Customer Reviews for WAPSI FLY Spool Safe

WAPSI FLY Spool Safe

Organize your thread spools for quick reference and eliminate clutter on your work area. This solid oak Spool Safe holds 40 spools of thread and will look great on your fly-tying desk. It rotates for easy selection. 7-1/4"H x 11-1/4"L x 6-1/2"W.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spool Safe
Review 1 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015

Good idea for fly tying

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
It looks nice and keeps your spools of thread together so that they are easily accessible and organized.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2014

Spool Safe

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have two of these items and they are a fantastic space saver.. The only problem I have found is what others have mentioned in that the width is not quite wide enough to enable one to get a spool out.
By adding maybe half an inch to the width would correct this, and had your engineers tried this prior to placing it on the site would have shown this and the problem, minor as it is, would have been rectified.
All in all this is an excellent space saver, and worth the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2013

great organizer

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
great organizer for regular spools.
keeps spools in they don't fall out easily.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2012

Nice and compact

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I'm really new to tying and after gathering many different sizes and colors of thread along with yarn, wire, etc.; I wanted a way to organize it better. This has done the trick.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2012

Solid storage for your thread

By
Solid construction, looks great on my bench. You have to weight all sides evenly or the unit rolls around, and the spools can be a bit tough to remove if you're pushing the limits of storage, but overall, great for thread storage and access.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2012

Thread Organizer

By
This little unit cleaned up my fly tying desk and made finding colors and size much more effective
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Handy Thread Organizer

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is the best method I have found for keeping track of the many and varied spools of thread that I use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2012

Very Nice!! A Well Constructed Product

By
Location: AB, Canada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This Spool Safe is much better and is more effective than the plastic thread storage case I have been using for years, and have managed to drop a couple of times!!! not fun picking up the spools of thread!!
It works great, along with the Cabela's Rotating Tool Caddy, which is also very well constructed.Both items compliment my fly tying desk!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

surprisingly useful

By
Nicely done. Complements the other Cabela's wood fly tying items. I thought capacity might be overkill, but when I loaded it with tinsel, wire, floss and thread, I about filled it. Very easy to use, keeps the mess down, and you can find what you need quickly. Looks good on top of the desk so you don't have to hide it when you close up. Will buy another for wife's sewing stuff, much better space utilization and visibility than the usual plastic thread boxes with posts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2010

cool spool tool

By
Location: Tulsa,Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Keeps thread and other spooled material organized for fast identification. Looks good and very well constructed. The only problem that I have with this product is that if the rows are filled to capacity with five spools each, the spools are so close together that I can't lift them out with my fingers. A half inch wider would have allowed enough space between the spools to remove them with your fingers instead of a bodkin. In spite of the tollerable inconvenience it's still a functional product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2010

spool safe

By
Location: California
nice compact clean visable way to store your thread
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2009

Nice product

By
Location: Denver, CO
This is a well made spool safe that should give me years of great use in my fly tying. It reduces clutter and "unstacking" the tall rods I used to store my spools on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2009

spool safe Steve51 high Uintas

By
Location: evanston wy
This spool safe is ideal holds lots of thread easy to get spools in and out of
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009

Spool Organizer

By
Location: East Tennessee
Excellent organizer.This should be on every Fly Tier's desk. It has 12 trays which holds 5 spools each. Made of solid Oak with a 6" tubular plastic insert. I would recommend this to any Fly Tier.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2008

Awesome

By
Location: Westminster, CO
Great Product, Amazingly fast delivery
FANTASTIC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

Not for Rod Building!

By
Purchased this for my size A rod building spools and they don't fit!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2007

Excellent way to store your thread, lead etc

By
Location: Hammond, Wisconsin near the Kinni and Rush!
I'm always looking for the right color/size of thread and this unit does an excellent job of organizing all my spools of thread, lead and tinsels. The quality of the unit is fine and it works as described.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2007

Better than I anticipated.

By
Location: St. Louis - Ozark Trout Rule!!
Well, I was a bit reluctant to buy the "Spool Safe" given the cost and knowing I have a shop full of woodworking tools.....However, after receiving it I now see that it would take many, many hours to try to make something like it. It's NOT a 2 hour shop project and it looks good on my desk too!! Now I don't think it is nearly as pricy as I did before actually using one. Additionally, I get 72!! spools of thread, wire, floss, D-rib, etc., in mine. They are sitting next to each other without much of a gap between them, but I haven't had any problems adding or removing my spools. And the spools I'm talking about are just the stock spools the materials came on from the fly shop. I think they need to change the description. That's a heck of a lot more than described.
Overall - it works and looks great!! Love the organization, and ease of getting any spool I want without removing two spools to get to the one on the bottom of a pin. And I think it takes up less space than when I had them on spindles. I'm even going to buy another one once I accumulate more spools of "stuff". That won't be too long unfortunately.....;)
I recommend this puppy......it's better than I anticipated.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2007

New use of spool safe

By
Location: San Antonio, TX
I bought this for my wife to use for sewing but its really too small for that application. She was able to buy the smaller spools and make it work, they just don't last as long.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spool Safe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2007

Spool Safe

By
Location: Pottstown, PA
Haven't found a better way to store anything on a spool yet. Make sure you secure loose ends of the material o the spool or it can get messy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 21