Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles

RUGER Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles

The Ruger American Rifle is a 100% American-made rifle sporting the latest engineering innovations from Ruger. Its Marksman Adjustable™ Trigger is adjustable from 3 to 5 pounds, breaks clean and provides customization for the individual shooter. Ergonomic and lightweight black composite stock for a comfortable fit and delivers quick, easy handling. Grip serrations offer a positive hold in a variety of conditions. Soft-rubber recoil pad dramatically reduces felt recoil. Three-lug bolt has a short 70° throw that easily clears your scope. Dual-cocking cams for smoother and easier cycling from the shoulder. Power Bedding™ integral block system solidly locks the receiver and free-floats the barrel for unrivaled accuracy. Hammer-forged barrel is ultraprecise and delivers exceptional accuracy, longevity and easy cleaning. Four-round, rotary-bolt magazine fits flush and complements the smooth feed cycle. Receiver is drilled and tapped to accept optics mounts. Tang safety is user friendly. Scope bases are included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.792 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
48 out of 48(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Review 1 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the money

Date:September 11, 2014
I have a .243 and had to get a .308 in all weather. Both are accurate. Just a fun rifle to shoot. All weather bolt isn't as smooth or it'd get 5 stars. Would get another in .300 win mag if they made one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Light Wt Rifle for Everyone

Date:May 1, 2014
Purchased the Ruger American in .308, added the 4-12 x 40 Vortex scope. Excellent trigger and bolt action. Easy to load. Comfortable to hold with confidence. Compared to the Savage, Weatherby, Remington & Mossberg rifles you will be pleased with the Ruger American. If I didn't already have a Ruger M77 and a Win 70, I would be adding the couisins to the .308. Great buy right out of the box & ready for big game. Tried Remington, Hornady & Federal ammo. All performed well at 100yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good hunting Rifle

Date:February 15, 2014
I purchased this rifle in 243 win for ground hogs. It works and shoot good group love the light weight for carrying. My rifle mounted with 4x12x44 it like 100 grain fedural and corelocks in 80 grains. It now 700 remington but it still a very nice hunter n I shoot it as well if not better then my old 700 BDL 30-06. It become my go to rifle and 243 win works for just about everything and it flat n bucks the winds that we get in Del. If i could change one thing I want a heavy barrel but great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.308 American

Date:February 14, 2014
I just purchased this rifle, took it out today and shot a .75 inch group at 100 yards with factory ammo. All the reviews are accurate, very good shooter will be using in Idaho this fall. Another Ruger great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Rifle

Date:January 29, 2014
I just picked this rifle up today in 30-06, good rifle, mounted a leupold vx-II on it and was getting better grouping than i was hoping at 100 yards shooting 150 grain Hornady Whitetail Ammuntion, all round good rifle for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle for a great price

Date:January 21, 2014
Finally got to take the new 30-06 out to the range. First fit and finish is good for a low priced rifle, IMO much nicer than the Savage. This is no M77, but functionally it is a sweet shooting rifle. The action is smooth, and on my rifle the trigger is excellent out of the box. I like the tang safety as it is easy to operate and out of the way. Recoil is less than I expected, just a good shove when you squeeze off a round and it doesn't pound you. There were no issues putting 40 rds down range as it was very comfortable to shoot. At 100 yds I was getting just under 1 inch groups with cheap Herter's ammo I picked up to zero the scope. I can not wait to try some 165 and 180 ammo to see how it shoots. If you are looking for a good inexpensive hunting rifle I would recommend you take a look at the Ruger American. I gave it 5 stars as it is an excellent rifle for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-06 Ruger American

Date:January 20, 2014
We purchased this for my son's first big-game hunting rifle. We didn't want to spend a lot of money for his first rifle but were afraid we'd be stuck with inferior quality after seeing some of the other options in this price range. We found a good mix of value AND quality in the Ruger American. We threw on a Cabelas 3-10x40 scope, bore-sighted it and were hitting .75" groups at 100yds within half a box of ammo. Great gun, very durable feel and is something my son will likely be able to pass down to his kids one of these days. I only wish I hadn't spent the $ I did on my Browning A-Bolt. Not that I don't love my A-Bolt, but had I known this rifle was going to be as good as it is, I'd have saved the $ and went with the Ruger myself!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7mm-08 Shoots Great!

Date:January 1, 2014
I recently purchased the Ruger American in 7mm-08 from my local Cabela's store. I went to the range yesterday and sighted it in. I was very pleased with the results. I am very confident with the accuracy of this hunting rifle. I know if I do my part the bullet will find its mark. I can not wait to try it in the field!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value!

Date:December 29, 2013
I purchased the American rifle in 22-250. Got it on sale for a great price. The trigger is sweet and the rifle is super accurate. Using Wolf Gold ammo I was able to shoot a 1.5" group at 100 yards, while sitting in the snow and using a kitchen step ladder for a bench and a cheap Tasco scope. Unbelievable! I look forward to testing it out on some coyotes. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another in a different caliber. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough Gun

Date:November 19, 2013
I purchased this rifle in 308 for bad weather deer hunting. I installed a Nikon Buckmasters 3-9x40 scope and shot 40 rounds at the range. The gun is great to shoot and is easy to handle both sitting and standing. Can't wait to try this gun in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice gun and very accurate

Date:November 6, 2013
I purchased the 7mm-08 version a few months ago and put a Nikon Prostaff 4-12x40 scope on it and it shoots wonderfully. First 3 shots were sub MOA and adjusted quickly. Although the last sentence is kudos for the scope more than the gun, the weapon continued to fire extremely accurately even with a warm barrel. The trigger out of the box was smooth and I haven't needed to adjust it yet. Action is smooth and fires flawlessly with factory ammo and reloaded ammo. So far I have reloaded 139, 140, and 154 grain bullets and they all shot great in this gun. My only gripe is the gripping but I'm just used to the studded type gripping on my Savage .270 and it feels like my hand is going to slip but luckily it hasn't which is why I won't give this gun only 4 stars. This gun kicks like a .243 IMO and would be perfect for youngsters and women that need a great deer/elk gun. I like this Ruger so much that I plan to buy the .22-250 version for coyote hunting. I highly recommend this gun for someone needing a great, light, and reliable weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Made .308

Date:October 28, 2013
I had been on the prowl for a .308 for quite sometime. Went in to Cabela's a week before my birthday and to my surprise there was an American .308 on the shelf with a Burris scope already mounted. I hymned and hawed for a few minutes before ultimately deciding to take her home with me. Down range this gun is flawless, no loading issues at all. I have now fitted it with a bi-pod and am gearing up for my first hunt this spring. Overall I LOVE this rifle, Ruger has done an amazing job!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rifle for my Daughter

Date:October 24, 2013
I bought the American in .243 for my daughter and I to use now that she wants to hunt with me. I love the accuracy with teh weapon and had no problem putting very nice groups together. Overal a great rifle that has worked well for both of us int he field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle for a Great price!

Date:October 20, 2013
I just bought this rifle today in .243 with a leupold vx-II 3-9X40 scope. and what I have found is that the magazine doesn't care for steel cased rounds. however I then used Federal 55 grain brass casing and it cycles perfect every time. It fires very accurately, I shot roughly 3/4" MOA at 100 yards. the only complaint I have is after firing round the bolt is a little harder to lift and eject a round. Otherwise i am very happy with this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great beginner rifle

Date:October 11, 2013
I bought the rifle last year in 7mm-08 with a Leupold 3-9x40 Rifleman and couldn't be happier with the feel. Being my first "plastic" stock rifle i was a little skeptical about the feel and recoil but was pleasantly surprised at how well it shot. 1.25" groups at 100 yrds with 140 gr nosler hand loads after sitting all summer makes me confident in having this as my backup and giving it to my friend for her first elk hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger 'murican .30-06

Date:October 6, 2013
A very good buy, feels good in the hand, looks sexy, bolt action is smooth and solid, 1 inch groups at 300m. Recoil in .30-06 is less painful than most due to the rubber pad. Cabelas customer service is excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Rifle

Date:September 25, 2013
Great shooter- groups @ .5 inches consistently @100 yards with 100 grain soft point in .243, love 70 degree action on bolt, adjustable trigger, removable magazine. Also like the ejection mechanism for spent shells. Best rifle purchase for 12 year old shooter. Lightweight, easy to carry for my son, recoil pad effective especially when shooting 100 grain ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great weapon

Date:September 22, 2013
I bought the .270 American and put a Cabela's Pine Ridge Tactical Big-Game rife scope 6-18x40 on it. It only took 9 shots and was keeping groups of .85" at 100 yards. I was out 2 days ago for early doe and the first shot I took I dropped her at 90 yards. This is a great rifle and I am very happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ruger .270

Date:September 7, 2013
I just bought this rifle. (haven't shot it yet) Absolutely love it so far, It's very light weight and it just feels a lot more comfortable than most. I gave it 4 star only cause I haven't shot it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger American

Date:June 20, 2013
Excellent gun. Great trigger and excellent accuracy. My favorite gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 48