Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel

We challenge you to find a fly reel that offers better performance and construction at a lower price. Odds are you won't. Beginners and experienced fly-anglers alike will appreciate the value and performance of this reel. The Prestige reel features a rugged cast aluminum spool and frame that gives it superior strength without extra weight, so you can comfortably fish all day. The disc drag system adjusts through a wide drag range and the palming rim allows for extra drag when needed. And, these reels easily convert from right- to left-handed retrieve.Two available models will handle everything from finicky bluegill to tackle-busting largemouth bass. Both feature a handsome matte black finish.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.456 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
65 out of 68(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Review 1 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Yakima, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best reel you can get for under $30

Date:November 10, 2006
I have had the Prestige Fly reel for about three years now and it has been worth every penny. This reel is very solid, somewhat lightweight and has preformed very well over the years. One of the main features that I like about this reel is how easy it is to unload the line. It has a smooth clicking action that isn't harsh like other similar reels and it has a fast silent retrieve. One negative aspect that I have realized is that the internal parts do not stay clean after a lot of use, so it needs to be lubricated to remain 'youthful'. Other than that, the Prestige Fly Reel is a pleasure to fish with and would be extremely beneficial for beginner fly fishermen to learn on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An Excellent Value!

Date:November 16, 2006
I purchased the Cabelas Prestige fly reel to put on my knock-around rod that rides with me everyday in my pick-up truck. At less than $30.00 I figured losing it to an accident or theft wouldn't be too painful. After using this reel several times I feel that it performs as well as several of my more expensive reels and much better than some other economy reels I've owned. So far I've seen nothing about this reel that would prevent me from recommending it to anyone who wants or needs to stretch his fly fishing dollars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fly reel

Date:November 20, 2006
I needed a fair priced reel and quick. I was pleased with how this reel performed with small mouth bass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mid-West/Ozarks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel

Date:November 21, 2006
I don't fly fish frequently, but when I do I don't tollerate equipment problems. This reel has stood up to my abuse and not shown any indications of being of poor quality. I was skeptical at the price, but I'm sold on the value of Cabela's branded equipment, it's top notch at a price that's affordable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pierre, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel

Date:November 21, 2006
This reel has soon become my favorite fly reel. The drag functions very well and the size of the spool is perfect for palming to slow bigger fish. I have used this reel primarily for trout and salmon fishing in the Northwest and have alot of confidence in it's performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bear Lake, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Prestige Reel

Date:November 22, 2006
The reel was what I expected. Well made and works just fine.
When Cabela's put thier name on something you can expect it to be the best deal for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Aurora, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela Prestige Fly Reel

Date:November 24, 2006
Purchased with a spare spool. After using on the steam the Prestige Reel was worth the money spent. A little heavy but a very good value for the price. The drag is easy to adjust and spool changes are a snap. Great affordable backup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Jefferson City, MO.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Inexpensive Controlled Drag Fly Reel

Date:November 25, 2006
I have recently purchased a Prestige One Cabela's fly reel to put with a new rod that I built to give to my grandson. I was very proud of the rod and wanted a reel that I could feel was appropriate for his first rod. When I ordered the reel over the Internet, I felt that if it was not of did not have the quality of the workmanship of the rod, I would keep it for myself and order him a more expensive model.
When I received the reel in the mail and examined the quality of the drag system, I was very satified to make it a part of the gift for him. I hope that he will use the outfit and remember where it came from and maybe pass it on to his son some day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida/Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Prestige Fly Reel

Date:November 30, 2006
Real value for a smooth drag reel. I've used this reel in both fresh and salt water and it has performed well for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow

Date:December 2, 2006
I got this reel because my non disc drag reel was terrible. Found this one for 30$, and got it. I was amazed at how strong it was. I could reel in 6 inch bluegills, to 2 pound largemouths. It held about 100 yards of backing and 90 feet of line, and still could hold more line! Theres no better deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stockton, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trout master

Date:January 8, 2007
Cabelas scored big when they designed the Prestige fly reel. This reel never tires, no matter how many fish it catches. I will never buy a different reel for my fly rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jersey Shore
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Deal

Date:February 1, 2007
The only reason I'm not buying several more of these reels right now under the present sale is that I already own five of them. Buying the spool alone at this price is a bargain. I've used this reel to fight large Salmon up to thirty pounds and trout up to 8 pounds on Lake Ontario Tributaries. The drag is amazingly good and I really don't feel cheated that I've paid full price for two of the ones I own. I have no idea how this would last in saltwater though, but the guts seem to be stainless steel. Really solid. Beats the heck out of the plastic and click reels you'll normally get in this price range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Problem switching from Left to Right handed

Date:February 6, 2007
I just received my reel in the mail and was impressed at how nice it looked. It came set up for a left handed retrieve, but I wanted it right handed. I read the 4 step instructions for doing this (very uninformative) and couldn't for the life of me remove the roller bearing to switch the retrieve. I've done this with other reels, but this was a bear to do. After using all of the blunt instruments and my fingers per the instructions I gave up and used a large flat head srewdriver to push out the bearing. That finally worked, but cracked the plastic casing around the bearing. I was very mad. Luckily the crack was not through from one side to the other so I think everything should still work fine. I don't plan on catching large fish so the casing around the bearing may never completely break.
If this reel works out nice in the spring I will come back and give it a good review. But for now, I'm a little upset.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel

Date:February 6, 2007
I bought the 5/6 wt originally as a knock-around reel, wouldn't care if it was lost or stolen. Now I guard it viciously, and have ordered the 7/8 wt reel also. For the money this reel is an extremely good buy. Used the 5/6 wt for bass and bluegills, drag is extremely smooth and responsive. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this reel to anyone, beginner or advanced!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW!

Date:February 6, 2007
Utterly astounding quality for a $20 reel (on sale). I planned to purchase a #2 reel and extra spool for my 7wt outfit as replacement for two ultra cheap and ancient reels. Saw the Prestige on sale for 20, and that's only a couple $ more than an extra spool, so I bought two. Not quite as refined as the Prestige II, (which I also own). Fit, finish, and drag are as nice as many reels costing much, much more.
Get more backing than you think you might need... on the #2 reel with 7wt WF line there is room for over 200 yds of 20lb backing. Fill it up to keep your fly line from being coiled small.
If they keep this reel in production, it will be the one I buy for my son when he starts flyfishing. Probably I should buy a couple more right now....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Murchison, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice reel

Date:March 26, 2007
good reel for the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel

Date:April 16, 2007
The reel came set up for left hand retrieve. I wanted right hand retrieve. I was able to change it per the instructions.
Excellent reel in terms of backing/line capacity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastpointe Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Still going strong after 3 yrs

Date:April 19, 2007
I have owned this real for about 3 yrs now. It has handled beautifully in every situtation that I have used it for. From Bass to Trout, and even steelhead. It has been dropped and dunked and still performs like it was brand new. I am going to purchase another in the near future for my son who wants to learn how to fly fish. This real is the best for the money and has proved to be a valuble asset in my fishing arsenal! I would recommend this real to anyone who is interested in fly fishing and would like to make their dollars stretch. Still going strong after three years. I do recommend to anyone that this real should be greased after every season to insure it stays in good working order. very good value for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Idaho Falls, Id.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel

Date:April 30, 2007
This is an extraordinary product for the price. The braking system is smooth, fully functional at all drag settings, and its simplicity, coupled with easily removable spool makes it a pleasure to use.
Unlike higher priced reels which are "babied" this reel can be used and operated without fear of damaging it and even if under extreme fighting conditions happens to be damaged, replacement costs are not going to cost an arm and a leg.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Prestige Fly Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Livingston, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very similar to Okuma reels

Date:May 19, 2007
For a person whom is looking for a great value in a fly reel, this one is hard to beat. This reel is very similar to Okuma reels in about the $50.00 range. I am not overly impressed with Okuma reels, but both of these have a great advantage in the price range set and in functionality. These are good starter fly reels but certainly are not on the quality levels of a Hardy or other top name brands. None the less, I would definitely recommend this reel in the world of light fly fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 68