Customer Reviews for SAVAGE Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns

SAVAGE Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns

Savage Arms' 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns are fast-handling with synthetic stocks, making them perfect dual-purpose guns. Field-proven rotary-bolt with dual-slide-bar action for smooth-cycling reliability and fast follow-up shots. Carbon-steel barrel for heavy-duty durability. Tube magazine has a five-round capacity. Right hand only. Available: 320 Security: Ghost-ring sights and pistol grip with an 18.5” barrel with cylinder choke. 320 Security: Bead sights and pistol grip with an 18.5” barrel with cylinder choke. 320 Security: Bead sights, pistol grip, rail and heat shield over an 18.5” barrel with cylinder choke (not shown). 320 Field Grade: 28” ventilated-ib-top barrel with front bead and modified choke. 320 Field Grade and Security Combo: 28” ventilated-rib-top barrel with front bead and modified choke and 18.5” security barrel with cylinder choke. Note: Field models do not have the pass-through stock or pistol grip.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:December 18, 2014
Next to other combat shotguns I have used before, the Savage/Stevens 320 is awesome. Since I got out of the Marines a few years ago, I have been looking for a good tactical shotgun that I can use for Home defense or what ever. The day after I bought it, I took it to the range. It fires well, and very accurate. I shot about 25 slugs and about ten rounds of 00buck through it. One minor jam from a bad round. Other wise it performed the way I had hoped it would.
The only complaint I have is; it is hard to find extras for it(light mounts, slings that fit, ect..) .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value for the price!

Date:March 5, 2014
The Savage 12 guage pistol grip shotgun is great! You have to hold one, when you brace it up on your shoulder, you will be buying one! Great comfort and control. A great home security or target shooter. Go get one today! No, I do not work for Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bang for buck

Date:December 11, 2013
i recently purchased my stevens with strong reservations. but after shooting the gun,my opinion is,that this is arguably one of the best security shotguns out there. from the ergonomics to the trigger.i found no fault with the stevens. although the initial cleaning is a must. mine came with all kinds of debris in the action and the barrel.but really this is one cool little gun!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

got what i was looking for

Date:September 27, 2013
This is the style shotgun that I have been looking for and the price is right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Shotgun if you are on a budget

Date:September 3, 2013
I purchase this Shotgun on Black Friday of 2012 as I needed a 12 ga for home defense. I fully admit that the only reason I bought the Stevens was the price. So far I have fired 100 "00" buck and 20 slugs out of it with absolutely no problems what so ever. What did impress me was the felt recoil of this shotgun. I have fired hundreds of buck and slug rounds out of Remington and S&W shotguns and the Stevens felt recoil was much less IMO. For anyone that is considering buying this Shotgun remember to run a couple of boxes of light field loads through it first to break it in. Then run several heavy loads to test it. Overall I feel that this shotgun is good value for the dollar.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cant beat quality for the price

Date:February 14, 2013
I read many reviews about this shotgun and can say I`m completely pleased with this purchase. Quality is good, price/value cant be matched. Perfect for home defense and fun to shoot. Only issue is the slide release is hard to engage with the pistol grip, plan to have a buddy custom mod the release tab. If your a value shopper this is worth looking at.
I`m an experienced shooter fyi.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun for the price

Date:December 15, 2012
Went shooting at the local range, first time using the Savage w/pistol grip. I am in one lane firing my revolver, five or six other guys shooting various handguns, when my friend fires the Savage for the first time. Everything just stopped. Once the shock wore off several people came over to see what made that boom.
Only fired seventy rounds with one failure to eject, but that was using the cheap buckshot. Other 69 were flawless and both of us have the bruise on our shoulders to prove it. Fired 50 Winchester Rifled slugs, 10 Winchester 00 buck and 10 cheap 00 buck.
Definitely a good gun, especially for the price, but a recoil pad might be a wise investment. Gave it a four because of limited usage, but if it continues to work well it could be a five.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Experience with a shotgun

Date:December 7, 2012
Being in my 50's, I'm a novice with shotguns. Never had a need for one simply because I'm an expert with pistols and rifles. Recently crime has appeared in my nieghborhood, My wife can't hit the side of a barn with a handgun. She has repeatedly asked for a shotgun because accuracy isn't a large factor ina a home. So, I purchased a Savage 320 home defense shotgun. Took it to a range and slowly began shooting. WOW!! Needles to say, it's fantastic! No need to be accurate, simple to use, easy to clean, and easier to shoot faster than I thought. Take it from a man who's extremely good with firearms, this product is a MUST HAVE!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good overall.

Date:December 7, 2012
To start this out. I am a novice shooter. I only shoot about 2-3 times a year.
Bought this gun to have as a home gun & to just shoot when at the river.
1st thing I noted was this gun needs a better recoil pad. shooting dove/target loads (50) still had a good kick. did not shoot any slugs or buckshot. I have bought a slip on recoil pad, but have not shot since i added it on.
It went bang everytime. I did not have any trouble with the action. it seemed smooth to me. I have not tried to shoot skeet with it. not sure the short barrel would be good for that. shot at fixed targets like bottles, boxes, and can. KILLED all of them. seemed to have a good pattern at about 20-30 feet away.
I did do a very good cleaning and oiling prior to shooting this gun the day before.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst buy yet

Date:October 26, 2012
I bought the savage pump 320 for home back in april its a good thing I did not have to use it ,took the gun out for the first time today oct ,fired 1 shot ,gun jammed up I was done for the day .I tried to get the shell out but had to take the whole gun apart,it now sits in the box in pieces.
I might take this shotgun to a gun smith but with what happened I might just decide to throw it away.
I read another article about someone buying 2 of these guns and had the same problem, jammed up.
I would not recommend this gun to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:October 21, 2012
Broke after 6 firings. The forearm broke loose from the action (cheap spot welds). Returned it to the store. Will not buy one of these again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A MUST HAVE!!!!!!!

Date:September 2, 2012
I FINALLY brought a SAVAGE STEVENS 320 after it was sold out every where then i call CABELAS. I have to say "I'm really really please with it plus when the price is right the price is right. I ran 200 rounds thru it no miss feeds, no jams at ILLINOIS GUN WORKS
P.S. I WILL RECOMMEND THE SAVAGE-STEVENS 320 TO A FRIEND & FAMILY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savage® Arms/Stevens 320 Field and Security Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Looks good

Date:April 18, 2012
Appears to be a high quality piece at a very reasonable price. Picked up 2 of these for home defense.
Took them out the next day. On one of them the breech will not lock. The second has problems feeding shells and jamming. Also noted the mag tube spring feels weak.
2 stars because of the immediate problems. Disappointed I have to return to Cabela's to send them in for repair right off the bat. I'm sure Savage will correct the problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.