Customer Reviews for Quantum Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Quantum Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel

One-piece PT reel frames are die-cast then machined from a special aluminum alloy for unparalleled lightweight strength. Every detail is CNC-machined to fit bearings, shafts and gears precisely on each reel, so the frame won't flex even under heavy cranking. Multi-StackMagnum? Ceramic Drag. Also includes MAGLOK? magnetic continuous anti-reverse, six-layer Saltgard? corrosion protection and a forged aluminum spool.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel
Review 1 for Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

owner

Date:October 6, 2009
This is the worst reel I have ever used in 58 years of fishing. I used the reel for a week, the line cut a groove on the bail arm. When I hooked a fish the line would break due to being sawed off by the deep groove. Also the reel would get hard to turn, then it would be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: SF Bay Area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

durable reel

Date:August 15, 2009
I have the 40. Its a durable reel. I fished it hard in the San Diego surf surviving splashes, sand, and salt. The first thing I noticed was the super strong and smooth drag. And there is a clicker sound with the spinning rotor. It helps to recognize drag being pulled out in a fight. And the magnetic bail really stays functional with all that sand splashing around. Only the opposite end got scratchy. The one piece handle that does not loosen up is also another plus.
Although the chassis seems to withstand dings and scratches, the rotor is a little heavy and the reel overall is heavy. The spool is decent but is not long casting. I am getting wind knots with Fireline (very odd). These factors plus a rather low line per retrieve ratio, prevents this from being the perfect plugging reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Highlands, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Boca PT Review

Date:April 21, 2009
I used the Boca-Size 40 in southwest Florida for Redfish, Jacks, and Snook and it performed very well. The reel retrieve is incredibly smooth, casts a mile, and my line never snagged or tangled once after a long week of constant use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum reels are great

Date:March 17, 2009
I have 7 Quantum reels and I love all of them. I just purchased the boca 70 and haven't used it yet but it seems to be no less quality then what I already have. The only thing I dont like is there is no back reel switch and no spare spool but this is something I have to get use to. Dont let me chase you away from this reel It's a good high quality reel, you wont be disappointed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bishop calif
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quantum Boca Pt

Date:May 6, 2008
Nice Real! I use it for Cutthroat and Salmon.I would Recommend this and the Cobo Pt which I also own.
Tim
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

solid performer

Date:February 6, 2008
I kayak fish with 6 reels in my arsenal. Three stratics (old version ), Two Daiwa tierras, and one Boca 20. The boca is my favorite reel and was the same price as the Daiwa's and less than the stratics. The drag is smooth and it outcasts all the others, is durable and good looking. I have configured it in my aresenol as my jig reel which means I use it more then all the other outfits. It is heavier but it is also heavier duty and saltwater rated. I was surprised to learn my stratics are not saltwater rated as they were sold to me as saltwater reels by my local shop.
If you are in the $100 to $130 price range for a small inshore reel, Get the Boca!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redding
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great All Around Reel

Date:August 20, 2007
I am a fishing guide on the Sacramento, Feather, Smith, Klamath & Ell River River(s). I have tried several types of spinning reels & had a variety of problems.
I found that these reels are quite durable for several reason(s), the biggest is that they are a salt water series reel, everything is sealed. I have had other reels in rainy conditions which have frozen up due to water leakage in rainy conditions.
They work great on salmon (I have personally landed fish up to 44lbs.) as well as a great trout/steelhead reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quantum Boca® PT™ Spinning Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Palm Bay FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boca Spinning reel

Date:March 29, 2007
A great reel for the price. it has a smooth and fast retrieved. Casting is great even with 1/4 oz jighead and 12lb test mono you can cast a good 10yds.There is very little wind snag if any with the light jighead. Really a nice solid made reel. I recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.