Customer Reviews for CITADEL Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns

CITADEL Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns

Cabela's team of experts put together an outstanding Citadel 1911 semiautomatic handgun value and extensively tested this package's components at shooting ranges. Chambered in .45 ACP, the pistol sports a matte-black finish with grooves on the slide stop. A skeletonized hammer and trigger, extended beavertail above the backstrap safety and a flared, lowered ejection port give the gun a custom look. Cast-steel frame and CNC-machined steel barrel with button rifling. Novak®-style sight system. Two eight-round magazines with slam pads included. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Review 1 for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun at a great price

Date:February 11, 2014
I've had the compact version of this pistol for over a year now. Never had a FTF or jam after MANY rounds. Works flawlessly. Dead-on accurate too. A little heavy and with a stiffer trigger compared to some of the lightweight (and more expensive!) models but feels good to shoot and recoil is not an issue at all! Considering the low price and all the extras (Hogue grips, extra mags, range case, etc.) this is a great pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What's not to like?

Date:January 11, 2014
I have this handgun in 9mm and ABSOLUTELY love it. I own a Sig 1911 .45 ACP and no question, it's a better finished handgun. Thing is, the Citadel is 1/2 the price, feels great, has been reliable, is a blast to shoot in 9mm (cheaper too) and believe it or not, the Citadel is well made (inside and out). I'm replacing a few things with upgrades because I choose to, not because I have to, and when I'm done it'll be even sweeter than it was when I bought it! Hard to beat for the price and a lifetime warranty too. It doesn't get too much better, all in all. If you're on the fence about the quality and accuracy etc., don't be. If you're 1/2 as happy with it as I am, you still won't regret the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun at a great price

Date:September 4, 2013
I bought the Citadel because I didn't think it gave up anything to any of the higher-priced offerings. With the money I saved on the gun I was able to buy 200 rounds of ammo and a holster.
I put 50 rounds through the Citadel the first time at the range and was pleased with its performance and feel. No jams, no misfires and best of all, no regrets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent gun

Date:June 9, 2013
Bought this pistol about a year ago for a carry gun in upper Michigan while up at my cabin (black bears everywhere and my 6 year old goes everywhere with me) I have 11 other 1911's that are twice as much money and this gun will out shoot any of them. With just under 2000 rounds through this gun I never had a glitch I do abuse the gun in mud, sand, snow, rain it is scratched and beat up but I do clean and service it as well. I wanted a 45 that was cheap but reliable and that's exactly what I got but extreamly reliable. I did change the sights to mepro and just dura coated the slide because it was so badly scratched and now it's ready for another 2000 rounds, great gun for the price guys I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1911 Citadel Review

Date:April 7, 2013
I read several revies about this weapon. I found that it is reliable, accurate, and quite fun to shoot. I read in several places that the clips were junk, not the case at all, I ran about 300 rounds through and didn't have a single problem. I got 2" groupings at about 25-30 yards. This is my first 1911 purchase, and I would/will buy more. The Citadel is an awsome gun, and I would reccomend that everyone that wants a reliable weapon to give this one a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1911 Citadel

Date:September 11, 2012
I purchased the Citadel compact 1911 in February of 2012. I fired approximately 250 to 300 rounds before returning it to the contract gunsmith because it slowly began to fail to fire. The contract gunsmith rechambered the barrel and replaced all of the springs in the gun. Turnaround time on the firearm was right at 5 weeks. Since replacing the springs and rechambering the barrel it runs like a finely tuned well-oiled machine. It cycles properly with both hand loads and factory loads without hesitation.The factory sights are poor at best so I have replaced them with tru-glow fiber optics. It was a good buy and I am pleased with the gun now, but I was not happy with the process to get it to that point. I am not the only person who has had problems with this gun as the gunsmith I spoke with related that there was a run of these guns that all had the same symptoms and repair. If the factory can turn out a weapon like I received from the gunsmith repairs I would recommend it to anyone looking for a compact 1911.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:September 5, 2012
Bought this in the range package a few months ago. Have now taken it out several times to the range and am very pleased by its performance. It shoots every bit as well as my full-size 1911, and handles better due to the Hogue grips. I have shot round-nose only, factor and handloaded, and never a glitch. I will try a couple of personal defense rounds next, and some flat-point, to see if I have feeding problems. But so far, so good. I would buy this gun again in a minute.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun, Great buy

Date:August 26, 2012
awesome gun, I went to Cabelas looking for a different gun and saw this one on clearance, I love 1911 and 1911 clones and because of the price I bought it. I took it to the range and it fired 200 rounds flawlessly, it says it will only fire fmj but, I got it to fire some defensive rounds also with no malfunction. I love this gun and carry it concealed with a IWB holster. Would recommend this to anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great deal

Date:April 29, 2012
Bought this kit because it seemed like a reasonable deal. Gun a little heavy for carry but shoots excellent recoil great ( probably due to weight ) Shoots as good as any full sized 1911 for the price - Highly recommend for a starter 1911 -
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Citadel 1911 Semiautomatic Handguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Allentown, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great purchase!

Date:February 15, 2012
Saw this pistol and wanted a compact 1911 for awhile. When it went on sale shortly thereafter, I did some research online to see what others had to say about it. I knew nothing about Citadel. Just had the chance to take it to the range today after buying it last week. What a pleasure to shoot. The recoil was the same as a full size 1911, despite the shortened barrel. Accuracy was great and only had one problem with feeding. Like my full size 1911, it only seems to like rounded bullets. Tried to put Hornady's Critical Defense rounds through it but jammed (I don't blame Hornady at all). I have put numerous rounds of Hornady's CD through my Springfield .40 and never had a problem. Something about the design of the 1911, the ones I have anyway, that don't like hollow point or polymer tipped bullets. That's okay because the .45 caliber packs plenty of punch even without personal defense rounds. Don't regret this purchase one bit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.