Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns

WINCHESTER Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns

Take to the field with these 12-ga. Winchester SXP Waterfowl Hunter Pump-Action Shotguns. Ideal for waterfowl hunting, the synthetic stock boasts a textured gripping surface to provide a sure hold. The Truglo® Long Bead™ fiber-optic sight offers a precise sight for enhanced accuracy. The nonglare Mossy Oak® Shadow Grass Blades™ finish will keep you concealed behind a pattern of shadowed grass blades until the time is just right. Inflex Technology recoil pad directs felt recoil away from your cheek for reduced flinch and fatigue. Crossbolt safety is easy to operate, even while wearing gloves, and the Invector-Plus™ choke tubes provide consistent patterns with lethal efficiency. The .742" back-bored technology creates optimum shot patterns that are dense and even. Hard chrome chamber and bore are highly resistant to wear and corrosion. Three-shot adapter with speed plug system is easily removed without tools. A drop-out trigger group allows for simple cleaning. Includes full, improved cylinder and modified chokes.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2013

Best Pump Shotgun Ever!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This shotgun has a great feel and look. I bought mine in the Mossy Oak Duck Blind camo and it looks amazing. It has a real smooth action and is smooth to load shells into the mag. Easiest takedown I've seen on a shotgun for cleaning. It is of the best quality and nothing is cheap about this gun at all. Perfect waterfowl shotgun right here.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2013

Excellent Shotgun!!

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great all around shotgun. This shotgun has the overbored .742 bore that accepts the invector plus choke tubes and this was one of the main factors as to why I chose this shotgun. I have a benelli m2 and a sbe2 but find that I have more confidence at busting clays with this sxp. I have fired 2 3/4 light loads all the way through 2 1/4 oz turkey loads out of this gun and it handles them all flawlessly. I mainly turkey hunt so on my first trip out test firing this gun I fired one 3.5'' 2 1/4 oz hevi 13 #7 shot through an indian creek black diamond strike .665 at 40 yards and placed 290 pellets in the 10'' circle. This was fired with a dirty barrel so I could possibly hope for better with a deep cleaned bore. So far I really can't say anything but good about this shotgun and for the price I really feel like this is one of the better values for the dollar on the market today.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2014

Will go down as one of the best pump actions made

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this gun for waterfowl hunting only. The attractive look of the gun is what caught my eye first. This gun falls into my shoulder great, and it is extremely comfortable. the gun is very easy to aim, and is very accurate. I have always been a fan of pump shotguns but this one takes the cake. It did take a little bit to get used to the action opening on it's own when the gun is fired, but after 1/2 a dozen shots or so it became second nature. This gun is capable of firing very quickly. With a little practice it is comparable to semi autos in a hunting situation obviously if your just seeing how fast you can rack off rounds a semi will be faster, but if your actually aiming and shooting at birds no one will be able to tell the difference. Recoil is very low with 2 3/4" and 3" shells. 3 1/2" shells do have a little bite but not bad for a gun this light. I would compare the recoil to my 12 gauge versa max tho the 3 1/2" is just a hair harder. I have been very impressed with the patterns from all shells I have shot. I did purchase a Carlson's extended range choke tube because I feel that the factory tubes that come with this gun leave a little to be desired. Don't get me wrong, they are not bad, I've just had improvements that are worth the change to the Carlson's in my opinion. I would not hesitate to let a young hunter use the gun. Disassembly is of the easiest I've ever seen, unscrew the tube cap and pop out 1 pin and the internals and firing pin are easy to remove, I could comfortably disassemble the gun fully in less than a minute. The camo paint is of very high quality, and has handled abuse better than any camo gun I have had. I am extremely impressed with the sxp and will be buying a field version or shadow model for my wife for turkey hunting. She is 5'9" and slim and she can handle this gun very well. I have used it all season and I can speak to its reliability and quality. I USE my waterfowl gun. I have broken ice with it and it has seen its share of rain and snow and it performs flawlessly. I recommend this gun to anyone who wants an attractive HIGH quality gun for a good price. The only thing I could think of that I would change is that I would like a thumb safety. This is just a personal preference, I have had no issues with the safety type the sxp has, I just like the top mounted safety better when wearing thicker gloves. In summary: I really feel that there is no better pump shotgun on the market at this time. Hats off to Winchester, they really hit the nail on the head with these guns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2014

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
overall solid great gun, smooth action, bit tricky to get used to the pump easy to run rounds through, quick breakdown. Love it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2014

Great Gun!

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Very well made gun in my opinion, shoots 3 1/2 shells like a champ. Very pleased I purchased this gun, now can't wait to get on the waterfowl with it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2015

my new favorite pump

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
winchester claims its the fadtet pump ever, I have no doubts. the design almost blows the pump back when you fire, takes a bitof getting used to.
I got the 26" model. fits great, great balance. quick to bring up on your shoulder. too many waaterfowl guns feel heavy and bulky, not this one.
I've shot 3" turkey loads and the recoil is very manageable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2015

WHAT A SHOTGUN

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This shotgun is undiscribeable. It is the best pump shotgun on the market, period. It has by far the best pump put on a shotgun. Its very light and has minimum recoil. One thing that takes some time getting used to is the safty. It is in front of the trigger gaurd instead of behind it.
BEST SHOTGUN EVER OWNED
WHINCHESTER TRULEY KNOCKED IT OUT OF THE PARK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2015

Awesome Shotgun!

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This is a great overall gun! It can take tons of abuse in the field and cycles anything you throw at it threw it. This is by far the best pump gun I have ever used. Ive put about 1000 rounds threw it and no problems so far 2 years later.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2015

Broke in less than 10 shots

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this gun for duck hunting because of the light weight, good reviews and price point. I guess you get what you pay for. In less than 10 shots the pump broke under normal usage. The plastic molding holding the pump actually severed. The gun is very lightweight and feels like plastic. Not sure that contributed to its failure but I have my suspicions. I will be exchanging for a different make/model that has more durability.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® SXP Waterfowl Hunter 3-1/2" Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2016

No Complaints

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Nothing to say about this shotgun but awesome. After initial oiling of the gun the pump is so smooth and slick it takes almost no effort to pump after firing the first shell. Speaking of that, after the first shell is fired depending on how hard you are holding on to the forearm the shell will practically eject itself and the only work you have to do is chamber the next one. Makes it almost as fast as an automatic when firing.Very lightweight and from the 150 or so shells I've put through it so far there has been no problems what so ever. Now I'm not gonna lie I haven't shot any major hunting caliber shells, only 2 3/4 target load. But still no problems so far and very much looking forward to the early goose and duck openers. Overall I am in love with this shotgun, would recommend to anyone. Plus a fairly cheap price for the 3 1/2 inch chamber and the shadow grass blades camo. Awesome looking gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.