Customer Reviews for BROWNING Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns

BROWNING Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns

Back and better than ever, these shotguns have the same nostalgic appearance as the classic A5 with state-of-the-art internals. The recoil-operated Kinematic Drive™ cycling system is impervious to temperature, moisture and grime. It’s so reliable, in fact, that Browning backs these guns with an incredible 100,000-round, five-year guarantee. All loads – from the heaviest waterfowl shells down to 7/8-oz. trap rounds – cycle interchangeably and without modification to the gun. The aluminum humpback receiver gives these guns the same legendary A5 feel you’re used to without the heavy weight, improving balance and speeding up target acquisition. Revolutionary Invector-DS™ choke tubes and Vector Pro™ lengthened forcing cones provide superior pattern density and uniformity. Kick is reduced by Inflex II recoil pads. Included spacers adjust length of pull up to 0.75". Textured grips keep your hands from slipping. Flat, ventilated rib. 3" chamber. Three Invector-DS choke tubes and hard case included. Available: A5 Hunter – Glossy walnut stock and forend. Brass front-bead sight and ivory midbead sight. 22 lines-per-inch checkering on grip. A5 Stalker – Matte black, composite stock and forend with Dura-Touch® armor coating for extreme durability. Fiber-optic front sight.  A5 Mossy Oak® Camo – Composite stock and forend; Mossy Oak® Break-Up Infinity® or Mossy Oak Shadow Grass Blades® camo finish with Dura-Touch armor coating for extreme durability. Fiber-optic front sight.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Review 1 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning A5 Hunter

Date:November 2, 2014
Bought new for my daughter, was very accurate out of the case. Browning never disappoints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best There Is

Date:August 24, 2014
I shoot this gun with factory and Reloads and it shoots it all. I have the older Auto5s and this gun is right up there with them only a little simpler and easy to take apart and clean. All 3.5" guns in 12ga. kick Hard. This one is no different. But everything that counts like does it work and kill birds in the worst conditions cold and wet YES it does.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best There Is!

Date:August 14, 2014
As Browning says, "The Best There is." I believe it! I purchased this gun in August 2014. I chose the 3", 28" Mossy Oak Shadow Grass Blades model. I will be using it for waterfowl. Cabela's had it on sale, I also used a 5% discount offer, and a $75.00 Browning rebate, boy did I get a deal! I absolutely love the feel, fit, and finish of this shotgun. I took it out to shoot some sporting clays and it operated wonderfully. I shot 2-3/4" 1oz. and 1-1/8 oz. shells and 3" 1-1/4 oz. shells through it, about a box of each shell. It cycled ALL the shells, except one single 1oz. shell. It slayed the clay birds! It took a few shells to get used to it, but once I did it was awesome! I'm looking forward to many more years of memorable hunts on the water and in the field with my new A5. Thanks Browning for a great quality shotgun, and thanks Cabela's for a great deal!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Shotgun!

Date:August 11, 2014
I bought the walnut A5 Hunter, choosing it over a Benelli Montifeltro, to replace my malfunctioning Remington 870 Express. I was going to buy another pump shotgun- a Weatherby, Winchester SPX, or a Browning BPS, then I decided to take a look at a semi auto just for the heck of it.
Once I shouldered the A5, I knew I wanted a semi auto. I thought semi autos were heavier than pumps- but the A5 is super light- it makes many of the other semi autos and pumps feel like they are made of cast iron.
I love the narrow foregrip and balanced feel. It fit me perfectly right out of the box and comes up to the shoulder quickly and aims so easily with the humped reciever.
I read a lot of reviews that are critical of the so called heavy kick, but it really kicks about half as much as my 870.
It is a beautiful gun with a great finish. I took it out over the weekend to shoot some clay pigeons and it shot very well. It fits me so well and the target acquisition is so natural with the A5 reciever, it was rare I missed a clay. I just used the choke out of the box and was knocking clays down everywhere including the long ones with the modified lead choke. I am excited to take this gun hunting!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best there is.... as they say.

Date:June 4, 2014
after a good initial cleaning, I put about 250 rounds thrue it without a itch, the shotgun perform flawlesly ,one of the best shotgun I bought in many years, works a lot better than the super black eagle that I had. I have nothing bad to say about that gun , its a great purchase. The A5 from browning is a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not up to Browning standards

Date:April 8, 2014
I shoot this gun really well and I really like the feel. But the quality isn't what I have come to expect from Browning. And I own a bunch of Brownings. First of all it sometimes wouldn't feed shells from the magazine. I called Browning and they hadn't heard any similar complaints. I was able to fix it myself with a little filing on the carrier. Next, the camo finish sarted coming off the receiver. I sent the gun to Browning. They said it met their standards. I wrote a letter to Browning Corporate offices. No reply. I'm going to think very hard prior to buying another Browning product of any kind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

5 Star

Date:December 25, 2013
Bought the A5 about a month ago. Been on a dozen pheasant hunting trips since then. Took the gun right out of the box on the first trip with it put it together loaded her up and limited out in about two hours. I have never used an auto loader before as I have been hunting with several over/under for about 20 years. I needed to get a lighter gun as my arms get tired after a long day. I also wanted a gun that had an extra shell or two for those multiple flushes that you get on a late December hunt. This gun has work perfect for two boxes of shells (one 2.75 lead and one box 3 inch steel) and has killed 33 birds in the last month. I am looking forward to a long sweet relationship. Thanks Browning
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

won't cycle 1 oz loads or smaller

Date:September 18, 2013
I have the 3.5 inch model and was told by Browning it is recommended to 11/8 oz or higher. Lower weights will jam more than 50% of the time. When I shot federal target loads the gun worked great. I do love the fit and feel. I'm a little disappointed they don't have extra full choke tubes available at this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sof far, so great!

Date:July 28, 2013
Bought this for a Christmas gift for myself this past year. Since then, have put a few hundred rounds through - dove, skeet and a few heavy turkey loads for patterning. Handles great. Lightweight. Intuitive pointing. No misfires or issues yet. Accurate. Hunter model is beautiful - classic styling of the Auto-5 but new technology makes it a joy to shoot and carry. My favorite shotgun of all time, to date!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly Recommended

Date:May 20, 2013
I bought the 28" Stalker model from Cabela's and couldn't be happier with the purchase. When I got it home I broke the gun down completely to clean and oil it before I took it to the range. I have never had one failure, even with 1 oz. target loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

3" stalker 26" barrel

Date:May 2, 2013
honestly, i'm not impressed. i've owned lots of guns; so this isn't a sour review because i'm frustrated. just the facts.
i've talked to lots of people who have owned these and who have had zero issues from day one. mine, on the other hand, might be a lemon. it has struggled cycling most loads, be it heavy duck/goose loads or 1-1/8 oz target loads. out of a typical box of 25, 3 or 4 would ftf or fte. the only ammo that would work w/out flaws is winchester super x. everything else failed miserably (i.e., kent, federal, estate, herter's, nice shot, and fiocchi). i've contacted browning about this. they're not much help.
i love the shell handling ability of this gun. and i love the recoil pad. i also love the thin forearm. (my buddy's hunter model has beautiful walnut and great blued barrels.) but those three things are it. the rest of the gun is just average, if not inferior to many of the other guns i own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice purchase

Date:January 29, 2013
Highly recommend the Browning A5.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Black Synthetic, 26" Barrel

Date:December 18, 2012
I bought this gun because of the way it felt and the way it fit me. I've never owned classic Auto-5's; so this was not a nostalgic-driven purchase. It was purely based on fit and feel.
The gun feels very well made. The forearm has virtually no movement at all, unlike my Benellis. The gun breaks down incredibly easy. (I can have the entire gun apart, stock and all, within a couple of minutes. And put back together in that same amount of time.) It's very, very easy to clean.
The finish on the gun also seems to be a bit "tougher" than my Benelli SBEII, M2, or Cordoba. Yes, it's the simple black matte finish, but it seems to handle abuse a bit better, a lot like my Beretta.
I'm an avid duck hunter. (I usually hunt three to four days per week.) I have put this gun through a lot this season and it has exceeded my expectations.
One minor issue:
I love Kent ammunition. I've had good luck with them, and they pattern well in all of my guns. However, Kent's Fasteel has been giving me some issues in this gun. In a 25-round box of 1-1/8 oz loads, I'll usually have two failure to ejects per box. Odd, I know. SilverSteel's do not have the same problem, nor does any other ammunition I've put through the gun (i.e., Winchester, Federal, B&P, Estate, Hevi-Shot).
All in all, this A5 has been a fabulous gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun!

Date:December 3, 2012
The thing I have learned about inertia shotguns is that they have to be broken in. There like new ball gloves,you have to use them a while before they work properly. I purchased my a5 a couple of months ago, and at first it had trouble cycling light loads. But after shooting the gun at clays and whatknot it works great. I would suggest getting the gun just before duck season. By shooting the heavier loads through the gun it will help speed up ''the breaking in process''. The gun is well balanced and swings great. The barrel and choke design patterns lead/steel shot very well. Browning also did a good job on the recoil pad. It helps with the muzzle rise to get you back on target quicker. I believe Browning made a great gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hard to operate

Date:November 14, 2012
Being an owner of over 20 light 12, 20 and sweet 16 shotguns.. I was looking for that perfect all around gun to hunt upland and waterfowl. This gun is very difficult to operate and it has a lot of little nuances that are very frustrating. It does cycle all shells but also has a tendancy to fire empty if you slip and hit the button underneath the trigger. I hope it gets easier or I will be very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Browning® A5 3" Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Won't Reliably Cycle 1 oz. Loads

Date:October 3, 2012
Had my new A5 out twice shooting sporting clays. I normally shoot 1 oz. 2.75 dram shells. Of the 100 shells I have fired, 4 would not eject properly. Most inertia guns require a break in period where high brass shells are recommended for the first several boxes. Browning did not suggest that in the owner's manual, so I assumed it was not required. Gun is very light, but you definately feel the recoil. Have not shot any hunting loads through it yet, so I am hoping heavier loads cycle properly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.