Customer Reviews for OKUMA Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels

OKUMA Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels

Baitfeeder reels contain 10 bearings (nine ball bearings and a one-way clutch bearing) for amazingly smooth retrieves, and they boast a baitfeeding design for more control when fishing live bait. In the baitfeeder mode, the spool releases line without the bail being open and keeps it under slight tension to keep control of the bait fish swimming around in the water. When the fish comes and takes the bait, the spool lets out line under the slightly heavier tension so it won't feel your resistance until you're ready. Engage the reel and set the hook. The Rotor Equalization system makes for a wobble-free retrieve, so you can fish all day long in comfort. It has a titanium-coated stainless steel spool rim for long casts and durability. Okuma Extra Drag System uses oversized stainless steel and felt washers to dissipate heat and put the brakes on trophy-sized fish. The Rotor Equalization system makes for a wobble-free retrieve, so you can fish all day long in comfort. Includes a FREE spare graphite spool.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.382 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
48 out of 55(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Review 1 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: Denmark
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reel

Date:December 27, 2013
I have used the Okuma EB-80 for three years of surf fishing now; and it is still working fine.
The baitrunner function is good and can be set to absolute zero drag. The line lay is not quite perfect, - but OK (I use 40 lbs. Power Pro or 30 lbs Fireline).
The extra spool is about 20% smaller than the original spool. The screwcap to tighten the handle with should - in my opinion - be bigger and have more grooves, so that it would be easier to loosen the cap when your fingers are cold and stiff.
The only serious problem, I have encountered until now is that the Baitrunner knob retainer (part # 619) rusts, which causes the knob to get stuck. To avoid this problem one can take the reel apart and grease the retainer. If the manufacturer would spend a few cents on a stainless retainer, the problem would be eliminated.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Okuma Epixor

Date:March 19, 2013
These reels are excellent and are quality built for the price. They handle great and the bait runner is super smooth. I would recommend this reel to anyone who wants to catch trophy fish.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not for salty

Date:February 14, 2013
The baitfeeder feature froze up very quickly and the reel is shot after a couple of brackish water trips. Stick with the Shimano for your saltier water. And yes, I take care if my equipment. My Shimano's are still as good as the day i bought them 3 years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't Buy

Date:February 1, 2013
I had this reel for one year. Today while fishing for steelhead, I snagged on the bottom. I gave a couple of easy yanks and nothing so I yanked a bit harder and the reel stem that attaches to the reel seat broke and the reel fell off! I was astounded as I thought this was a good reel! Upon further inspection, I noticed that it is made of a plastic composite of some sort! I give it no stars!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Okuma Baitfeeder reels

Date:August 3, 2012
I own two of the EB series reels, EB 50 and EB 30, I use both for heavy flathead fishing and saltwater fishing. These are the best reels I have ever had. They are smooth running, quiet on the retrieve and the drags are excellent. The baitfeeder tension can be adjusted precisely to the size of live bait or flow of current. Excellent reels!
IndianaFlathead
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lebanon, ME
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bait'em Up

Date:January 11, 2012
The Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder is one of the best overall spinning reels out there. Great line capacity for both fresh and salt water use. Whether offering live bait under a slip bobber or free swiming bait it has a great range of drag adjustment for a wide variety of bait sizes. Very smooth and sensitive operating drag and line retrieve. Have used this reel on a wide selection of rod sizes very effectively. So far I have used this reel chasing large Northern Pike and big Striped Bass. Handles fish between 10 and 50 pounds with great ease and I'm sure would do the same for much bigger fish when the opportunity presents itself! Looking forward to ice out~
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Okuma EB50 Baitfeeder Spinning Reel

Date:December 7, 2011
I was looking for a reasonably priced spinning reel to fill the gap between my Shimano Stradic FI6000 (for surfcasting) and my Cabelas Salt Striker SS-30/Salt Striker Travel rod combo (for off the dock/inshore saltwater/kayak/float tube). I also wanted to add a baitfeeder spinning reel to the mix. Reading reviews & catalogs, I narrowed my choices down to the Okuma EB50 & Shimano Baitrunner. Shimano quality is always Top-Notch, and my StradicFI is a real work of art at a mid-range price. But at almost 1/2 the price, I took a chance on the Okuma. I am not disappointed that I did!
The reel is very solid & silky-smooth. No doubt the 9+1 bearings have something to do with that. The quality looks to be very good-it's a nice looking reel. With a little care & maintenance it should last for years. The only thing is, even though the EB50 is lighter @ 17.4oz as opposed to the StradicFI @ 21.0, the Okuma is larger in size. No problem, though - with the money I saved on the EB50, I went back and ordered the smaller EB30 and STILL came out ahead! Hope this helps in choosing your next reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Vashon Wa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Shiny but disapointing

Date:November 11, 2011
I bought the 5000 series reel for a trip to east cape baja. The bait feeder function failed on the second day. I also bought one of the cabela brand saltist reels for nearly half the price and it ran sweet and smooth all week. I'm taking the okuma back in the morning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lowell, Ma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best ever reel

Date:September 6, 2011
I bought a Okuma Epixor bait feeder reel back in 2003. Since that thim I have had zero problems with it. it is smooth reeling. the one way clutch action works very well. the bait feed setting and the drag settings always perform with out a problem. I bought a second one this year for my second rod. I use it in the ocean always and it still work excellent. The outside coating is still in great shape as well. I have had many reels in the past and they all are junk now. They last a few years and then stop working. I recommend this real to anyone that wants a care free operation for many years...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bethel, CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Okuma does it again !!!

Date:July 5, 2011
I have been an Okuma reel user for some time and just purchased another one for a new pole. I bought Okuma again because my old Okuma reel is still as smooth as ever and still use it today. Did not think twice about purchasing another Okuma for my fishing gear collection. I would reccomend this reel to any avid fisherman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Reel broke

Date:July 4, 2011
I really liked this reel for the smooth action and drag. I did have some issues getting the bail to flip back if I didn't get enough momentum on the handle. On it's 3rd trip out it broke. The drag stopped working so when I got home I took it apart and the gear that engages the bait runner feature broke so it doesn't lock? This was after catching close to 100 yellow fin Tuna, Bonita and mahi in the 5 to 20 pound range running 25 pound test.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Penna.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smoothest Reels Ever

Date:July 1, 2011
I bought the reels for bass fishing with bait in the Susquhanna River. They work very well. The drags are very smooth, bait feeder is very light so the fish cant feel you. I like mine very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lancaster, PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Far So Good

Date:April 7, 2011
Been using the Baitfeeder reel for Striped Bass in the Chesapeake Bay and have been pleased so far with the performance. Up to a 45" inch 40+ pound fish so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Fork of Long Island...
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good Value...

Date:January 18, 2011
This report may be a little premature, as I've only used it a couple times since purchase early in the fall, and especially because once you review something, many of these programs won't let you do a follow-up report your first one, pro or con...having said that, I felt the reel performed well on the couple of occasions of live bait fishing...I'm primarily a boat fishing plugger for Striped Bass, Blues and Albies, but as all artificial afficionados know, sometimes fish are very fussy, marginally hungry and just aren't interested in much, let alone lures...to that avail, the reel worked as intended, although hasn't yet been tested by a fish of any size or strength...till spring rolls around, so stay tuned...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cedartown ga.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

okuma baitfeed reel

Date:January 14, 2011
i have had over thirty different 3000 or larger salt water reels, over the last thity-five years of fishing and none have came close to this reel its smooth,balanced,and the drag is great.Glad to finally find a reel that i would buy another one with no hesitation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AUSTRALIA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

xcellant for live bait

Date:August 23, 2010
great for live baiting those mullet,release the drag and let those big barra run with the line then hit them hard, love to see those big barramundi jump out of the water when the hook sets.great little reel,got the 3000 with 40lb braid&70lb trace
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use

Date:June 14, 2010
I found this item extremely easy to use! Letting out line without having the bail move kept me in full control. All adjustments were easy to put in place and removed automaticly once the reel handle is turned. Nice product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MS Gulf Coast
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Okuma bait feeder

Date:June 7, 2010
This is the fourth Okuma bait feeder I have purchased.
There is one fault common to the prior three. Shortly after each has been used for a little over a year, the "click" warning that should sound when the bait feeder lever is up and a fish starts to pull line no longer "clicks." Someday I hope to see a design correction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vancouver Island
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly recommended

Date:April 21, 2010
I have 3 different batfeeders. Penn Captiva 40, Penn LiveLiner and 8 Expiors. The Captiva is nice, but some details are just cheap. LiveLiners are the best I've used, but costly, heavier & no spare spool.
Expiors aren't perfect, but only because they are lighter (graphite frames), and the screw holding the handle comes loose always, and needs a touch of Loctite to fix.
The spare graphite spool has a different line-cap than the alum spool, and is borderline quality, but none-the-less you get a spare should you get spooled or wish to change line. None of the reel-sizes seem to accurately state line capacity.
Those soft-negative points done, this is a smooth, great-casting reel with a positive bail, which won't flip closed on you. That oddly seems to be a big positive, but many other reels from big names flip on me. The bail is oversized, but still works perfectly well and the line roller is a ball-bearing backed roller. Very good and easy to service.
Drag is very good, and it gets a frequent heavy workout. It is a pleasure to retrieve line with a great ratio across all sizes.
Line twisting is no issue, but I use limp spinning-designed mono & braids to help in that regard.
The rear, feeder-drag will impose a zero-force when set at zero after a couple uses or short break-in.
These reels are a delight to use, low-weight and well-designed.
For any spin-fishing rivers using free-floating baits, for salmon or steelhead, you'll love these. For back-trolling plugs, should you be stationary on a rock, these are even better than baitcasters.
Bottom-bouncing salt for flounder, halibut or ling, the size 80 is pleasure to use, and not heavy. It also is a good surf-casting reel, or downrigger-trolling reel.
Try the wee one for soaking powerbait under a float on a crappie rod, you'll love it.
A screaming good deal in this price range. Don't expect much from the spare spool, use Loctite, and I surely recommend.
Cheers!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: By The Big Mack!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder Reels

Date:January 18, 2010
This is the secound bait feeder that I've ordered from Cabelas. I'm using them in combination with long 9ft, and 10ft, light weight fishing rods to fish for salmon and steelhead up in Northern Michigan in lake Superior. We us them on the beach like a surf fishing rod and throw the bait out as far as we can and then set the pole in a tall rod holder, tightening up the tention to the bait and then simply filpping the bait runner switch and wait for the bite. When the fish grabs the bait and runs with it, the reel pays out the line smoothly until you get ther and set the hook. These reels work great for this application! Heavy duty reel. One of the best reels for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 55