Customer Reviews for SHIMANO Shimano® TLD Casting Reel

SHIMANO Shimano® TLD Casting Reel

The sturdy construction of the lightweight TLD reels will outperform most larger, heavier reels. The lightweight graphite frame and sideplate keeps weight down while keeping performance high. The lever drag lets you make precise adjustments while keeping your hand on the crank. Four stainless steel A-RB® bearings are at least 10X more corrosion-resistant than traditional stainless steel. Oversized gears and the barrel grip provide excellent fighting efficiency for large fish. TLD 20 and 25 have harness lugs. TLD 15 features a open top frame with counterbalanced handle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Review 1 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2012

Great Reel

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Finally got to take my TLD20 deep sea fishing this last weekend. Worked perfectly and I hauled in several large fish. This was my first salt water reel and thought I would let other newbys know a few things about salt water reels. I did not notice that this reel did not have a level wind, no big deal because the way we fished, trolling and shore fishing did not really need it. Also all my previous experience was bass, and hybrid striper fishing, so it took me awhile to figure out how to cast it. This real is fine for casting bait out or trolling but not for casting lures, its just not made for that. Salt water fishing is totally diferent than fresh water fishing, well depending on what you are fishing for I suppose. Overall I am hooked and am looking forward to going out again and putting my TLD 20 to some more test.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

One tough reel ! I love it

By
Location: Milpitas,CA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I slammed home my first keeper sturgeon on this reel this past weekend. the quick adjust drag made it a walk in the park to fight.plus its weight makes it handle great on a rod balancer. I plan to buy another one when I get a few extra bucks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2009

Great reels

By
Location: Grassy Key ,FL
Bought two of these for trolling and am very happy.Much better than reels with star drags.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2009

Lever drag is great. Could not be happier

By
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
The TLD 20 has got to be the smoothest and easiest to use big game reel I have ever fished with. I like being able to change the drag setting while still keeping my fingers on the reel handle. It takes a little getting used to casting, but after some practice you may not want another reel. I recommend this reel to anybody who does light trolling or inshore live bait casting. You will not be disappointed!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2009

Great reel for a fast tide

By
Location: Bay Point, New Jersey
This is a great reel for fast water when anchored. The lever drag allows you to drop over 8 oz of lead to hold the bottom and fish with and open bail. It takes some getting used to when it's time tclose the drag and set the hook. I do like it a lot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2008

alwrite

By
Location: spring tx
works great, heavy duty, construction, poor handle ,will get the job done
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2008

Best for the money

By
Location: Sunset Beach, NC
You really can't beat the TLD series. I own 6 of the 15's that I use for king mackeral and other light species and 5-25's that I use for tuna / dolphin / wahoo. The 25's will handle any fish in the ocean to include bill fish. Never had a drag give up and if you give them a good wash down, they never corrode. Match any of these TLD's up with a good rod and you have a great combo. Also have some speedmasters that I use for tournaments. Shimano makes good stuff! Don't oversize your tackle and give the fish a chance, makes a better fight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2008

SomethinFishy

By
I used this reel over the weekend in San Diego. I used 25 lb test and caught 25lb Yellowtail and 35 lb Albacore. Reel worked great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2008

Oh ya... TLD

By
Location: Morro Bay, Ca
My favorite lever drag reel for the money. SLAYS the tuna and smaller threshers/mako. Also a really awesome reel for big halibut (bouncing balls).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

great

By
Location: texas
the shimano tld casting reel,has the back bone I needed for offshore fishing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2008

TLD15 Reel

By
Location: Blaine, WA
I bought this reel from Cabela's for light saltwater trolling and baitfishing. I own several Shimano reels, including spinning, baitcasting, other TLD models including a TLD-2 reel.
This TLD15 reel performs well and does what it was designed to do. My only complaint on the TLD15 is serious corrosion of the plated line guard, despite fresh water rinsing after use. This corrosion could potentially fray braided super lines and I had to polish the corrosion off this guard surface with a dremel tool. This polishing removed the pitting, the plating and exposed the raw brass beneath the plating which could be a future corrosion problem.
These reels are designed for salt water use and should be highly corrosion resistant. I have not had the same corrosion problem with my other, larger TLD reels, despite heavier saltwater use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2007

shimano lever drag tld-15

By
Location: bullhead city, az
Great reel for Albacore.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2007

TLD 20

By
Great reel for the money...has all the features you need for light trolling and/or casting live bait. Smooth drag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2007

WOW TLD 25

By
Location: South Carolina
A great reel !!!! Best reel for the money. Used it today to catch some nice red Grouper...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano® TLD Casting Reel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

tld

By
Location: Coastal SC
Great reel for live baiting. Smooth darag system. Strong enough to hold up to the fight of 100lb + tarpon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.