Customer Reviews for NORTH FACE Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

NORTH FACE Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods

This series features rods with medium-fast and progressive actions that cast smoothly. And they represent excellent values for casters of all skill levels. Buy one as a backup for that trip of a lifetime, but don’t be surprised if you return with a new favorite. Professional Series Rods sport premium-grade cork handles, over-sized stripper guides and blanks that are finished in matte black. Available from a delicate 2-weight to a stout but castable 12-weight. Images depict the "style" of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.657 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
65 out of 67(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Review 21 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New York, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spey rod

Date:October 30, 2008
Excellent rod at any price. Caught steelhead readily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wenatchee, Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a deal....

Date:November 23, 2008
What a deal; where else could you get a high functioning, medium fast action fly rod, for mere dollars. Iv'e caught thousands of fish on my many "TFO PRO" rods.Of all my "TFO PRO" rods I like my 8 foot 6 inch 3 weight the most....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fisherman for over 50 years, San Diego
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2 Wt. Pro

Date:January 20, 2009
This is the third pro series rod I own, an 8wt, 6wt and now the 2wt. Bought it just for "fun" and fun it is. Only been chasing bluegills in the lake behind the house so far and the wife says she can here me hollering all the way home! Same great quality, pretty little rod would give it a 5 if it had a little nicer
reel seat but then I would have had to pay twice as much.
Really looking forward to catching a nice sized trout on it. Should be great "FUN".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TFO 3 Weight

Date:May 6, 2009
This 7.5' 4 piece 3 wt shows quality in finish and feel. I have owned many nice flyrods, but this has become my new favorite. Its action is medium/soft and i suits my small eastern stream purposes well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ketchikan, alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Rods

Date:May 23, 2009
I've fished many a fly rod, have caught thousands of salmon, steelies, trout... and have to admit that this is one of the most amazing deals in a fly rod out there. Not only do these rods perform great, they look absolutely gorgeous. TFO is putting other companies to shame by putting out such a great product at such an unreasonably low price-point. Get one, and prepare to use it for the duration of your life -- TFO's warranty ROCKS. This will suit a fly fisherman of any experience level... and unless you are painfully discriminating... is all the rod you'll really need, and then some.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect for Shad, Stripers, Steelhead, FFF CCI

Date:July 7, 2009
Federation of Fly Fishing Certified Casting Instructor Sam Yee,
Some members of my fly fishing club cannot double haul very well or they may have physical limitations. we used a spey rod to allow them to cast farther using an overhead cast. Most of them could cast 80-90 feet on the first try. Distance is very inportant when striper fishing. It seems like the farther you can cast the more fish you will catch, more time in the water, fishes deeper, keeps the fly infront of the fish.
Another friend has physical limitations and he can cast a lead core shooting head much farther using a side arm cast and the spey rod than he can with a 9" 8wt. Anyway his first time using the spey he hooked a huge striper that got away and he was convinced that the spey rod was the way to go. Now he is casting 70' and hooking more stripers.
This is my second TFO Spey Rod and my 4th Spey rod. By far the 6 wt 12'6" is the best of the 4 spey rods that I have owned. The second best was the TFO Skagit 8wt, 13'3".
The first day out I caught lots of shad in the American River and the Rod cast perfectly and allowed my skill level to catch up to the rod and I'm still learning & casting farther.
All the other rods were a bit big for the shad and stripers. The 6 wt is light enough to fight fish without feeling like you are using a broom stick to fight fish. It bends down to the but but has plenty of backbone to fight much larger fish.
It overhead cast well and spey casts well too. Great for casting distance and great for fighting fish. Can't wait to try it on Stripers. Cast all day with ease.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: eastern PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TFO Pro 9' 5wt

Date:July 27, 2009
Bought this for large trout, big river fishing. Works well for
getting alot of distance out of your cast and great in the wind.
Also ended up using this for Carp instead of my 6wt and it handles the load just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Avid steelhead fly fisherman.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TFO Fly Rods - Best Bang for the Buck!

Date:January 25, 2010
Own 10 fly rods and for-the-price the TFO rods are the best I own, especially the 7 and 9 weight models I use for Steelhead fishing! A great buy for the fly fisherman that doesn't need to join the 'upper-crust' crowd on our waters!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vonore, Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great improvement

Date:February 1, 2010
I like this rod. I was using a 9' 5wt. before and didn't realize how much a 10' would improve my casting range and "high sticking" drift. The rod has just the right amt of backbone and you can't beat the warrenty and the overall value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb beginners to intermediate fly rod

Date:February 7, 2010
I have a 8'6" 4 wt. rod and I love it. I will state that you probably want to use either one wt. heavier or the SA gps mastery line. The rod casts well when it is loaded properly. I had a standard 4 wt. line in the beginning and distance was difficult over 35 to 40 feet. With the SA line I can reach 60 feet. Great action and strong backbone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vancouver, BC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Meeting expectations

Date:March 1, 2010
I have four of these rods (all 4 piece) and overall find them very comparable to some of my much more expensive rods from other manufacturers. The action suits me, they look fine and seem to stand up really well. Good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fly fishin Iraq

Date:March 10, 2010
this is my second pro series rod from tfo. These guys make a great product at a great price, and the warrenty is attractive as well. I bought this rod (9', 4 pc. 5 wt.) without handling it first. And my only complaint is that it feels and handles a bit heavy for a 5 weight rod. Otherwise its a great rod. My advice to anyone who is looking to purchase a tfo pro series is to choose one weight less than what you would normally buy. ( If your looking for a five weight, buy the four weight) Otherwise, the rod casts great, has good eye appeal, and fits together very well. This is a great rod for beginners as well as seasoned vets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TFO Professional Series rod

Date:March 16, 2010
I purchased the 9' 7wt model. After fishing the rod several times the cork handle is already starting to disintegrate. I like the action of the rod but the handle is obviously made of poor quality cork. I will think twice about buying another TFO rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rod

Date:March 23, 2010
For several months I'd been looking for a 9ft 5wt or 6wt to use on the White River in Arkansas. I purchased the 5wt model on a recommendation from one of the Cabela’s staff at the Hazelwood store. I couldn't have made a better choice. The rod performed much better than I expected. I fished it at short and long distances with Scientific Angler’s Supra weight forward 5wt and 6wt line. The rod worked well with both lines, though felt more comfortable using the 6wt line with heavier flies (bead head wooly buggers and weighted 56er's). The rod shoots both lines very well. I contacted a technical support staff member at Temple Forks about over lining the Professional series rods like many reviewers have suggested. According to the company, these rods are true to line, so a 5wt is designed for 5wt double taper or weight forward line. You can over line the rods, but it should not be necessary. Either way, you cannot go wrong with this rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lehi, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TFO Pro fly rod

Date:March 31, 2010
I purchased the 7 weight for use on our large, windy resevoirs. The rod is just what I wanted. Casts in the wind with power and accuracy. Very pleased with the quality and workmanship.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CO and FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

kirkonthefly

Date:May 20, 2010
Excellent rod for the money. Good med-fast action for the price. Any cheaper rod is probably not really "medium-fast". Very respectable action and will punch through the wind on Andros. I got to let my guides show me how to use it and then they told me they had guided Lefty himself several times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anchorage, AK
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding flyrod!

Date:July 13, 2010
I recently purchased a TFO, Professional series, 3-wt, based on a friend's recommendation, and took it on a 6-day river float trip. It quickly became my primary rod for arctic grayling and rainbow trout. The TFO Pro series is a beautifully finished, great handling rod and an exceptional value.!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California/Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TFO 8' 2 weight rod

Date:August 9, 2010
I have fished 3 or 4 times on really small, often overgrown streams in the past month. It performs excellently for both long and short range casts. Although I hope I never have to use the broken rod warrantee, it is great to know that I can get it fixed for a minimum amount of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio's Erie tribs
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What's not to like?

Date:November 23, 2010
The 10 ft 7 wt TFO Pro series takes care of business with Steelhead just fine! Can't believe all those who don't understand the ferrule design-it's supposed to be that way. Oh, and coat the cork with some polyurethane and the handle will always look brand new. I'm no expert, but I can cast some line with this rod and its handled plenty of Steelhead. Do those rods that cost 3 times as much net the fish for you?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Temple Fork Outfitters® Lefty Kreh Professional Series Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9ft. 5wt. Very good!

Date:December 21, 2010
I've had my 5wt. for about a year now. I've caught big trout, bass, and a catfish with this rod. It cast nymphs as well as weighted streamer up to size 6 very well for me. Good feel in close and good range with a SA GPX line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 67