Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel

CABELA'S Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel

We took the value-packed performance of our popular Prestige series and stepped everything up a notch. A new disc-drag system sports a cork drag washer and adjusts to a wider range of settings. The cast-aluminum frame has an unmatched strength-to-weight ratio, and the new mid-arbor design yields plenty of backing capacity for battling long-running fish. The molded, paddle-style handle and large drag-adjustment knob round out the features on this exceptional reel at an amazingly low price.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 133 reviews
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
122 out of 133(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Review 1 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waco, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An Excellent Value!

Date:November 14, 2006
It's very refreshing to be able to use a quality product like the Prestige Plus II reel and know your getting solid components at a fair price. My Prestige Plus II reels have taken me all over this country, from Mr. Trout to Ol Bucketmouth Bass and back to River Carp, and performed flawlessly. The disc drag systems is quiet and efficient, and the spools hold an ample amount of backing. This Prestige Plus II reels from Cabelas are a keeper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Prestige Fly Reel

Date:November 14, 2006
This large arbor reel, when backed with a minimum of 200 yards backing, minimizes the frustration caused by line memory. It is a smooth reel and great value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just what I was after

Date:November 21, 2006
Great reel--it hit the quality/price point I was after. It has a nice smooth adjustable drag, is lightwieght and sturdy. I'm using it with a 3w rod and it's perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln University, PA 19352
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ACHIVER REEL

Date:November 23, 2006
This fly reel has achived everything I had hoped for in a fly reel, with its well thought out design.
It is light in weight, but can turn a large fast running fish.
The wide arbor allows you to reel line faster than a charging fish so you do not loose him.
A great reel for the money. I would compare it againt higher priced reels.
Thanks for a great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KC area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reel

Date:February 15, 2007
I own a lot of different reels and have found this style to be a good value and handle a number of fishing situations very well. Would recommend this reel for both those just starting out as well as those that fish on a regular basis.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pewee Valley, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Prestige Plus Fly Reel

Date:March 26, 2007
I've had excellent experience with the "mid-sized" version of this fly reel and have been looking for a lightweight version to use with a short rod "small stream" rig - 3wt. line. Thus far it's performed as expected - no complaints what-so-ever. With a 7"-6" rod it's much easier to work small streams where the quarters are a little cramped and throws are shorter. And you can't beat the quality for the price. I got lucky and caught this one on sale and couldn't be happier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South-central Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reel

Date:March 26, 2007
The Prestige Plus is a great reel for the money. Having grown up in Wyoming, I have fly-fished all my life. This reel is as good as any I have owned or used. It has a suprisingly good drag. I use a left-handed retrieve when fishing, and the Prestige Plus was no problem to switch from right to left retrieve. I definitely recommend it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Knoxville, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reel

Date:March 26, 2007
This is a fantastic Reel, solid drag system, large line and backing capacity and well balanced. I have 2 of them now. I would recommend them to anyone. They are priced perfectly. My hat is off to Cabela's for this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florence, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding fly reel for the money

Date:March 27, 2007
A well-made reel with a smooth drag.
In the past, I bought fly reels that were little more than tools to store line so I have more money to spend on the rod. The construction and drag on the reels really didn't matter as long as they held line. I just wanted a quality rod.
I took advantage of a special offer from Cabela's to purchase this reel and have been extremely pleased. While there are more expensive reels on the market that are as smooth as the finest silk, this one is smoothest I've ever used in this price range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Herkimer, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Prestige Plus Fly Reel

Date:March 27, 2007
This reel is an outstanding product. It is smooth, well built and has a great disc drag system. I'm a rod builder and have recently built a 6 piece 3 weight rod that I have matched this reel to. It fishes like an outfit costing three times as much. I am more than satisfied with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent !!!

Date:March 27, 2007
A pleasure to use, with the most effective and efficient drag I've found on a fly reel yet. Prestige was great, Prestige Plus is even better. Prestige 3 ??? Should be called Perfection, not Prestige.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fredonia, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love the REEL!

Date:April 3, 2007
The reel is very smooth and very well built! Its very sturdy and I would recommend it to anyone! Cabelas makes quality gear! If you are thinking about this reel and something else I would say go with the Cabelas reel!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fountain hills Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

easy reel movement

Date:April 30, 2007
I find that the prestige plus reel as quiet and smooth operations when reeling in
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Midland, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Prestige Plus 8 Wt. Review

Date:May 6, 2007
Used a Prestige Plus this past week for Redfish and Ladyfish. Excellent performance against reels costing four to six times as much. Very quiet operation, smooth consistent drag.
This reel has also seen action in the Bahamas against bonefish with stellar results! Great performer and fantastic value! Highly recommend . . . won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: berrien county Mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stillwatermachine

Date:May 15, 2007
I purchased two prestige plus reels on sale, and sinking line
for my type of fishing they are what i needed, i fish for gills crappie and rainbows out of the same lake drag has been great with the rainbows they like to fight back as you all know.
I also have the csr reel with floating line , I have been a customer for some years and can say that all the purchases I've made I'm still using and Im satisfied
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Clifton New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the dog tried to eat it.

Date:May 23, 2007
I purchased the Cabela's Prestige Plus 1 reel last year and it is incredible.The other day I came home and noticed my dog had gone on my flytying desk and grabbed the reel for a chew toy.I must say the handle has a few tooth marks but other than that not a scratch.I have used this reel all year and it has stood up to all that nature had to throw at it.It's an amazing product that I am very happy I purchased. It can stand up to anything!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Short life

Date:July 14, 2007
Overall, the real had good performance but the spool became loose in its fit after about one year -- drag failed abruptly and drag screw wrung off in repair. The Prestige ended its short career in the waste basket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lafayette, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent reel

Date:July 21, 2007
I bought two Prestige Plus reels for 5wt lines and I find they serve their purpose marvelously! They balance my outfits perfectly and I'll forsake much for expensive reels for these any day. For the money...even much more money...you can't go wrong! Do yourself a favor and try one. You'll be hooked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Reel

Date:September 29, 2007
The reel handled ok the first day I used it but it really locked up on me the second outing. The spool also started to come loose, and the retainer cover is very fragile. I only had it in my possession for 7 days before I returned it. Hopefully it was just an isolated defect becuase I heard great things about this reel from others. I'm thankful for Cabela's 100%satisfaction guarantee policy and now am just waiting for my exchange reel, line, and backing to come in the mail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Prestige® Plus Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwest Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a really good reel

Date:November 29, 2007
Last spring I bought the #3 model reel for my 8-wt rod that I use primarily for the tough smallmouth bass in the New River in SW VA. I love it. It is a great bargain and performs as well as some of my other "top-end" reels. I also purchased an extra spool and the ease of swithing them out is a breeze. Not only has this reel effectively handled some big smallmouths, it's taken on and landed some huge carp. The largest was 17-lbs that quickly had me deep into my backing. The drag was easy to adjust and smooth. I initially bought this reel as a backup, but it's performance has gotten it off the bench to become a starter in the lineup. I highly recommend this reel. Thanks Cabela's.
riverfishin
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 133