Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits

Genesis Fly-Fishing Combos include everything you need to get started fly-fishing. The graphite composite rod is moderate/fast action to accommodate the beginning caster. A genuine cork handle, composite reel seat and double-foot chrome snake guides make it a first-class fishing instrument. The reel is die-cast aluminum with a disc drag sporting a large knob for simple, dependable adjustment. And it easily converts from left- to right-hand retrieve. All combos include a rod/reel case to protect your outfit while traveling. The 4-, 5- and 6-weight rods include an assortment of two-dozen flies suited for trout fishing. With the 8-weight rods, you receive an eight-piece popper assortment for bass and other warm-water species (comes with a medium flat/ripple fly box). Each combo also includes: Two retractors Scientific angler fly floatant Leader straightener Split shot assortment Two tapered leaders Forceps Floatant holder Nippers Strike indicators Rod/reel case
Overall Customer Rating:
4.388 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
95 out of 103(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Review 1 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2009

Everything they promised

By
Location: Illinois
The quality of the product is more than adequate for a beginner. The only thing missing in my opinion is instructions on how to spool and set up the rig. Would recommend to anyone interested.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2009

Flyfishing combo set up.

By
Location: Nebraska
I purchased this for my son as a present. It was the perfect gift for a beginning flyfisherman. Easy to set up and easy to use. Great kit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2009

Genesis Fly Fishing Outfit

By
Location: North Carolina
Great equipment, but no instructions on assembly or use.
A beginner willl need help getting everything together correctly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2009

Great beginner's rod and reel

By
Location: Seattle, WA
This is a great value - you get everything you need to start fly fishing. The flies are OK, but they're good enough to get you started.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2009

Fantastic $500 quality!

By
Location: Atco, NJ
Alot of reviews aren't 5 stars for this product and that makes no sense to me! The Quality of this set is amazing!
The bags fantastic and all the flies sit snug
i bought another fly box to put the flies in and the split shot container was a little cheap so I put them in the box the flies came in
You have to buy extra tippets and some flies but overall the accessories were great
THE ROD AND REEL ARE UNBELIEVABLE AND THE CASE IS JUST A GREAT ADD ON Everythings great the drag and reel settings are great overall, BEST ROD AND REEL COMBO ON CABELAS AND THE ACCESSORIES JUST TOP IT OFF
Dustin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2009

Out of the box

By
Location: Denver
Rod and reel met and exceeded expectations. Nice ensemble of useful items included. Not a big fan of the bag as it does not close up tight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2009

Fly Fishig Rod and Reel Combo

By
Location: New Mexico
I bought this for my Daughter. She started with a cheap starter kit and was now ready for the next step. We were on a fourteen day camping/fishing trip. SHE LOVED the combo kit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2009

Great product

By
Location: Corvallis, OR
I bought the Genesis package to learn how to fly fish. It had exactly what I needed to get started. Really a fantastic buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

A Great Value

By
Location: Sycamore, IL
I almost didn't buy this outfit, fearing that it couldn't be any good for such a low price. I am glad to say that I was dead wrong. All of the pieces are of a better quality than I expected, and seem to be appropriately chosen based on the rod I selected (8 wt).
As a person brand new to fly-fishing, I am sure that I did just about everything wrong the first few days, but the rod and reel held up perfectly. In fact, after 2 months of fairly heavy use (practice and fishing) I haven't had a single problem (other than a knot or two).
Not only have I recommended this outfit to several people, but I plan on buying another, lighter weight version for some flexibility.
One recommendation for beginners: Buy a few more leaders and some tippet material. The first few practice sessions can be brutal with knots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009

Include the DVD!

By
Location: Richmond, VA
The product itself is priced fairly and the quality for what you pay is outstanding. I purchased the #906 outfit for my 14-year-old son, and we are very happy with the purchase, as we have been with all of our Cabela's purchases.
However, since most people are purchasing the Genesis outfits as a starter fly-fishing outfit, I wish that the "Getting Started Fly Fishing DVD", which I purchased separately, was included in the package to begin with. I would have no problem paying $10 more for the outfit to get the DVD, and I imagine others wouldn't either. If you simply purchase the outfit itself, you don't receive any beginner's instructions on fly-fishing or setting up your rod and reel.
At the very least, it would be helpful to include a sheet that explains how to load the reel properly. It isn't easy, and it must be done properly in order to fish in the correct way.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2009

Money Metal

By
Location: Winchester, VA
One of the best thing I have bought for fishing everyone should have five!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2009

Not happy at all

By
Location: Acton, CA
Four inches of the tip broke off the first day. I was pulling line out to tie my leader on, and the tip of the rod broke off. That was after driving for four hours.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2009

Good quality for the price

By
Location: Fairfield, CA
This combo is my first fly fishing rod/reel and I'm already pleased with my purchase. Every item is of decent quality and only one item (bag) is from China. I agree that a manual or knot tying booklet would be helpful but I had no problems finding this info online so I won't ding its rating for this minor issue. If you've always wanted to try fly fishing stop delaying and buy this setup...it has everything we beginners need at a great price!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2009

Outstanding Value

By
Location: Bozeman, MT
This is an outstanding value - delivered quickly and in great shape. I wasn't sure I would like fly fishing so I didn't want to invest $1,000 until I was "hooked". This outfit delivered. Since it's not riggeed up for you, you have to learn some knots etc... A fly fishing 101 would be a helpful addition to this package. Otherwise it's a very good outfit, and an outstanding value. Everything you need except waders and water!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2009

Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits

By
Location: BrookStream, WI
I do not like it how the line provided did not fill the reel even after you put on the backer. It only filled the reel half full.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

Beginner gift

By
Location: Buffalo, NY
I purchased the fly fishing kit for my daughter who wants to learn how to fly fish. My only disappointment with the purchase was the lack of a booklet or at least a pamphlet in the package explaining what the different pieces were that came with the kit and/or a beginners "how to" booklet. She now has to order something separately and rely on friends to help assemble the pole.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

great starter kit

By
Location: Crested Butte Colorado
I got these for some friends who are learning to fly fish and they are better than expected rods. The accessories are a nice bonus
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2009

First fly fishing setup

By
Location: Colorado
Just learning to fly fish. The Genesis combo comes with pretty much all tackle the newbie needs to get started. Rod and reel are nice quality, good rod action in my 9', 5 wt, 4 pc setup. I agree with previous posts that some basic info or a starter DVD should be included describing how to tie the backing and all lines together, which flies are which and when best to use, what the accessories are for (I've always fished with spinners and crankbaits - what's "floatant", leader straightener?), how to make a basic cast, etc. Value of the outfit was very good for all the items contained and quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2009

fishing outfit

By
Location: G-town Ontario
All my gear is in storage.This outfit can at least let me get out on the local streams a few times this season without digging through my locker.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Genesis™ Fly-Fishing Outfits
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2009

Fly-Fishing Outfit

By
Location: Someone trying to learn Fly-Fishing
No Video, No written instructions!!!
Whats a beginner to do???
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 103