Customer Reviews for SCIENTIFIC ANGLERS Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line

SCIENTIFIC ANGLERS Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line

This is an all-purpose line with a taper designed to handle a large range of lines and conditions. It's excellent when presenting dry flies, nymphs or streamers. Made heavier to fully load high-modulus graphite rods, and it has a braided multifilament nylon core for maximum air entrapment for minimum memory and maximum flotation.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Review 1 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SA GPX 4wt 7ft helios

Date:July 2, 2013
Casts my 4wt 7ft helios 80 feet with tight loops if you wait long enough for it to load. Picks up great off the water and seems durable. It also can be delicate when presentation is a must. Perhaps it's the rod but I think it's just a good combination.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My favorite so far

Date:June 10, 2012
I have used Cortland, Cabelas and SA fly lines. While all are all very good I prefer the SA GPX in Willow color. I has the best balance of casting distance and supple float. It is a great color. When a trout looks up it sees a cloudy grey or blue background. A darker line stands out. I like the loop termination as it allows me to fish rather than attempt a nail knot. I have not had problems with the line cracking at the loop as some have experienced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding WF fly line

Date:May 30, 2012
I was very satisfied with this fly line. I even managed to catch my largest trout to date with it and both the line and fish were great. I highly recommend this line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Line

Date:May 19, 2012
I've been fishing fast rods for a long time. I started with an Elkhorn years ago and now fish a TCX, XPs, and Z-Axis rods. This line pairs wonderfully with all of them. The extra 1/2 size weight really loads the rod well and I've noticed that the line is quite durable. I currently own 4-6 weight rods and this line is on all of my floating line reels. I was looking at purchasing some Rio Gold because I've heard some good stuff about it, but after looking at reviews, I've realized I've already got the good stuff. I put my lines through a beating and this has been the best option for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Smithville MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice Line

Date:February 1, 2012
Smooth casting high floating. What else can you expect from SA GPX!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great performance

Date:January 11, 2012
Another great performing GPX from SA. Purchased a 6wt. for my Oct. 2011 trip to Montana. Handled rainbows and browns beautifully on the Beaverhead, Jefferson and Madison. It took a plus 20 in. cutbow from the Madison. Great Line!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MN
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Line

Date:January 11, 2012
I bought the 8wt line and it casts great. Since it's actually weighted at 8.5wt it's very easy to feel the line load the rod and would make a great beginner line as well. I would buy it again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GPX Taper Weight Forward Fly Line

Date:June 21, 2011
I've been using my 6 wt GPX Taper Weight Forward Fly Line for two years and it has performed very well. The forward taper is easy to cast and especially into the wind. I was amazed when I first fished with it how well it worked compared to the fly line that came with the reel. It still floats after two years, I just bought the "Trout" version for my other fly rod.
One suggestion for the manufacturer - please label the end of the fly line that goes to the backing line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice casting line

Date:September 17, 2010
nice and smooth casting lays nice on the water and is easy to mend.
As good as anything else in that price range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern new jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fly line

Date:August 2, 2010
An excellent product you feel you could cast for a mile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan Trout Angler
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bighorn Trip

Date:May 24, 2010
I purchased the SA Mastery GPX WF line for my new Sage Z-Axis 6wt and used them for the first time on 4-guided trips on the Bighorn and thought the line performed perfectly. It was easy to cast on short casts and really opened-up when I had to punch it out in the wind while fishing midge pupa with some weight on the leader. When I switched to bwo dries on the surface, it was effortless to cast and I really like the small streamlined loops (on both ends of the line). The loop didn't add any additional weight to the end of the line and helps when quickly changing leaders. I'd buy another one again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SA Mastery GPX is Great!

Date:February 22, 2010
I have used other SA fly lines (not the Mastery GPX) for many years. I purchased 2 Mastery GPX fly lines for a trip to Alaska a couple of years ago. The lines were superb and cast beautifully. I have continued using these lines for more than 2 years, and they are still performing like new (only a light cleaning once a season). The GPX lines will turn over large streamers as well as large and small dry flies, and it will handle roll-casting bead-head nymphs size 18 to 8 with ease.
The GPX fly lines are 1/2 line weight heavier than standard lines, which makes loading and casting high-modulus graphite fly rods much easier, especially fast and medium-fast action fly rods. In the past I have been much less satisfied with some other fly lines, but I can honestly say I have never been more satisfied with any fly line than I have been with the SA Mastery GPX fly line.
The SA Mastery GPX fly lines are really great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great line

Date:February 7, 2010
I bought the 4wt. wf line for my TFO professional 4 wt. rod and it is the perfect combo. Agree with other reviewers, you get what you pay for. This line is easy to cast, accurate, and floats great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Joseph, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SA Mastery GPX

Date:June 15, 2009
A fine line-(excuse the pun intended)
Have used the SA line for some years. Stays boyant and supple..no silly kinks. Will last years if you don't wrap your leader around and yank it.....Expensive stuff....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rockingham,NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best WF line out there..

Date:April 3, 2009
Sometimes you get what you pay for. This is one of those time. Awesome fly line and has held up to several years of chasing salmon and trout in Alaska. Great line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Trout streams all over the world
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

troutbum

Date:March 31, 2009
Excellent Excellent Flyline, turns over like a dream when casting small to large flies. I can plow this flyline 90 Feet against a stiff wind with pin point accuracy. It's a dream to cast with my XP 6 wt. I'm througly happy with this fly line...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Plainville, Ct
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice!

Date:October 28, 2008
I've been using this line for a few weeks in 4WFF and I am very impressed. Once you get it loaded past 10 feet or so this line is extremely easy to control and cast long distance with ease and accuracy. Ive used it in 30 degree weather and it doesn't seem to stiffen up. Roll casts pretty nice too. I will buy this line again when the time comes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Stuff

Date:March 21, 2008
Great line. Low memory and casts well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: OR-CA border
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Scientific Anglers Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forwa

Date:August 1, 2011
Casts like a rocket. Have a 6wt and an 8wt.
Doesn't like the ambient temp over 90F, so it will tangle sometimes in the middle of a cast. I'd send a pic of a 24" rb, but there appears to be no where to attach one. A great way to christen a new line. I was using it with and L-tech rod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Scientific Anglers™ Mastery™ GPX Taper Weight Forward Floating Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Rockville MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just one tiny little problem.

Date:April 29, 2010
I love this line with one exception. Have had a couple of them and they all end up cracking at the base of the loop, giving a hinge effect. You can salvage the line by cutting the loop off and replacing it with an Orvis loop. But then what is the point of buying the pre-looped line. Scientific Anglers needs to improve the loop design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24