Customer Reviews for SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols

SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols

To create the XD-S Centerfire Pistols, Springfield Armory took the best innovations of the award-winning XD Series and trimmed down the frame to a perfect size for compact, concealed carry. Metal parts on each gun are forged and machined from billet with utmost precision. Fully hammer-forged barrels enhance accuracy. Corrosion-resistant finishes are either super-hard black Melonite® or classic bead-blasted stainless steel. The Ultra Safety Assurance Action Trigger System™ guards against accidental discharge by locking the trigger in place until direct rearward pressure is applied. Loaded-chamber indicator allows the shooter to verify without a doubt, visually or by touch, that there is a round in the chamber. Grip safety allows firing only when the shooter has a firm grip on the pistol. A more pronounced texture on the XD-S ensures your grip is always secure. A single-position Picatinny rail readily accepts lights, lasers or other pistol accessories. It is one of the only polymer pistols of this size with this feature. The XD-S trigger has a short travel along with a short reset, which keeps you on target with greater ease for quicker, more accurate follow-up shots. The low-profile rear sight is holster friendly. Fiber-optic front sight promotes easier and faster target acquisition. Customize your grip with two interchangeable backstraps. Includes rugged carry case, paddle holster, double magazine pouch, two interchangeable backstraps, two magazines, cable lock, bore brush and safety manual.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.955 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great shooter for small firearm

Date:April 7, 2014
Went to Cabela's to trade in my LC9 for the shield and they didnt have the shield but had the xds..glad they didnt..xds by far the best sub compact pistol i ever fired..would highly recommand..love the short reset for follow up shots..nice trigger..not too much recoil..2 thumbs up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Springfield Armory® XD-S 9mm 4" Barrel

Date:March 28, 2014
My new favorite all around pistol. Comes with 7 and 9 round magazines and adjustable grip for more or less palm swell. Has clip release on both sides of grip so pistol is ambidextrous. Fiber optic front sight in red or green and comes with replacement fibers. Pistol is small enough to effectively conceal and accurate enough for use as a range or home protection gun.
Out of the box I put 250 round of cheap reload through attempting to test the legendary reliability of SA XD series pistols. I had a total of four FTE and it bothered me. I then ran 50 rounds of new ammo through and it functioned flawlessly. This is a very accurate sweet running pistol that can be fired all day without any fatigue whatsoever. Once back home a complete cleaning and inspection was done. The Springfield XD pistols are very simple and fast to strip and clean.
The next outing consisted of 300 rounds of Magtec 115 grain FMJ and the pistol fired flawlessly.
XD has safety features I really like but some don't. It has a back strap safety, trigger safety, loaded chamber indicator, as well as a breech peep. It does not have a slide lock safety and I wish it did.
If I had to complain I would say sometimes you have to push hard on the clip release button but this is probably good so that clips are not accidentally dropped when firing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

An accurate and comfortable 9mm pistol

Date:March 7, 2014
An excellent pistol out of the box. I've used hollow points and jacketed 9mm without jams or malfunctions. 200 rounds so far with no problems.
The paddle holster included with the gun is comfortable and the draw is quick once you adjust the tension. My gun came with the short magazine. At 20 yards I could keep rounds in the 9 ring of a 25yd bullseye target. Big sights. Squishy trigger same as a Glock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect CCW

Date:March 6, 2014
Carried A Sig SP-2022 and a Springfield XD9. Got a hold of the XDs 9MM and by far the best of the 3 for CCW. Shot straight right out of the box. Sent back for the recall and received the 9 shot mag. Just an all around fun pistol. Buy it you won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great CCW

Date:January 14, 2014
I've carried three different pistols as my CCW and the .45 XDS is by far the right tool for the job. It's concealable in the pocket as well as a belly band. It shoots smooth and surprisingly holds the shot picture well for a light weight .45. It only holds 5 rounds in the mag and 1 in the hole but seven round magazines can be purchased. I would recommend this weapon to any serious daily conceal carry citizen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XDs-9 Great CCW

Date:December 30, 2013
Manageable recoil and sub- 1 Inch thickness makes it a great CCW. Added some grip extension baseplates to give my pinky a place to rest. Great accuracy out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT CC gun

Date:December 13, 2013
This for sure is my new CC gun. Bought the 9MM and it is dead on I might add. Buy it you won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XDS is a Great CC Gun!

Date:September 13, 2013
This was a good purchase. I feel better having a grip safety rather than just a trigger safety for a concealed carry gun. It shooots straight with low felt recoil from the .45. I have stacked several types in a mag (HP. SWC, Zombies and FMJ) with no issues. I took Dad (80)to the range and at self defense distances he was unable to put a decent group with his .38. I said "Dad, try the .45" and he hit a few bulls eyes right off. The only downside is the 5 shot mag. But they ARE .45.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Springfield XD-S 45

Date:July 25, 2013
I have the bi-tone pistol and for a gun this size recoil is manageable for a 45. This is an accurate pistol but not a target pistol that you will feel comfortable shooting more than 100 rounds at the range depending on how much punishment your hand can endure. Size is comparable to Kahr PM9. The trigger is OK and not as smooth as the XDM s or I would have given it a 5 star rating. If you don't like Glocks and looking for a small conceal carry, striker fire, polymer pistol I would recommend this pistol. I will not comment on dependability until I put as least 300 rounds through it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

xds 45

Date:July 21, 2013
Very nice gun. Same size as LC9...much better trigger. Like my other xdms is very reliable and accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Head of the Class

Date:July 14, 2013
I feel Springfield hit the nail on the head with this one. I have a couple of the XD's and this 45 ACP is my choice over the XD, fits most comfortable in my hand with the extension or not. Have fired approx 500 - 600 rounds with out any problems. Might just have sell couple of the competitors and grab on to a xd-s 9mm.
Wish they would sell just the XD 9 side and barrel with modified magazine to fit the XD-s 45acp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My new concealed carry firearm !

Date:July 4, 2013
I'm retiring my Glock & my Ruger since I purchased an XDS. Shoots better than my Glock & very comfortable to carry. There is nothing I don't like about this .45, I'm pleasantly surprised by the recoil with 230 grain bullets, I anticipated much more..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My new CCW

Date:June 12, 2013
I have been carrying a Nano for a while, but have wanted something bigger than a 9mm. I have found it now. The XDS .45 is awesome I fired 200 rounds and the recoil was not what I expected. It kicks the same as my Nano and holds a tight group at 15 yds. It is an accurate pistol. Very happy with my purchase and Springfield Armory.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XDs

Date:May 16, 2013
I normally conceal carry a 380 in my back pocket. But I picked up my XDs and this will be my new CCW. when qualified for of duty carry I shot 15-15 max range 25 yards. It shot great. My reloads didn't chamber but it is because they weren't seated deep enough.
You won't be disappointed with this gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Great Great

Date:April 25, 2013
This gun is amazing!! I Love it. Even some of my cop buddys are jealous of it. I've had it for 3 months so far 200rds and no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great .45

Date:April 24, 2013
Buy it, you won't regret it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BUY! BUY! BUY!

Date:March 1, 2013
Go ahead and compare the Glock, Sigs, H&K, Taurus, etc. and you will come back to this pistol. Straight out of the box, straight and true. 700 rounds, not a problem. The "system" is great too. Everything you need is in the box. Great thought was put into this weapon system. Couldn't be happier. I added a Blackhawk holster as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best CC Gun

Date:February 27, 2013
Have had this gun for six months now and have had no trouble at all. I have gone through at least 700 rounds of various types of ammo. Both of my daughters have gone through a few clips and enjoyed shooting their first 45. I keep one seven round mag in the gun and one in my pocket. I would recommend this gun to anyone for CC.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

COMPACT BUT COMFORTABLE

Date:February 9, 2013
THIS IS DEFINITELY THE THE MOST ACCURATE PISTOL FOR ITS SHORT BARREL LENGTH. THE SIGHTS ARE VERY "LIT UP" AND CAN BE REDIRECTED QUICKLY. THE RECOIL IS NOT BAD FOR THE CALIBER SIZE. THE KIT THAT COMES WITH THE PISTOL IS REALLY GREAT, EVERYTHING IN IT IS USEABLE ESPECIALLY THE HOLSTER, GOOD FIT & FORM. I THINK WHAT I LIKE THE MOST IS THAT WITH THE 1" THICKNESS YOU REALLY DON'T GET THAT HURTIN' MY HIP BONE FEELING WHEN YOU CARRY IT.
VERY NICE!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5 Stars

Date:February 9, 2013
BUY IT!!! You won't regret it. I would recommend wearing gloves if firing 100's of rounds as it will rub your hand raw. Made my thumb bleed after firing 200+ rounds through it. This is my second Springfield. I bought this gun as my primary concealed carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22