30-40 minutes to float tube over to is now a quick 10 minute row.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:July 16, 2009
Nothing was left out on this float.
Rugged, stable, and plenty of places to pack things away.
Easy to row forward and backward. add a rope and then a rock for an anchor when you hike to your location and you have the perfect fishing platform for fishing.
It also packs up easy and fast when done for the day.
a great buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: La Pine, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love the fun pontoon boats

Date:July 6, 2009
easy to maneuver, easy to assemble when you use the provided directions......LOL
easy to inflate and deflate, we hauled them in the motorhome, just plain fun!! and great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new york NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best buying expierence ever!!!! A+

Date:October 15, 2008
It's to bad this web site only has five stars to give. I would have given this transaction a ten!!!!
Everything from the price shipping and customer service was top quality.
The classic accessories backpacker is an amazing boot.
It also gets going pretty fast, it works best when its 100% inflated. Under inflating would put your feet in the water and cause a lot of drag.
The staff at Classic Accessories are amazing!!!
the second time out with the boot i lost all the bolts that hold the boot together.
I called up Classic Accessories and they said that since it was still under warranty i will be sent a new set for free!!!! even though it was my fault!!!!
Will definitely buy Classic accessories products again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Adirondack mts,Tupper Lake,N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

arrow backpacker pontoon boat

Date:February 22, 2008
This backpack pontoon boat come complete with pump. Easy to assemble and set up. haven't been on the ponds yet as the hard water is still here in the adirondack mts of New York state.Trout opens April 1st am excited to get out and use this boat. My fishing buddies have already asked to try it out..Great product, Great service and info from everyone at Cabelas..Thanks for having this unit in catelog//
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Ton Of Fun

Date:December 6, 2007
I ordered two of these boats, one for me and one for a friend. They were easy to put together, and a lot of fun to fish. I have had no problems with mine and would love to have another one for a “buddy boat”.
This boat is nothing like my Water Skeeter Chetco, but it was a quarter the price. For remote lakes, and taking my daughter fishing (on her own pontoon) this boat rocks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Edmond, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It rocks!

Date:September 24, 2007
Just purchased a new Arrow Backpacker and took it on a weekend fishing trip. In total we floated about 10 miles worth of river.
First impressions were very good. I was impressed with the heavy weight of the nylon fabric, and the design of the pack itself. It just "felt" expensive. Storage pouches were nice, and plenty large for a day's worth of stuff. The seat is nice, though someone expecting "pure comfort" might be disappointed. But this is a *backpacker* model...
Speaking of "backpacking", portaging the boat fully assembled wasn't too bad for 50 yards or so. But given that this boat is designed for such a thing, I would hate to buy one of the larger boats with it in mind that I'd be carrying it around some. It felt every bit of it's claimed weight and then some!
Assembly was easy and straightforward. Directions were clear and even sewn into the pack itself. I hate to say it, but if you're having undue trouble assembling this boat, perhaps you don't need to be floating around unsupervised. ;-)
The boat was very stable. I'm 5'10" and 160 lbs. The river we were on had few rapids, but what little fast water it had was almost boring. I know this boat is recommended for slow water, but I think it's just fine for a little bit of the fast water too.
Paddling takes some practice as with any pontoon. These boats aren't made for long distances over "dead" water. Ideal would be a river that always has a decent current. A mile or 2 is very do-able, but it gets tedious. Rowing speed is a bit slower than a canoe, and it basically stops after you quit paddling rather than gliding onward for awhile. The boat is incredibly maneuverable, so part of the difficulty in long distance paddling is keeping a straight course. With a day's practice I became pretty comfortable with it though.
I only had 2 issues with the boat, and they are pretty small. First, the location of the cup holder. If you have a fairly tall water bottle in there, the oars will bump it. Not a biggy... The other is the rubber O-rings that hold the oars in a certain spot on the locks. They tend to slide. Another reviewer suggested hose clamps and that's what I intend to do too. Just put them in the right spot and leave them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Columbus, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Classic

Date:July 7, 2007
I bought this pontoon about 3 months ago and have used about six times. I have always fished out of a float tube, And like to do so. Last Sunday me and two of my fishing buddies went to a local lake and fished. They were very impressed with this boat. It rows very easy and you stay dry. It has room for a cooler, fishing tackle, and what ever else you might need. It is a little tricky to get back in the backpack, but other than that, I love it. My buddies also had to try it, and they thought it was great. Look for them to get one to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rogers, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy for any fisherman

Date:June 19, 2007
I purchased the Backpacker Pontoon about a month ago. It's fairly simple to put together, it's stable, and it handles really well on the local lakes and rivers in my area. One of the greatest things about this boat is that I can backpack into areas were normal boats can't get to because of underwater vegetation. I have found that fishing is alot better in these areas because no one can get to these spots to fish. It really challenges you to hike further and further into fishing holes that very few folks have seen. I feel that this was the best bang for my buck and I am very proud I made this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bangor, Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Incredible!!

Date:May 22, 2007
Took a few minutes to figure out the valve system, but once I had that figured out it takes about 15-20 pumps to inflate each pontoon. The first time I set this up in my house it took two of us and about an hour (we took our time). Once I got to the pond I set it up in about 15 minutes and another 5 or so to pump up the floats and get it into the water. Took about 10 minutes to deflate and pack the boat back into the backpack.
The backpack has more than enough room to pack the boat away once finished. I have to figure out a way to dry the pontoons before putting them back into the pack - otherwise I have to take them back out to dry them once home. It isnt too big of a deal because the pontoons are the last thing to pack into the backpack, but would be nice to be able to pack it away dry and have it ready for the next trip.
The stability of the boat is awesome, I am a large guy (tall with a few extra pounds), and the boat is very stable and easy to manuver around - however you should spend the 10 or 12 extra bucks for an anchor system. Even the slightest breeze will push you a little bit. I found it difficult the first time because it was windy, however I bought a 3 pound anchor and that was enough to hold my pontoon and my buddies float tube in place. The one and a half pound anchor is probably plenty for just this boat.
All in all I rated this boat a 5 because of the portability, ease of setup (after you read/follow the instructions), and the great stability of the boat. Also, the pockets held all of my gear and drinks and snacks. I spent about 5 hours in the boat the first time I used it with no muscle fatigue or soarness.
Be sure to tie off any items you dont want to lose in the water - lost my new net first time out because I didnt tether it to the tube :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

backpacker pontoon

Date:February 28, 2007
I purchased a backpacker pontoon to fish a small river close to my house. I love this pontoon boat. I found a site that sells trolling motor mounts for the front of the boat that hooks onto the foot rest so the motor will be in front. I have ordered one for my boat and cant wait to get it. I will have to make something to hold a small battery in the rear of the pontoon. Anyone interested in this mount can order on from Float tube and kickboat warehouse on the web. Just go to serch engine and type in Float tube and kick boat warahouse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hard To Please

Date:November 29, 2006
Best investment! Got one for my husband for Father's Day and my 15 year old son used his own money to purchase one for himself because he liked it so much. They both have take down and set up down pat and can now do quickly. Easy to transport. They took them to Florida on our annual family trip and I didn't see them all week. If you have a fisherman in the family, I highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product!

Date:November 20, 2006
This is a great product. My son and husband caught many fish during our yearly summer lake trip. The boat is so easy to set up and takes no time at all. Lightweight yet sturdy! I even took it for a spin. Superior product at a great price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Jersey Shore
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon

Date:October 21, 2009
Very stable.
Could use a better set of oars.
It is heavy, you can not backpack very far.
Perfect for keeping in back of SUV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Adrian, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fly fishing pontoon

Date:September 11, 2009
the boat is berry good on the water. The foot pump is rilly bad leaks to much so i went out and baught a dubble flow air pump and took the balve for the boat and a clear piece of hose and made a way to put it on a better pump. When i am done with the boat and the pump i put it all in the bag the pump doesn't fit in the bag but there is a spot on the bag for u to put a tent or something so i just put the bigger pump there and that way it only takes me about 5 to 10 minutes to blow up the pontoons. the seat is a little flimsy but it is better than having a metal pole across your back. the hardest thing that i have found with the boat is getting the seat platform togeather and appart. Everything else goes pritty well. I have a friend who has a pontoon boat as well but he has the blue and white one and it has a pole across the top of his back and that is the only thing that he doesn't like about it. The boat also works good for fagular fishing that is what we use it for and i think it is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fly fishing pontoon boat

Date:August 17, 2009
Pros: Boat is great. Fairly straight forward to assemble... Provides great access to previously unfishable areas. Easy to manuever.
Cons: Pump is junk. The pump blows more air out the side (leaks) than into the pontoons. Not sure if it is a dud or just poor quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ireland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pontoon

Date:July 24, 2009
Yes i am happy with this product it is a good introduction to pontoons and for me it takes a bit of geting used to but i am getting there ,there is one thing though the backpack is a little bit heavy .if they used a lighter metal it would be better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Spanaway,WA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pontoon boat

Date:September 3, 2008
the backpacker pontoon boat is rather easy to put together and it gets faster each time.It is easy to manuver around,a very fun boat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Classic Accessories™ Arrow Backpacker Pontoon
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Arrow Pontoon

Date:June 29, 2008
While the instructions and backpack are great, the fit was not easy on the rear platform frame. I had to drill out the existing holes to make it fit correctly. Also it took a long time to inflate the pontoons with the footpump. A bigger pump would decrease the inflation time. The stops on the oars moved when rowing hard on big water but on smaller waters which the boat was made for, the oars worked fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 44