Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol

RUGER Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol

A versatile .22-cal. semiautomatic pistol that’s perfect for plinking, target shooting and even small-game hunting. Fun to shoot, the Ruger SR22 Rimfire Pistol accepts a variety of .22 LR loads (not just high-velocity ammo) without compromising reliability. The light double-action and crisp single-action trigger make this pistol a joy to shoot. The rounded spur on the external hammer allows easy cocking and single-action shooting. Features include an ambidextrous manual thumb safety, decocking lever and magazine release. The pistol comes with two grip options for a slim or wider palm swell. The three-dot sighting system includes a fixed white-dot front sight and an adjustable rear sight with a reversible blade. A Picatinny rail in front of the trigger guard has multiple cross slots to accept sight and light accessories. A lightweight, easy-to-handle pistol with an aluminum slide and black polymer frame. Comes with two 10-round magazines with two finger-extension floorplates and a soft case.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
54 out of 56(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Review 1 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2012

Ruger SR22

By
Location: Phx, AZ
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this little gun on thursday, took it out shooting Sunday. I shot over 200 rounds through it, some winchester, mini-mags and federal champion bulk. Of the over 200rds, I had 1 FTF on the very last round of the first magazine, after that it shot smooth and accurate. My friend that I was shooting with had his Walther P22 and we shot about 200 rounds through that also but it FTE or FTF more than 10 times shooting the same ammo as we shot with my SR22. The SR22 is a little heavier but it was more dependable and it was surprisingly accurate as well. I like the ajustable sites and I can't wait to get it on paper and get it perfectly sited in. Over all I think this is a great little gun. If you're looking for a plinking gun or small game hunter this is the gun to get!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2012

Fun gun to own

By
Location: Mpls. Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased a Ruger SR22 hand gun recently and just came back after my first outing. I fired over 300 rounds (cheapest available at 3 cents apeace) and never had a jam or failure to fire. Very good safety features and operates similar to my XDM but very economial to practice with. It does have a 3" barrel so it hones your skills holding tight groups. At 20 yards half were in the black, at 10 yards 80% were in the black. Good adjustable signts. Fun gun to shoot, seems very reliable and comfortable to handle and shoot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2016

nice but has issues

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I must say this is one of those love hate guns. It shoots great, takes a variety of ammo, lightweight, all those things I was looking for in a 22 carry gun. The down fall, it has an aluminum slide and steel slide stop. After less than 500 hundred rounds, it developed a large burr on the side of the slide stop. I sent it back to Ruger which replaced the slide for free and sentit back to me in less than two weeks. Cudo's for the great service, but this is going to happen again. After a few mags thru, I can already see the slide marring from hitting the stop which is steel. You decide, from now I am counting rounds so I keep one in the chamber and then reload.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2016

Very fun

By
State: Michigan
Gender: Male
No complaints. A fun little .22 pistol that my wife eventually wants to carry, but in the mean time we use for killing pop cans. We brought it home and put about 300 rds through it with not a single issue. Good purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2015

Ruger exceeds expectations again!

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I compared this Ruger to many different other manufactures and shot several at the range before buying this pistol. Hands down the most accurate and fits my rather large hand very well. It will shoot whatever ammo you put through it unlike a lot of the other brands I shot. If you want a great gun for a reasonable price this gun would be the pick. Ruger has done it again with out of the box accuracy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2015

Fun pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great little pistol, I take it with me every time I go shooting. Accurate enough for me. Easy to use and clean. Does very well on Remington ammo, does not like bulk federal. May have to buy a second one for my wife, good thing it comes in purple.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2015

High Quality Fun

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have had this gun for a couple of years and it has been very dependable. it is great if you are looking for something to plink with!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2014

Awewome!

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I generally don't buy Ruger's because of the numerous issues with quality control but this gun is absolutely a joy to shoot and so fun. It is also very cheap and ammo is hard to find but going forward I think I will spend the bulk of my time shooting this than my 9mm handguns
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2014

I Love This Pistol!

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This pistol is a home run for Ruger! I have more expensive pistols that are more accurate, but none are any more fun than this little pistol.
This is my favorite .22 pistol for camping, ATV riding and plinking. Accuracy is really not bad at all, in fact it is better than I ever expected for the size and price. The thing that impresses me the most is that it shoots anything! Cheap ammo, expensive ammo, everything cycles and I have never had a jam.
I plan to buy one of these for each of my sons as this has quickly become a family favorite and represents an excellent value, reliability, portability and fun factor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2014

Home Run 1st time at bat.

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought the SR22 because everything I read said it said it was reliable. It is truly amazing, I've fired several types ammo over the past two weeks 3 or 4 hundred rounds and not one jam. Firing fast or slow it just works. Loading the clip is easy, fast and no sore fingers... Looking for a fun and reliable 22 auto the SR22 is it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2014

Another great Ruger product

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Purchased two months ago and have 500+ rounds through it. Highly reliable and extremely accurate with all ammo tried. Feels well balanced and very fun to shoot like all Ruger .22s.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2014

Awesome rimfire

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
10 rounds squeezed off fast. All 10 rounds center mass at 20 feet. I think that says it all. Accuracy out of the box. Very easy to control. Excellent gun to learn how to shoot a pistol with. Probably the funnest pistol I've shot yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2014

It won’t disappoint

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Overall very happy with the gun. Great for plinking cans or punching holes in paper.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2014

Quality

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this pistol a few weeks ago and finally got the chance to take it to the range. I ran 200 rounds of mixed 22lr, Blazer, Aguilla and Federal without any hiccups from either mag. Even with all the different types of ammo it still shot great groups, usually one hole about a half dollar in size. It is pretty easy to clean verses other Ruger rimfires. All I can say is fun, fun, fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2014

Could Be Better

By
I purchased a Ruger RS22 LR SA fm Cabelas. Next day I went to range, loaded 9 rds of .22 CCI LR, 29 Grain rds. Released slide and first rd chambered. Fired, casing ejected but slide failed to chamber next rd. Pulled slide to rear and then released; chambered and fired rd. Did same thing again. Switched mags and same result. Changed to Winchester 40 grain rds , experimented with # of rds in mags. Will fire without a problem with 7 rds.
Anything over 7 will not chamber next rd. Tried CCI 40 grain rds at 7 rds per mag; Worked great. Tried the 29 grain Rds (CCI) again with 7 per mag; Had nothing but problems with rds failing to chambered.. If I could have test fired this wpn I definitely would have not purchased it. I have a Beretta SA made in 1966-chews thru any type .22 LR without a problem
holds 15 rds in the mag. U would expect better quality fm Ruger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014

Great Shooter

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
"Swat" the other one and go with the Ruger. This thing eats any ammo I've thrown at it while my buddy messes with FTEs constantly on his "competitor's" model. There is no competition in this price range as far as I've seen. Tons of fun to shoot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2014

Best 22 out there

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
We shopped for a handgun for my wife and everything kept leaning her towards the Walther P22. Then she was able to handle the Ruger SR22 and she was hooked. The two grips for size difference, the two clips were just iceing on the cake. She shot it for the first time and loves the feel, more solid construction and great to shoot overall...........Great for Target Shooting and I'm sure the 22LR will deter an intruder if need be.
Recommend to all first time shooters who think a 9MM is the only way to go......Too bad its so hard to get ammo.............but its not the end of the world.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2014

Best semi auto 22 pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have owned a few different semi auto 22 caliber pistols over the years. This is by far the best one I have shot overall. The way it feels in the hand is just great. Easy to take down, easy to clean. I highly recommend this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2013

Great Little pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Shoots great! Doesnt cycle too well with Federal Champions or Winchester 333/777s. Haven't had any no fires with CCI mini-mags and Remington Golden Bullet. Probably shot over 1,000 rounds out of it already. 22LR are are to find now, so i'm limiting the time at the range with this gun. It's still cheap to shoot this than my other guns. Great gun, comes with 2 mags and pinky extenders. Fun to shoot, great for kids too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2013

awsome

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This gun is a very nice. It soots very well and eat just about anything u give it. I would recomend it to any one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 56