Customer Reviews for Fenwick Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Fenwick Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods

When Fenwick engineers designed the HMG years ago, they knew they hit a home run. They had designed a rod with a faster action, casting accuracy and lighter weight than anyone had ever experienced before. And now, the rod that began the high-modulus graphite revolution is back. The new HMG has all the qualities we loved about the original with a few improvements to meet the demands of today's more sophisticated angler. A higher modulus graphite blank gives you the feel necessary to make easy, disturbance-free laydowns, and the backbone needed to power bulky flies into stiff winds. The traditional Fenwick grip combines with a gloss brown finish on the blank and the walnut reel seat to give the rod the classic Fenwick look that anglers have loved for so long. Double-foot snake guides and a ceramic stripping guide let you shoot line effortlessly and quietly. The rods come complete with Cordura?-covered PVC rod tubes with a center divider to keep tip and butt sections separated and protected. A complete selection of lengths and line weights lets you match a Fenwick HMG rod to your specific fishing situations. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
23 out of 27(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Review 1 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rod

Date:November 18, 2009
I previously owned a Fenwick World Class Graphite Fly Rod. I used that rod to steelhead fish for more than ten years and then this fall I step on it and broke the tip. I was heart broken. I replaced that rod with a new Fenwick HMG rod and it is the best steelhead rod I have ever fished with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fenwick Fly Rod - a keeper

Date:July 2, 2009
Made in the USA. Just gave my news 7 wt a test run and it excelled. I was raised on Fenwick fly rods and it's nice to see them back.
Well done!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bonefish capable

Date:February 23, 2009
I like the way the rod threw into the consistent 15 knot breeze all day long. It didn't wear my wrist out and was fast enough to keep the loops tight throwing weighted clousers especially for a 4 piece that travels well. I think an excellent value. Made in the USA is always a plus in my mind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a fine rod

Date:January 31, 2009
I've been fly fishing fenwick fly rods since the 70's. I find them comfortable to cast, accurate, affordable and they have a warranty. Hard to do better at any price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marblehead, Ma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good rod

Date:August 26, 2008
I was very pleased with this rod....packs well, nice case...with room for another rod as well. I have the same rod in 2 pieces and the 4 piece does not have quite the same action. However, it is very close and much easier to travel with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Guymon, OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HMG 906

Date:July 14, 2008
Great rod, comes in a nice case packed inside a heavy cardboard tube for extra protection. It seams to be lighter and more flexable than my fiberglass rod. Its warranty is exellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fenwick fly rod

Date:June 24, 2008
casting is superb. Extremely well balanced. Medium to fast action. Great for nymph fishing. Excellent quality for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cape Breton Island,NS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fenwick hmg 9' 7wt

Date:June 16, 2008
I really like this rod its my first fly rod i'll be using it mainly for trout.The rod has a great action and responce i've caught a couple of trout with it already,soon i'll be ready for some atlantic salmon on the Margaree river.Ive already recommended it to a couple of buddies of mine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

delicate

Date:June 10, 2008
You will fall in love with the grace of this rod.I am strictly new to this sport and was able to catch a fish with the first cast of my life and eleven more afterwards which i released all.It transmits the signals like a copper wire transmits electricity aswell.I recommend this rod highly and the unconditional warranty is great aswell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern NSW, Australia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Return of a legend

Date:March 9, 2008
Have just received my Fenwick HMG 6# 4 piece rod and what a gem it is!!
A true 6#, medium fast action (at the slower end . . . which I love) and yet powerful, this rod does all the work for you and casts a country mile!!
The perfect companion to my original HMG 4# . . . The legend has truly returned!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SE MICHIGAN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gift for the angler

Date:February 8, 2008
My husband was happy and surprised to receive this great fly rod. I was informed that it would not arrive by Christmas but it did!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

exchange of damaged rod

Date:September 10, 2007
The exchange of my broken Fenwick flyrod was excellent. It was very quick and completely painless. I shipped the rod back and received the replacement rod within two weeks. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Salmon stick!!

Date:August 21, 2007
I took this rod to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia and fished the Margree river for atlantic salmon. While I was there there was a dramatic change in water level so I really put this rod to the test. Using sinking and floating lines, flies from #6 up to a boat anchor with feathers it cast beautifully delivering great roll cast with ease. When the salmon got fresh the rod gave me every movment right back to my hands(great sensation). I can't wait to get a steelhead with it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Jose,Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HMG Fly Rod

Date:August 6, 2007
I purchased this 9 ft, 7 wt. rod to complement the 9 ft, 6 wt. HMG fly rod I already own. The timing when casting each rod is very similar thus making it easy to switch from one rod to the other to adapt to different conditions.
These fly rods are well made and durable. This is my 5th HMG fly rod. Good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Livingston, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value in fishing rods

Date:May 15, 2007
I have been a owner, user and supporter of Fenwick fly and spinning rods for over 40 years. This has not always been easy to do because it is my understanding that FENWICK was bought and sold a few times in the past four decades. None the less, I see that Cabela's is carrying a fine line up of their new USA made rods. I, very recently, bought a 7 wt. Fenwick HMG fly rod and the quality is there, just like in the past. This rod will punch a fly fly just as far and with great finese as any of my custom fly rods which cost twice and three times the asking prices of these HMG's. These rods are gorgeous with their famous chestnut brown finishes, excellent stripping guides and well formed handles and reel seats. Their is nothing more that a fisherman needs when it comes to fly and spinning rods compared to a Fenwick. It's just that plain simple. At under $200.00, these HMG fly rods are worth every penny. I know personally, that there exist certain fly rods which carry price tags anywheres between $600.00 and $1,000.00. If you have that kind of money to waste, well more power to you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:November 21, 2006
it is built for me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rod

Date:September 1, 2009
I initially bought this rod as a back up but now find it one I use regularly. It casts a nice line for a medium fast rod. I use it for lake fishing from a float tube and it has handled large trout both Browns and Rainbows well. I also like the rod case as it doesn't use a rod sack rather I simply put the rod in the individualized spaces provided. The only reason I didn't give the rod a 5 rating is that I would prefer a fast action rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fenwick HMG Fly Rod

Date:April 27, 2009
Great rod ,beautiful finish and casts great and the price is reasonable also. I bought a 5wt and a 7wt. My 5wt did have the problem with the reel seat defect,but I used a 2 part epoxy glue that took care of problem in short order. Have not noticed that problem with my 7wt.So far I am very pleased with the preformance of this rod and would recommend it to anyone. It is light and has a great fast action to it,plus it is backed by the Fennwick name and Cabelas. So if your looking for a great rod at a great price don't hesitate. Hopfully they will correct the defect in the reel seat
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Formally Pa ,now OKC OK.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Rods

Date:March 7, 2009
I've been flyfishing now for 41 years and have fished Fenwick flyrods in one form or another for the last 35. Starting out with fiberglass to the HMG series.
For the money one would be hard pressed to find a better rod. I own 3 HMG's a 7'6" 4wt , 9' 5wt and a 9' 8wt. The 4 & 5 have performed great on trout and panfish and the 8 has seen it's share of steelhead and enough muscle to do saltwater for bluefish, school stripers and bonito.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fenwick HMG Graphite Fly Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Rod

Date:November 3, 2008
I bought this rod in 6wt for primary use as a nymph rod. It handled our typical rig - strike indicator - split shot - two nymphs - very well on a three day Bighorn trip. Rod action was smooth, even and strong. I had fewer wind knots than I usually experience on this river and was overall very happy with its casting performance. I noticeably lost fewer hooked fish than my partner but whether the rod had anything to do with that I cannot say. The Bighorn fish are big, strong 2-4 lb browns and rainbows in fast deep water. The rod handled them very smoothly and well.
The finish and look of the rod are excellent.
As noted by other reviewers, the reel seat has a manufacturing defect causing it to come loose. I shot it with some strong glue and expect no more trouble out of it. All in all a very good value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27