Customer Reviews for SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols

SPRINGFIELD ARMORY Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols

To create the XD-S Centerfire Pistols, Springfield Armory took the best innovations of the award-winning XD Series and trimmed down the frame to a perfect size for compact, concealed carry. Metal parts on each gun are forged and machined from billet with utmost precision. Fully hammer-forged barrels enhance accuracy. Corrosion-resistant finishes are either super-hard black Melonite® or classic bead-blasted stainless steel. The Ultra Safety Assurance Action Trigger System™ guards against accidental discharge by locking the trigger in place until direct rearward pressure is applied. Loaded-chamber indicator allows the shooter to verify without a doubt, visually or by touch, that there is a round in the chamber. Grip safety allows firing only when the shooter has a firm grip on the pistol. A more pronounced texture on the XD-S ensures your grip is always secure. A single-position Picatinny rail readily accepts lights, lasers or other pistol accessories. It is one of the only polymer pistols of this size with this feature. The XD-S trigger has a short travel along with a short reset, which keeps you on target with greater ease for quicker, more accurate follow-up shots. The low-profile rear sight is holster friendly. Fiber-optic front sight promotes easier and faster target acquisition. Customize your grip with two interchangeable backstraps. Includes rugged carry case, two magazines, cable lock, bore brush and safety manual.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
35 out of 36(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2016

Great, Dependable 9mm Concealed Carry Pistol

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Completely satisfied. Excellent sights, light-weight, accurate out-of-the-box, and adjustable grip. Have fired 250 rounds, FMJ and JHP, without any malfunctions whatsoever. Very concealable, quite thin. Quick take-down for cleaning. Excellent value.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2016

Buy it !!!!!

By
This SA 9 mm is one of the best guns on the market. You cannot go wrong with this firearm. Take it home and clean it real good. Lube it up and get ready for the range. The gun comes with an extremely nice case. It comes with 2 mags. One is an extended mag. It also comes with belt holders for the gun and both mags. We took it to the range and shot it like we have been shooting it for years. Easy to shoot and extremely accurate. It has a red fiber optic front site. So it's real easy to aim at target. It has a good crisp trigger with a medium reset. You really can't complain about anything with this gun. If you decide to purchase this firearm you'll not regret it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2016

XDS 3.3 45ACP

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I like that it comes with different back straps, takes a 5 / 7 round mag, grip / trigger safety, fiber optic site is easy to pickup, very easy to conceal, most of all very accurate. The only thing I don't like is if you don't rack the action correctly it can jam. I keep a round chambered so I don't have to worry about that in a defensive situation. With the combo of the grip and trigger safety I don't think it's a problem to carry in that manner. I have never had any cycling issues in over 200rnds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2015

1st round Jamming

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought the XP-S 45cal with the 3.3" barrel. Came with a nice case, clip on holster, 5 and a 6 round magazines, duel mag holder, green and red fiber optic sights and a few other pieces. When I got home, I field striped the gun and cleaned before taking to the range to shoot first rounds. I loaded the first 6 rounds in the mag and had problems chambering the first round, it would hang up unless you rack the gun hard. Had to cock back eject the mag as the round would not chamber and will hang up. It does this every time on the first round unless you rack it hard, this is the only thing I do not like about this gun and the reason I gave it a 3. I have never had this problem with any of my other guns and in a life or death situation this could be a negative factor if you forget to rack your gun hard or your wife does not have the strength to. I would not recommend this gun to a female that does not have a lot of experience. Other than that gun shoots accurate, has nice fiber optic sights, it's light, great for a CC gun and does not recoil to bad. Also there is a nice mail n rebate on a bag and extra mags for a limited time that is nice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2015

Shoots Excellent for its size.

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I was surprised how well this gun shoots for its size. Especially the .45 Makes a great back pack gun. Very light. All around a great gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2015

Nice pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The pistol feels great . This one conceals better than the 40 cal subcompact. Nice thin profile. The trigger pull seems a little hard. Very nice gun. Would be 5 star if the trigger pull was a little lighter.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2015

XD-s 9mm ALL GOOD!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought the 9mm version last week, took to range today after familiarizing myself with the gun. I was not expecting much in the way of accuracy since I'd just finished some lawn work so my arms were a bit sketchy. Every shot hit the target, within 18" of the center. The gun is more accurate than that, I was just shaky. I did however manage to get several inside the center so I kept shooting it until I'd gone through 75 rounds. I have shot a 45 and previously owned at Sig .40, and for its size the kick on this is moderate; but I was still able to manage it with the short mag or long mag. It is worth the money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2015

Great pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Got the 45 version and love it.
Bought for CC and had it for awhile now.. Never fail and goes through just about every ammo you throw at it.
Reason for being 4 stars, being a small guy with the pistol fully load and one in the chamber, it's quite heavy but that's just me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

45 ACP XDS

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased this hand gun from Cabelas. First time on the range I emptied the gun on a 2' x 2' cardboard target from 10 yards. Aiming at the center dot of the target I was shocked to see there was not a single hit anywhere on the cardboard. Keep in mind I own several handguns and i'm a better than average shot.
I walked up very close to the target (6-7 feet and emptied another clip to find the bullets were impacting very low.
At 7-10 yards this gun shoots almost two feet below the sight plane. When you line up the front sight with the back sight and place on target the bullet will impact two feet below the bullseye.
The sights on this gun are dove tail mount so it would be possible to adjust the windage (left and right) but there is no elavation adjustment (up and down). Another words there is no way to fix this problem. I sent this gun back to the factory thinking something was wrong. They inspected the gun, shot five rounds through it, and sent the gun back to me with no explanation.
The only way this gun will be usable is if I put out a couple of hundred more dollars on a laser sight.
If a gun manufacturer wants to cheap out by putting fixed sights on a gun, the sight plane should at least be somewhat close to the trajectory of the bullet.
Would not reccomend this gun to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-12points
0out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2014

Awesome XD

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I can't say enough I love my XDs 45 4.0. This is my third XD that I own and it is also my favorite. I carry it canceled every day in a IWB holster. If you are a .45 ACP fan you can't pass this one up. If you want a 45 carry gun take a good look at the XDS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2014

GREAT CCW

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I would recommend the XDS 4.0 45. The XDS makes it a great CCW with a powerful punch.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2014

Awesome handgun!!

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I recently wanted another handgun for home/personal protection and figured the Springfield Arms compact XDS would be a fitting choice. I read other members reviews and I was sold. The personnel at the Augusta, Cabela's really helped. The same day I purchased it I went out and fired off 100 round at the range without a single misfire (I use American Eagle 115 grain rounds)! The handgun works great with easy action and the double safety action is awesome. There is a built in Picantilly rail for adding a flashlight or laser sight and the, extended magazine made the gun fit easier in my hand considering it is a compact. The only issue I had with the extended mag was that it was harder to engage the mag release than the standard clip. All-in-all a great gun!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2014

good choice

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Had it about 3 months put 700 rounds through I added pinky extensions on the 5 round mags and bought two seven rounders shoots well and accurate just added ct laser very happy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014

Great 1st Pistol

By
This was my first pistol purchase. I've fired about 500 rounds through it as well as taking an advance carry class with it. No problems so far. Have changed sights to Tru Glo which really improved accuracy for aging eyes. Grips are aggressive but a set of Talon rubberized grip wraps make it very comfortable. A little heavy to carry but it feels very comfortable in the hand. Am considering the 40 cal with 4 inch barrel. Would recommend!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014

Great shooter for small firearm

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Went to Cabela's to trade in my LC9 for the shield and they didnt have the shield but had the xds..glad they didnt..xds by far the best sub compact pistol i ever fired..would highly recommand..love the short reset for follow up shots..nice trigger..not too much recoil..2 thumbs up
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2014

Springfield Armory® XD-S 9mm 4" Barrel

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My new favorite all around pistol. Comes with 7 and 9 round magazines and adjustable grip for more or less palm swell. Has clip release on both sides of grip so pistol is ambidextrous. Fiber optic front sight in red or green and comes with replacement fibers. Pistol is small enough to effectively conceal and accurate enough for use as a range or home protection gun.
Out of the box I put 250 round of cheap reload through attempting to test the legendary reliability of SA XD series pistols. I had a total of four FTE and it bothered me. I then ran 50 rounds of new ammo through and it functioned flawlessly. This is a very accurate sweet running pistol that can be fired all day without any fatigue whatsoever. Once back home a complete cleaning and inspection was done. The Springfield XD pistols are very simple and fast to strip and clean.
The next outing consisted of 300 rounds of Magtec 115 grain FMJ and the pistol fired flawlessly.
XD has safety features I really like but some don't. It has a back strap safety, trigger safety, loaded chamber indicator, as well as a breech peep. It does not have a slide lock safety and I wish it did.
If I had to complain I would say sometimes you have to push hard on the clip release button but this is probably good so that clips are not accidentally dropped when firing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2014

An accurate and comfortable 9mm pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
An excellent pistol out of the box. I've used hollow points and jacketed 9mm without jams or malfunctions. 200 rounds so far with no problems.
The paddle holster included with the gun is comfortable and the draw is quick once you adjust the tension. My gun came with the short magazine. At 20 yards I could keep rounds in the 9 ring of a 25yd bullseye target. Big sights. Squishy trigger same as a Glock.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2014

Perfect CCW

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Carried A Sig SP-2022 and a Springfield XD9. Got a hold of the XDs 9MM and by far the best of the 3 for CCW. Shot straight right out of the box. Sent back for the recall and received the 9 shot mag. Just an all around fun pistol. Buy it you won't be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014

Great CCW

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've carried three different pistols as my CCW and the .45 XDS is by far the right tool for the job. It's concealable in the pocket as well as a belly band. It shoots smooth and surprisingly holds the shot picture well for a light weight .45. It only holds 5 rounds in the mag and 1 in the hole but seven round magazines can be purchased. I would recommend this weapon to any serious daily conceal carry citizen.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Springfield Armory® XD-S™ Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013

XDs-9 Great CCW

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Manageable recoil and sub- 1 Inch thickness makes it a great CCW. Added some grip extension baseplates to give my pinky a place to rest. Great accuracy out of the box.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 36