Customer Reviews for PEAK Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise

PEAK Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise

Available in either a pedestal or C-clamp design, this handsome and functional vise has the features that serious tiers demand, including hardened jaws that can handle everything from 2/0 streamers to size 24 midges. All components are high-quality stainless steel, hardened tool steel, delrin, brass and aluminum. Positive-stop cam action allows repeatable gripping from the first fly to the last. With the twist of an allen wrench (included), the entire vise breaks down flat for travel or storage. Made in USA. Available: C-Clamp, Pedestal base.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.393 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
25 out of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Review 1 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My son loves it

Date:April 9, 2013
Price was right and does everything that they described. My son said that he will have it for ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Vise for the money

Date:March 12, 2013
If your looking for a quailty rotary vise for a resonable price you wont go wrong purchasing the Peak Rotary vise.
I purchased the C-clamp model.
The Peak vise is Quality built from its C-clamp mounting hardware right up to the cam operated jaws.
There is no disapointment here with the hook holding capability of this vise's jaws. They truely do hold all sizes they were advertised to hold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THIS VISE IS GREAT

Date:February 26, 2013
I DECIDED TO GET SERIOUS ABOUT TYING AND PURCHASED THIS VISE. IT'S SMOOTH AND HOLDS THE HOOKS TIGHT. I'M ADDING ACCESSORIES TO MAKE MY TIME EVEN MORE RELAXING.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent choice

Date:August 19, 2012
Purchased this vise a month ago and have used it every day. This vise was reccomended by a friend who has been tying for 40 years. Very pleased
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: APO/FPO AP
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good vise

Date:June 12, 2012
The non clamp base is heavy and provides a stable platform on which to tie flies. The Vise is accommodates a large variety of hook size with comfort and ease. I would recommend this to any novice or intermediately skilled fly fisherman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Vise

Date:May 16, 2012
I needed a vise with a pedestal to replace my c-clamp Danvise. I looked at several other rotary models and ultimately settled on the Peak vise after receiving glowing reviews from friends who own the Peak vise.
After having used it for over a month, I am very pleased with my choice. Hooks are held securely, the pedestal is rock solid and the bobbin holder is handy. Purchase the D-arm accessory, it makes the rotary function much easier to operate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Joseph, MO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent purchase

Date:January 11, 2012
Until I bought this vise tying flies was a chore. Now it is fun. If you are going to tie flies buy a GOOD vise. This is a good vise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northfield, MN
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for my new passion

Date:January 9, 2012
After visiting Cabela's and looking at various vises I looked at and tried several. They varied considerably. I had been advised to purchase an American made vise, as parts would be more readily available. The Peak Rotary vise was not in stock, but they had an illustration, and it was on sale. I took a gamble, and it paid off. I am thrilled with my vise. It is solid, heavy and extremely easy to use. It stands totally firm on the desk.
it is white, so I can easily see small threads, feathers, etc. If you are looking for a vise, I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peak Rotary vise

Date:September 3, 2010
Great vise. I have been tying for a few years now and have a couple of vises. From simple starters that loose their grip after a couple of flies higher end vises. This is by far my favorite one to use day in and day out. Sturdy and precise. As long as your surface is level this vise will not wobble shake or loose grip of your hook. I have tied flies from 28-3/0 on this vise, awesome work from people in colorado. In fact Im buying one for a friend for his bench. Thank you cabelas for providing such a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Glenmoore, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Vise

Date:April 12, 2010
Great vise, I tie 22s and up. No problems. Awesome rotary funtion. Really makes my flies neater. No regrets. You wont be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peak Rotary vise

Date:February 22, 2010
This vise is the best bang for the buck of all the vises I researched. It is compact for easy transport, has a great clamp which has the ability to be used on very thick tabletops, and has many accessories which make tying easier. It will last a lifetime.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT Vise for the money

Date:October 31, 2009
I really like this vise and wish I had purchased this one instead of the cheap entry level vises. I have tied size 6 down to size 24 without issue using the jaws that came with the vise. I want the midge jaws next, to bad Cabelas does not carry them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SW Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Vise

Date:March 9, 2009
This vise is absolutely the best value in a fly tying vise. Rock solid and with all the features of vises costing twice as much. The jaws work great for the range of hook sizes claimed. Accessories jaws are available for smaller hook sizes which I ordered thinking I would need them for the smaller hooks but while convenient, they are not necessary as I rarely tie anything below a size 20 hook. I got the pedastal base and this provides a very solid platform to work with. Since getting this vise I have ordered all the available accessories. In one older negative review I read, they complained of the jaws not opening completely, however this is a simple adjustment to correct with an allen screw. Evidently his was adjusted to tight. The manufacture of this vise are also extremely good to work with should there ever be a problem or you have any question.
I highly recommend this vise. Engineering and quality is the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SW Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peak is the Tops

Date:March 28, 2008
I tied for many years with a Thompson A. After watching a show with a tyer using a rotary, I knew I had to get one. I tried several but none seemed to work for me. After looking at an early ad for the Peak, I called the people at PEAK; they answered some questions I had so I ordered one. I have never been sorry. The jaws are easily adjustable (with one hand),there is plenty of room for the flies I tie (10s to 24s), and it is rock solid with its base. As an aside, the post also fits my old Thompson A's c-clamp so I can and have used that when I travel. I think it is the best vise for the price < $200.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Cental Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love my Peak vise

Date:January 6, 2008
I had bought many "cheap" vises and was not happy. I finally decided to get a Peak vise and loved it right away. Holds hooks very well and I have not had one problem with the vise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrific Value, Quality Vise

Date:November 11, 2007
I have been tying on this vise for almost a year now and have had no problems. The jaws hold well and the base is sturdy. I like the white color of the base to view flies against and it has a recessed pocket to hold beads and hooks. I have tried other vises, even the Renzetti Traveller, and this vise can not be beat for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bluegrass State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best deal in vises on the market today!

Date:March 5, 2007
I also spent a considerable amount of time researching all the vises on the market before purchasing this one; and it does not disappoint! The vise is very well made, eminently functional in all capacities, and handsomely detailed. The jaws hold hooks of all sizes firmly; the shaft rotates smoothly; and the pedestal base is large enough to steady the vise when tying even the largest flies. I only have two minor complaints: it is a bit tricky to perfectly adjust the tension screw for the rotary function, and the vise is a bit too large and the base much too heavy to make it a good traveler (of course, this vise was not designed as such, so this may be an unfair criticism). Also, several upgrades, such as brass screws, are available from the manufacturer. There are other good vises on the market, but I believe that the Peak Rotary is just as good--if not better--as anything in the $100-$300 price range, but priced considerably less. Other good, comparable vises include: 1) Dyna-King Barracuda Junior Trekker (finish and operation a bit more refined than the Peak vise; however, the Peak lists for $85 less!), and 2) Renzetti Traveler (also a fine vise, but size might be too small for a bench vise; not as well made as the Peak; and $30 more). All thing considered, Peak wins hands down! If you need a traveler, take the money you saved on the Peak and buy another, smaller vise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glad I bought it

Date:January 15, 2013
A great, heavy duty vise. This is my first one and probably my last. My only complaint are all of the options which can be purchased separately. It does tend to add up, but all in all, a great vise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:January 12, 2012
The PEAK vise works well, it is of excellent quality, made of the best materials and very well machined. My only comment it is the excesive head weight, which tends to rotate the spindle on it own. I would love to have an aluminum arm.
BTW_This is my third vise. My first vise came with a kit, an old US made simple vise, still in use. My second vise was a stronger looking, foreign made piece, which did not work well and was returned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid vise

Date:February 22, 2010
I initially bought a pedestal model, but found it to wobble, at least on my table, so I returned it for the clamp version. The clamp is very solid. This is my first rotary vise, so I am adjusting, but the vise seems very solid and well-made. I miss the ability to grab any hook solidly without adjustment that my Regal has, but the adjustment is simple and quick, and the vise holds the hooks securely. I didn't have any trouble with set up and initial adjustment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 28