Customer Reviews for SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages

SAVAGE ARMS Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages

Trophy rifle package comes with a mounted and boresighted Nikon 3-9x40 scope with a BDC reticle. Matte-black carbon-steel barrel. Sling studs. It includes an accuracy-enhancing, adjustable AccuTrigger™, detachable box magazine and recoil pad.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer Reviews for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Review 1 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Savage 11 Rifle

Date:March 15, 2014
Purchased this rifle last summer in 30/06. This is my second Savage rifle and I'm very pleased with both of them. Bought it on sale and it was a great buy. For the price, the scope is decent and the rifle is good quality. I was sighted in and shooting 1" groups at 100 yards in no time at all. My gun shoots the Winchester Power Max and Hornady American Whitetail ammo in150 grain the best. Very pleased with this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:March 4, 2014
I bought this rifle as a used weapon from cabelas for 1/2 of what it cost new and it is accurate and shoots perfectly. I have put 50 rounds through it in the last 2 years and it has not messed up once in that time, good gun for anyone looking for a quality Rifle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Great Rifle

Date:February 25, 2014
This rifle is another great buy from Savage Arms. This rifle feels great in my hands and pounds out the shots fine. The clip must be seated perfect though to keep the ammo lined to enter the chamber but otherwise its a top notch shooter. Anyone looking for a good rifle for hunting this one is really good!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tack driver

Date:January 31, 2014
I've had my .223 version of this rifle for 9 months and I can truly say that it is a track driver. I usually shoot it from the prone position with a Harris Bi-Pod. I've used it to eliminate many groundhogs and coyote(s) from a friends farm. The Nikon glass with the BDC reticle is nice and clear from edge to edge. It gives me an extra few minutes of light at dawn/dusk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

11 308 lefty

Date:January 5, 2014
Everything is awesome on this gun. Dont like the plastic on mag. But still a great gun and its left handed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT GUN

Date:December 23, 2013
I have 308 shoots great, very nice all around gun. I replaced the scope mounts right away couldn't keep the scope tighten down. Would still recommend this gun for sure. Just a heads up on the mounts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow!

Date:November 11, 2013
Finally sighted in and grouped 0.6" grouping. Could have done better if I was a better shooter. Awesome weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:November 11, 2013
I bought this rifle in the 30-06 caliber. The first 2 shots were 3 inches low, and 9 inches right at 50 yards. The scope rings had been put on backwards at the factory. After turning them around, I was 3 inches low, and 1 inch left at 50 yards. I made the adjustment, then shot it at 100 yards. I was at the correct height, and a 1/2 inch left. After getting the right adjustment, this rifle, scope combo was accurate out to 300 yards. Very little felt recoil. Great rifle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Rifle/Scope Package

Date:November 7, 2013
Hubby got the .270 for me, a first time hunter. I am a lefty, and am incredibly pleased with this rifle. Low recoil, smooth bolt action. Nice weight, easy to carry and handle. Happy with the accuracy (bagged a deer my first hour out!) and I found the Nikon scope to be excellent in low light conditions and cold weather. Great package, well worth it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Gun

Date:October 21, 2013
I had bought this gun the other day in a .308 this gun shoots great as far as sighting in it was bore sighted from the factory one click up and one click to the right at a hundred yards was awesome. Over all great all around gun shoots great with low recoil and smooth bolt, great gun for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Rifle

Date:August 1, 2013
Great out to 200 yds. Gets more erratic once the barrel is hot (naturally). For the price this thing is bomb proof.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Impressed With The 30-06 Version

Date:July 14, 2013
I couldn't be happier with the purchase of the 30-06 version of this rifle and have been very impressed with it.
I'm not a hunter but a target shooter and this rifle at 200 yards is phenomenal. I can nail the inner ring of a target all day long at that distance. If I really take my time and adhere to all the fundamentals of shooting my groupings are very tight in or around the bullseye. I'll go head to head with rifles a lot more expensive than mine.
As for the scope, it's clear and accurate once dialed in and is more than adequate for me. It's powerful enough that at 200 yards I can see my shots on the target so there's no need for a spotting scope.
The only caution I'd give is to check the scopes' tightness each trip out. I've only had to re-tighten the mounting screws once after noticing my shots started to stray on the target. This isn't a bad habit to get into regardless of the rifle and scope, though.
All in all I'd certainly recommend the Savage Arms 111 Trophy Rifle to anyone looking for a good performing rifle for a reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Savage 111F Tack-driver!!!!

Date:February 11, 2013
I own a 12 year old Savage 111F rifle/scope combo in 30-06. This rifle will shoot 1" groups at 100 yrds all day long. It gives my hunting buddy fits of rage when I out-shoot his Winchester Model 70 pre-64. I have shot over 12 deer with this 30-06 rifle. Mine came with a simmons scope and it fogged up after 2 years. I'm glad to see that this combo comes with a Nikon scope. I have one on another rifle and the optics are great. This is a quality product!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase

Date:January 16, 2013
Got this gun for the upcoming elk hunt in utah. So far has shot great! Put about 10 rounds through and so far love it. Great rifle for the price hope it gets me an elk!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this rifle

Date:January 14, 2013
I had a Remington 270 that I have used for years. It was a solid and very accurate rifle. Hunting on opening weekend of the deer season I loaned it to a relative who allowed it to be victim to a mishap. I needed a new rifle. I have a Tikka 30.06 and wanted another in 270. When I went to buy the replacement I came across the Savage 111 with Nikon scope. It was on sale and I have the same Nikon scope on my other guns so it was a go. The darn thing is a solid, well functioning rifle. It is accurate as any rifle I have ever owned and smooth. Several weeks after the purchase I killed two deer with it and it is now a valued friend. I can see a long relationship and probably the purchase of another rifle in 308.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elk hunt

Date:December 31, 2012
I purchased this rifle in the 300 win mag caliber. shot well out to 400 yards at the range. Shot an elk in colorado at 300 yards. Great gun and scope combination for the money. Prostaff scope did everything a much more expensive scope can do. I was sceptical driving to colorado but after the kill could not be more satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Joy to shoot

Date:December 9, 2012
Absolute joy to shoot. I received the firearm earlier this month. Because we live in the woods where it is wet, cold, and very bitter during this time of the year our firearms must be able to endure the weather. This gun passed with flying colors. The teflon like substance for weather guard on the barrel easily wipes off and goes again. The scope is easy to sight in and takes minimal effort to do so. I use it primarily for target shooting, mostly because the .223/5.556NATO round I ordered wouldn't take anything down around here.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bang for your buck!!!

Date:October 20, 2012
I bought mine in .308 it's a great rifle it's accurate,bolt cycles nice. No compliants
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate, smooth and solid!

Date:October 6, 2012
I purchased a .270 in July for the upcoming whitetail season in Minnesota. When I went to Cabella's I was planning on purchasing the Remington 700 ADL but after looking at it and not impressed, the salesman showed me this rifle and what a difference.
The first thing I noticed was the scope...for a package deal, this is a very nice scope. Next I pulled the trigger and was amazed at how smooth it was. The stock was solid as the ADL rattled against the barrel. I also like the fact it has a box magazine for easier loading.
When I first fired it, the scope was way off even at 25 yards. However it was very easy to dial in and about 10 rounds later I was hitting bulls eye at 100 yards.
Once I was dialed in, from a rested position I fired 8 rounds. 5 of 8 shots were on top of the other in the bulls eye while the other 3 were all with 1/4" at 100 yards (hot barrel). Since then, my first shot at the range is from rested position and always bulls eye with cold barrel.
The scope is very bright and has a bdc out to 500 yards. Nikon even has a app that allows you to see exact bdc measurements for the scope, magnification, ammunition, angle and atmospheric conditions. For example, nice sunny day the 200 yard bdc with the ammunition I use is actually 194 yards, 300 is 275, 400 is 344 and so on.
The Accutrigger is smooth and is easy to remove and adjust to your liking. I actually lightened my trigger pull just a bit.
After 60 rounds of 150 grain .270 Win Ammunition, the scope has not moved a bit. It is still dead on! The supplied rings and mounts are alloy and solid. Adjustments on the scope are easy but will require a coin or tool.
Very happy with my purchase and testing of the rifle so far. Looking forward to many years of hunting and tagging deer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Savage® Arms 11/111 Trophy Hunter XP Bolt-Action Rifle and Nikon Scope Packages
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Another purchase from Cabela's

Date:July 4, 2012
Yesterday I purchase from Cabela's a Savage Arms 111 Trophy Rifle with Scope Package. From their to the local range and was very surprised the .25-06 with the Nikon scope was only 1 MOA from center @ 100 yds! The bolt was a bit stiff but within 20 rounds was free and solid. Although I did not have a lot of time to fire am looking forward to next weekend and the shooting range.
Normally I would not purchase a new item with 0 reviews but Savage Arms has a great record and hope you will give the Savage 111 a placement in your safe in the near future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22