Customer Reviews for SHIMANO Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel

SHIMANO Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel

When you tie into a fish that's fighting like a runaway torpedo, adjusting your drag can be a crucial but difficult task to perform. Just the right pressure will bring him in; too much or too little will make him a fish story. The Shimano TR features a durable star drag system that is easy to adjust and always stays smooth, regardless of what's pulling on the other end. One ball bearing.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Review 1 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

real thing

Date:November 18, 2014
Great real for trolling for large blues and stripers in the fall. 40 pound fish are no problem. holds plenty of mono in the 30 or 40 pound class to get your rig to the depth you need..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ufa,Russia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reels

Date:May 4, 2011
The item corresponds with description. I recommend everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SE Alasaka - Capt Jim
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Reels

Date:January 13, 2011
I use 4 of these reels on my charter boat and have not had one fail yet. I use them for salmon fishing in Alaska and the drag is perfect, it is a lightweight reel, easy to handle even for kids and the just perform well!
I wish they made a bigger version for halibut.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

200 TR Star Drag

Date:April 26, 2010
I actually own two of these reels now. The only thing I'm dissapointed with is the star drag. The actually drag is smooth enough for what I do. The problem is the star drag handle loosens up completely when reeling in line or a fish. I like a light setting as i typically run 4 - 6 lbs. leaders for small stocked trout so i can't lock it down which is basically the only way to prevent it from backing off. You really have to pay attention because the drag is always coming loose. Shimano should have made the adjustments that click when the star handle is turned. If you have a newer shimano bait caster like a Curado that type of drag would be better. Hopefully this made sense. Good Luck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bristol
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little Reel

Date:February 13, 2010
I now own two TR200G's and use them for everything that swims in Long Island Sound. Drag is super smoothe and has the capabilities to tire out big stripers and stop those bulldog blackfish from getting back into the rocks. I would not hesitate to buy another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

strong and tuff

Date:February 10, 2010
i went fishing with this on 17lb test and took in a 70 inch sturgeon. i was going for striper but it hit and i got it in. had to release the oversized fished but hey it was a good fight and the reel was up to the test.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: central coast, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shimano tr200g

Date:December 19, 2009
A good little workhorse for pulling in rockfish, etc. a great little reel for the kids to use, being levelwind. no complaints
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New York, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Shimano quality for a cheap price

Date:January 3, 2009
I have the TR200G, it's matched to a 7' Outer Banks Casting/Jigging rod with medium heavy action, I can cast 1-3 ounce lures about 50 to 100 yards with relative ease. This is using 30 pound braided lines (sometimes with a 12 foot 30lb floro topshot leader). You will not be able to cast lighter lures on this reel very easily, the freespool control does not fine tune low enough, it's designed for baits and lures .. I could probably cast further but the sweet smell of burning thumb meat always stops me short.
After fishing I put a couple drops of oil into the level wind track; after saltwater sessions you can rinse or quickly immerse the reel in fresh water, it doesn't hurt it one bit, dry off with paper towel.
You cannot really beat this reel for the price but one little nit pick I have (which I don't see on pricier reels like my Quantum conventional 30) is that the star drag, when set relatively lightly, will tend to undo itself after several casts so when you crank forward the spool doesn't spin until you tighten the star drag back up. Therefore it's hard to set the drag precisely to a light setting, like you can with a lever drag reel, in advance, you will constantly be adjusting during your session -- but that is liveable...
As others have said the handle could be bigger for more control.
The reel casing takes a beating I've yet to scratch it even though repeatedly bashing on jetty rocks.
On a final note I had bad luck with 25Lb monofilament on this reel in cold weather, casting from shore (for trolling from boats I'm sure this would work just fine....) the memory in the line combined with the small spool causes backlashes easier when fishing lighter lures. Not a Shimano problem per se, this would probably happen with any reel, maybe something to keep in mind (use braid:)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shimano tr100

Date:August 2, 2008
Best reel for low dollars you can buy. With an educated thumb you can cast far and accurate. When you hook a large fish (I've landed high 20 lb salmon and lings to 14 lbs) you have dependable gears, and a solid and smooth drag to get it done. I've loaded these reels with 20 mono, or 30-50 synthetic to catch salmon, rockfish, lingcod off the ca coast. Make sure you disassemble and clean after a season in the salt. Works good for leadcore and summer trout, and a friend guide uses a pair for striper trolling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ft McMurray, AB, Canada.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent in Africa and Canada

Date:April 1, 2008
Had one for years, used it in South Africa for Garric, Small Hammerhead sharks, Bonito, Yellowtail etc. Since I moved to Canada I use it for Lake Trout and Pike.
Other that a clean and lube once a season it never needed any attention.
Highly recomended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NOT for casting at all but well made quality reel

Date:March 11, 2008
I purchased this reel for casting as usually fish the lake shores .
Its a solid well made reel built tough but I can only use it off the boat ,piers . As far as casting any distance I couldnt fathom a worse reel .
I gave it 4 stars as it truly is well made but if you want a casting reel any reel has to be better than this for casting.
If you want a reel for NON casting thats well worth the money infact better than many other expensive reels than this is it .
This should not be called a casting reel as it is not but I do like the reel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Catch em Up!!! Rhode Island
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TR Star Drag

Date:January 28, 2008
Great Reel, well built, has greased drag washers for a nice smooth operating drag system.
Will be used by my 10 year old son for Fluke, Striped Bass, and Tautog
Highly recommended
John P.
Rhode Island
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northbrook,Il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:January 15, 2008
Have loved these star drag Shimanos for years. I now own 8 of them. Very dependable and smooth as silk. Never had any of them ever in for repair. Al
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Discovery Bay, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

love it

Date:November 17, 2007
Excellent reel. I have one and will be outfitting all my river rods with these in the future. I use it for trolling for striper and salmon, as well as bait fishing for striper ans sturgeon. Great ratio and drag control. Its great for all levels of users and wont disappoint.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arlington, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

smooth as molasses

Date:September 17, 2007
The shimanoo TR was a dream. The drag was so smooth you could lighten it up, drop it down attached to the down rigger line without any worries that the drag would bobbel and break free. The retrive was fast and also very smooth. The only compaint I really had was the handel was a bit to narrow for my big hands and at the speed in which that reel retrieves a bigger handel for better control would be better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ireland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shimano TR® Star Drag

Date:September 10, 2007
Cracking little reel..only been used a few times so far but very happy with her...has landed tope to 39lb
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano® TR Star Drag Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tuckahoe, ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shimano stardrag 200

Date:November 29, 2006
this is the third reel in the shimano family i've purchased and as usual it performs up to standards. it's lite yet strong. very versatile. use it for fluke, blackfish, porgies and snagging bunker. excellent reel!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.