Customer Reviews for SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle

SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle

Designed to shoot the .17 Winchester Super Magnum cartridge, the Savage Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle shoots at absolutely blistering speeds of 3,000 fps. Designed with a compact, rimfire action that uses rear-locking lugs and a cock-on-close bolt, providing faster cycling. Detachable rotary magazine. Same thread-in barrel headspacing system as Savage Arms centerfire rifles for superior ballistic performance. Light, crisp AccuTrigger™ is user adjustable without special tools. Soft, rubber recoil pad.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.706 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
13 out of 17(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Review 1 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very dissapointed

Date:March 1, 2014
If you are considering purchasing this rifle,do a search online, and at any retail ammunition outlet for available ammunition. Then make your decision.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Go buy a 17HMR

Date:February 19, 2014
This round is awesome I was making 300 yard shots on 12oz soda cans( when I did my part). I say was cause now I can't find ammo anywhere. Seriously it's ten times worse than trying to find 22 or even 22 mag ammo. So why don't you go buy a 17hmr and save yourself the trouble. And free up some ammo for me!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Upgrades needed

Date:October 6, 2013
Savage needs to provide this rifle with a upgraded set up type like they do for the Savage 93.
A heavier barrel, laminated thumbhole wood stock(s) options & a stainless version would make this a much more desirable & interesting gun.
They do that & I'll buy one as I find the cartridge of real interest. But in the currant version......no....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Needs a little tweeking

Date:February 3, 2014
bolt cap needs to be reshaped to give more room for a large thumb; rotary magazine is a little hard to load and I don't like the polymer magazine latch should be made of at least aluminum or metal. If it breaks you're out of service. Don't like the polymer trigger guard either as it will be prone to breakage as it is one piece covering the take down screws. Barrel could be heavier for better balance otherwise rifle is OK.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great caliber, bad bolt and stock, sloppy trigger

Date:January 19, 2014
I like the rifle, but there are a few short comings. It really makes no sense that a company as big as Savage would release rifles without ensuring quality workmanship. First, the forend of the stock isn't centered very well on the barrel. A slight side press on the forend of the causes it to move back and forth. Next, the bolt handle can be moved to the down/closed position even though the cartridge is not all the way into the chamber. I have never seen this happen on any bolt action rifle before. Last, the accu-trigger has considerable creep. I called Savage about the trigger; they told me to send the rifle back to them.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchesters Folly

Date:November 5, 2013
5 Stars with ammo, alas..................
Gun is good to go - not so much when you cannot find fodder for it. I am still thinking that Winchester is slow trailing this rifle since ATK bought the holding company of Savage in August 2013. Of course the bottom line is; why make ammo for your competition? OTHER THAN THAT, WINCHESTER IS LEAVING A SOUR TASTE IN A LOT OF PEOPLE MOUTHS OVER THE WAY THIS "17 WSM AMMO SHORTAGE" is being handled with a new roll out rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Great Gun but Horrible stock

Date:October 16, 2013
This little gun could be great if they just would have designed a better stock. the stock is so flimsy that it practically is completely twisted around the barrel some times. Free Float? yea right. Other than that this could be a great gun. When I pull the stock away from the barrel I can hit squirrels at 150yds. The bolt takes some getting used to but it's not a show stopper like the stock. Hopefully someone is working on a replacement stock. If not this gun will be a complete failure and could possibly hurt the 17 wsm which by the way is like a sledge hammer compared to 17 hmr and 22 mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

my rimfire needed some add-ons

Date:April 29, 2014
the savage .17 I bought would shoot vertical strings, with original stock and with laminate stock. I installed one of SVL's deresonator and got the gun to shoot quite well. The factory stock is an embarrassment to say the least. Good luck finding ammo for this rifle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like it

Date:December 29, 2013
I've owned a few Savages, and I especially like their rimfire rifles. This gun is super light weight, has practically no recoil, and is deadly accurate. I only gave it 4 stars because I don't love the bolt, definitely not as nice as some of the other savage rimfire rifles I've had. But over all a nice fun efficient gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not Savage's best effort

Date:October 20, 2013
I have had my B Mag for a couple of months. I own a LOT of Savage Axis models and 3 Model 12s. I eagerly awaited this rifle to show up for sale.
Pros:
- Fantastic rimfire ctg
Cons:
- horrible, cheap stock
- barrel way too thin
- ammo not available
- case splits
- bolt handle very poor*
* = OK, this is easily fixed. An aftermarket handle IS available, that is MUCH better than the factory piece.
After I purchased this rifle, I purchased another Savage, a 93R17 TR. Savage should have used this as the platform for the B Mag. I have several .17 HMRs and it's a great ctg, also.
Winchester has 'hinted' there may be .22 WSM and .25 WSM ammo in the future. These are all rimfires based on the .27 cal nailgun ctg.
Browning is the only other mfg I know of stepping up to make a rifle in this caliber.
BTW, I put a new Redfield Revenge 6-18 scope on my B Mag and that aspect is great!
ron
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

graat working gun

Date:March 29, 2014
I was very excited when this round came out. I could not wait for the gun and ammo to come. I bought it to shoot woodchucks with and it does a fine job of doing just that. I knew that the gun was very light weight before I bought it. I wish that it came with a wood stock, but I knew before I bought it that it did not. Where it counted Savage did a fine job designing this gun. Strong bolt and barrel combination result in an accurate varmint gun. Accu trigger works very well and although it was adjustable ,it worked great right from the factory. Magazine loads easily and it attaches and detaches easily. Although not the most fancy gun, it is an affordable working gun which does exactly what it was designed for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Rimfire

Date:January 29, 2014
Super fast rimfire round, and very accurate. Don't care much for the bolt cocking on the way down but its manageable. The only problem I had was the cheap feeling stock but with upgrades now available I'm happy. This round is devastating on small game and predators, and its hard to beat for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Savage B Mag

Date:December 22, 2013
I was looking into a rifle for varmints and coyotes, I was trying to decide between a .22mag, .17hmr or stepping up to the .223. Due to geographic location the .223 was a concern. Many people had suggested the .17hmr which I was leanning to, until I saw the B-Mag, and the cartridge available so I snatched it up. I have only fired a few rounds but it is a smooth shooting rifle. I have found no flaws thus far with craftsmanship, as of now I cannot think of a need for improvement, except for cartridge availability (as of now Cabelas is the only supplier.)
If you want accuracy, ease of use, a reputable brand, fun shooting, and cheap ammo BUY THIS! This rifle makes my friends jealous! I have been offered more than I paid for it but it isn't happening!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

amazing rifle

Date:November 1, 2013
Purchased this rifle on Saturday, shot on Sunday. Put 3 rounds in a quarter at 100 yards and one through the middle of a nickle at same. All four went right through these coins. I have the .17 mach 2 and the hmr. This new wsm puts them both to shame.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rimfire

Date:October 31, 2013
I put a Nikon BDC rimfire scope on this and after a few shots to get sighted in, it shot a realistic 2" 5 shot group @100 yards on a barrel that wasn't broke in. I used the 25 gr bullet and i was shooting between 2560 and 2640 fps. If people want a rimfire that shoots a dime at 100 yards this isn't it, but if you want a rimfire that packs a punch, is lightweight, and fun to shoot at a decent price.. nothing beats it. Finally found ammo at retail price too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Savage B mag

Date:October 18, 2013
Sweet little rimfire. I really like this thing. Very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savage® Arms B Mag .17 WSM Bolt-Action Rimfire Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The only review is from a guy that doesn't own one

Date:October 17, 2013
I find it funny how a guy that does not own this gun left a review with 2 stars because It's not offered with a few options the 93 is offered in. I do agree with him that those options need to be offered but the fact of the matter is this the .17WSM is the best shooting rimfire round I have ever shot. The Savage B mag is a great gun and when it is offered in a Stainless bull barrel with a laminate wood grain thumbhole stock I will buy one and sell my regular B mag. If you want one don't wait until they sell it with other options. Get one now while they are on sale and sell it later. I bet you make money on the deal. Great Gun!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.