Customer Reviews for STEYR Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

STEYR Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols

Lightweight pistols that sport a weight-reducing polymer frame delivering natural taget acquisition, and its ergonomic grip supports a natural wrist posture during shooting. Upgrades are quick and easy using the integrated from Picatinny rail. Mount tactical additions, such as laser-aiming or illumination devices (not included). The unique, white-outlined triangular sights guide the eye for fast target acquisition. Low bore axis for reduced muzzle climb.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols
Review 1 for Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent handgun

Date:November 9, 2014
...if on sale. Shoots well. Yes, my model is what some other publ reviewer called a "frankensteyr" because it's pieced together, and doesn't have some new features others mentioned. The triangle sight picture works well, but had to get used to it. The rear sight came loose, and Cabelas fixed. I added a LaserLyte v4, neat.
I would have bought the Walther PPQ M2 if available - more features at a bit higher price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

M9-A1 Great Shooter, Easy on the Eyes Sights

Date:December 27, 2013
I bought the M9-A1 on a Tuesday (day I picked it up) took it home and ran a cleaning swab through the barrel as directed and took it to the range. Shot 200 rounds of various ammo - Federal White, TulAmmo and Herton's. Everything shot just fine, the TulAmmo had some muzzle sparking - but truth be told its the cheapest steel jacketed ammo around.
I have large-ish hands (xl gloves which split across the palm or xxl where fingers are too long) and the fit is just fine, comfortable and easy to manipulate all controls.
Shot next day for CCW and shot 100% at all required distances. Trapezoidal sights are great for my tired eyes, beating all of my three dot sites on other guns I own. I just had cataract surgery on one eye and go in for surgery on the other in January so my sight is not the best right now - these sites make it easy to acquire and stay on target.
All-in-all, a great gun for the money beating my Ruger SR9 and Kel-Tek p11 hands down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unique and excellent

Date:December 13, 2013
I own 5 Steyr pistols. From old to new models. It is the softest shooting pistol on the planet. Ergonomics are superb and the reliability for me has been as good as any pistol I've owned. The customer service is superb also and the issues the other poster had could have been resolved easily. There are many holsters for these pistols and all this information is available at the Steyr club online.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love the sights

Date:October 15, 2013
I bought the S40-A1 a couple of weeks ago. I already own a Sig P938. I really like the look and feel of the Steyr. I am so much more accurate with it than with my Sig that I can hardly believe it. The recoil is negligible. Personally, I feel it is too large for concealed carry.....I'll stick with the Sig for that. I bought it for my home and it's perfect for that. I really wish it had a safety like the Sig. Other than that I really love it. It is also easier to field strip than the Sig. The trapezoidal sights are awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cool Addition to the collection

Date:October 15, 2013
Besides shooting, I enjoy collecting unique firearms. The L9-A1 shoots well but looks even better. I am glad I purchased it and will be a long term hold in my collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

C9-A1/C40-A1

Date:September 8, 2013
I own the Steyr C9-A1 and the C40-A1. These are both AWESOME firearms. I was skeptical about the polymer grip...at first. These guns fit comfortably in my hand like they were built for me. The Steyrs are built solidly and I can see these will last a long time. The nose feel is heavy which I got used to very quickly and muzzle climb is a non-issue because of the nose and the angle of the grip. The trapezoidal sights are another bonus. They make for quick target acquisition. These aren't "pocket pistols" but are still great for concealed carry. The cons about the C frame is finding a holster to do these weapons justice. I hope someone at STEYR ARMS reads this review and decides that STEYR should make a holster for this frame. These are great weapons, I wouldn't expect less from something from Austria.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Steyr (rhymes with Higher) RULES

Date:May 8, 2013
Steyr Mannlicher flat out rules. And NO...I don't work for them. I have both the S-A1 9mm and S-A1 40. The S series is smaller than the M that Cabelas carries. I bought the 9mm first not realizing that if I got the 40, I could buy a 9mm barrell (and mags) and could have have saved a little money. But oh well. Either caliber you go with, you will IMMEDIATELY notice a huge reduction in recoil. I have a Glock 27 that, after 100 rounds, my hand will be aching and slide bit. Now, I know the Steyr is a little bigger, but the muzzle flip is a world of difference between the two. The 9mm Steyr? Forget about it, like shooting a .32. The trapezoidal sights, admittedly, aren't for everyone, but I flat out LOVE THEM. I am absolutely dead on and knocking the black out at 7-10 yards (note: I practice no further away than that with any handgun, I'm not Hickok45 here with long range pistol shots, nor am I interested in trying). I truly would wish all shooters would be able to fire 50 rounds through a Steyr. Oh and I have also dealt with the Steyr customer service in AL. They are top notch and willing to assist. True, I did have an issue with my .40 trigger not resetting, BUT, it resolved itself without me tinkering or having it sent back. I have heard that Steyr is manufactured to very tight tolerances and will require a break in period of about 500 rounds. To me, that 500 rounds was fun anyway. Got about 1200 rounds through my 9 and about 800 through my 40. It just keeps on running.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Glock copy I could have bought

Date:May 5, 2013
A couple of months ago I bought a Steyr C9-A1 compact 9mm semiauto. It holds 17 rounds (!), they give you 2 magazines. . . and it's just a dandy, great sized CC weapon. I just got my CHL, the shooting part to quality was a piece of cake, the trapizoidal sighting system is GREAT!!!!!! This gun is a winner. Hardly any recoil. You can't be this Steyr even compared with a Glock. I would buy another one in a heartbeat and highly recommend one for you. Check out Youtube reviews to see what I say is right on!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steyr Centerfire Semiautomatic Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't buy this gun, this is not the model shown

Date:February 18, 2013
I bought this gun from the Rogers, MN store the first week of Feb. 2013. I have shot several hundred rounds through the gun and have had many problems with the gun not ejecting the fired casing and jamming. Upon further investigation I found out that this is a model made of old and current parts. The slide is from a 2004 M9 while the stock appears to be from a 2009-10 M9-A1. This does not have the improvements and fixes Steyr included in the newer models. In fact you can see that the picture shows a small roll-pin under the rear site, this was added in 2011 to fix a trigger break problem but my slide does not have it. I am deeply disappointed that Cabela's is selling this pistol as a M9-A1 when it is not. I have been a Cabela's customer for 20 years but will not be coming back after this fiasco.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.