Customer Reviews for WALTHER Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols

WALTHER Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols

Designed for personal protection and law-enforcement use, the Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Handguns are chambered in 9mm and .40 S&W. With a striker fire action, they're enhanced with a smooth pre-cocked trigger at a constant pull of 5.6 lbs. for greater control and accuracy. The short travel, light trigger pull and quick audible reset helps with accuracy and a well-placed follow-up shot if needed. The PPQ M2 comes with three interchangeable sculpted-grip backstraps for a custom fit that meshes smoothly into the hand. For greater control and handling, there are front and rear slide serrations and extended ambidextrous slide stop. It has a new traditional reversible mag release button. This German-engineered pistol is perfect for the right- or left-handed shooter and features three automatic safeties, three-dot sight with adjustable rear sight, Picatinny-style equipment rail, loaded chamber indicator and tough polymer frame. Comes with two magazines and a thumb loader.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Trigger ever

Date:April 13, 2013
I love this gun and would buy it for the trigger alone. It makes me a better shot and the trigger is perfection. I wish they had kept the old magazine release it made Walther unique. But the trigger makes up for it. Buy it if you find it at the store. Forget the rest there is no better gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellence...

Date:April 25, 2013
There is no other word to describe this handgun other than excellence... The smooth crisp break in the trigger to the ergonomics of the grip... there isn't anything like it that I have ever experienced. I'm not an accuracy shooter by any means, as I bought this pistol for home defense and possible carry later on. At the range... this gun makes me look good out of the box. I urge anyone interested in the PPQ to watch all the YouTube videos, read any and all reviews you can find, and read up on the waltherforums. It's not just me... it's all positive for a reason.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best 9mm I ever fired

Date:June 4, 2013
Totally agree with the other reviewers. The trigger sells this gun. Trigger breaks clean like a 1911. I used to own the SA XDm 3.8 inch 9mm. I liked the SA but it doesn't hold a candle to the PPQ M2. The SA trigger was spongy in comparison. Quality manufacturing all the way around including the magazines that load smooth and have smooth edges unlike some of the cheap mags you get with most polymer guns. Ergonomics are great. First shot at the range was a bullseye. I put around 100 rounds through it out of the box with no mishaps whatsoever. Only negative was Cabella's price being $70 more than most other retailers but then again Cabela's was the only place in the country where I could find one so I'm not complaining really. I love the sights also. There is a little more of an air gap between the front and rear sights when sighting making it easier to center especially if your eyes are blurring from age. Field stripping is the easiest I've seen in any polymer. Crazy easy. My Sig Sauer 1911 used to be my favorite range gun but now the PPQ M2 has taken its place. Muzzle flip and recoil are easily manageable - especially considering it is a relatively light gun. The PPQ M2 looks good, feels, good, and shoots good. I give my highest recommendation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Nice

Date:June 18, 2013
I own a Springfield XDS 45 ACP and love it. When I decided to get a 9 mm for a higher capacity I naturally gravitated toward the XDM Compact but it just didn't feel right in my hand; too thick and not very natural. But when I put my hand around the Walther PPQ M2 it felt perfect. The PPQ is lighter, smaller, and yet a slight longer barrel than the XDM. At the range the PPQ felt like a well oiled machine; smooth and accurate. It has more kick than I expected from a 9 mm but I like a little feedback in my guns. I associate the PPQ as the sports car of guns, along with the XDS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One fine pistol

Date:July 4, 2013
Why this little beauty isn't more popular is beyond me. I've compared it against Glock, Springfield and Smith and Wesson and I prefer it to all of those, but your mileage may vary.
Great ergonomics, decent sights, interchangeable back straps, nice grip texture and the best factory trigger I've seen right out of the box.
I purchased the .40 caliber and attached a Surefire weapons light on the end and the combo works wonderfully. It will absolutely protect my home, although I find it a bit too large to use as a concealed carry option.
If you are leaning on buying a new firearm in 9mm or .40 cal I recommend you try many options to see what you like best. If you don't include this one in your testing then I think you are making a big mistake. Most people who try it want one,I certainly did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Polymer Pistol to Date!

Date:July 15, 2013
I first heard about the Walther PPQ while reading various online forums. I'm not new to handguns and I've enjoyed my Glock 19 as well as my SIG firearms--and then I heard about the PPQ. Mostly in comparison to it's fellow polymer compatriot my by Glock, the G19 and all the talk is true. More on that later.
I picked up a Walther PPQ M2 at Cabela's and I ended up paying about $50-60 more, but it's the only place I could find one. They actually had 4 in the back and I was able to choose the one I wanted.
Out of the box, this is the BEST trigger on any polymer pistol I've ever fired. It took considerable work and modifications on my G19 to get to where they PPQ starts. The ergos of the grip is superb and while I would like the paddle release found on the Classic (what some call the M1 that Walther is bringing back in 2014), I find the mag release to be large enough and easy to use.
So, the trigger and ergonomics are good, but how is the accuracy? I immediately took my new prize to the local outdoor range for a run through (after cleaning and proper lubing) and I can tell you, this thing shoots like a dream.
Point of Aim is very intuitive and there is a bit more space between the front and rear sights than I'm used to, but i was able to quickly knock down all 6 plates without a miss at 10 yards, then back an additional 10 yards in 3 more rounds, ending at 40 yards out. While I'm no speed shooter, the PPQ makes it all seem easy and it is a great gun to shoot. I'm looking forward to getting the PPQ out at some local USPSA and IDPA matches in the future (which brings up my one complaint).
In comparison to the G19, the PPQ, is hands down a better pistol.
Here's what I love about the PPQ.
-Great grip and ergonomics
-Easy Point of Aim
-Great accuracy
-Easy to shoot well
-Solid quality
-Mag release (and soon, the option of the paddle release)
What I don't like about the PPQ
-Availability of magazines and the high cost associated with magazines.
-Limited amount of aftermarket parts or choices, such as holsters (you need to call the manufacturers to find what you need and there are some choices)
-Lack of marketing of the PPQ by Walther
Folks, this by far the best polymer pistol I've fired and I've fired MANY! Do yourself a favor and just pick one up when you're visiting Cabela's and I'm certain you'll be pleasantly surprised!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glock who?

Date:November 20, 2013
Tired of everyone trying to get me to buy a Glock I deliberately rebelled and searched for anything else of comparable quality. The aesthetics are what initially drew me to the PPQ. It's a sweet looking pistol! After several favorable reviews I decided to go for the 9MM. (.40 cal is a dead platform, no?) Glad I did. Feels great. Good weight. AMAZING trigger pull. And most importantly, RELIABLE. 100's of round through and NO failure to fire. NO failure to eject. NO problems whatsoever. I plan on picking up a few more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent pistol

Date:December 13, 2013
I've fired and used many polymer handguns. The Walther PPQ is by far the best 9mm pistol in it's class that I've fired. The trigger is smooth with a definable reset. The ergonomics are well thought out, minimizing recoil and allowing for quick follow up shots. The pistol is a nice size for concealment and offers removable back straps for grip. There's not much to not like about this handgun… it's one of the best Walther offers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Great Gun

Date:January 17, 2014
I wanted a .40 cal. striker - fired, polymer frame gun, and shopped the competition. The PPQ M2 costs less and has the best trigger going. Fit and finish is excellent. Very accurate. Digests all ammo - no jams even with the cheap stuff. My favorite gun, and I have many.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

40 cal. bliss

Date:February 1, 2014
Ive been shooting guns for 35 years. I see alot of reviews by experienced and inexperienced shooters that leave me scratching my head. There are alot of well made hand guns out there that I would be proud to own. I think most of the likes and dislikes come down to just personal preference. However, that being said, its my personal belief that alot of your accuracy is in the trigger and you will find that Walther has THE sweetest trigger on the market ! Walther is the industries best kept secret. Its the BMW of handguns. German engineering, reliability, accuracy and take down is ridiculously easy. Do yourself a favor and check these out !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Walther® PPQ M2® Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW

Date:February 10, 2014
This is my third Walther pistol, the others being a P22 and a P99c QA, and holy shmoley is this thing a shooter.
Understand that I've been shooting a Sig 228 for 20 years and considered that the greatest pistol I've ever had; super accurate, eats anything, and takedown is the easiest in the world. The one thing I never liked though is the grip, it's too chunky, and while the P99c feels great, the paddle mag release just isn't natural for me.
Along comes the M2 and all I can say is: Sorry Sig, you'll have to move over. This thing shoots like a dream, has the mag release I'm used to, and fits me as if the Walther engineers took a cast of my hand.
For some reason whenever I'm at Cabelas there is no one looking at these fine pistols, they're either going Glock or M&P, and while I have nothing against those guns (except for Glock's ugliness), the Walthers are getting short shrift and people don't know what they're missing. All it takes is ten or so shots with the best trigger on the market and you will know what I'm saying, there is no way to describe how incredible it really is, you have to just shoot it and you will be an instant convert.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.