Customer Reviews for SCIENTIFIC ANGLERS Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line

SCIENTIFIC ANGLERS Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line

This is an all-purpose line with a taper designed to handle a large range of lines and conditions. It's excellent when presenting dry flies, nymphs or streamers. Made heavier to fully load high-modulus graphite rods, and it has a braided multifilament nylon core for maximum air entrapment for minimum memory and maximum flotation.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Review 1 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2016

best xaster

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have been usinng masterrry gpx fly ines for many years.. They are simply the best fly lines in e market for fly fishing. I have many different gpx sizes that I use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2016

Perfect compliment

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Our son-in-law thought this was the perfect compliment to the St. Croix travel spinning rod that he also received. Thanks for making him a very happy person.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Great Lines

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have used these lines before. They are great. Now even better Thank Gordy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013

SA GPX 4wt 7ft helios

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Casts my 4wt 7ft helios 80 feet with tight loops if you wait long enough for it to load. Picks up great off the water and seems durable. It also can be delicate when presentation is a must. Perhaps it's the rod but I think it's just a good combination.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2012

My favorite so far

By
I have used Cortland, Cabelas and SA fly lines. While all are all very good I prefer the SA GPX in Willow color. I has the best balance of casting distance and supple float. It is a great color. When a trout looks up it sees a cloudy grey or blue background. A darker line stands out. I like the loop termination as it allows me to fish rather than attempt a nail knot. I have not had problems with the line cracking at the loop as some have experienced.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2012

Outstanding WF fly line

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I was very satisfied with this fly line. I even managed to catch my largest trout to date with it and both the line and fish were great. I highly recommend this line.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2012

Great Line

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've been fishing fast rods for a long time. I started with an Elkhorn years ago and now fish a TCX, XPs, and Z-Axis rods. This line pairs wonderfully with all of them. The extra 1/2 size weight really loads the rod well and I've noticed that the line is quite durable. I currently own 4-6 weight rods and this line is on all of my floating line reels. I was looking at purchasing some Rio Gold because I've heard some good stuff about it, but after looking at reviews, I've realized I've already got the good stuff. I put my lines through a beating and this has been the best option for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2012

Very Nice Line

By
Location: Smithville MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Smooth casting high floating. What else can you expect from SA GPX!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Great performance

By
Another great performing GPX from SA. Purchased a 6wt. for my Oct. 2011 trip to Montana. Handled rainbows and browns beautifully on the Beaverhead, Jefferson and Madison. It took a plus 20 in. cutbow from the Madison. Great Line!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Great Line

By
Location: MN
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought the 8wt line and it casts great. Since it's actually weighted at 8.5wt it's very easy to feel the line load the rod and would make a great beginner line as well. I would buy it again
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2011

GPX Taper Weight Forward Fly Line

By
Location: Denver, CO
I've been using my 6 wt GPX Taper Weight Forward Fly Line for two years and it has performed very well. The forward taper is easy to cast and especially into the wind. I was amazed when I first fished with it how well it worked compared to the fly line that came with the reel. It still floats after two years, I just bought the "Trout" version for my other fly rod.
One suggestion for the manufacturer - please label the end of the fly line that goes to the backing line.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2010

nice casting line

By
Location: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
nice and smooth casting lays nice on the water and is easy to mend.
As good as anything else in that price range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010

fly line

By
Location: northern new jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
An excellent product you feel you could cast for a mile
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2010

Bighorn Trip

By
Location: Michigan Trout Angler
I purchased the SA Mastery GPX WF line for my new Sage Z-Axis 6wt and used them for the first time on 4-guided trips on the Bighorn and thought the line performed perfectly. It was easy to cast on short casts and really opened-up when I had to punch it out in the wind while fishing midge pupa with some weight on the leader. When I switched to bwo dries on the surface, it was effortless to cast and I really like the small streamlined loops (on both ends of the line). The loop didn't add any additional weight to the end of the line and helps when quickly changing leaders. I'd buy another one again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2010

SA Mastery GPX is Great!

By
Location: Missouri
I have used other SA fly lines (not the Mastery GPX) for many years. I purchased 2 Mastery GPX fly lines for a trip to Alaska a couple of years ago. The lines were superb and cast beautifully. I have continued using these lines for more than 2 years, and they are still performing like new (only a light cleaning once a season). The GPX lines will turn over large streamers as well as large and small dry flies, and it will handle roll-casting bead-head nymphs size 18 to 8 with ease.
The GPX fly lines are 1/2 line weight heavier than standard lines, which makes loading and casting high-modulus graphite fly rods much easier, especially fast and medium-fast action fly rods. In the past I have been much less satisfied with some other fly lines, but I can honestly say I have never been more satisfied with any fly line than I have been with the SA Mastery GPX fly line.
The SA Mastery GPX fly lines are really great!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2010

Great line

By
I bought the 4wt. wf line for my TFO professional 4 wt. rod and it is the perfect combo. Agree with other reviewers, you get what you pay for. This line is easy to cast, accurate, and floats great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2009

SA Mastery GPX

By
Location: Saint Joseph, Missouri
A fine line-(excuse the pun intended)
Have used the SA line for some years. Stays boyant and supple..no silly kinks. Will last years if you don't wrap your leader around and yank it.....Expensive stuff....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2009

Best WF line out there..

By
Location: Rockingham,NC
Sometimes you get what you pay for. This is one of those time. Awesome fly line and has held up to several years of chasing salmon and trout in Alaska. Great line.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2009

troutbum

By
Location: Trout streams all over the world
Excellent Excellent Flyline, turns over like a dream when casting small to large flies. I can plow this flyline 90 Feet against a stiff wind with pin point accuracy. It's a dream to cast with my XP 6 wt. I'm througly happy with this fly line...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2008

Very Nice!

By
Location: Plainville, Ct
I've been using this line for a few weeks in 4WFF and I am very impressed. Once you get it loaded past 10 feet or so this line is extremely easy to control and cast long distance with ease and accuracy. Ive used it in 30 degree weather and it doesn't seem to stiffen up. Roll casts pretty nice too. I will buy this line again when the time comes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 29