Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles

RUGER Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles

The Ruger American Rifle is a 100% American-made rifle sporting the latest engineering innovations from Ruger. Its Marksman Adjustable™ Trigger is adjustable from 3 to 5 pounds, breaks clean and provides customization for the individual shooter. Ergonomic and lightweight black composite stock for a comfortable fit and delivers quick, easy handling. Grip serrations offer a positive hold in a variety of conditions. Soft-rubber recoil pad dramatically reduces felt recoil. Three-lug bolt has a short 70° throw that easily clears your scope. Dual-cocking cams for smoother and easier cycling from the shoulder. Power Bedding™ integral block system solidly locks the receiver and free-floats the barrel for unrivaled accuracy. Hammer-forged barrel is ultraprecise and delivers exceptional accuracy, longevity and easy cleaning. Four-round, rotary-bolt magazine fits flush and complements the smooth feed cycle. Receiver is drilled and tapped to accept optics mounts. Tang safety is user friendly. Scope bases are included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
55 out of 55(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Review 1 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

big bang for your bottom dollar

Date:August 23, 2015
i have the ruger american in 22-250. for the money i think its one of the best rifles you can buy (if youre on a budget of course) it has alot of features found on higher end rifles that cost twice to three times as much. the trigger out of box is as good as you could expect i see no reason to change anything with both the trigger or bolt handle. I have mine topped with a Konuspro 4-16x50 and its a great combo. although the BDC in that scope isnt compatible(not that anyone needs a BDC with A 22-250) lol... it works really well. i can cover my 3 round group with a nickle at 100 yds.... 55grn hornady v-max seems to be what the rifle likes best. i have used the 50grn REM hollow points and still was sub MOA . if youre looking for a solid budget hunting or plinking rifle it wont let ya down. i might pick up another in 308.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Rifle in 30-06

Date:June 29, 2015
Took this rifle out last week for the first time with a brand new scope and it only took me 5 shots to zero it in at 100 yards! The scope was a inexpensive 4-9x40 off brand. I was nailing everything I was aiming at (soada bottles, clay pigeons, you name it). Didnt try for tight groups on paper, perhaps next time. I went through 60 rounds of 150grn. cheapo ammo and not one mishap. Could not be happier. Easy to field strip, crisp trigger, smooth saftey. You cant go wrong with this rifle. Light recoil, all around fun to shoot. Very happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Rifle Out There

Date:April 10, 2015
I bought this rifle chambered in 7mm-08 to drag through the woods instead of my nice passed down family walnut stock rifle.I put a Redfield Revolution 3-9X40 on it. In the two seasons it has got two deer. This is has been a very accurate gun and very reliable thus far. I would recommend this rifle to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesomeness

Date:March 19, 2015
Picked up one of these in 30-06 the other day. My first bolt action. Have not had any range time yet. The feel of the rifle is why I got it. Did a ton of research and read as many reviews. All around solid rifle. I'll update more later after I take it out. I know a scope makes a rifle, but I'm going to mount a cheap scope on it and see how it preforms.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger American 30-06

Date:March 15, 2015
I have the combo with red field scope. 1 MOA with el cheapo Remington 165s. Smooth action and a decent stock. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great first rifle!

Date:March 6, 2015
I'm very happy with my purchase. I bought the Ruger American in .270 WIN. I had an issue with the fourth round not always loading. I called Ruger and they quickly sent me a free magazine. I'm hitting 1 MOA from 100 and 200 yards with two types of ammo. I haven't tried longer shots yet. One of these types of ammo is very cheap and one is lead free and much more costly. A different, cheap type didn't hit within 1 MOA, but was close. I've only tried three types of ammo and I'm new to shooting, so I'm very pleased and can't wait to take it out to hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional Value!

Date:October 16, 2014
I first purchased an American in 7mm-08 for my daughter. After firing the rifle with a Leupold Rifleman and rest, we could cover a three-shot group with a quarter. I was so impressed by the accuracy and trigger pull, I quickly purchased another American in .22-250. After placing a Nikon Prostaff on this rifle, I was able to cover a three-shot group with a dime. Both rifles have been used considerably without any problems. This rifle is an exceptional value and I'm hoping Ruger expands the caliber choice in this series to even more calibers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the money

Date:September 11, 2014
I have a .243 and had to get a .308 in all weather. Both are accurate. Just a fun rifle to shoot. All weather bolt isn't as smooth or it'd get 5 stars. Would get another in .300 win mag if they made one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Light Wt Rifle for Everyone

Date:May 1, 2014
Purchased the Ruger American in .308, added the 4-12 x 40 Vortex scope. Excellent trigger and bolt action. Easy to load. Comfortable to hold with confidence. Compared to the Savage, Weatherby, Remington & Mossberg rifles you will be pleased with the Ruger American. If I didn't already have a Ruger M77 and a Win 70, I would be adding the couisins to the .308. Great buy right out of the box & ready for big game. Tried Remington, Hornady & Federal ammo. All performed well at 100yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good hunting Rifle

Date:February 15, 2014
I purchased this rifle in 243 win for ground hogs. It works and shoot good group love the light weight for carrying. My rifle mounted with 4x12x44 it like 100 grain fedural and corelocks in 80 grains. It now 700 remington but it still a very nice hunter n I shoot it as well if not better then my old 700 BDL 30-06. It become my go to rifle and 243 win works for just about everything and it flat n bucks the winds that we get in Del. If i could change one thing I want a heavy barrel but great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.308 American

Date:February 14, 2014
I just purchased this rifle, took it out today and shot a .75 inch group at 100 yards with factory ammo. All the reviews are accurate, very good shooter will be using in Idaho this fall. Another Ruger great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Rifle

Date:January 29, 2014
I just picked this rifle up today in 30-06, good rifle, mounted a leupold vx-II on it and was getting better grouping than i was hoping at 100 yards shooting 150 grain Hornady Whitetail Ammuntion, all round good rifle for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle for a great price

Date:January 21, 2014
Finally got to take the new 30-06 out to the range. First fit and finish is good for a low priced rifle, IMO much nicer than the Savage. This is no M77, but functionally it is a sweet shooting rifle. The action is smooth, and on my rifle the trigger is excellent out of the box. I like the tang safety as it is easy to operate and out of the way. Recoil is less than I expected, just a good shove when you squeeze off a round and it doesn't pound you. There were no issues putting 40 rds down range as it was very comfortable to shoot. At 100 yds I was getting just under 1 inch groups with cheap Herter's ammo I picked up to zero the scope. I can not wait to try some 165 and 180 ammo to see how it shoots. If you are looking for a good inexpensive hunting rifle I would recommend you take a look at the Ruger American. I gave it 5 stars as it is an excellent rifle for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

30-06 Ruger American

Date:January 20, 2014
We purchased this for my son's first big-game hunting rifle. We didn't want to spend a lot of money for his first rifle but were afraid we'd be stuck with inferior quality after seeing some of the other options in this price range. We found a good mix of value AND quality in the Ruger American. We threw on a Cabelas 3-10x40 scope, bore-sighted it and were hitting .75" groups at 100yds within half a box of ammo. Great gun, very durable feel and is something my son will likely be able to pass down to his kids one of these days. I only wish I hadn't spent the $ I did on my Browning A-Bolt. Not that I don't love my A-Bolt, but had I known this rifle was going to be as good as it is, I'd have saved the $ and went with the Ruger myself!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7mm-08 Shoots Great!

Date:January 1, 2014
I recently purchased the Ruger American in 7mm-08 from my local Cabela's store. I went to the range yesterday and sighted it in. I was very pleased with the results. I am very confident with the accuracy of this hunting rifle. I know if I do my part the bullet will find its mark. I can not wait to try it in the field!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value!

Date:December 29, 2013
I purchased the American rifle in 22-250. Got it on sale for a great price. The trigger is sweet and the rifle is super accurate. Using Wolf Gold ammo I was able to shoot a 1.5" group at 100 yards, while sitting in the snow and using a kitchen step ladder for a bench and a cheap Tasco scope. Unbelievable! I look forward to testing it out on some coyotes. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another in a different caliber. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough Gun

Date:November 19, 2013
I purchased this rifle in 308 for bad weather deer hunting. I installed a Nikon Buckmasters 3-9x40 scope and shot 40 rounds at the range. The gun is great to shoot and is easy to handle both sitting and standing. Can't wait to try this gun in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice gun and very accurate

Date:November 6, 2013
I purchased the 7mm-08 version a few months ago and put a Nikon Prostaff 4-12x40 scope on it and it shoots wonderfully. First 3 shots were sub MOA and adjusted quickly. Although the last sentence is kudos for the scope more than the gun, the weapon continued to fire extremely accurately even with a warm barrel. The trigger out of the box was smooth and I haven't needed to adjust it yet. Action is smooth and fires flawlessly with factory ammo and reloaded ammo. So far I have reloaded 139, 140, and 154 grain bullets and they all shot great in this gun. My only gripe is the gripping but I'm just used to the studded type gripping on my Savage .270 and it feels like my hand is going to slip but luckily it hasn't which is why I won't give this gun only 4 stars. This gun kicks like a .243 IMO and would be perfect for youngsters and women that need a great deer/elk gun. I like this Ruger so much that I plan to buy the .22-250 version for coyote hunting. I highly recommend this gun for someone needing a great, light, and reliable weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

American Made .308

Date:October 28, 2013
I had been on the prowl for a .308 for quite sometime. Went in to Cabela's a week before my birthday and to my surprise there was an American .308 on the shelf with a Burris scope already mounted. I hymned and hawed for a few minutes before ultimately deciding to take her home with me. Down range this gun is flawless, no loading issues at all. I have now fitted it with a bi-pod and am gearing up for my first hunt this spring. Overall I LOVE this rifle, Ruger has done an amazing job!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® American Rifle® Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rifle for my Daughter

Date:October 24, 2013
I bought the American in .243 for my daughter and I to use now that she wants to hunt with me. I love the accuracy with teh weapon and had no problem putting very nice groups together. Overal a great rifle that has worked well for both of us int he field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 55