Customer Reviews for SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package

If you need a no-nonsense, bolt-action rifle that’s field-proven to be sturdy, accurate and reliable – this is your gun. This money-saving rifle and scope combo is available in a variety of popular calibers. It sports an all-weather synthetic stock and a matte-finished, carbon steel barrel. Detachable box magazine. 4+1 round capacity. Includes a mounted, boresighted 3-9x40 Bushnell scope.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Review 1 for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great weapons...proven deer slayer

Date:January 21, 2014
Santa delivered both boys this great value Savage rifle with scope. I had had a good experience with their Savage 512 Gold Wing O/U's and the publication reviews I had read on the Model 11 were good. One was a newer model of the same rifle equipped with a Nikon scope; the other with the Bushnell called out here. Both boys sited the weapons in well. Nothing spectacular about their shot placements at 100 yards...but were all in the vitals area. 1st hunting trip and first shots produced two downed bucks. My oldest boy got a nice buck at ~140 yards just outside a tree line in the late afternoon. My youngest dropped a similar buck with a nice snap shot at 100 yards as he crossed a path a day and a half later. He also shot a hog a few hours later at about 30 yards from a blind near sunset. The sites are serviceable; and easy to adjust...great 1st sites and have proven effective. The weapons operate easily; nice two stage triggers and other than having to press two pins to get the bolt out, nothing really difficult about these. Got 30.06...recoil is not noticeable; even by my youngest. Highly recommend. These should last a lifetime.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good first rifle

Date:January 20, 2014
This was my first rifle, I'm not to experienced with sighting in guns so I don't know how accurate this gun is. I've put 19 remington core lokt bullets through it. No jams goes bang every time, all of my first shots at one hundred yards hit the 1.5'x2' box in about 6 inch groups. In 13 bullets (I'm not experienced in this at all) I got three inch groups. Definitely not MOA but thats all me not the gun, It's accurate and the scope this package comes with is very good for a combo purchase. Very clear and works well. I purchased in .270 win and the scope holds.
I was doing shots from my knee not on a bench or with a gun vice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Hunter

Date:October 8, 2013
Myself and one of my best friends both bought this package in .300WinMag while the sale was on.
Although the trigger pull is a little heavy, it snaps clean, with almost no creep or lateral movement.
It balances well and it's not too heavy. The stock is a little flimsy up front, so I don't recommend using it with a bipod or using your sling to steady it, as it will contact the barrel then, which is free floating otherwise.
The scope is not up to the standard of the rifle, but it's good enough until you can replace it.
On the long action such as this .300 the scope bases are so far apart you can have real trouble mounting a different scope. There is no way to adjust that, as the bases have one slot each. I replaced mine with a multi-slot one piece scope mount rail.
The rifle is, as most Savages are, very accurate. The bolt operation is smooth with no binding. I had no failures when firing it.
It has a very soft recoil pad and this really helps with recoil.
I'd have to say it's a good buy at the usual price and was a real bargain at the sale price.
I only gave it 4 stars because of the scope and the mounts, otherwise this is a 5 star rifle to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best decision for a rifle yet.

Date:January 6, 2013
I purchased this rifle with high expectations for the 7mm Remington Magnum. I was not disappointed one bit. The action is very smooth. Has already taken two russian boars. You will not regret this purchase for the quality and ruggedness of this fine rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

savage model 11 .308

Date:November 17, 2012
Excellent rifle, I replaced scope rings almost immediately with Leopould Rings, OEM rings were loose out of the box. Immediate fix.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent gun for the money!

Date:November 4, 2012
Have two savages in this model.both shot great out of the box,love the accutrigger.both guns shoot 1/2 moa depending on ammo used. great guns for the money compared to the more high cost name brand guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst purchase ever

Date:October 20, 2012
i bought my gun at the cabelas in lacey wa and right out of the box the gun did not work. the scope is the nicest thing about the gun. i have to send it into savage for warranty repair and havent been able to shoot it yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loose Scope and Sticky Chamber

Date:October 17, 2012
I currently purchased this rifle, and it was a premium choice in compared to the remington rifle 30-06 of the same year and model, so i picked up the savage because it was on sale, well when we went to go site it in at 150 yrds,once we got it in sight i went to shoot again and the bullets kept getting stuck in the chamber,after applying a little oil that fixes that, but when i went to go shoot again, it was off,after shooting a dozen rounds it we found out the scope bolts are loose right out of the box,my brothers was the same he bought, after that fix and a lil oiling, the gun is really nice for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate,Deadly,and Dependable

Date:July 29, 2012
i bought this rifle last year in 270 win. i love that cal you cant kill just about anything in northern america with it. its never let me down, ive shot at 1000 yards with it and nailed the steel target every time. remind you im 14 and i hunt a lot of coyotes, hogs, deer, and soon to be elk with this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savage® Arms Model 11 Hunter XP Rifle Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Savage Rifle great gun,great staff.

Date:June 13, 2012
Just bought one in 300WinMag.Very impressive looking gun.8lbs alittle heavy,but very accurate out of the box. Cabelas staff boresighted it, and it was pretty much right on at 100yds.Minor 1click to the Left and all shots were in a half dollar.Coyotes and feral hogs look out.Very sound rifle and great price. I would buy another. Thanks Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.