Customer Reviews for CORTLAND Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line

CORTLAND Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line

The built-in buoyancy and slick surface of the 444 lines allows for smooth pickups and efficient casts. The precision tapers turn over your leaders for perfect fly presentations. Line is 90-ft. long.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Review 1 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

More than I expected

Date:May 30, 2012
I was very impressed with the performance of this fly line. I fished it in Alaska on the Kenai River, worked and performed GREAT!!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What i was looking for

Date:May 17, 2012
Hard to find four weight line with a sinking tip. This should do the trick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:January 12, 2012
I will admit to being a fly fishing novice, but I had this line recommended to me by a friend who is very experienced (in fact he made my bamboo rod for me), and it has worked very well for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the job.

Date:June 7, 2011
It's worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new zealand
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fly line

Date:February 27, 2009
i would recommend this product to any one that needs a great fly line. i live in new zealand and find that this line performs in all conditions.has the ability to deliver an accurate cast and also to deliver small dry flies. product is hard to buy over here, but pleased to go off shore to purchase this great fly line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Albany, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:October 8, 2007
Since I purchased these waders I have used them every weekend. They are a great set for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ireland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cortland 444 Classic Fly Lines and Fly Fishing CD

Date:October 2, 2007
I purchased Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line WF 5 for my travel Sage 9'6" rod. This line is really smooth and gives you fool casting control. Great quality and pleasure during fishing. Strongly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent line

Date:August 21, 2007
very slick coating on the line. I purchased the DT 4 for my bamboo rod and it casts great. Very smooth loading of the rod and shoots out of the guys very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cortland Classic Fly Lines

Date:June 19, 2007
These lines are the continuation of production of the classic "peach" Cortland Lines that have been around for years. Well, don't mess with a good thing, and thankfully Cortland has not changed the lines, only the packaging. The lines are now packaged with a flyfishing CD (which I have never viewed so cannot comment). But the important thing is the line anyway. These are supple and slick lines that cast amazingly well. I prefer "medium" action graphite, bamboo and fiberglass "slow" action rods. For these type of progressive action fly rods this line cannot be beat. If you prefer a fast action rod or if you like to shoot a lot of line, you may wish to look elsewhere for your fly lines. But for these rod actions, the Cortland Classic cannot be beat. I use double taper lines almost exclusively and nothing roll casts better than a double taper. Recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Livingston, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A true CLASSIC fly line

Date:May 19, 2007
I have used these "rocket taper" Cortland 444 fly lines for a good many years. I went through a period in my life where I got stupid and experimented around with other brands of fly lines but always returned back to Cortland fly lines. If a person is confused over Cortland's selection of different fly line configurations, just purchase one of these 444's. With proper care, you can get quite abit of mileage out of these classic fly lines. Not cleaning a fly line and STEPPING on them are the worst enemy of ANY fly line. Plain and simple.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Scranton, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Classic line

Date:December 2, 2006
A great line that ensure excellent presentations. It can be used by the expert as well as the beginner to make delicate presentations of even the smallest flies. It has been used in very cold temperatures, and does not demonstrate memory. No changes needed on a classic line
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: the Netherlands
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

flyline of the (previous) century!

Date:October 28, 2006
I have 4 of this peach colored fly-lines!
They are really excellent...
No memory...so great in cold weather/water!
Very slick and durable coating!
regards,
Nico
the Netherlands
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: new zealand
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

flyline

Date:September 2, 2010
it is my favorite line and it is a pleasure to cast
however i notice some small lumps in the line
which i could well do without... pity
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Tuscola, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a true floating line

Date:March 28, 2010
Within 5 hours out-of-the-box and in the stream this floating line was taking on water and very difficult to roll cast. I bought the WF 5.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Absolutely not worth the money

Date:September 4, 2012
difficult to cast and high priced. I thought I might get a better line by paying more. Not the case. From now on I will stay with the Cabela's Prestige line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cortland 444 Classic Fly Line
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Fort Smith
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not what I anticipated

Date:April 7, 2011
This fly line is not exactly what I anticipated. It does not seem to lay out as easily or as far as other fly line I have used. I will probably go back to Rio Grand as that lays out a dry fly better for me and with a bit more distance. This Cortland also has a tendency to sink after a couple of casts even though it is new floating line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.