Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel

CABELA'S Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel

We took the value-packed performance of our popular Prestige series and stepped everything up a notch. A new disc-drag system sports a cork drag washer and adjusts to a wider range of settings. The cast-aluminum frame has an unmatched strength-to-weight ratio, and the new mid-arbor design yields plenty of backing capacity for battling long-running fish. The molded, paddle-style handle and large drag-adjustment knob round out the features on this exceptional reel at an amazingly low price.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(154 Reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 154 reviews
5 Stars
92
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
140 out of 154(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Review 1 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2006

An Excellent Value!

By
Location: Waco, Texas
It's very refreshing to be able to use a quality product like the Prestige Plus II reel and know your getting solid components at a fair price. My Prestige Plus II reels have taken me all over this country, from Mr. Trout to Ol Bucketmouth Bass and back to River Carp, and performed flawlessly. The disc drag systems is quiet and efficient, and the spools hold an ample amount of backing. This Prestige Plus II reels from Cabelas are a keeper.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2006

Prestige Fly Reel

By
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
This large arbor reel, when backed with a minimum of 200 yards backing, minimizes the frustration caused by line memory. It is a smooth reel and great value for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Just what I was after

By
Location: Boise, ID
Great reel--it hit the quality/price point I was after. It has a nice smooth adjustable drag, is lightwieght and sturdy. I'm using it with a 3w rod and it's perfect.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2006

ACHIVER REEL

By
Location: Lincoln University, PA 19352
This fly reel has achived everything I had hoped for in a fly reel, with its well thought out design.
It is light in weight, but can turn a large fast running fish.
The wide arbor allows you to reel line faster than a charging fish so you do not loose him.
A great reel for the money. I would compare it againt higher priced reels.
Thanks for a great product!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2007

Good reel

By
Location: KC area
I own a lot of different reels and have found this style to be a good value and handle a number of fishing situations very well. Would recommend this reel for both those just starting out as well as those that fish on a regular basis.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2007

Prestige Plus Fly Reel

By
Location: Pewee Valley, KY
I've had excellent experience with the "mid-sized" version of this fly reel and have been looking for a lightweight version to use with a short rod "small stream" rig - 3wt. line. Thus far it's performed as expected - no complaints what-so-ever. With a 7"-6" rod it's much easier to work small streams where the quarters are a little cramped and throws are shorter. And you can't beat the quality for the price. I got lucky and caught this one on sale and couldn't be happier.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2007

Great Reel

By
Location: South-central Kentucky
The Prestige Plus is a great reel for the money. Having grown up in Wyoming, I have fly-fished all my life. This reel is as good as any I have owned or used. It has a suprisingly good drag. I use a left-handed retrieve when fishing, and the Prestige Plus was no problem to switch from right to left retrieve. I definitely recommend it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2007

Great Reel

By
Location: Knoxville, TN
This is a fantastic Reel, solid drag system, large line and backing capacity and well balanced. I have 2 of them now. I would recommend them to anyone. They are priced perfectly. My hat is off to Cabela's for this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2007

Outstanding fly reel for the money

By
Location: Florence, AL
A well-made reel with a smooth drag.
In the past, I bought fly reels that were little more than tools to store line so I have more money to spend on the rod. The construction and drag on the reels really didn't matter as long as they held line. I just wanted a quality rod.
I took advantage of a special offer from Cabela's to purchase this reel and have been extremely pleased. While there are more expensive reels on the market that are as smooth as the finest silk, this one is smoothest I've ever used in this price range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2007

Prestige Plus Fly Reel

By
Location: Herkimer, New York
This reel is an outstanding product. It is smooth, well built and has a great disc drag system. I'm a rod builder and have recently built a 6 piece 3 weight rod that I have matched this reel to. It fishes like an outfit costing three times as much. I am more than satisfied with this purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2007

Excellent !!!

By
Location: New York
A pleasure to use, with the most effective and efficient drag I've found on a fly reel yet. Prestige was great, Prestige Plus is even better. Prestige 3 ??? Should be called Perfection, not Prestige.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2007

I love the REEL!

By
Location: Fredonia, NY
The reel is very smooth and very well built! Its very sturdy and I would recommend it to anyone! Cabelas makes quality gear! If you are thinking about this reel and something else I would say go with the Cabelas reel!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2007

easy reel movement

By
Location: Fountain hills Arizona
I find that the prestige plus reel as quiet and smooth operations when reeling in
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2007

Prestige Plus 8 Wt. Review

By
Location: Midland, TX
Used a Prestige Plus this past week for Redfish and Ladyfish. Excellent performance against reels costing four to six times as much. Very quiet operation, smooth consistent drag.
This reel has also seen action in the Bahamas against bonefish with stellar results! Great performer and fantastic value! Highly recommend . . . won't be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2007

stillwatermachine

By
Location: berrien county Mi
I purchased two prestige plus reels on sale, and sinking line
for my type of fishing they are what i needed, i fish for gills crappie and rainbows out of the same lake drag has been great with the rainbows they like to fight back as you all know.
I also have the csr reel with floating line , I have been a customer for some years and can say that all the purchases I've made I'm still using and Im satisfied
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2007

the dog tried to eat it.

By
Location: Clifton New Jersey
I purchased the Cabela's Prestige Plus 1 reel last year and it is incredible.The other day I came home and noticed my dog had gone on my flytying desk and grabbed the reel for a chew toy.I must say the handle has a few tooth marks but other than that not a scratch.I have used this reel all year and it has stood up to all that nature had to throw at it.It's an amazing product that I am very happy I purchased. It can stand up to anything!!!!!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2007

Short life

By
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Overall, the real had good performance but the spool became loose in its fit after about one year -- drag failed abruptly and drag screw wrung off in repair. The Prestige ended its short career in the waste basket.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2007

Excellent reel

By
Location: Lafayette, IN
I bought two Prestige Plus reels for 5wt lines and I find they serve their purpose marvelously! They balance my outfits perfectly and I'll forsake much for expensive reels for these any day. For the money...even much more money...you can't go wrong! Do yourself a favor and try one. You'll be hooked.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2007

Reel

By
The reel handled ok the first day I used it but it really locked up on me the second outing. The spool also started to come loose, and the retainer cover is very fragile. I only had it in my possession for 7 days before I returned it. Hopefully it was just an isolated defect becuase I heard great things about this reel from others. I'm thankful for Cabela's 100%satisfaction guarantee policy and now am just waiting for my exchange reel, line, and backing to come in the mail.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2007

a really good reel

By
Location: Southwest Virginia
Last spring I bought the #3 model reel for my 8-wt rod that I use primarily for the tough smallmouth bass in the New River in SW VA. I love it. It is a great bargain and performs as well as some of my other "top-end" reels. I also purchased an extra spool and the ease of swithing them out is a breeze. Not only has this reel effectively handled some big smallmouths, it's taken on and landed some huge carp. The largest was 17-lbs that quickly had me deep into my backing. The drag was easy to adjust and smooth. I initially bought this reel as a backup, but it's performance has gotten it off the bench to become a starter in the lineup. I highly recommend this reel. Thanks Cabela's.
riverfishin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 154