Customer Reviews for TAURUS Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols

TAURUS Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols

Taurus semiautomatic pistols deliver excellent performance at prices that make them a great value.  Subcompact, double-action/single-action semiautomatic ideal for concealed carry. Its slimmed-down profile reveals no lines, lumps or sharply angled corners that could snag on the draw. Polymer frame and grips with a stainless steel slide. Textured grip enhances control. Trigger and manual safeties. Fixed, low-profile sights. 9mm with a 7+1 capacity.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2016

Great gun for the money!

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
All reviewers that had this gun misfire or misfeed right out of the box, need to go see a trained firearms instructor. I let my daughter shoot it first out of the box. It misfed, misfired and was very frustrating. I didn't try to shoot it, and put it back in the box. I took it back to the gunshop, and they took it in the back and it fired perfectly. I and my daughter went back with them, and they showed us what the problem was. My daughter was limp wristing the gun. Once she held the gun properly, it fired perfectly for her also! It has been a great little gun, and is very accurate!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2015

Affordable 9mm

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
After all the reviews about the quality of this weapon I purchased the 709 Slim. I shot over 500 rounds without cleaning it. Zero failures, the pistol loaded, fired, ejected rounds without any Issues. I was surprised that it operated so well. This weapon is very concealable, light and very easy to operate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2015

Awesome Gun For The Money!

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I was a little skeptical about this gun, as I've read some outstanding reviews, and some poor reviews. I thought I'd give it a try....and I was NOT disappointed.
Took this to the range the day after I purchased it, and it ran through 200 rounds flawlessly. No misfires, not failures to eject...flawless. Gun is extremely easy to break down to clean. Excellent firearm!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2015

Great little gun

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Picked one up after reading the great review in Guns and Ammo. Put 200 rounds through it with zero failures. Accurate and reliable. I like the thumb safety.
Very nice trigger for the size and price. Excellent little carry 9mm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2015

First9

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this pistol on the reviews and I'm not disapointed. For the price you can't bet this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2015

Great purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have had the 709 for over 2 years and liked it well enough to purchase a second one. I agree that it is difficult to find extra magazines for the gun except doing an on line search. There are a lot of persons/companies that have them.
I don't know why a store that sells the gun does not carry extra mag's for them. I have not had any problem with miss-fires or ejections. As on writer put it, make sure you clean it "before" going to the range and every time afterwards and do not over lubricate. .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2015

Can't beat it for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great pistol, have put several hundred rounds down range without any issues. Gun is very slim and fits real well for conceal carry. Very good trigger. It reminds me of a glock, maybe a little better, with a much cheaper price tag! Only complaint is that extra mags are hard to come by.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2014

Most Reliable Semi-Auto Ever !!!!!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought it 4 years ago. Daughter grabbed it before I could break it down and clean it. She does a lot of shooting with several different firearms. It has had over 2500 rounds put through it and has NEVER FAILED to fire properly. Several brands of ammo loaded with FMJ and HP. Decent accuracy to boot...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2014

Looks nice won't shoot.

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Taurus PT709. This gun is garbage every time my wife tried to shoot it it would FTE, I bought it for her and she was NOT HAPPY!!! I cleaned it and tried it several more times with no luck every time first or second shot it would FTE. After repeated cleaning and shooting 500+ rounds still no luck. Maybe just a lemon but the wife would not pick it up again. So I got rid of it and bought her a Glock witch I should have done in the first place. No more value guns for this family. :-(
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-8points
3out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2014

reply to Hit or Miss

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My son also had this same problem, a 3 shot full auto. After he told me this I instructed him to disassemble and clean out the the area around firing pin hole. Too many people never fully clean a firearm of preservative before use. I always do this. Taurus puts a healthy amount on these at the factory. Just my two cents. Oh, and by the way, no more full autos after he cleaned it. It is now his favorite carry weapon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2014

risky

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
some people have had good luck with this pistol some not, extraction problems, extra mags forget about it, getting parts not so great,,,backorder from taurus
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2014

Not too shabby, really.

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have this pistol in .40 caliber, and overall I like it.
Pros: Small frame makes it easier to carry concealed. The cost is fair for a small gun. It seems to take the reload ammo I use with practically no issues at all. I've had one round fair to chamber, but I had been shooting it awhile (about 200 rounds....) and the feed ramp was dirty. The pistol seems accurate at moderate shooting ranges. Always on target within 30 feet or so. A GOOD close range pistol.
CONS: The screw fell off from the rear sight, and is now gone for good. Only ONE magazine comes with the gun, whereas TWO would make life much easier. And the magazine should come with the MAG extension......the part that extends to the front of the pistol. That would help obtain a more secure grip for those with larger hands.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2013

Hit or miss

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
After a modest "break in" period with some FTF FTE issues things started going smoothly. However this last trip to the range it suffered a complete failure. After firing all 7 rounds in 3 seconds (one pull of the trigger) it is back at the manufacturer. This is an absolute hit or miss firearm. Buyer beware....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2013

Suprised X2, Sale price and preformance.

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I couldn't pass on the sale price for a 9mm. I and my 2 boys, 3 brothers have fired 500+ rounds of various brands of hollow point, FMJ and nylon bullets. Not one problem. So three lefties and three righties with various hand grip and techniques, the 709 grouped well at 25 yards. This is my first and possibly last pistol in the house. I can't as yet see why another is needed. I'll use it till it wears out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2013

Way better than I thought

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I was nervous about this gun at first, only bought it because it was on sale. (709)
It has grown on me a lot. Easy to carry and shoot. Haven't had any problems yet from ammo. I have used FMJ, TNJ, and hollow point.
So far about 500 rounds and its looking good.
I give 4 stars because the slide is difficult to pull back. Yeah I heard that's because it's " new".
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2012

love my little 709

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I love the size of this weapon. It's super-easy to carry and I have had nothing but good luck with good ammo, although with some cheap stuff I did have some (about 1 out of a box of 50) rounds that did not fire on the first strike. The second-strike capability of this weapon was nice. The single-stack magazine makes it SO MUCH more comfortable to carry than you can imagine without trying it. Although I wish the advertised 9-round extended magazine was actually available as Taurus advertised it's now been a couple of years and I have yet to see one. Gotta give this gun a big 5-stars and remind anyone that buys a Taurus weapon new that they come FULL of packing grease and that it is IMPERITIVE THAT THIS BE CLEANED UP GOOD before you can expect the weapon to perform, but it's my experience that they are good weapons, especially if you're on a budget like I am. Thanks Taurus.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2012

Nice Carry Pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Ditto... as per review from wvrifleshooter. This is a great little carry pistol. It is easy to conceal on your person and is very accurate for a small pistol. Purchased this pistol as a "special / sale item" from the Harrisburg store. Great service and price....
I have shoot 200 rounds... no jams or stove-pipes with full metal jackets or hollow-points. This little pistol does not like cast lead bullets. I'll save them for my ruger p95.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2012

709 slim great carry gun

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have had this pistol for a couple of years now. It is accurate and reliable. Light weight and easy to carry, not too heavy loaded and with an extra magazine. I often take it with me on hikes into the forest. It is easier to shoot than the 380 size pistols and more powerful. Great gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.