Customer Reviews for SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages

SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages

Trophy rifle package comes with a mounted and boresighted Nikon 3-9x40 scope with a BDC reticle. Matte-black carbon-steel barrel. Sling studs. It includes an accuracy-enhancing, adjustable AccuTrigger™, detachable box magazine and recoil pad.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.806 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
35 out of 36(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Review 1 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2016

Best rifle purchase I've made in a long time

By
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought the 11/111 Savage - Nikon BDC scope package in 223. Seasoned the barrel like you're suppose to. Very impressed with everything about the rifle. Best scope that has ever come out on a package. The trigger is A+. With factory ammo I was MOA at 100 yards - started putting my 55 grain hand loads through it and couldn't believe what I was seeing. Stretched it out to 200 yards and was doing clover leafs. Bottom line - don't spend the big bucks for a varmint rifle. This rifle will out perform your expectations.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2016

Nice Rifle

By
Just got mine in a 308, Nice rifle good quality, A Remington 700 look alike at a better price..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2016

Left-Hand .204

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
So my dad got one of these in the left-handed .204 Ruger variety (at a mom-and-pop gun shop) and we couldn't get it to hold a group at 50 yards to save our lives. So I went and picked up a set of steel Warne rings and a 1-piece Weaver scope base from Cabela's, and now it shoots 3/8" groups at 100 yards all day long. Could not be happier.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2015

Best rifles out of the box.

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
111 30-06 accurate is a understatement. This thing will punch through existing holes. Its aluminum pillars keep this thing hitting in the same spot. Out of all my savages love this one. Weight is good for hunting. It's a light package which makes it a fun rifle to shoulder up.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2015

Great Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased this Rifle in .308 and I have to say it is a tack driver took it to my local range and was shooting groups I could'nt believe, one thing I would recommend is a Limbsaver recoil pad if you plan to shoot it alot
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2015

Best package around

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
This package can't be beat. Savage trigger with a Nikon scope. Bore sighted it (it was already close from Savage). I gave a quick cleaning to the rifle and 10 rounds later I was 1" MOA. Added an inexpensive sling and scope cover and I've got all the rifle and scope I'll ever need.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2015

A Great Performing Rifle for the Money

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My Savage 111 in .270 has been a superb hunting machine. As mentioned in all the previous comments, the rifle is extremely accurate and well built, and the Nikon scope performs as well as many much more expensive scopes. Also as mentioned, the mounts have a tendency to loosen up, and they need to be checked before and after a day at the range or in the field. I noticed that my mounts were actually sliding. The catalyst for inspecting the mounts was when I suddenly went from shooting nice groups at 100 yards to not even hitting paper. The other issue I've encountered on my .270 is that you really need to make sure that the magazine is locked into the rifle. I lost my magazine on an Idaho whitetail hunt when it fell out. Luckily, I was able to dispatch a nice whitetail with one shot. I liked my 111 .270 so much that I bought another 111 in .223. I like the .223 even more. It really loves 53 grain Hornady Super Performance V-Max bullets, and it is capable of even better accuracy than my .270. The only issue with the .223 is that the magazine needs to be positioned perfectly in the rifle or the bolt will not grab a fresh round after injecting the spent one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2015

exllent rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I just bought this weapon at 200 yard's groups 3" pattern all day and iam 1/2 blind I cant see ring on target that far with my eye sight this is 1 rifle that went 100% use too shoot 22-50 1908 bolt in younger days but this rifle brings back so many good times have fired 200+ rounds and not 1 problem start too finish
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2014

Great deer gun

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this gun 3 weeks ago. Went to the range to sight it in. To my surprise, the gun was way off, didn't even hit close to the target. I went through the whole sighting in routine and got the gun shooting within ~1 MOA on 100 yards after ~ 15 rounds. Great gun to shoot and I got a deer 1 week later. Would recommend to buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2014

BACK TO BASICS

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I can't believe how many comments mention bad or loose scopes/mounts etc. Maybe I am just old fashioned but Number One on any "new" rifle has always been to clean it good and then dismount scope and tighten all bolts, screws, rings etc and USE Locktight. I just bought one of these in 243 win. I cleaned it and tightened the stock to the barrel. Then I dismounted the scope and the bases and cleaned with solvent and reassembled with locktight. First 3 shots were a little loose (new bore?) adjust scope again then a five shot string. Less than .6 inch at 100 yards. This was leaning over the spare tire on the back of my SUV with factory loads. I can hardly wait to work up some hand loads and use my bench. The squares on this target are 2"x2".
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014

Awesome Package, Tight Grouping

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Bought this rifle for the hunting versatility of the 30-06 and the excellent value of the package. The Nikon scope came mounted and way off target. I re-mounted the scope about 3/4" forward for comfort, bore sighted the rifle, and dialed it in at 100 yards. Within 5 rounds I was shooting MOA groupings. The BDC reticle is an awesome feature in the Nikon scope, just be aware it is dependent on your ammo.
My only complaint is that the bolt isnt as smooth as my vintage Remington 700 and the groupings get pretty loose with a warm barrel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2014

308

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought the 308 from Cabelas yesterday. First I would like to say that the staff in Gonzales is first class. I bought this gun to get a cheap back up. What I found was that it shoots better than my remington 700. I love the action, trigger and safety set up on this model. This is my first savage rifle. I absolutely love it. I will buy another soon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2014

Savage 11 Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Purchased this rifle last summer in 30/06. This is my second Savage rifle and I'm very pleased with both of them. Bought it on sale and it was a great buy. For the price, the scope is decent and the rifle is good quality. I was sighted in and shooting 1" groups at 100 yards in no time at all. My gun shoots the Winchester Power Max and Hornady American Whitetail ammo in150 grain the best. Very pleased with this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle as a used weapon from cabelas for 1/2 of what it cost new and it is accurate and shoots perfectly. I have put 50 rounds through it in the last 2 years and it has not messed up once in that time, good gun for anyone looking for a quality Rifle!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2014

Very Great Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This rifle is another great buy from Savage Arms. This rifle feels great in my hands and pounds out the shots fine. The clip must be seated perfect though to keep the ammo lined to enter the chamber but otherwise its a top notch shooter. Anyone looking for a good rifle for hunting this one is really good!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2014

tack driver

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've had my .223 version of this rifle for 9 months and I can truly say that it is a track driver. I usually shoot it from the prone position with a Harris Bi-Pod. I've used it to eliminate many groundhogs and coyote(s) from a friends farm. The Nikon glass with the BDC reticle is nice and clear from edge to edge. It gives me an extra few minutes of light at dawn/dusk.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2014

11 308 lefty

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Everything is awesome on this gun. Dont like the plastic on mag. But still a great gun and its left handed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2013

GREAT GUN

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have 308 shoots great, very nice all around gun. I replaced the scope mounts right away couldn't keep the scope tighten down. Would still recommend this gun for sure. Just a heads up on the mounts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2013

Wow!

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Finally sighted in and grouped 0.6" grouping. Could have done better if I was a better shooter. Awesome weapon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2013

Great Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle in the 30-06 caliber. The first 2 shots were 3 inches low, and 9 inches right at 50 yards. The scope rings had been put on backwards at the factory. After turning them around, I was 3 inches low, and 1 inch left at 50 yards. I made the adjustment, then shot it at 100 yards. I was at the correct height, and a 1/2 inch left. After getting the right adjustment, this rifle, scope combo was accurate out to 300 yards. Very little felt recoil. Great rifle
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 36