Customer Reviews for North Fork Outdoors Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

North Fork Outdoors Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat

Sometimes it's nice to have a little more boat, and that's exactly what you get with the Skykomish Sunrise. One of the most impressive features is the Aqua-Lok standing platform lean bar system. It enables the angler to slide the standing platform under the seat and fold the lean bar back and completely out of the way when not in use. When folded back the lean bar converts to armrests. The low-profile 10-1/2-ft. pontoons have a diameter of 16" and boast 1,500-denier PVC tops and bottoms and Haukey Roberts valves. Constructed of strong, lightweight, 6061 aircraft aluminum, the eight-piece modular powder-coated X5 frame assembles and disassembles quickly and easily without the need for any tools. The boat is only 60" wide and fits in a standard pickup bed. The diamond plate standing platform with polyurethane coated non-slip surfacemeasures 28" x 15" and has a 400-pound weight capacity, while the diamond plate rear deck with raised rim and motor mount measures 48" x 18" with a weight capacity of 350 pounds. Two custom fitted side pockets with built-in rod holders and tippet dispensers. Padded seat, premium oar rites and bronze oarlocks. Comes with two 7-ft. two-piece oars. Through frame anchor system with Delrin rollers. 15-year warranty on pontoons. Lifetime warranty on frame. Made in USA. Weight capacity: 600 pounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 out of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Review 1 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Boat

Date:January 11, 2012
I received this boat as a gift from my wife for my 30th birthday. As everyone else has stated the assembly instructions are a little hard to follow so take your time putting it together. Once you get it together and get it on the water you will not be disappointed. Now I am a big man (6 ft, 260 lbs) and this boat handles me and all my gear with ease. The standing platform is easy to slide into position and once you are standing up on it, catching fish is a blast.
The boat is light enough it is easy enough to take in and out of the pickup bed. The pontoons are as tough as they come and the quality of the frame is excellent. Also, the customer service at North Fork Outfitters (manufacturer) is great, you actually get to talk to a real person.
I had to call the customer service when I discovered a leak in one of my valves. The guy said the valve probably got loose and sent me a valve wrench overnight mail. When that didn't fix the problem they talked me through how to remove the valve and wash it since sometimes sand can get in the valve and cause it to stay open. Much to my surprise this fixed my problem. I should mention they told me if washing the valve did not work they would have a new pontoon out to me right away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

for young athletes

Date:June 18, 2011
This is my third boat and the most expensive by far. Once you get it together the fun really starts. The anchor system is a good idea but needs a cleat to hold the position securely. The casting platform is suitable for a gymnist but not an old fat guy with bad knees. The rear deck is large (and heavy) and sits on top of the pontoons held in place by straps and "D" rings. Would be better attached to the frame as a hard mount. Seat is fixed position where a swivel would be nice Handles well on the water but is really hard to handle loading and launching.The pontoons have no sacraficial coating so they show slight abrasion from being dragged over sand and gravel to get to the water and back to the truck. It sort of fits in a pick-up if you don't have a cap or anything else in the bed. Sorry but I think I would have been better off getting a smaller boat with a shorter warranty. I could have bought two for what this unit cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Blaine, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Boat But!

Date:May 12, 2011
I guess I must have gotten the one that got away.
Boat showed up from UPS with a hole punched in the side of the box. Damage was a small scrape on pontoon and a broken buckle on one of the bags.
Biggest issue as most have noted is the directions. Attaching the pontoons was a chore. I had to drill a new hole in the right side of the frame because the holes didn't line up. Hope it floats.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pueblo Colo
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ITS A GOOD POONTOON

Date:April 7, 2011
I guess im not the only person that thinks the directsions are hard to follow . I like this poontoon however it is not the same as the picture . for example the legs dont adjust,and the poontoons are diffrent . But it did perform well on the water easy to row , fits ok in my dodge 2500 .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mid-Western Ontario, Canada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

In a Class of its Own!

Date:March 26, 2011
After researching Pontoon Boats for the last 6 months I can honestly say that the Skykomish Sunrise surpassed all my expectations. The fabrication, fit & finish are extremely well done leaving little or no place for doubts that this boat is the standard that other manufacturers have to aspire too. After watching the tutorial from the manufacturer, assembly was quick and pain-free, giving me confidence that a day on the water will be an enjoyable experience.
Cheaper boats might be tempting from an initial price point but the old adage of "getting what you pay for" is well noted here. Combine the quality of the product with Cabela's famous customer service and you have a winner.
You have been warned! Don't settle for anything less
Happy Drifting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Philadelphia Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love The New Frame

Date:February 23, 2011
I have been running these boats for years but late last fall someone stole my Skykomish out of my truck and i had to replace it. I was so surprised at Dave's new laser frame. What a sweet boat. Great looking finish on the frame. Thanks Dave and the crew at North Fork Outdoors for making a great boat a little better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

greenriverbrowns

Date:August 26, 2010
Excellent pontoon boat! It does everything I wanted and more. Very manuvarable and easy to row. Holds a lot of gear and is stable as well. I will probable but another. My only criticism is the assembly instructions. They were written by a guy who has put together a bunch of the boats. They need more detail and photos with arrows to explain which parts they are talking about.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat

Date:August 10, 2010
One of the reviewers mention that the directions were hard to follow. I totally agree! Using the picture and multiple zoom views help me out greatly. The only difficult part for me was getting the sliding deck on correctly. I initially had it on backwards. Very easy to put together in under hour. I am sure I could break everything down and put it back together in about 10 minutes.
I am wondering about the cylinder at the back of the seat frame. Does anyone have any idea what that might be used for? It appears that there might also be some additional configurations possible with the feet support portion of the frame.
Overall I am very satisfied with the overall design and construction of the Skykomish Pontoon Boat. It was delivered on time. I would recommend that you also purchase some additional products so you will have everything you need to get it ready for the water.
KWIK CHECK PRESSURE GAUGE
K-PUMP K-40
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Winchester, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Skykomish Sunrise Review

Date:June 29, 2009
IT meet all my expectations and I am very pleased with build and quality. The oars fit great into the locks.
My one gripe is the lenth of the oars. Shorters oars would be nice and would help in maneuvering around rocks in rapids.
Not a product issue but a performance issue. Speed is not a trait embodied by this and or any other pontoon design. I had a flaot trips with 15 canoes and I had to work twice as hard to keep up and even then I was the last to finish a 14 mile river trip. However my back and bumm felt great but my muscles were aching from all the oaring.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cumming, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best In Class

Date:June 3, 2009
Capacity, comfort, quality construction, this one has it all. I've mounted a 3hp outboard on mine, she'll move upstream pretty quick. Check your local regs, most states require you to register the craft if it has any form of mechanical propulsion.
Don't bother with the motor mount brace they sell, however. I framed in the rear deck with some 2x4's and 2x2's, much sturdier.
One complaint everyone has is the assembly instructions. The ones that come with the watercraft are pretty useless. If you visit the manufacturer's website, they have a pretty good online set of instructions. Pay particular attention to the routing of the straps so they don't interfere with the movement of the casting deck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southeastern Mountain Trout Rivers
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Skykomish Pontoon

Date:March 25, 2009
When it came time to purchase a new pontoon I searched all the reviews online, including the ones here for this pontoon.
This pontoon always came up on top, in its class and price range.
I have used the Skykomish exclusively for fast water trout fishing. It has certainly lived up to its reputation for handling up to class III rapids with ease. The boat also rows easily in the still water sections of rivers.
This is a high quality product. The frame and powder coating are excellent. It came with both a powder coated standing platform and cargo platform. I added a seat extension and swivel which make it easier to stand up and give you a great view of the water ahead and fish below you. The only other modification I made were adding a couple of Scott fly rod holders and stainless eyes on the cargo platform for securing items to the deck. I also added oar tethers to make sure the oars are secured to the highest degree possible. Important if you run white water. The oars, oarlocks, and oarrights that come with the boat are very good and handle whitewater and the inevitable rocks you encounter with ease.
I also ordered the two stage K Pump which works great with the boat, and carry it onboard under the seat.
The boat tracks well, and is quick in the water with the longer water line of the 10' 5" pontoons. It also anchors well in fast water. The side pockets and platform provide enough room to carry anything you want. The rod holders mount easily on the stand up frame with the 1" 1/4 mounts.
Assembly is pretty straight forward if you read the online instructions coupled with the low quality ones they send with the boat. They could easily improve these. Make sure you use some kind of snake to pass a quarter inch anchor line throught the frame to the roller at the back of the frame.
The only problem I had was that one of the two piece oars was slightly bent at one end where they connect together and couldn't be assembled. I called Cabelas great customer service and had a new oar shipped in days. There were no other qualtity issues with the boat.
I would highly recommend this pontoon. It has a great warranty and when you buy it from Cabelas you can be assured you will get the service you expect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Madison, Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Pontoon

Date:February 3, 2009
I have used my pontoon only three times, since purchasing it in early Jan. I am very happy with it. I have used it on lakes in Georgia to chase some early bream and bass, with a fly rod.. I have a 40 lb thrust trolling motor with it. It moves me around nicely. The oars are nice too. Use them for exercize, tho. I look forward to some north Ga. rivers later in spring, early summer.
Only problem was with instructions. There are a few steps missing. The instructions are for 2 or 3 different models. I hate when mfgs do this. It must really kill them to put specific model instructions with each boat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: sacramento, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great pontoon, but...

Date:September 20, 2008
this is my first pontoon boat, and i will make it clear, i'm in love! this boat is everything i have wanted in a drifting vessel that i can use alone. i was extremely weary at first, i weigh 260 pounds and i am 6'2", thinking this boat, like my float tube, was never going to sit properly on the water because of my weight.
i was dead wrong, it supported me like a champ. i have yet to go fishing with it, but i do not see my review changing, and if it did, it would only be better.
now, i have had 2 problems with this boat, that aren't really related to the performance. the first was in regards to the halkey-robert valves. its stated in the instruction manual that you are supposed to get an adapter for your pump which will make you able to use just about any inflation method with the valves provided on the pontoon. i did not get this valve adapter, and since i am planning to use it next week it was crucial that i do a test with it before hand. it then became really hard to find one locally. luckily i found one at a local kayak shop after a bit of searching, and the next day was back to trying to egt it out on the water. had i not found one, i was going to have to resort to ordering online, suspending my fishing trip another week, and overall being dissapointed over a 3 dollar item which i was supposed to have packaged with the product. this coupled with he very poorly put together instruction booklet leads me to think that there is some small quality control issues within the supplier. make sure you have everything and double check the list they give you!
now, my second problem. someone stated in one of their reviews that the oarlocks seemed very flimsy and too light weight for the rated waterways this boat could go on. they are 100% right. after inflating,constructing, and getting my pontoon on the water, i decided to test my paddling ability, and 10 minutes later i snapped one of the oarlocks in half. and then found myself out in the middle of a lake with a broken oarlock and had a heck of a time getting back into shore. if i had been on moving water i could have been in trouble! my advice, is to replace them and then keep an extra set on you. i never realized how much trouble you'd get into with a broken oarlock.
overall it is a good purchase and i recommend any newcomer to buy this product, i was glad i did
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Palmer Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Skykomish Pontoon Boat

Date:May 21, 2008
Great little boat. Well built, American made quality. The only issue I had with this boat has been with the oar lock keepers. They tended to fall out while rowing. I just replaced them with better keepers.
Also bought a Madison River for the wife. She loves it too.
Will recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Manchester, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Skykomish Pontoon

Date:May 6, 2008
I purchased the sunrise back in February and have finally had the chance to get out on the water a few times. So far I have only had it on ponds just to get a sense of my own paddling skills and the boats handeling. The boat turns on a dime and I have no doubt that once I am ready for moving water, the boat will be able to handle everything I can throw at it.
Overall the boat is great, the standing platform, lean bar, anchor system really make it shine on the open water. If you purchase this boat be ready for a lot of attention and comments from casual observers. Assembly got much easier after a couple of times through.
North Fork does offer a 7-inch mount for the seat which I will likely be purchasing which will make going from sitting to standing a little easier.
The only suggestion I would have is to make the standing platform a little bit longer (even 2 inches would make a difference) for stability while standing. Also a no slip coating or so slip strips for the standing platform would be nice. It does get a little slick under foot with felt wading shoes. With that said, I couldn't be happier with the purchase, the price tag seems small when compared to the remote places and fish the boat will bring me to, and the life time of memories it will generate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Let's work on the smaller details.

Date:February 5, 2008
My biggest frusteration was that the pockets are both the same side pockets (as opposed to a left and right pocket). So when you install the pockets you have one facing one direction (cup holder in front) and the other facing the opposite (cup holder in back). When I called Northfork Outdoors on it they said all of their pockets are identical. It is not a big deal but I assume when you pay 3 times more than the the average pontoon you should have a pontoon that is symmetrical.
The cargo deck seems a bit flimsy for it's weight carrying ability. It flexes in the center as you press weight on it. I am not convinced if it can hold the amount of weight it claims without warping the deck.
The sliding platform slides in/out with little effort. I don't really like how the casting bar slams down on the cargo deck when you slide the casting platform back in. This is minor, I can add some foam to damper the noise. The sliding platform is also extremely slipperly with wading shoes (felt bottoms). I would recommend putting some grip tape on the standing deck or you will take a plunge.
The footrest are not adjustible, meaning there is only one setting. If you want more leg room you need to move the seat to the desired position.
Overall I am happy with the pontoon. The frame feels very sturdy. My favorite feature is the anchor system and sliding platform. This pontoon boat is definitily one of the better pontons under $1K.
FYI, keep in mind the picture Cabelas has is incorrect. The pontoons frames are blue and not orange. There is no black casting deck as mentioned by Cabelas. Also, the cabelas picture shows the cargo deck with something to resemble a twp black motor mount. This is not correct.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Huntin' elk in Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

boat is awesome but product description needs help

Date:January 25, 2008
The boat is awesome. My first pontoon boat and when it arrived it went together perfectly and easily and the instructions were well written. The online instruction pictures are even better. One week later I did a 10 mile float down the Skagit river in Wa. state. Class 2 water and the boat performed awesome. I doubt you can get a better manufactured boat than the Dave Scadden boats.
However, Cabela's does not do a very good job of product description. The online product description says it is equiped with 7 ft 3 piece oars. Dave Scadden abbandoned the 3 piece design and went back to the 2 piece oar design because it is a better product.
The product description has a note at the bottom that says this boat comes with an upgraded deck and rear platform with a black polyurethane coated non slip surface. The boat I ordered certainly did not come with the non slip surfaces. Do you're research with these boats. The model Cabela's is selling is the Skykomish Sunrise. But they don't tell you it is the ST model. The ST model is the model with the Pontoon with an internal bladder and Nylon outer shell and has a zipper running the length of the pontoon. Has a 15 year warranty on the pontoons. The better model (more money) does not have a zipper or an internal bladder and the pontoon has a lifetime warranty. Can't wait to get out on another river.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central California-Rivers & lakes & ocean fishing
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Skykomish Sunrise

Date:January 4, 2008
Hands down 100% satisfied. Live in Central California & close to lakes, class III-IV white-water & ocean. Use on Class III+ water to lakes. Will take to the salt soon. Very stable, I cruise stillwater standing up, looking for rising or bulging fish. Have a 30 lb. trolling motor w/group 22 AGM battery, fished 3 hours and still had 2/3 charge.
Easy to row & turns on a dime. Pro white-water guide borrowed on local river & was very impressed. Wind does push it around more than my float tube.
Recommend the following accessories; Rod holders (adjustable type), Oar keepers (useful & act as a keel when using trolling motor), swivel base for seat (7" extended height model makes standing up easier), wheel (useful for transport, but needs fatter tire for soft sand), anchor & 50' or more of 5/16" rope, 2-stage hand pump & gauge. The latter is important, as I had it pumped up to what I thought was full & it was only 1 PSI. Recommended PSI is 2-3, the latter recommended on moving water for rigidity. Makes a big difference.
1st time assembly was a bit frustrating, manufacturerer has a video on website that helps. after that, I can put it together in 15 minutes, less if i have power & use air compressor. Have 2 Sky's, Keep the frames assembled & hung from garage ceiling, pontoons, anchors, accessories fit in 2 plastic totes packed & ready to go. Like the fact I can carry 2 boats in my pick-up and launch anywhere-no boat launch lines & hassles. When inflated, I carry one in the bed with tailgate down and one strapped to the rack mounted on truck-bed canopy.
If you're planning to use it on water that's Class III or better, this is the boat you want. You do get what you pay for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salmon/Steelhead country, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat

Date:October 11, 2007
The Sunrise is without a doubt the best pontoon craft on the market. It is well thought out and built to last. You will not be sorry you ordered it, and will get continuing comments from friends and acquaintances about the craft. I carry mine inflated on a ladder rack of my Ford Ranger. The craft is light, easy to portage, maneuverable and responsive. Easy to handle, even in a stiff wind on open lakes. It can handle a motor, but I have not found a need as the craft is easily oared. You will not have to worry about the frame folding up on you in whitewater.
If you do not have another Pontoon, be sure to order a pump. I also ordered a rod holder for trolling.
Buy it !!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Skykomish Sunrise Pontoon Boat
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pontoon

Date:July 31, 2007
i have owned a tieton , a bucks bag and now a sunrise . this is without a doubt the best boat made . well thought out and capable of any white water . instructions are weak but other than that an incredible pontoon
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 26