Customer Reviews for SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols

SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols

SIG Sauer P938 Centerfire Pistols boast robust all-metal construction chambered in 9mm. These pistols have an extremely compact and powerful platform for concealed carry. Single-action trigger delivers fast and smooth follow-up shots. Ambidextrous thumb safety is convenient for both left- and right-handed shooters. SIGLITE® Night Sights provide rapid sight acquisition in low-light conditions. Available: P938 Nightmare – Polished nitron-coated stainless steel slide and hard-anodized-alloy frame with black rubber-wrapped grips. P938 Blackwood – Features a natural stainless steel slide and hard-anodized-alloy frame with Hogue® Blackwood grips. P938 Scorpion – Features SIGLITE Night Sights, a Flat Dark Earth coating and Hogue Extreme G10 Grips, 7+1 capacity. P938 Edge – Features matte Ti-PVD-coated stainless steel slide with black G-10 grips. Rainbow Ti controls.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome little pistol!

Date:June 26, 2015
I recently found myself in a bad situation and decided it was time to concealed carry. I was set on a P238 because of it's size, but then I discovered this little jewel. It's only about 0.4" longer and about an ounce heavier, packs a bigger punch, and the ammo is tremendously cheaper, which means I can afford to practice more! I could not have made a better decision!!! It's easy to function, doesn't have a lot of recoil (for me anyway, but I'm a woman who hunts with a .300 Win Mag), and it is extremely accurate. I'm fairly new to shooting (handguns) and I can group 7 shots in 3" from 20 yards. My husband can do better than that as he's more experienced.
I did a lot of my own research before purchasing this gun and tried out at least 15-20 other compact and subcompact handguns in several stores. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
I would strongly suggest ordering the extended mag, which gives you that 7th round and a little extra pinky support.
The only issue I did notice, which isn't much of an issue at all, is that it was a little heavily oiled out of the box. I've read some reviews that said the gun came almost dry, so it may vary.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice shooter

Date:March 23, 2015
I purchased this gun today and took it to the range with 124 gr and 146 gr FMJ and a variety of hollow points. After devouring 300 rounds+ the gun was flawless. No mis-fires or jams...nothing but the black circle with a few operator errors. It kicks less than my Walther PPK/S. Maybe as I get used to shooting this gem it will out shoot my Walther. Sig needs to wake up to the needs of it's customer base. If one is paying good money for a pistol they could include the 7rd mag with fingergrip for a couple of bucks more. I would highly reecommend this little cocked and locked jewel for discrete carry. It is pleasant to shoot with no problem at all!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun, perfect ccw

Date:March 1, 2015
I purchased this gun about 8 months ago to be used as a concealed carry weapon. I was specifically looking for a small gun that is easy to conceal. I bought the nightmare edition.
I use an owb holster. This gun is comfortable to wear all day even when spending a good part of the day driving. I have shot several hundred rounds of various ammo through this gun including G2 RIP bullets with no failures to feed from any ammo. Shoots great even one handed. Mild kick.
When I bought this gun Cabelas had a special going on that the gun came with a free 22 cal conversion kit deal when I purchased it. The gun is very expensive but really high quality. My ONLY complaint is Sig really needs to provide more than one magazine. I could not find anyone with these mags in stock for about 5 weeks after I bought the gun. Love this gun but only 4 stars for lack of an extra magazine.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:February 13, 2015
The first gun I ever shot was a 1911 so when I was looking for a conceal, the Sig P938 and the Smith & Wesson M&P9c were two guns I was considering. So I bought both of them. Although the M&P is a fine firearm and I'll never get rid of it, the P938 is a MUCH nicer firearm. It's light weight, has great sights, accurate, and very concealable. As a woman who carries everyday, I found that sometimes the M&P was too bulky with the clothes I was wearing. The P938 was slim enough to almost completely hide in a side holster. One thing to note is if you are not an experienced shooter, you may have issues with the gun failing to eject if you do not have perfect form. It's small and you have to hang on to it tight. If you have a tea cup grip, many times the recoil will get absorbed in your hands instead of the gun and the slide will not go back all the way as it ejects. You'll notice there are some negative reviews regarding eject problems and that is most likely why. Otherwise I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing pocket pistol

Date:February 11, 2015
Already have a Glock and Springfield XDs. Love the XDs for carrying but the Sig 938 is outstanding. I'm a smaller framed male and with a good holster its super easy to conceal. Would definitely recommend purchasing the extended magazines, without them the gun feels really small. The extra pinky hold makes a world of difference. Awesome gun, I'll definitely buy another Sig.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Concealed Gun

Date:January 4, 2015
This is my favorite small conceal and carry gun. I recomend the hogue rubber grip with the pinky extension.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great CCW

Date:November 24, 2014
I purchased this pistol to be my main conceal carry weapon. I have the "Nightmare" model. The night sights work well. This gun is awesome, and conceals well. It shoots great. The best part, is even fully loaded it doesn't weigh much. We all know if the gun is cumbersome, or heavy, we won't carry it consistently. Good luck with your future handgun purchases, however, if you pick this one, you won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sig p938 9mm

Date:September 12, 2014
Finally got this little guy, went with the FDE Scorpion model. Very pleased with this pistol and it's performance. I added the Sig rubber grips and now fits a much better, also using the 7round mag extension is a must if your hands are of good size. Has cycled everything from Win White Box 115's to 147gr Win PDX1's. I will say the trigger was a little heavy but not that big of a deal, should wear down over time. The frame and weight of the gun distributes recoil very well and is quite the accurate little pistol. I elected to carry IWB in a minituck and have had no problems with rubbing the finish off, the cerakoat quality is excellent. Love the standard Siglite night sights. Easy 5 out of 5 stars for me. Only con is that I can see my girlfriend thinking it's now hers...
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I LOVE this gun

Date:August 6, 2014
I had been looking for a small gun for concealed carry-whenever I carried my revolver, it was uncomfortable and when I carried my .45, it would print. I did not like the fact that I had to carry my gun in my purse. When I found this beauty, it didn't take me long to decide to purchase it. Since I am of small build, this gun is perfect for me-I can carry without printing and I know it has stopping power should I ever need it. I love Sig guns and have not had one problem with my Scorpion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BABY SIG

Date:June 24, 2014
GREAT LITTLE GUN WITH KNOCK DOWN POWER.
BUT YOU NEED TO PRACTICE WITH THIS GUN BEFORE YOU BECOME COMFORTABLE WITH YOUR LIFE JUST IN CASE YOU NEED IT. AND GODD FOR TARGET ALSO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Gun

Date:December 13, 2013
This is the perfect concealed carry gun. It is small, has impressive firepower for its size, is chambered in 9mm, and it solid and beautifully crafted. My P938 shoots everything I have run through it without a hitch and is VERY accurate. I did have to adjust the front site a little as it was shooting to the left (for me at least). However, baseball sized groups, shooting without a rest are easy at 20 yards. I LOVE THIS GUN!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extremely Satisfied

Date:September 22, 2013
Purchased this pistol a few months ago. Cleaned and oiled and went to the range. Shot 100 rounds of 115 grain FMJ without a failure of any kind.
Out of the box the trigger pull is about 8 pounds but very crisp. Over the next week I dry fired a couple hundred times and trigger wore in to a crisp 4 pounds or so.
Great accuracy for such a small package. This pistol is now my daily carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

perfect ccw pistol

Date:August 27, 2013
I am a 45 acp man love the round and carry frequently , but some times its not possible to carry a pistol that size
so after looking at the 938 I chose it because of the familar controls and sigs reputation . I have not been dissapointed . I gave the pistol a brief cleaning then run 150 rounds of pmc 115 grain loads through it with out a hitch and the sights were dead on . since then I have put another 200 rounds thrugh the gun with no problems . the pistol is so easy to carry even outside the waist band I think it will get the nod for carry alot more than what I had planned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pistol

Date:July 13, 2013
The P938 wasn't the pistol I was looking for but I liked it at the store so I bought it in the Exteme model. The first tme I shot the gun I used 115 grain target ammo and I wasn't sure if I liked the gun. I took the gun in and cleaned and oiled it and thought I would try it again later. The next day I shot Gold DOT 147 grain, Critical Duty +P 124 grain, PDX-1 +P 124 grain and I fell in love with the gun. It has a great feel with the 7 round extended grip, it shoots great, cycles great, has geat night sights, and has very little recoil compared to other pocket pistols even wth heavy bullets and + P. I would highly recomend this to anyone looking for a pocket pistol and I also highly recomend using the 7 round magazine. This is a great gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding pistol ...

Date:April 16, 2013
As a 1911 fan, I purchased mine for daily concealed carry - and have not been disappointed.
Over 250 rounds through the pistol the first day and NO problems - simply flawless. I did, however, completely clean and lube the pistol before its initial use. I fired five different brands of ammunition - all 115 grn. projectiles.
The pistol is easy to shoot and does not punish you, as do some of the smaller "pocket pistols" I have owned. Fantastic ergonomics, nice grip, excellent sights, tolerable recoil. Only issue I have is magazines are expensive, and difficult to find.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect CCW

Date:March 12, 2013
Purchased the Equinox model. Beautiful gun, Tru-Glo TFO front sight and sig light rear sights, wood grips are thinner than the rubber model and help to conceal under clothing. Recoil is snapy as expected, especially without the extended 7 round mag. Gun is very accurate at 7 yards. Had a half dozen failure to feed issues during the first 100 rounds. Since then (300 rounds), no issues at all using cheap 115grain ball ammo. Trigger break is down to less than 5lbs and very crisp with no creep. It was a nice gun out of box. Now that i've had a couple hundred rounds through, I have a new favorite. Even a couple die hard Kahr fans I know are now on the lookout for a p938.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Shooting Gun

Date:February 25, 2013
I went into Cabela's to buy a replacement carry gun for my Glock 27. I fell in love with this gun! I loved the night sights. I passed on it because it was soo expensive and bought the Ruger LC9 for half the price. I like the LC9 and shoot it well but went back and bought the P938. I find it very accurate and love the night sights. I have since put these sights on my Glocks and love them. I prefer the SA trigger of the Sig compared to the DA trigger on the Ruger. I give it 4 stars because I think for that much money they should give you more than one magazine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NICE SIZE WITH GREAT POWER

Date:February 19, 2013
I bought this 9mm based on having the P238 for several years. This gun is almost the perfect CCW, small and easy to hide and shooting a 9mm what else can I say. In the winter a .45 works well under layers, this little jewel can hide perfectly well in a pocket holster with no print...
The only thing that is a issue is with cheaper ammo I get 3 or 4 misfires per box. Solution is just recock the trigger and most of the time it fires...
I would recommend this gun to anyone who needs a quality weapon with a small print.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Failed to eject

Date:January 3, 2013
Failed to eject 2 out of 20 rounds one major manufacturer 115 grains. Failed to eject 1 out of 50 rounds of a second major manufacturer 115 grains. No failures out of 20 personal protection 147 grains. If the gun can't handle lighter bullets then Sig should publish it as such. Otherwise one would expect it to fire and eject the most common size bullets used in 9mm. Recoil and accuracy are acceptable for such a small frame.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SIG Sauer® P938 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sig P938 - Great for concealed carry!

Date:November 21, 2012
This "mini 1911" in 9 mm is a slightly larger clone of the original Sig P238 chambered in .380. The P938 comes standard with large Sig night sights, extended & flush magazines, ambidextrous external safeties. Comfortable grip, manageable recoil, very accurate.
Single action only; can be carried "cocked & locked." Trigger is a bit heavy, but very short pull & reset. Field stripping is easy, with some practice.
I experienced many malfunctions initially, then realized that this handgun prefers heavier ammo (124 & 147 grain), with which I have had no problems whatsoever. (I now use Gold Dot or HST 124's for P.D. carry - both very reliable here.)
Why carry a .380, when the Sig P938 in 9 mm is almost the same size? Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23