Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles

RUGER Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles

The Ruger American Rifle is a 100% American-made rifle sporting the latest engineering innovations from Ruger. Its Marksman Adjustable™ Trigger is adjustable from 3 to 5 pounds, breaks clean and provides customization for the individual shooter. Ergonomic and lightweight black composite stock for a comfortable fit and delivers quick, easy handling. Grip serrations offer a positive hold in a variety of conditions. Soft-rubber recoil pad dramatically reduces felt recoil. Three-lug bolt has a short 70° throw that easily clears your scope. Dual-cocking cams for smoother and easier cycling from the shoulder. Power Bedding™ integral block system solidly locks the receiver and free-floats the barrel for unrivaled accuracy. Hammer-forged barrel is ultraprecise and delivers exceptional accuracy, longevity and easy cleaning. Four-round, rotary-bolt magazine fits flush and complements the smooth feed cycle. Receiver is drilled and tapped to accept optics mounts. Tang safety is user friendly. Scope bases are included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
62 out of 62(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Review 1 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2016

we Own 2

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bout the first one for my wife in .270 Win, she weighs 105lbs and she love shooting it, light felt recoil, even for her small frame. I was impressed so much that I bought one for me, I was debating this or a Howa 1500 in 30-06 I chose the Ruger. both rifles are topped with a Nikon prostaff 4-12x40 with BDC, very accurate!! no problems feeding or ejecting. even during a December Colorado elk hunt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2016

AWESOME RIFLE!!!!!!!!

By
Country: United States
My dad got this rifle for me for Christmas in 2015. I never zeroed the scope that I put on the rifle but, I took it hunting and killed my 3rd deer with it. I shot it directly in the heart the first shot. Its super accurate out of the box. This rifle is the best rifle I have owned by far!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-6points
5out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2016

Excellent choice in .243!

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Overall: I have been extremely pleased with the Ruger American as my first centerfire rifle, and I would highly recommend it as a great value. I did an excessive amount of research before buying, and I knew I did not want to spend a lot of money on something that I might not end up enjoying, having never hunted big game before. At the same time, I wanted to get a quality product that would perform well, which brought me to the Ruger American. I paired it with a Vortex Crossfire 3x9x40, and I like this combination quite a bit.
Pros: The trigger is very crisp and I think it is excellent. I like where the safety is located and find it very easy to silently flick right before the shot. I actually do not mind the "cheap" plastic stock because I hike around a lot to hunt, and it makes for a very light carry. Also, I am not worried about scratching it up! The detachable box magazine works as intended and is very convenient for travel in areas where guns must be kept unloaded. The rifle seems to be quite accurate as others have noted.
Cons: After toting this rifle around the woods quite a bit, I would prefer a third position for the safety to lock the bolt in place. I've had it mysteriously come open while bushwhacking with it slung over my shoulder.
My hunting story: The mild recoiling, inexpensive .243 was a great choice for me since I was very inexperienced with rifles. It allowed me to put in a lot of range time and build good skills such as not flinching. After putting in quite a bit of range time all summer, I was ready for my first season. I shot a large whitetail doe on opening morning at about 40 yards, and she ran another 10. A few weeks later, I shot an 8-point whitetail at 150 yards and he dropped in his tracks. I was using Federal 100 grain factory ammo, which worked well for my particular rifle. I am extremely excited to go after Colorado mule deer this coming season!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2015

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Bought one this summer to use this fall. Shoots great, not to heavy. With the right ammo you can stack shots on one another. I got it in 30-06 put a Nikon pro-staff scope on it. Shot a 11 point 220lb Maine whitetail with it. He only took one step. Good for hunting or even if you just enjoy shooting. The pad on the butt stock leaves vary little recoil for your shoulder, even with my 30-06 I could put 40 rounds through it with no problem. However, your still gonna feel it in the morning. Great gun at a great price never had a problem with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2015

Ruger American .308

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
By far one of the best rifles i own. This is the first .308 i have ever purchased and taking it out for the first time i dropped 2 deer dead in their tracks not a move from either one of them. Using 150grain ballistic tip Hornady bullet you cannot go wrong.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2015

Better than it's price

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I own two now, if that sais anything. Bought a .270 as soon after all the initial reviews I could. Very impressed with it's fit, feel, and accuracy. While the machining looks a little unfinished on the exterior, all of the fitting pieces are nice and smooth. Bolt fit is nice and tight, no slop to bind when running it with side load as some other rifles. The stock has a great shape and very usable texture for many sizes of hands. The plastic does seem to be a little thin and flimsy, but resilient (my gun has been dropped, nothing broke). While you can flex the fore end, and make it touch the barrel, this has had no effect whatsoever on practical accuracy. Neither has temperature, from -10 degrees at the range or hunting deer, to nearly 100 popping prairie dogs both guns hit what you point them at. My .270 typically puts two shots touching with the third, fourth, fifth, etc within another inch. 5/8" was my best with a 115gr Vmax handload. The .223 will put five shots into one hole if I don't mess it up. This rifle is as accurate, durable, and put together as well as guns much more expensive. Now, if they spent the time to polish up the metal, and put a nice wood stock on it, they could double the price and sell them to all the guys who can't fathom using a 'plastic' gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2015

Great Deal! Great Gun!

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I was a little worried about how light this gun is. I figured that it would kick like a mule. I purchased a .308 and have no regrets. The gun truly has very little kick. I can shoot it all day. On top of that, I have been able to get between 1 1/2 to 1 inch groups depending on ammo. I also am not shooting out of a rest. I have found the best ammo so far to be Federal Fusion 150 grain. I have tried Hornady American Whitetail and Federal Power Shock as well. All in the 150 grain bullet. I have heard that 168 grain shoots best. We will see. I will try the Federal Fusion 165 grain next to see how it goes. Either way, it's a great gun. I'm glad that I made the purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2015

big bang for your bottom dollar

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i have the ruger american in 22-250. for the money i think its one of the best rifles you can buy (if youre on a budget of course) it has alot of features found on higher end rifles that cost twice to three times as much. the trigger out of box is as good as you could expect i see no reason to change anything with both the trigger or bolt handle. I have mine topped with a Konuspro 4-16x50 and its a great combo. although the BDC in that scope isnt compatible(not that anyone needs a BDC with A 22-250) lol... it works really well. i can cover my 3 round group with a nickle at 100 yds.... 55grn hornady v-max seems to be what the rifle likes best. i have used the 50grn REM hollow points and still was sub MOA . if youre looking for a solid budget hunting or plinking rifle it wont let ya down. i might pick up another in 308.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2015

Superb Rifle in 30-06

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Took this rifle out last week for the first time with a brand new scope and it only took me 5 shots to zero it in at 100 yards! The scope was a inexpensive 4-9x40 off brand. I was nailing everything I was aiming at (soada bottles, clay pigeons, you name it). Didnt try for tight groups on paper, perhaps next time. I went through 60 rounds of 150grn. cheapo ammo and not one mishap. Could not be happier. Easy to field strip, crisp trigger, smooth saftey. You cant go wrong with this rifle. Light recoil, all around fun to shoot. Very happy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015

Best Rifle Out There

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle chambered in 7mm-08 to drag through the woods instead of my nice passed down family walnut stock rifle.I put a Redfield Revolution 3-9X40 on it. In the two seasons it has got two deer. This is has been a very accurate gun and very reliable thus far. I would recommend this rifle to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2015

awesomeness

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Picked up one of these in 30-06 the other day. My first bolt action. Have not had any range time yet. The feel of the rifle is why I got it. Did a ton of research and read as many reviews. All around solid rifle. I'll update more later after I take it out. I know a scope makes a rifle, but I'm going to mount a cheap scope on it and see how it preforms.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2015

Ruger American 30-06

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have the combo with red field scope. 1 MOA with el cheapo Remington 165s. Smooth action and a decent stock. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2015

Great first rifle!

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
I'm very happy with my purchase. I bought the Ruger American in .270 WIN. I had an issue with the fourth round not always loading. I called Ruger and they quickly sent me a free magazine. I'm hitting 1 MOA from 100 and 200 yards with two types of ammo. I haven't tried longer shots yet. One of these types of ammo is very cheap and one is lead free and much more costly. A different, cheap type didn't hit within 1 MOA, but was close. I've only tried three types of ammo and I'm new to shooting, so I'm very pleased and can't wait to take it out to hunt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2014

Exceptional Value!

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I first purchased an American in 7mm-08 for my daughter. After firing the rifle with a Leupold Rifleman and rest, we could cover a three-shot group with a quarter. I was so impressed by the accuracy and trigger pull, I quickly purchased another American in .22-250. After placing a Nikon Prostaff on this rifle, I was able to cover a three-shot group with a dime. Both rifles have been used considerably without any problems. This rifle is an exceptional value and I'm hoping Ruger expands the caliber choice in this series to even more calibers.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2014

Worth the money

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have a .243 and had to get a .308 in all weather. Both are accurate. Just a fun rifle to shoot. All weather bolt isn't as smooth or it'd get 5 stars. Would get another in .300 win mag if they made one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2014

Excellent Light Wt Rifle for Everyone

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased the Ruger American in .308, added the 4-12 x 40 Vortex scope. Excellent trigger and bolt action. Easy to load. Comfortable to hold with confidence. Compared to the Savage, Weatherby, Remington & Mossberg rifles you will be pleased with the Ruger American. If I didn't already have a Ruger M77 and a Win 70, I would be adding the couisins to the .308. Great buy right out of the box & ready for big game. Tried Remington, Hornady & Federal ammo. All performed well at 100yds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2014

Good hunting Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this rifle in 243 win for ground hogs. It works and shoot good group love the light weight for carrying. My rifle mounted with 4x12x44 it like 100 grain fedural and corelocks in 80 grains. It now 700 remington but it still a very nice hunter n I shoot it as well if not better then my old 700 BDL 30-06. It become my go to rifle and 243 win works for just about everything and it flat n bucks the winds that we get in Del. If i could change one thing I want a heavy barrel but great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2014

.308 American

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I just purchased this rifle, took it out today and shot a .75 inch group at 100 yards with factory ammo. All the reviews are accurate, very good shooter will be using in Idaho this fall. Another Ruger great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2014

Good Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I just picked this rifle up today in 30-06, good rifle, mounted a leupold vx-II on it and was getting better grouping than i was hoping at 100 yards shooting 150 grain Hornady Whitetail Ammuntion, all round good rifle for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2014

Great rifle for a great price

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Finally got to take the new 30-06 out to the range. First fit and finish is good for a low priced rifle, IMO much nicer than the Savage. This is no M77, but functionally it is a sweet shooting rifle. The action is smooth, and on my rifle the trigger is excellent out of the box. I like the tang safety as it is easy to operate and out of the way. Recoil is less than I expected, just a good shove when you squeeze off a round and it doesn't pound you. There were no issues putting 40 rds down range as it was very comfortable to shoot. At 100 yds I was getting just under 1 inch groups with cheap Herter's ammo I picked up to zero the scope. I can not wait to try some 165 and 180 ammo to see how it shoots. If you are looking for a good inexpensive hunting rifle I would recommend you take a look at the Ruger American. I gave it 5 stars as it is an excellent rifle for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 62