Customer Reviews for SHAKESPEARE Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods

SHAKESPEARE Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods

With super-strong solid glass blanks, heavy-duty components and a five-year limited warranty, Tidewater rods answer the growing demands of big-water anglers. All models have graphite reel seats with stainless steel hoods for a solid, secure mount that won’t fail even when battling the largest fish. These rods have strong blank-through-handle construction, EVA foam grips for comfort and a rubber covered butt cap. Each has nylon gimbals. SU Models are completely outfitted with double bridged heavy-duty rings. TW-F and SURR models have Stuart® anodized aluminum/stainless steel double roller strippers and roller tip tops, while SUR models have Stuart® roller guides and tip tops. Images depict the style of the rod handle and may not fully represent the actual length.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Review 1 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2012

TW664/0F

By
Just recieved should have no problem catching anything but a big shark or blue/black marlin. Will be using with a Shimano TLD 20 and 50lb powerpro for sailfish and yellowfin tuna in Kuala Rompin Malaysia.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2012

TW 60 SU

By
Location: New England
Great rod, highly recommended. Has a great backbone but is very sensitive.
You can feel the lightest bite but can haul up heavy groundfish all day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2012

Nice for the price

By
Location: Barto, PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good quality for the price
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

good purchase

By
Caught a few fish on them. Still wating fot the chance to really put it to the test with a tuna or wahoo!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2012

TW66 4/0 F

By
Location: Imboden, AR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I use this rod for snapper, grouper, cobia, and amberjack around oil rigs in the gulf. I spool with a 40lb mono main line, behind a heavier leader. The roller guides do a great job of feeding the line smoothly and not burning it, even with very heavy drag settings. This rod is sensitive enough to detect strikes easily at the 150ft depths that I've used it. It also has plenty of muscle to bring fish up quickly and keep them from into the rig. When I'm not at the coast, it also doubles as a great catfish stick. Very durable, highly recommended!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2011

Great Pole

By
Location: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I put a 4/0 reel with 80lb test braid on this tidewater pole for snapper, grouper, and AJ fishing and it worked great. I was fishing with almost 1lb of lead in depths from 125-300ft and was really impressed with the sensitivity of the pole. I had no issues with reeling up a 20lb red grouper and a couple of 15lb red snappers! Additionally, I want to thank Cabelas for getting the pole to me so quickly. You just can't beat the great service and prices!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2011

strong & sensitive

By
Location: Brooklyn, Ny
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
strong & sensitive
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

Great rod for the price

By
Location: Cogan Station, Pa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Trolling for lake trout on the finger lakes of New York. The rod is sensitive enough to tell if you have a small fish on, but has enough backbone to haul in multiple large lakers!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2007

Great Tuna Rod

By
Location: West coast angler ,S.F. Bay area
A great product ,I fish four of these rods for albacore w/ great results. Fish are quickly tamed and to the boat From guides to reel seats and everything in between a solid rod for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2007

shakespeare tide water rods

By
I have been using this rod for trolling, it has performed flawlessly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2007

tidewater rod

By
Location: south texas- boat captain
exellent trolling rod!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2006

great for the price

By
Location: saint Tropez France
I use tidewater rods to fish tuna in the meditteranean sea, off the coast of France.
Very good quality for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Shakespeare Tidewater Rod

By
Location: Lake Jackson, Texas
For the price you can not beat the Tidewater rod! I was very surprised with the value, you don't see this much anymore. I used the rod in Alaska this year fishing for Halibut and caught a 125# butt. I would recommend this rod for this type of fishing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

shakespeare tidewater rod

By
Location: Fishing Mexico
I have only used the rod once and it did just fine two fish!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2006

Awesome

By
This rod is amazing for both saltwater and big catfish. I took this rod with me on my trip to spain to fish for wels catfish in the Ebro River and it held up great. It pulled in a 140 lb. catfish with no trouble what so ever!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2008

Heavy duty Ugly Stick fishing poles.

By
Location: SW Oregon for Tuna fishing out of San Diego
Product excellent, Shipping and handling a little spendy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shakespeare® Tidewater Saltwater Rods
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2011

Not an ugly stick

By
Location: Cape Cod
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Butt cap came off on 1st day
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.