Customer Reviews for MOSSBERG Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle

MOSSBERG Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle

The Mossberg Varmint-Predator (MVP) rifle features a patent-pending drop-push bolt-action that enables you to use your AR-15 .223/5.56 NATO magazines in a firearm optimized for varmint and predator control. The fluted 24" button-rifled medium bull barrel has a 1:9 twist rate optimized for .223-caliber accuracy and sports a matte-blued finish. Its 11° tapered crown protects the muzzle from incidental damage. The laminated benchrest-style stock features pillar bedding to enhance accuracy and is ideal for shooting off sandbags or packs. Its ergonomic design has a raised flat comb for sighting ease, palm swell on the forend and checkering on the pistol-style grip and forearm. The Lighting Bolt Action (LBA™) trigger assembly is machined aircraft-grade aluminum and hard-coat anodized to military specifications, preventing corrosion and reducing wear. LBA’s creep-free design ensures a crisp break with each shot and trigger pull can be adjusted down to 2 lbs. using only a standard screwdriver. Ten-round magazine included.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle
Review 1 for Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW! What a rifle!!

Date:October 1, 2014
This rifle just plan shoots! It is a tack driver....I know this because I've shot tacks with it at 100 yards! This rifle shoots all types of ammo, steel cased, brass, bulk, FMJ, HP and, Polymer Tip. Fit and finish is excellent. The stock is beautiful and has a raised cheek piece. I mounted a 6x24x40mm scope, g-hogs & coyotes beware! This version isn't as finicky with magazines like my MVP Patrol. My Varmint likes polymer magazines from Magpul (Gen-3), Lancer & Troy. Blackhawk & Pro-Mag's metal versions do not feed well in my rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent customer service

Date:August 27, 2014
Bought one in May 2014. After 300 shots or so the stricker spring stuck. Left message at Mossberg web site and got response in one day and received free shipping (fedex) back to them. Rifle was repaired and return to me in a week. I went out shooting this morning. Everything works great.
Really excellent customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice gun

Date:June 2, 2014
Just acquired one. Haven't shot it yet, but nice looking gun. Will get a scope on it soon. Looks like it should be a tack driver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hands Down the Best Gun

Date:February 2, 2014
I purchased this rifle in November 2013. I mounted the Redfield Revenge 4-16 power scope. I used the standard 10 round magazine from Mossberg. I had no problems with jams, the rifle fed just fine. After sighting in the rifle I was shooting .75 ten shot groups at 100 yards all in the bull. Mossberg really did their homework with this rifle. It will be very hard to beat. It is an EXCELLENT rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the money

Date:January 23, 2014
Looked for months to find one of these the day the dealer got one I got the first look out of the box/. Three guys in the store wanted to handle it so I bought it right away before they did. Its a fine looking weapon and the laminated stock beats the appearance of black rifles. Its performed flawlessly and with a Nikon BDC scope on it its a tack driver. For a 76 year old coyote hunter its a pleasure to carry. Im using it to hunt wolves in Idaho and have no complaints at all. The adaptability of using AR magazines will appeal to many but the ten round clip is fine for me. BUY ONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:August 11, 2013
I was on a lot of waiting lists for this gun and Cabela's got it first and at the best price. Service was great even though it was packed that day. Some advice...do a good break-in/cleaning. It will improve to sub moa after that. I added a 6-24 scope, bipod and sling.. Looks as good as it shoots. Great gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Target & Varmit Rifle

Date:June 3, 2013
Was looking at Savage Axis, but Cabelas's sales person introduced me to MVP. Waited about 3 weeks before 'pulling the trigger'. Mounted a Nikon Prostaff 3x9x40 with BDC and simply love it. Well worth the extra $'s over Axis. Affordable and available ammo a bonus. Shoot every week! I'm more of a pistol shooter, but love this rifle.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:June 25, 2012
Shot this gun for the first time over the weekend. with cheap ammo i was shooting 1" groups at 100 yards. with a bit more expensive ammo, 1/2" all day long. this gun drives nails, and I'm no crackshot. a tiny bit of trouble when racking the bolt but that was only with the cheap ammo. the trigger is excellent' crisp and and a consistent break. i did notice group size got considerably bigger when the barrel heated up. just have to take shot time between groups. overall mossberg has made a great, inovative and accurate rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mossberg MVP™ Series Varmint Bolt-Action Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the wait!

Date:June 19, 2012
Eyed this rifle back in February in a rifle magazine and it was everything I was looking for varmint hunting,unfortunately it wasn't available anywhere being so new. everywhere I looked for four months it was out of stock. That was up to three weeks ago when it showed up on the Cabelas web site. I call them right away about wanting to get one and had one in my hands within two weeks. What service and a great rifle, better than I expected, laminate stock is great looking, even better than any picture I had seen, true 5.56 bore that also takes .223, 24" fluted barell, uses a standard AR15 magazine that cycles rounds like a dream, is light weight and well balanced and very accurate, all ready shooting 1" groups consistently at 100 yards with my not so young eyes, cant wait to get it out hunting "varmint beware" .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.