Customer Reviews for CORTLAND Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line

CORTLAND Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line

The built-in buoyancy and slick surface of the 444 lines allows for smooth pickups and efficient casts. The precision tapers turn over your leaders for perfect fly presentations. Line is 90-ft. long.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Review 1 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2012

More than I expected

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I was very impressed with the performance of this fly line. I fished it in Alaska on the Kenai River, worked and performed GREAT!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2012

What i was looking for

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Hard to find four weight line with a sinking tip. This should do the trick.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2012

Works great

By
I will admit to being a fly fishing novice, but I had this line recommended to me by a friend who is very experienced (in fact he made my bamboo rod for me), and it has worked very well for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2011

Does the job.

By
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
It's worked well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2009

fly line

By
Location: new zealand
i would recommend this product to any one that needs a great fly line. i live in new zealand and find that this line performs in all conditions.has the ability to deliver an accurate cast and also to deliver small dry flies. product is hard to buy over here, but pleased to go off shore to purchase this great fly line.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2007

Great Value

By
Location: Albany, NY
Since I purchased these waders I have used them every weekend. They are a great set for the money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2007

Cortland 444 Classic Fly Lines and Fly Fishing CD

By
Location: Ireland
I purchased Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line WF 5 for my travel Sage 9'6" rod. This line is really smooth and gives you fool casting control. Great quality and pleasure during fishing. Strongly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2007

Excellent line

By
Location: West Virginia
very slick coating on the line. I purchased the DT 4 for my bamboo rod and it casts great. Very smooth loading of the rod and shoots out of the guys very well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2007

Cortland Classic Fly Lines

By
Location: Eastern Washington State
These lines are the continuation of production of the classic "peach" Cortland Lines that have been around for years. Well, don't mess with a good thing, and thankfully Cortland has not changed the lines, only the packaging. The lines are now packaged with a flyfishing CD (which I have never viewed so cannot comment). But the important thing is the line anyway. These are supple and slick lines that cast amazingly well. I prefer "medium" action graphite, bamboo and fiberglass "slow" action rods. For these type of progressive action fly rods this line cannot be beat. If you prefer a fast action rod or if you like to shoot a lot of line, you may wish to look elsewhere for your fly lines. But for these rod actions, the Cortland Classic cannot be beat. I use double taper lines almost exclusively and nothing roll casts better than a double taper. Recommended!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2007

A true CLASSIC fly line

By
Location: Livingston, Montana
I have used these "rocket taper" Cortland 444 fly lines for a good many years. I went through a period in my life where I got stupid and experimented around with other brands of fly lines but always returned back to Cortland fly lines. If a person is confused over Cortland's selection of different fly line configurations, just purchase one of these 444's. With proper care, you can get quite abit of mileage out of these classic fly lines. Not cleaning a fly line and STEPPING on them are the worst enemy of ANY fly line. Plain and simple.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2006

Classic line

By
Location: Scranton, Pa
A great line that ensure excellent presentations. It can be used by the expert as well as the beginner to make delicate presentations of even the smallest flies. It has been used in very cold temperatures, and does not demonstrate memory. No changes needed on a classic line
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2006

flyline of the (previous) century!

By
Location: the Netherlands
I have 4 of this peach colored fly-lines!
They are really excellent...
No memory...so great in cold weather/water!
Very slick and durable coating!
regards,
Nico
the Netherlands
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2010

flyline

By
Location: new zealand
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
it is my favorite line and it is a pleasure to cast
however i notice some small lumps in the line
which i could well do without... pity
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2010

Not a true floating line

By
Location: Tuscola, IL
Within 5 hours out-of-the-box and in the stream this floating line was taking on water and very difficult to roll cast. I bought the WF 5.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2012

Absolutely not worth the money

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
difficult to cast and high priced. I thought I might get a better line by paying more. Not the case. From now on I will stay with the Cabela's Prestige line.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2011

Not what I anticipated

By
Location: Fort Smith
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This fly line is not exactly what I anticipated. It does not seem to lay out as easily or as far as other fly line I have used. I will probably go back to Rio Grand as that lays out a dry fly better for me and with a bit more distance. This Cortland also has a tendency to sink after a couple of casts even though it is new floating line.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.