Customer Reviews for TAURUS Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols

TAURUS Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols

Taurus semiautomatic pistols deliver excellent performance at prices that make them a great value. Available: 740 Slim – A dynamic double-action/single-action semiautomatic pistol built for concealed carry, but with the stopping power of the .40 caliber. The lean, lightweight design won't give itself away under a polo or tee shirt. Durable blued finish. Textured polymer grips. Adjustable rear sight. 6+1 capacity. 709 Slim – A subcompact, double-action/single-action semiautomatic ideal for concealed carry. Its slimmed-down profile reveals no lines, lumps or sharply angled corners that could snag on the draw. Polymer frame and grips with a stainless steel slide. Textured grip enhances control. Trigger and manual safeties. Fixed, low-profile sights. 9mm with a 7+1 capacity.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Looks nice won't shoot.

Date:December 8, 2014
Taurus PT709. This gun is garbage every time my wife tried to shoot it it would FTE, I bought it for her and she was NOT HAPPY!!! I cleaned it and tried it several more times with no luck every time first or second shot it would FTE. After repeated cleaning and shooting 500+ rounds still no luck. Maybe just a lemon but the wife would not pick it up again. So I got rid of it and bought her a Glock witch I should have done in the first place. No more value guns for this family. :-(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

reply to Hit or Miss

Date:December 7, 2014
My son also had this same problem, a 3 shot full auto. After he told me this I instructed him to disassemble and clean out the the area around firing pin hole. Too many people never fully clean a firearm of preservative before use. I always do this. Taurus puts a healthy amount on these at the factory. Just my two cents. Oh, and by the way, no more full autos after he cleaned it. It is now his favorite carry weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

risky

Date:November 1, 2014
some people have had good luck with this pistol some not, extraction problems, extra mags forget about it, getting parts not so great,,,backorder from taurus
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not too shabby, really.

Date:May 7, 2014
I have this pistol in .40 caliber, and overall I like it.
Pros: Small frame makes it easier to carry concealed. The cost is fair for a small gun. It seems to take the reload ammo I use with practically no issues at all. I've had one round fair to chamber, but I had been shooting it awhile (about 200 rounds....) and the feed ramp was dirty. The pistol seems accurate at moderate shooting ranges. Always on target within 30 feet or so. A GOOD close range pistol.
CONS: The screw fell off from the rear sight, and is now gone for good. Only ONE magazine comes with the gun, whereas TWO would make life much easier. And the magazine should come with the MAG extension......the part that extends to the front of the pistol. That would help obtain a more secure grip for those with larger hands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hit or miss

Date:November 16, 2013
After a modest "break in" period with some FTF FTE issues things started going smoothly. However this last trip to the range it suffered a complete failure. After firing all 7 rounds in 3 seconds (one pull of the trigger) it is back at the manufacturer. This is an absolute hit or miss firearm. Buyer beware....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Suprised X2, Sale price and preformance.

Date:April 3, 2013
I couldn't pass on the sale price for a 9mm. I and my 2 boys, 3 brothers have fired 500+ rounds of various brands of hollow point, FMJ and nylon bullets. Not one problem. So three lefties and three righties with various hand grip and techniques, the 709 grouped well at 25 yards. This is my first and possibly last pistol in the house. I can't as yet see why another is needed. I'll use it till it wears out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Way better than I thought

Date:January 6, 2013
I was nervous about this gun at first, only bought it because it was on sale. (709)
It has grown on me a lot. Easy to carry and shoot. Haven't had any problems yet from ammo. I have used FMJ, TNJ, and hollow point.
So far about 500 rounds and its looking good.
I give 4 stars because the slide is difficult to pull back. Yeah I heard that's because it's " new".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

love my little 709

Date:December 18, 2012
I love the size of this weapon. It's super-easy to carry and I have had nothing but good luck with good ammo, although with some cheap stuff I did have some (about 1 out of a box of 50) rounds that did not fire on the first strike. The second-strike capability of this weapon was nice. The single-stack magazine makes it SO MUCH more comfortable to carry than you can imagine without trying it. Although I wish the advertised 9-round extended magazine was actually available as Taurus advertised it's now been a couple of years and I have yet to see one. Gotta give this gun a big 5-stars and remind anyone that buys a Taurus weapon new that they come FULL of packing grease and that it is IMPERITIVE THAT THIS BE CLEANED UP GOOD before you can expect the weapon to perform, but it's my experience that they are good weapons, especially if you're on a budget like I am. Thanks Taurus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Carry Pistol

Date:November 18, 2012
Ditto... as per review from wvrifleshooter. This is a great little carry pistol. It is easy to conceal on your person and is very accurate for a small pistol. Purchased this pistol as a "special / sale item" from the Harrisburg store. Great service and price....
I have shoot 200 rounds... no jams or stove-pipes with full metal jackets or hollow-points. This little pistol does not like cast lead bullets. I'll save them for my ruger p95.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Taurus 700 Series Slim Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

709 slim great carry gun

Date:November 6, 2012
I have had this pistol for a couple of years now. It is accurate and reliable. Light weight and easy to carry, not too heavy loaded and with an extra magazine. I often take it with me on hikes into the forest. It is easier to shoot than the 380 size pistols and more powerful. Great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.