Customer Reviews for FOLSTAF Folstaf Wading Staff

FOLSTAF Folstaf Wading Staff

Designed specifically for wading, these staffs have become the standard for added stability. They fold easily and compactly to a 9" length, yet they spring open instantly and lock into a sturdy cork grip. Other features include a carbide tip, lanyard and belt holster.  Made in USA. Diameter: 3/4". Lengths: 50", 59".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.341 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
37 out of 41(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Folstaf Wading Staff
Review 21 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Laconia, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Folstaff 3/4" wading staff

Date:June 18, 2007
I have tried a number of knock-offs, all of which failed in tough situations. This is the absolute best of all the wading staffs out there. Solid construction. My fishing buddy of 40 years has had one for 30 yrs without any problems whatsoever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Whitehorse, Yukon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Strong and handy

Date:May 30, 2007
The staff is sturdy and it's great how it collapses down into its pouch so it's out of the way when you are fishing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Folstaff Wading Staff 1/2"

Date:May 2, 2007
After slipping and falling a few times I finally broke down and got a wading staff. I went ahead and got the Folstaff due to recommendations from others. I got the 1/2" for the lighter weight since I do a lot of hiking back into brookie streams. I am very pleased with it. It is very sturdy and worked well. It goes together extremely well - just take it out of the sheath and watch out!
If you are a big guy or plan on putting a lot of pressure on the staff in rough water then I would suggest getting the 3/4" staff. Otherwise I think the 1/2" will suite most people fine.
The thing I liked most about this staff is how quickly and easily it goes together. I watched a fishing buddy with a different brand of staff have to "put" hers together. It had an internal string but it still took two hands to pull the sections together. Sometimes when you need a staff, you need it RIGHT NOW and if your fishing rod is in your other hand... well you may end up wet.
The thing I don't like about it is that when it is all folded up and in the sheath the carbide tip in pointing up and its easy to scrap your arm on it. I wish they would have made the number of sections such that the point was down. I give it 5 stars anyway because 4 just wasn't quite enough. In truth I'd say it is a 4 1/2 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Folstaff Wading Staff Is A Friend Indeed

Date:November 21, 2006
Numerous are the times when fishing that I've been glad to have the security of my Folstall at my side. The Folstaff wading staff is made of very strong aluminum alloy and collapes into sections for convenient storage in its leather holster. The heavy-duty elasticized cord which runs down inside the staff allows for almost instant use as the sections click into place. Similarly, the sections disconnect after use with a little hand wiggling at the joints or with a light tapping over the knee. You're supposed to use the wax lubricant supplied with the staff but sometimes I forget!!!
The cork handle is comfortable and the staff is plenty long enough at about chest height. I find the attached lanyard perfect for attaching to one of the spare gadget rings on my fishing vest. In fact, when I'm actually fishing, the staff, on its lanyard, can be left trailing in the water out of your way until you need it again. The tungsten-carbide tip on the staff really gives a solid grip on stream-bed rocks and boulders.
As the old expression goes, "A friend in need is a friend indeed". Top marks to the Folstaff!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Folstaff - Great product

Date:July 30, 2012
These were my 4th and 5th purchases of Folstaff Wading staffs. I keep giving them as gifts to my friends and to those new to wading. It's a product that never lets me down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Edmond, OK
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Has kept me from falling so far

Date:January 11, 2012
Works very well so far. It folds up well, but is a little heavy. Also as noted by others, the point jabs you in the side when it is folded up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nebo, NC
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I got my stability back

Date:January 9, 2012
This is an essential item for anyone who has tried to ford swift waters or has trouble wading due to "long in the tooth" syndrome. Will make you feel like you're 20 again. Very stable and strong. Only problem is it may come apart if you stick it in a mud or sand bottom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Charleston, SC
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must have piece of equipment for wading.

Date:October 10, 2011
My Wife and I both purchased Folstaff wading staffs for a recent trip to the white water rivers in and around Cherokee, NC. We both would highly recommend this product to anyone as it is a necessity while fly fishing in these waters. The only con is some difficulty in taking apart after a prolonged period in the water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: western ,PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Compact/packable

Date:January 18, 2011
I really like the fact that this product breaks into small sections. This allows it to be carried at all times in my fanny pack. It is adequately rigid for stream crossings when needed. Easy to employ .The lanyard could use improvement as well as the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A must have

Date:May 25, 2010
This staff is a must have for anyone who wades through fast water or on slick creek beds. It was the first wading staff that i have purchased and was worth every penny. Very easy to open just pull it out of its holster and let go of everything except the handle and it pops into place. the only reason i gave 4 instead of 5 stars is i have noticed that when your fishing in really sandy streams or you put alot of pressure on the staff it can be a pain to pull apart to fold back up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Folstaff wading staff

Date:October 7, 2009
Excellent for river wading while fishing. Also for strenuous hikes; I will use two of these while decending fromt the rim to the river level (9.7 mi) of the Grand Canyon next May.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Elkins, WV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wading staff

Date:May 11, 2009
Like the way it assembles and folds up. It is handy when I need, stows easily when I don't.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Folstaff Wading Staff

Date:December 16, 2008
I purchased a 3/4" staff and would definitely recommend this size over the smaller one. In swift, heavy water it's nice not to worry about the staff collapsing on me when I need it the most. I agree with the other reviewers who have mentioned the difficulty breaking the staff down. A word of caution to those who have never used one before. Based upon my own experience there might be a tendency when wading to be overly aggressive and taking undesirable chances because of the sense of security that having the staff provides.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Farmington, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wading staff

Date:December 3, 2008
The staff seems to be made well and works as it should. Only problem is that no rubber tip came with the staff. This should have been included at this price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good overall staff

Date:February 11, 2008
Works as advertised. Not difficult to disassemble as noted in other reviews. Good item to have in swift current stream with variable depth.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Calgary Alberta
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost ...

Date:June 3, 2007
I flyfish a lot living right next to the Canadian Rockies. This staff is excellent for both big rivers (like the Bow) and the smaller mountain streams.
I didn't give it 5-stars because of what I consider to be a minor design flaw. Once you fold the stick (5 pieces) that last part with the pointy-end always folds up - pointing towards your head. Sometimes with all the bending and movement that flyfishing creates - that little pointy end can jab you in the side. Perhaps if you have abs-of-steel this won't matter.
I often wonder if the designers ever use the products. One less/more bend and the pointy-end points down in the holster.
However, it's still a good staff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Coeur d' Alene, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Folstaff Wading Staff

Date:November 20, 2006
The Folstaff Wading Staff works well on set up and use. It's only down side is it is very hard to break back down. The wax supplied did not lubrciate it enough. It is necessary to tap the joints lightly on a rock to get the staff disassembled.
Once one gets used to and expects this problem, the staff is a more than adequate product for a reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Easy to Open/Tough to Fold

Date:July 30, 2007
This is a good product; it functions as intended. Very easy to whip out and use. Couple of issues: (1) it is tough as nails to break the thing apart to fold it back up. The pressure placed on the staff when one uses it makes the joints very difficult to pull apart; (2) the folded unit does not fit very well back into its carrying case.
Perhaps wax or some sort of lubricating agent will make pulling the joints apart a little easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Vancouver BC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

foaming waters

Date:January 23, 2010
The shock cord is too weak with the result the staff buckles in fast water just when it is needed most. A nice tool for gentle waters but not suitable for serious wading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Folstaf Wading Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Folstaff Wading Staff

Date:June 19, 2008
Used one of these staffs for the first time last night in an admittedly very tough river river to wade, but hey, isn't that where you need these staffs to perform?. It simply didn't hold up. Came apart when I needed it to stay together, and when I was finished, couldn't even begin to get a couple of sections apart. It will go in the trash can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 41