Customer Reviews for PEAK Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PEAK Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise

Available in either a pedestal or C-clamp design, this handsome and functional vise has the features that serious tiers demand, including hardened jaws that can handle everything from 2/0 streamers to size 24 midges. All components are high-quality stainless steel, hardened tool steel, delrin, brass and aluminum. Positive-stop cam action allows repeatable gripping from the first fly to the last. With the twist of an allen wrench (included), the entire vise breaks down flat for travel or storage. Made in USA. Available: C-Clamp, Pedestal base.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
27 out of 30(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Review 1 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simple vise

Date:November 18, 2014
I really like the ease of using this vise. Craftsmanship is flawless and solid construction. I've finally found my perfect vise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice tying tool

Date:November 16, 2014
I have been trying for maybe 35 years. Mostly with an old Thompson which served me well but this Peak vice is a real pleasure. My eyes are not as good nor my hands as dexterous as they once were and this vice really helps with the smaller flies and the more difficult tying techniques. I have been fortunate to be able to try out a number of vises including very expensive ones. None of them provide me with anything more than this peak for my freshwater flies. And made in the US-bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My son loves it

Date:April 9, 2013
Price was right and does everything that they described. My son said that he will have it for ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Vise for the money

Date:March 12, 2013
If your looking for a quailty rotary vise for a resonable price you wont go wrong purchasing the Peak Rotary vise.
I purchased the C-clamp model.
The Peak vise is Quality built from its C-clamp mounting hardware right up to the cam operated jaws.
There is no disapointment here with the hook holding capability of this vise's jaws. They truely do hold all sizes they were advertised to hold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THIS VISE IS GREAT

Date:February 26, 2013
I DECIDED TO GET SERIOUS ABOUT TYING AND PURCHASED THIS VISE. IT'S SMOOTH AND HOLDS THE HOOKS TIGHT. I'M ADDING ACCESSORIES TO MAKE MY TIME EVEN MORE RELAXING.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glad I bought it

Date:January 15, 2013
A great, heavy duty vise. This is my first one and probably my last. My only complaint are all of the options which can be purchased separately. It does tend to add up, but all in all, a great vise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent choice

Date:August 19, 2012
Purchased this vise a month ago and have used it every day. This vise was reccomended by a friend who has been tying for 40 years. Very pleased
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: APO/FPO AP
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good vise

Date:June 12, 2012
The non clamp base is heavy and provides a stable platform on which to tie flies. The Vise is accommodates a large variety of hook size with comfort and ease. I would recommend this to any novice or intermediately skilled fly fisherman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Vise

Date:May 16, 2012
I needed a vise with a pedestal to replace my c-clamp Danvise. I looked at several other rotary models and ultimately settled on the Peak vise after receiving glowing reviews from friends who own the Peak vise.
After having used it for over a month, I am very pleased with my choice. Hooks are held securely, the pedestal is rock solid and the bobbin holder is handy. Purchase the D-arm accessory, it makes the rotary function much easier to operate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:January 12, 2012
The PEAK vise works well, it is of excellent quality, made of the best materials and very well machined. My only comment it is the excesive head weight, which tends to rotate the spindle on it own. I would love to have an aluminum arm.
BTW_This is my third vise. My first vise came with a kit, an old US made simple vise, still in use. My second vise was a stronger looking, foreign made piece, which did not work well and was returned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Joseph, MO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent purchase

Date:January 11, 2012
Until I bought this vise tying flies was a chore. Now it is fun. If you are going to tie flies buy a GOOD vise. This is a good vise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northfield, MN
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for my new passion

Date:January 9, 2012
After visiting Cabela's and looking at various vises I looked at and tried several. They varied considerably. I had been advised to purchase an American made vise, as parts would be more readily available. The Peak Rotary vise was not in stock, but they had an illustration, and it was on sale. I took a gamble, and it paid off. I am thrilled with my vise. It is solid, heavy and extremely easy to use. It stands totally firm on the desk.
it is white, so I can easily see small threads, feathers, etc. If you are looking for a vise, I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peak Rotary vise

Date:September 3, 2010
Great vise. I have been tying for a few years now and have a couple of vises. From simple starters that loose their grip after a couple of flies higher end vises. This is by far my favorite one to use day in and day out. Sturdy and precise. As long as your surface is level this vise will not wobble shake or loose grip of your hook. I have tied flies from 28-3/0 on this vise, awesome work from people in colorado. In fact Im buying one for a friend for his bench. Thank you cabelas for providing such a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Glenmoore, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Vise

Date:April 12, 2010
Great vise, I tie 22s and up. No problems. Awesome rotary funtion. Really makes my flies neater. No regrets. You wont be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Happy

Date:March 15, 2010
I am sorry I bought this vice. Now before I say too much I will report that the vice is well built and solid. That said the thing that bothers me is the fact that the head seems to me to be too heavy. By this I mean that when I rotate the vice the jaws swing down due to gravity. I bought it because I was too cheap to spend the extra money to buy the one I really wanted.
If I hadn't lost the sales receipt I would have returned the vice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid vise

Date:February 22, 2010
I initially bought a pedestal model, but found it to wobble, at least on my table, so I returned it for the clamp version. The clamp is very solid. This is my first rotary vise, so I am adjusting, but the vise seems very solid and well-made. I miss the ability to grab any hook solidly without adjustment that my Regal has, but the adjustment is simple and quick, and the vise holds the hooks securely. I didn't have any trouble with set up and initial adjustment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peak Rotary vise

Date:February 22, 2010
This vise is the best bang for the buck of all the vises I researched. It is compact for easy transport, has a great clamp which has the ability to be used on very thick tabletops, and has many accessories which make tying easier. It will last a lifetime.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT Vise for the money

Date:October 31, 2009
I really like this vise and wish I had purchased this one instead of the cheap entry level vises. I have tied size 6 down to size 24 without issue using the jaws that came with the vise. I want the midge jaws next, to bad Cabelas does not carry them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Colorado by way of Finger Lakes in Upstate NY.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Almost there but not quite.

Date:September 11, 2009
The Peak Rotary Vise is not a bad vise, but it does have some design drawbacks. The plastic lock screw I can live with since I'll get a real screw eventually.
The design flaws are that the riser shaft is simply too short. Not much room between the hook shank and the table. The jaw shaft is also too short so it doesn't quite rotate on it's axis.
This is a much more difficult design to tie tiny parachute style flies because the horzontal shaft gets in the way. The older (35+ year) Thompson Ultra and Thompson A vise are better designed for parachutes. I tie a LOT of parachutes down to size 28 and having some room at the top is important.
The jaws and the cam action are very nice. They hold the hook very securely. If I had those standard jaws on my Thompson Ultra I never would have bought this vise.
This is the first new vise I've had in 38 years so I still suffer a bit from sticker shock.
The first thing I do with the attachments is throw them out. I have no use for material clips and bobbin hangers or whater they are. If you need those accessories to tie flies you're not a very efficient tyer. Maybe it would come in handy for some Atlantic Salmon flies, but I haven't tied and sold any large salmon flies in many years so that's a useless accessory for me and I don't want anything getting in the way.
A couple of slight modifications turns this into a 5-star vise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Peak Rotary Fly-Tying Vise
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SW Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Vise

Date:March 9, 2009
This vise is absolutely the best value in a fly tying vise. Rock solid and with all the features of vises costing twice as much. The jaws work great for the range of hook sizes claimed. Accessories jaws are available for smaller hook sizes which I ordered thinking I would need them for the smaller hooks but while convenient, they are not necessary as I rarely tie anything below a size 20 hook. I got the pedastal base and this provides a very solid platform to work with. Since getting this vise I have ordered all the available accessories. In one older negative review I read, they complained of the jaws not opening completely, however this is a simple adjustment to correct with an allen screw. Evidently his was adjusted to tight. The manufacture of this vise are also extremely good to work with should there ever be a problem or you have any question.
I highly recommend this vise. Engineering and quality is the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 30