Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol

RUGER Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol

A versatile .22-cal. semiautomatic pistol that’s perfect for plinking, target shooting and even small-game hunting. Fun to shoot, the Ruger SR22 Rimfire Pistol accepts a variety of .22 LR loads (not just high-velocity ammo) without compromising reliability. The light double-action and crisp single-action trigger make this pistol a joy to shoot. The rounded spur on the external hammer allows easy cocking and single-action shooting. Features include an ambidextrous manual thumb safety, decocking lever and magazine release. The pistol comes with two grip options for a slim or wider palm swell. The three-dot sighting system includes a fixed white-dot front sight and an adjustable rear sight with a reversible blade. A Picatinny rail in front of the trigger guard has multiple cross slots to accept sight and light accessories. A lightweight, easy-to-handle pistol with an aluminum slide and black polymer frame. Comes with two 10-round magazines with two finger-extension floorplates and a soft case. Crimson Trace® package includes: SR22 pistol with Crimson Trace Rail Master™ Laser sight. 4.9"H x 1.29"W
Overall Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
46 out of 48(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Review 1 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phx, AZ
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger SR22

Date:March 12, 2012
I bought this little gun on thursday, took it out shooting Sunday. I shot over 200 rounds through it, some winchester, mini-mags and federal champion bulk. Of the over 200rds, I had 1 FTF on the very last round of the first magazine, after that it shot smooth and accurate. My friend that I was shooting with had his Walther P22 and we shot about 200 rounds through that also but it FTE or FTF more than 10 times shooting the same ammo as we shot with my SR22. The SR22 is a little heavier but it was more dependable and it was surprisingly accurate as well. I like the ajustable sites and I can't wait to get it on paper and get it perfectly sited in. Over all I think this is a great little gun. If you're looking for a plinking gun or small game hunter this is the gun to get!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mpls. Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fun gun to own

Date:February 23, 2012
I purchased a Ruger SR22 hand gun recently and just came back after my first outing. I fired over 300 rounds (cheapest available at 3 cents apeace) and never had a jam or failure to fire. Very good safety features and operates similar to my XDM but very economial to practice with. It does have a 3" barrel so it hones your skills holding tight groups. At 20 yards half were in the black, at 10 yards 80% were in the black. Good adjustable signts. Fun gun to shoot, seems very reliable and comfortable to handle and shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Another great Ruger product

Date:July 6, 2014
Purchased two months ago and have 500+ rounds through it. Highly reliable and extremely accurate with all ammo tried. Feels well balanced and very fun to shoot like all Ruger .22s.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome rimfire

Date:June 13, 2014
10 rounds squeezed off fast. All 10 rounds center mass at 20 feet. I think that says it all. Accuracy out of the box. Very easy to control. Excellent gun to learn how to shoot a pistol with. Probably the funnest pistol I've shot yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It won’t disappoint

Date:June 10, 2014
Overall very happy with the gun. Great for plinking cans or punching holes in paper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality

Date:May 10, 2014
I bought this pistol a few weeks ago and finally got the chance to take it to the range. I ran 200 rounds of mixed 22lr, Blazer, Aguilla and Federal without any hiccups from either mag. Even with all the different types of ammo it still shot great groups, usually one hole about a half dollar in size. It is pretty easy to clean verses other Ruger rimfires. All I can say is fun, fun, fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Could Be Better

Date:April 23, 2014
I purchased a Ruger RS22 LR SA fm Cabelas. Next day I went to range, loaded 9 rds of .22 CCI LR, 29 Grain rds. Released slide and first rd chambered. Fired, casing ejected but slide failed to chamber next rd. Pulled slide to rear and then released; chambered and fired rd. Did same thing again. Switched mags and same result. Changed to Winchester 40 grain rds , experimented with # of rds in mags. Will fire without a problem with 7 rds.
Anything over 7 will not chamber next rd. Tried CCI 40 grain rds at 7 rds per mag; Worked great. Tried the 29 grain Rds (CCI) again with 7 per mag; Had nothing but problems with rds failing to chambered.. If I could have test fired this wpn I definitely would have not purchased it. I have a Beretta SA made in 1966-chews thru any type .22 LR without a problem
holds 15 rds in the mag. U would expect better quality fm Ruger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shooter

Date:March 25, 2014
"Swat" the other one and go with the Ruger. This thing eats any ammo I've thrown at it while my buddy messes with FTEs constantly on his "competitor's" model. There is no competition in this price range as far as I've seen. Tons of fun to shoot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best 22 out there

Date:March 10, 2014
We shopped for a handgun for my wife and everything kept leaning her towards the Walther P22. Then she was able to handle the Ruger SR22 and she was hooked. The two grips for size difference, the two clips were just iceing on the cake. She shot it for the first time and loves the feel, more solid construction and great to shoot overall...........Great for Target Shooting and I'm sure the 22LR will deter an intruder if need be.
Recommend to all first time shooters who think a 9MM is the only way to go......Too bad its so hard to get ammo.............but its not the end of the world.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best semi auto 22 pistol

Date:January 23, 2014
I have owned a few different semi auto 22 caliber pistols over the years. This is by far the best one I have shot overall. The way it feels in the hand is just great. Easy to take down, easy to clean. I highly recommend this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little pistol

Date:December 19, 2013
Shoots great! Doesnt cycle too well with Federal Champions or Winchester 333/777s. Haven't had any no fires with CCI mini-mags and Remington Golden Bullet. Probably shot over 1,000 rounds out of it already. 22LR are are to find now, so i'm limiting the time at the range with this gun. It's still cheap to shoot this than my other guns. Great gun, comes with 2 mags and pinky extenders. Fun to shoot, great for kids too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome

Date:September 17, 2013
This gun is a very nice. It soots very well and eat just about anything u give it. I would recomend it to any one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this gun!

Date:September 6, 2013
Like many people, I recently started looking for something fun and less expensive to shoot than my higher caliber handguns, and a couple of months ago I bought my SR22 for that purpose. I love being able now to go to the range a time or two each week and not spend a fortune in the process, while having a blast each time. Along those lines, one of the SR22's particularly great features, as many reviewers have stated before me, is that this gun doesn't care much what you feed it, and that's a great trait when ammo is still so hard to find. But in truth, all of its features are great: incredible accuracy, superb ergonomics, light-weight construction but extremely sold feel, hassle-free takedown and cleaning! Oh, and I almost forgot, the three-dot sight system is hard to beat. Even in poor light, without any of the enhancements of fiber optics or other techier add-ons, this little gun provides a clear and fast sight picture that lets you hit and stay on target round after round. Maybe this isn't literally the perfect fun gun, but if it isn't, I don't know what is!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not so Great

Date:August 31, 2013
Purchased this pistol about 2 months ago and have taken it to the range 3 times. First time out it would not make it through a single magazine because the tabs on the magazine that keep the magazine safety off were not large enough. I bent them out and the next time I went to the range it shot great for about 100 rounds. Then i noticed the shots were 'keyholing" the target.
The guy next to me was shooting a 45 and I was putting bigger holes in the paper than he was. After 100 rounds the barrel was extremely fouled with lead. It took 30 minutes to clean the barrel out. Took it out again and the same thing happened. Ran the same ammo through my Ruger 10/22 with no fouling. It was cheap ammo, but thats the point of shooting 22. Dissapointed in this pistol
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly Recommend

Date:August 17, 2013
I have run five hundred rounds thru this semi auto and had no FTF or FTE as long as I used decent ammo. Works best with CCI or Remington, even the bulk stuff. So yes get one I highly recommend this Ruger. I also think I am going give this one to my wife as a carry weapon. Very easy to use clean with low recoil so even my wife can use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXCELLENT CHOICE

Date:July 30, 2013
I have owned this little Ruger SR22 for almost a year and have put over 1000 rounds through the gun. During the first two boxes, I had several FTFs, even using CCI MiniMags.After it was broken in, the gun now takes every type of ammo I throw in the Mag. I mean it shoots perfectly using the CCI or bulk target ammo, anything. Very accurate, just a sweet little gun overall. Would recommend to anyone for a small reliable 22LR.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun Even with Cheap Ammo!

Date:July 20, 2013
I have put over 2,000 rounds through this gun and it fires great! I have fired both the CCI and the cheap-o bulk ammo and very little issues ever! Never a single FTF with CCI! Make sure you oil and clean the gun as the .22cal rounds are very dirty and eventually will cause the occasional FTF with the cheap bulk ammo. The only ammo that caused many FTF was the Auto-Match ammo, they are garbage. There was 1 FTF for every 5 rounds. My buddy has a Sig .22 cal and he had almost every round FTF, so proof that the Rugar does better than any other .22cal with cheap ammo. I bought this because it is highly rated with cheap ammo and they were not wrong on that. This gun does better than any other .22 cal semi-auto pistol when it comes to cheap-o bulk ammo and even better with CCI ,etc. I i
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger SR22

Date:April 29, 2013
I purchased this gun over the weekend and have fired 150rds through it. This is a great gun for plinking but is not a very good long range gun. the only thing i didnt like about this gun is that the Metal slide scratches very easily, especially when putting the gun back together. Other than that this is a great little gun and conforms to the hand very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this plinker

Date:April 23, 2013
This gun is a joy to shoot and is a lot of fun. perfect gun for teaching my wife.Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® SR22&#8482 Rimfire Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It's like a purse dog

Date:April 11, 2013
I purchased the SR22 for my kids and wife. They like it because there's less recoil & noise and it looks like dads gun. We've had a few FTF and misfeeds, but after 500+ rounds, it's getting better. I was told it will eat bulk garbage and they're right. If your looking for accuracy, go with the Ruger Mark III. My uncle has a Mark III and it shoots like the solid gun that it is. I also have a Ruger Single Six and it too is a better gun than the SR22. I'm not disappointed with my purchase and I'd recommend the gun for FUN FUN FUN. I admit it's helped my accuracy because you really have to focus with the short distance between the sights.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 48