Customer Reviews for PEAK Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise

PEAK Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise

Available in either a pedestal or C-clamp design, this handsome and functional vise has the features that serious tiers demand, including hardened jaws that can handle everything from 2/0 streamers to size 24 midges. All components are high-quality stainless steel, hardened tool steel, delrin, brass and aluminum. Positive-stop cam action allows repeatable gripping from the first fly to the last. With the twist of an allen wrench (included), the entire vise breaks down flat for travel or storage. Made in USA. Available: C-Clamp, Pedestal base.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.469 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
29 out of 32(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Review 1 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2016

Rock solid and Made in the USA

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Decided to finally upgrade to a rotary vise and after a lot of research and sifting through reviews I decided on the Peak (pedestal base) There is nowhere near me to really get my hands on one pre purchase so i gambled and won. Rotary function is butter smooth and i've secured hooks from 16 to 1/0 in the standard jaws with out so much of a hint of slipping. for my own preference the height is fine but I don't use a catch basin, if you do they make a riser for it. With moderate pressure the delrin set screw allows me to still rotate the fly with out it flopping back to the bottom. I may upgrade them in the future but currently they aren't an issue. for a sub 200 dollar vise there is an awful lot to like, and even more if you make a few upgrades (screws, material clip, riser) This is most likely the last vise i will ever need.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2015

Major Improvement

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This was my big purchase of the year, I don't have a lot of extra cash to spend so I thought I could buck up for an improvement in my 19 dollar vise I had been tying flies with for 2+ years now. Let me just say the improvement in how solidly the vise holds hooks, the fact that it rotates so I can see what I'm tying, and the overall stability are so much more than I thought it would be when I purchased this vise. Highly recommend if you're in the market for a new vise to consider the Peak.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014

Simple vise

By
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I really like the ease of using this vise. Craftsmanship is flawless and solid construction. I've finally found my perfect vise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2014

Very nice tying tool

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have been trying for maybe 35 years. Mostly with an old Thompson which served me well but this Peak vice is a real pleasure. My eyes are not as good nor my hands as dexterous as they once were and this vice really helps with the smaller flies and the more difficult tying techniques. I have been fortunate to be able to try out a number of vises including very expensive ones. None of them provide me with anything more than this peak for my freshwater flies. And made in the US-bonus.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2013

My son loves it

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Price was right and does everything that they described. My son said that he will have it for ever.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2013

Awesome Vise for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
If your looking for a quailty rotary vise for a resonable price you wont go wrong purchasing the Peak Rotary vise.
I purchased the C-clamp model.
The Peak vise is Quality built from its C-clamp mounting hardware right up to the cam operated jaws.
There is no disapointment here with the hook holding capability of this vise's jaws. They truely do hold all sizes they were advertised to hold.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2013

THIS VISE IS GREAT

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Gender: Male
I DECIDED TO GET SERIOUS ABOUT TYING AND PURCHASED THIS VISE. IT'S SMOOTH AND HOLDS THE HOOKS TIGHT. I'M ADDING ACCESSORIES TO MAKE MY TIME EVEN MORE RELAXING.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2013

Glad I bought it

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
A great, heavy duty vise. This is my first one and probably my last. My only complaint are all of the options which can be purchased separately. It does tend to add up, but all in all, a great vise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2012

Excellent choice

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Purchased this vise a month ago and have used it every day. This vise was reccomended by a friend who has been tying for 40 years. Very pleased
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2012

Very good vise

By
Country: United States
State: APO/FPO AP
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The non clamp base is heavy and provides a stable platform on which to tie flies. The Vise is accommodates a large variety of hook size with comfort and ease. I would recommend this to any novice or intermediately skilled fly fisherman.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

Great Vise

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I needed a vise with a pedestal to replace my c-clamp Danvise. I looked at several other rotary models and ultimately settled on the Peak vise after receiving glowing reviews from friends who own the Peak vise.
After having used it for over a month, I am very pleased with my choice. Hooks are held securely, the pedestal is rock solid and the bobbin holder is handy. Purchase the D-arm accessory, it makes the rotary function much easier to operate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2012

Great value

By
Location: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The PEAK vise works well, it is of excellent quality, made of the best materials and very well machined. My only comment it is the excesive head weight, which tends to rotate the spindle on it own. I would love to have an aluminum arm.
BTW_This is my third vise. My first vise came with a kit, an old US made simple vise, still in use. My second vise was a stronger looking, foreign made piece, which did not work well and was returned.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

excellent purchase

By
Location: St. Joseph, MO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Until I bought this vise tying flies was a chore. Now it is fun. If you are going to tie flies buy a GOOD vise. This is a good vise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Perfect for my new passion

By
Location: Northfield, MN
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
After visiting Cabela's and looking at various vises I looked at and tried several. They varied considerably. I had been advised to purchase an American made vise, as parts would be more readily available. The Peak Rotary vise was not in stock, but they had an illustration, and it was on sale. I took a gamble, and it paid off. I am thrilled with my vise. It is solid, heavy and extremely easy to use. It stands totally firm on the desk.
it is white, so I can easily see small threads, feathers, etc. If you are looking for a vise, I highly recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2010

Peak Rotary vise

By
Location: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great vise. I have been tying for a few years now and have a couple of vises. From simple starters that loose their grip after a couple of flies higher end vises. This is by far my favorite one to use day in and day out. Sturdy and precise. As long as your surface is level this vise will not wobble shake or loose grip of your hook. I have tied flies from 28-3/0 on this vise, awesome work from people in colorado. In fact Im buying one for a friend for his bench. Thank you cabelas for providing such a great product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2010

Great Vise

By
Location: Glenmoore, PA
Great vise, I tie 22s and up. No problems. Awesome rotary funtion. Really makes my flies neater. No regrets. You wont be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2010

Not Happy

By
I am sorry I bought this vice. Now before I say too much I will report that the vice is well built and solid. That said the thing that bothers me is the fact that the head seems to me to be too heavy. By this I mean that when I rotate the vice the jaws swing down due to gravity. I bought it because I was too cheap to spend the extra money to buy the one I really wanted.
If I hadn't lost the sales receipt I would have returned the vice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2010

Solid vise

By
Location: Minnesota
I initially bought a pedestal model, but found it to wobble, at least on my table, so I returned it for the clamp version. The clamp is very solid. This is my first rotary vise, so I am adjusting, but the vise seems very solid and well-made. I miss the ability to grab any hook solidly without adjustment that my Regal has, but the adjustment is simple and quick, and the vise holds the hooks securely. I didn't have any trouble with set up and initial adjustment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2010

Peak Rotary vise

By
This vise is the best bang for the buck of all the vises I researched. It is compact for easy transport, has a great clamp which has the ability to be used on very thick tabletops, and has many accessories which make tying easier. It will last a lifetime.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2009

GREAT Vise for the money

By
Location: Phoenix AZ
I really like this vise and wish I had purchased this one instead of the cheap entry level vises. I have tied size 6 down to size 24 without issue using the jaws that came with the vise. I want the midge jaws next, to bad Cabelas does not carry them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 32