Customer Reviews for SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols

SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols

SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols boast robust all-metal construction chambered in 9mm with 6+1 capacity. These pistols have an extremely compact and powerful platform for concealed carry. Single-action trigger delivers fast and smooth follow-up shots. Its ambidextrous thumb safety is convenient for both left- and right-handed shooters. SIGLITE® Night Sights provide rapid sight acquisition in low-light conditions. Available: P938 Blackwood – Features a natural stainless steel slide and hard-anodized-alloy frame with Hogue® Blackwood grips. P938 Extreme – Polished nitron stainless steel slide and hard-anodized-alloy frame with Hogue G-10 Piranha grips in black and gray.    P938 Nightmare – Polished nitron-coated stainless steel slide and hard-anodized-alloy frame with black rubber-wrapped grips. P938 Scorpion – Features SIGLITE Night Sights, a Flat Dark Earth coating and Hogue Extreme G-10 Grips. P938 Edge – Features matte Ti-PVD-coated stainless steel slide with black G-10 grips. Rainbow Ti controls.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great CCW

Date:November 24, 2014
I purchased this pistol to be my main conceal carry weapon. I have the "Nightmare" model. The night sights work well. This gun is awesome, and conceals well. It shoots great. The best part, is even fully loaded it doesn't weigh much. We all know if the gun is cumbersome, or heavy, we won't carry it consistently. Good luck with your future handgun purchases, however, if you pick this one, you won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sig p938 9mm

Date:September 12, 2014
Finally got this little guy, went with the FDE Scorpion model. Very pleased with this pistol and it's performance. I added the Sig rubber grips and now fits a much better, also using the 7round mag extension is a must if your hands are of good size. Has cycled everything from Win White Box 115's to 147gr Win PDX1's. I will say the trigger was a little heavy but not that big of a deal, should wear down over time. The frame and weight of the gun distributes recoil very well and is quite the accurate little pistol. I elected to carry IWB in a minituck and have had no problems with rubbing the finish off, the cerakoat quality is excellent. Love the standard Siglite night sights. Easy 5 out of 5 stars for me. Only con is that I can see my girlfriend thinking it's now hers...
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I LOVE this gun

Date:August 6, 2014
I had been looking for a small gun for concealed carry-whenever I carried my revolver, it was uncomfortable and when I carried my .45, it would print. I did not like the fact that I had to carry my gun in my purse. When I found this beauty, it didn't take me long to decide to purchase it. Since I am of small build, this gun is perfect for me-I can carry without printing and I know it has stopping power should I ever need it. I love Sig guns and have not had one problem with my Scorpion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BABY SIG

Date:June 24, 2014
GREAT LITTLE GUN WITH KNOCK DOWN POWER.
BUT YOU NEED TO PRACTICE WITH THIS GUN BEFORE YOU BECOME COMFORTABLE WITH YOUR LIFE JUST IN CASE YOU NEED IT. AND GODD FOR TARGET ALSO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Gun

Date:December 13, 2013
This is the perfect concealed carry gun. It is small, has impressive firepower for its size, is chambered in 9mm, and it solid and beautifully crafted. My P938 shoots everything I have run through it without a hitch and is VERY accurate. I did have to adjust the front site a little as it was shooting to the left (for me at least). However, baseball sized groups, shooting without a rest are easy at 20 yards. I LOVE THIS GUN!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely Satisfied

Date:September 22, 2013
Purchased this pistol a few months ago. Cleaned and oiled and went to the range. Shot 100 rounds of 115 grain FMJ without a failure of any kind.
Out of the box the trigger pull is about 8 pounds but very crisp. Over the next week I dry fired a couple hundred times and trigger wore in to a crisp 4 pounds or so.
Great accuracy for such a small package. This pistol is now my daily carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

perfect ccw pistol

Date:August 27, 2013
I am a 45 acp man love the round and carry frequently , but some times its not possible to carry a pistol that size
so after looking at the 938 I chose it because of the familar controls and sigs reputation . I have not been dissapointed . I gave the pistol a brief cleaning then run 150 rounds of pmc 115 grain loads through it with out a hitch and the sights were dead on . since then I have put another 200 rounds thrugh the gun with no problems . the pistol is so easy to carry even outside the waist band I think it will get the nod for carry alot more than what I had planned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pistol

Date:July 13, 2013
The P938 wasn't the pistol I was looking for but I liked it at the store so I bought it in the Exteme model. The first tme I shot the gun I used 115 grain target ammo and I wasn't sure if I liked the gun. I took the gun in and cleaned and oiled it and thought I would try it again later. The next day I shot Gold DOT 147 grain, Critical Duty +P 124 grain, PDX-1 +P 124 grain and I fell in love with the gun. It has a great feel with the 7 round extended grip, it shoots great, cycles great, has geat night sights, and has very little recoil compared to other pocket pistols even wth heavy bullets and + P. I would highly recomend this to anyone looking for a pocket pistol and I also highly recomend using the 7 round magazine. This is a great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding pistol ...

Date:April 16, 2013
As a 1911 fan, I purchased mine for daily concealed carry - and have not been disappointed.
Over 250 rounds through the pistol the first day and NO problems - simply flawless. I did, however, completely clean and lube the pistol before its initial use. I fired five different brands of ammunition - all 115 grn. projectiles.
The pistol is easy to shoot and does not punish you, as do some of the smaller "pocket pistols" I have owned. Fantastic ergonomics, nice grip, excellent sights, tolerable recoil. Only issue I have is magazines are expensive, and difficult to find.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect CCW

Date:March 12, 2013
Purchased the Equinox model. Beautiful gun, Tru-Glo TFO front sight and sig light rear sights, wood grips are thinner than the rubber model and help to conceal under clothing. Recoil is snapy as expected, especially without the extended 7 round mag. Gun is very accurate at 7 yards. Had a half dozen failure to feed issues during the first 100 rounds. Since then (300 rounds), no issues at all using cheap 115grain ball ammo. Trigger break is down to less than 5lbs and very crisp with no creep. It was a nice gun out of box. Now that i've had a couple hundred rounds through, I have a new favorite. Even a couple die hard Kahr fans I know are now on the lookout for a p938.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Shooting Gun

Date:February 25, 2013
I went into Cabela's to buy a replacement carry gun for my Glock 27. I fell in love with this gun! I loved the night sights. I passed on it because it was soo expensive and bought the Ruger LC9 for half the price. I like the LC9 and shoot it well but went back and bought the P938. I find it very accurate and love the night sights. I have since put these sights on my Glocks and love them. I prefer the SA trigger of the Sig compared to the DA trigger on the Ruger. I give it 4 stars because I think for that much money they should give you more than one magazine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NICE SIZE WITH GREAT POWER

Date:February 19, 2013
I bought this 9mm based on having the P238 for several years. This gun is almost the perfect CCW, small and easy to hide and shooting a 9mm what else can I say. In the winter a .45 works well under layers, this little jewel can hide perfectly well in a pocket holster with no print...
The only thing that is a issue is with cheaper ammo I get 3 or 4 misfires per box. Solution is just recock the trigger and most of the time it fires...
I would recommend this gun to anyone who needs a quality weapon with a small print.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Failed to eject

Date:January 3, 2013
Failed to eject 2 out of 20 rounds one major manufacturer 115 grains. Failed to eject 1 out of 50 rounds of a second major manufacturer 115 grains. No failures out of 20 personal protection 147 grains. If the gun can't handle lighter bullets then Sig should publish it as such. Otherwise one would expect it to fire and eject the most common size bullets used in 9mm. Recoil and accuracy are acceptable for such a small frame.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sig P938 - Great for concealed carry!

Date:November 21, 2012
This "mini 1911" in 9 mm is a slightly larger clone of the original Sig P238 chambered in .380. The P938 comes standard with large Sig night sights, extended & flush magazines, ambidextrous external safeties. Comfortable grip, manageable recoil, very accurate.
Single action only; can be carried "cocked & locked." Trigger is a bit heavy, but very short pull & reset. Field stripping is easy, with some practice.
I experienced many malfunctions initially, then realized that this handgun prefers heavier ammo (124 & 147 grain), with which I have had no problems whatsoever. (I now use Gold Dot or HST 124's for P.D. carry - both very reliable here.)
Why carry a .380, when the Sig P938 in 9 mm is almost the same size? Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best EDC I've found

Date:November 7, 2012
I've been used to carrying a Officers Model 1911 in 45ACP, but always took issue with it's weight; especially loaded.
Even though I was was reluctant to give up my 45, I have to say that this SIG is a big improvement overall. Comes in about 1/2 the weight of my 1911, has very similar operation, is very accurate and fits me much better with an IWB holster. I got the Extreme model which comes with a 6 and 7round mag., and the extended magazine is the easiest to shoot well. The SIG night sights are among the best I've used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Finally! I found my carry gun. The Sig P938.

Date:October 6, 2012
It's been a long time of wasted energy and money. But the right concealed carry pistol is finally here, at least, for me.
I started with a Smith and Wesson .38 Special snub revolver and it was concealable and certainly reliable, in fact, it is now probably my second carry choice if I didn't have my new Sig P938. But in between the two guns, I purchased a bunch I don't like due to one issue or another. They include: Glock 26, Sig Ultra 1911, Bersa Thunder .380, Kimber Solo CDP, Sig P238 and even a Bauer .25. The Sig Ultra .45 is too big to carry (for me) and P238 is only .380 but both are very nice. I decided I really want a 9mm that is small enough to hide. I thought the Kimber Solo would be perfect, and it would have been if it could shoot a full magazine without a jam or failure to feed. Mine can't. All that money and trouble finding one....oh well. Better not get into bashing.
I had high hopes for the P938 when I first read about it. I am not disappointed. It is very comfortable to hold. It has reasonable recoil for its weight and size. It is very accurate. It looks good. It is not particular about brand of ammo or bullet weight. And last but most important, it shoots every time the trigger is pulled.
The only improvement I have found so far that would make it a better piece is the trigger. It feels almost like a double action. Having already experienced great triggers with the other Sigs, I was disappointed when I first pulled the trigger of the P938. It feels like it was lined with broken glass. That said, it still warrants 5 stars. Nothing is perfect. And maybe I can get a trigger job.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful Firearm!

Date:August 24, 2012
I'm fearful of subcompact auto's as I've owned several that never fed well and reliably.
This firearm is very precisely (tightly) built. The slide feels like glass. Overall I couldn't be any more pleased with the firearm. I bought 4 50 rd boxes of the 4 cheapest brands of ammo I could find. 200 rds downrange w/o a hiccup. It is as much as a nail driver as you can hope for in a package this small. The gun is wonderfully comfortable to wear IWB, and just small enough for me to carry in pocket with most pants.
Also, the night sights of the extreme are wonderful!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.