Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels

CABELA'S Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels

Our Salt Striker Reels are built to withstand the rugged saltwater environment, while presenting premium-grade features at affordable prices. Nine ball bearings and one roller bearing provide a super-smooth drive, while the instant anti-reverse delivers stout, slack-free hooksets. The three-piece machined aluminum spool with a titanium lip produces extended casting distances. A Hydro Shield™ multi-disc front drag system adjusts quickly and keeps out water and debris. They also have a titanium-plated ceramic line roller, and a rugged, sealed housing. And the machined aluminum handle can be switched to right or left-handed retrieve.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(277 Reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 277 reviews
5 Stars
213
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
259 out of 277(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Review 81 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2011

A real handful Salt Striker SS-80

By
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this for line weight and capacity to use salmon fishing in Alaska. The overall size was uncomfortable which I could forgive if the reel worked a little more smoothly. Overall, it was a decent piece of equipment, but will be relegated to back-up status in favor of a smaller reel with a compromise for line weight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2011

Using it for pike, and musky if one bites....

By
Location: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
smooth (excellent actually) for the price, no problems so far. works well with a braid line--no complaints. excellent value for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2011

They Never Let Me Down

By
Location: Turnersville NJ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Ordered the SS-65,t'was too big,got the SS-50 exchanged in a WEEK!! Been out a dozen times with this reel ,it doesn't miss a beat! Cabelas never lets me down
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011

Cabela's Salt Striker

By
Location: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Best smooth operating reel I've bought in a long while,, very happy with it..!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2011

Good affordable reel

By
Location: East Hartford, CT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Good reel, great price... Sturdy construction, I purchased this reel for my son and he is very pleased with it... He is mostly using it for salt water shore fishing....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2011

Highest recommendation!

By
Location: East Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I recently purchased two of these reels for a week long trip to the gulf. I caught redfish, trout and flounder on them; as well as the usual catfish and sharks.
I could not have been happier with the performance of this reel. Very smooth, very dependable and throws braided line great.
A superior value.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011

Good quality. Smooth and powerfull.

By
Location: Brooklyn, Ny
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Good quality. Smooth and powerfull.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2011

Outstanding Performance

By
Location: Lebanon, PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I now own 3 Salt Water Strker reels and they have been nothing short of great. Most of my salt water fishing is inland so I have 2 of the 40's and 1 50 for the occsional striper I run into. If I needed anymore I wouldn't look anywhere else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2011

Salt Striker

By
Location: Ringwood, NJ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have fished with it twice so far and with no problems, very smooth and seems well worth the money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2011

Great value and quality.......

By
Location: Chino Valley, Az
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bouth this reel on sale. I was not let down on the quality of this reel. Smooth. Tight. Great line capacity. Bought on sale and I believe it would be very hard to replace let alone the price. GOOD value again from Cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2011

good purchase

By
Location: Baroda, Mi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I used 2 reels for about 4 yrs. I liked them so well I got 2 more. I use them on my surf poles in the Gulf, they cast well & the drags are great, they stand up to any Red fish
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2011

Previous one better

By
Location: SPI, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought a salt striker on sale two years ago and it was great. This new one is not as good. I got the SSM30, the SS30 had more and better reviews, but not in my use. The new SS30 does not work well with 15 lb braid as it comes off the spool in loops making knots in the line. fighting a fish is great, but the casting is terrible. I used up all the line in tangles the first day in 20 to 30 mile/hr winds. did not have that problem with the SSM30. Will trade for the old model.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2011

so far so good

By
Location: Steamboat Springs
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I got 2 of these to take to Costa Rica and they did great for Rosters, baracuda, jacks, and rock fish. They were smooth and worked well. I fished them for a week hard and were a great value. - Next month when the lakes thaw-out I will use them for muskie and Lakers
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2011

Best Reel For The Money

By
Hands down, my ss80 is one of my favorite reels in my collection. I use this both for surf and on a boat in the northeast. It's been almost a year since I bought it and it's still super smooth. The best part is it's so cheap that I don't have to worry about damaging it like my I do with my higher end reels. Highly recommended
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2011

Perfect

By
Location: Adana Turkey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Made of high quality
materials very strong machine but its slow machine gear ratio is 4.5:1.
According to the price of great. Its very satisfactory
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2011

Best Spinning Reel

By
Location: Kathleen Ga
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The best spinning reel I have ever used. Top quality construction and durability. Will replace all others with Salt Striker.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2011

sturdy and smooth

By
Location: Vashon Island, WA
My 1st Salt Striker 50 Spin Reel is 3 years old. It's been very effective throwing jigs in Puget Sound for Pink Salmon. It performed admirably on the Kenai River, Alaska throwing spinners for Silver Salmon to 16 lbs and many Pinks to 12 lbs. It's a bit heavy, but the finish has held up well against saltwater corrosion and everything still operates smoothly. I will be trying out a new Striker 40 for our smaller Puget Sound Pink Salmon this summer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2011

cant be beat

By
Location: eastern shore ,md
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
i purchased the 60&40 size for big kittyand inshore salt water fishing i am very impressed with the quality and the price i got while they were on sale craftsmanship is equal to reels three times the price
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

Grandson's first spinning outfit

By
Location: PA.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
He loves its, along with all the other stuff he got with my points
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Cabela's Salt Striker® Spinning Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2011

Very Good Reels

By
Location: Houma, LA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Santa brought me a Salt Striker 2 years ago. I liked the smooth action, good drag and ease of use. Unfortunately, while fishing with it the first time, a redfish took off with it and the new rod at a high rate of speed, I guess he liked it, too. He's between Point Aux Chenes and Cocodrie, LA if you're interested. I bought 2 more Salt Strikers, a small one and one for surf fishing. They work flawlessly every time and have proven to be very corrosion resistant. I'm very pleased with them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 81-100 of 277