Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun

WINCHESTER Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun

A versatile, personal-defense shotgun that’s easy to pack in the woods or conceal at home. Its 18" fixed cylinder, fully chrome-plated barrel patterns buckshot or places slugs with lethal efficiency. Nonglare metal surfaces reduce your signature. Composite stock with deeply grooved forearm adds control, stability and durability for heavy use. 5+1 capacity. 
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun
Review 1 for Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2014

BOOM!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Worth every cent, took this puppy out the same day of purchase and wow, it's like a piece of art, I just want to look at all its detail and perfection. I loaded the mag full and everything was smooth sailing.
The only problem I had was the recoil, I was shooting mini buck so that didn't help but compared to my H&R home defense, this thing was like shooting an RPG.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2014

SXP

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This gun has past my expectations. 00 and slugs with ease. Was between this and the mossberg 500, this felt more sold in my hands. no rattle, or play in the action, and very very smooth action. The guy at range counter was even jealous. I would recommend this gun to anyone and everyone!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2013

Superb, Versatile Tactical Shotgun!

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I recently traded in my old Winchester Mod. 1200 32"bbl shotgun for this model, and I'm very happy with that decision. While my old (bought it in 1968) Mod. 1200 was an excellent trap and pheasant gun, the long barrel limited it to those roles, and I never found a short barrel which truly would fit. So I selected the SXP Defender based on price and reviews. I used it at a LE 3-gun match, and it performed flawlessly right out of the box (just cleaned and lubed it.); shot as well or better than tactical shotguns costing twice the price. No malfunctions whatsoever, and dang, that action cycles faster than I can think! Excellent pattern, and it later handled two rounds of skeet with ease. While the SXP is light weight (good quality for a tactical gun you have to carry all day long), the excellent recoil pad which is factory-installed really dampens the shock and makes a day of shooting "bruise free"! While I have yet to fire slugs with this shotgun, I'm anticipating good results.
By the way, I like the subdued finish, composite stock and fore end, drilled/tapped receiver, and sling swivels which are standard.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2013

Sweet Shotty

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I love this little shotgun, it seems to have a little shorter length of pull than my Mossberg, it really fits me well. But the big difference is just how smooth this thing is. I love to shoot it. It is my new "thing that goes bump in the night medicine" in my bedroom. For the price it cant be beat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2012

I've been converted

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I was a Remington and Mossberg man until I just made this purchase. Easily the best pump shotgun I have ever owned. I own the forementioned and a Beretta as well as an Ithica and I've shot the Benelli. Nothing can compare to how fast the action is on the SXP. You can literaly shoot it one handed and it will eject the spent shell by itself. It is a light and agile shotgun that has no equal..The SXP is the easiest shotgun to disassemble and clean. I am now a Winchester man.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2012

Must have tool.

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Shot many different types of shells without issue.
Rifled slugs have very nice accuracy. I had 3" groups at 30 yards just standing . The action is very good.
A limb saaver is all you need to make this shotgun feel manageable for the day.
This has been my favorite purchase of the Year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 21, 2012

A Great Gun at a Great Price.

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I had looked around at several different Home Defense Shotguns. I've owned several brands over the years, so I'm not new to them. The moment I picked this Winchester SXP Defender up, it just felt right in my hands. Sturdy is the word that comes to mind. With the Rotary Bolt, Aircraft Grade Aluminum Receiver, Chrome Lined Barrel This unit packs a lot of usable technology into a compact Defensive Gun. Bird Shot, Buck Shot and Slugs are all handled with Speed and equal efficiency. Oh, BTW it's from the Fastest Pump Shotgun line EVER. What a Solid and Fun Shotgun for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® SXP Defender Pump Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2012

A real crowd pleaser

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
A great slug and buck shot shooter, I use it when I walk my dogs at night when the coyotes and lions are moving up our end of the range. Also, when I go up on top of the mountains alone. Light weight, slings well, good action and dependable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.