Customer Reviews for BERETTA Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns

BERETTA Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns

The Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick Off Semiautomatic Shotgun reliably cycles everything from light 2-3/4” trap loads to hard-hitting 3-1/2" waterfowl shells. Blink gas system can cycle four shells in less than one second, while the innovative Kick Off Mega recoil-reduction system cuts felt recoil up to 70%. Gas operating with compensating exhaust valve and a self-cleaning piston offer smooth, reliable operation. Aqua Technology ensures every part of the gun is corrosion-resistant. B-Lok forend cap with only 60˚ of rotation allows fast and easy assembly/disassembly. Synthetic stock with overmolded grips has an adjustable shim system and withstands rain, snow, dust and mud. Micro-Core recoil pad absorbs shock. Crossbolt safety sports ergonomics for a better grip and is reversible for left-handed shooters. Also features a chrome-plated trigger. Fiber-optic beaded front sight. Includes three Optima-Bore® HP choke tubes (full, modified and cylinder), two stock spacers and a custom-fitted carry case.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
21 out of 24(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Review 1 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

decent

Date:June 29, 2014
the berretta a400 is decent. the fit of all the parts is a little off. it is just a little klinky. a little too heavy and is built for bigger framed people. shoots good though. I like my brownings better but the berretta a400 is not a bad choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:May 30, 2014
I traded my Benelli Super vinci for the a400 and never looked back. I had the first year of the super vinci and don't know if i had a lemon but it would not cycle all duck loads. A friend had an a400 and never had a problem. So i made the choice and to date not had one problem. Only downfall is the weight compared to the Benelli.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:April 7, 2014
This is one of my new favorite guns. The weight is perfect, the swing of the gun is perfect, and the recoil is next to nothing. Went through 200 rounds and have no soreness. I did the last 75 rounds in ten minutes and had a blast. Only issue is getting use to the sound of the spring when it recoils little louder than what I am use too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Failed first test

Date:February 26, 2014
The a400 extreme failed the first time I tested it. It wouldn't eject. I was very disappointed. Returned the gun to Beretta for repair. Total time for repair was one month. Hopefully when I get a chance to test fire the gun it will preform as advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love my A400 Xtreme !!!!!

Date:January 22, 2014
Bought the A400 Xtreme for Thumping Honker's! With Winchester Blindside 3 1/2 in BB & #2's this shot gun is my favorite at my young age of 60. It points dead on and is light and fast! Great job Beretta!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome!!!

Date:December 22, 2013
A fantastic shotgun for waterfowlers period. My brother bought one first and I got mine a year later. No failures in extreme cold. We hunt in saltwater and NO rust. Fits me and points much better than my older SBE I. I highly recommend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THE Duck Gun

Date:November 25, 2013
I finally got to hunt with my Beretta A400 Xtreme Unico this weekend. Wow. Just...wow! It shoulders very comfortably and, thanks to the Kick Off system, the recoil is practically nonexistent. Seriously, my shoulder would always be sore the next day with my other shotguns--not with the A400. I opted for the 28" barrel--it really helps reach out and knock 'em down. The new Digital Breakup Camo pattern is pretty sweet too. Beretta continues to set the standard for quality and ingenuity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Another Great Beretta

Date:September 22, 2013
Went in for an O/U walked out with an A400 Extreme with Kick Off. So far I've put 5 boxes of shells through it on the trap line and a couple on 5 stand. It's a great shooter, easy on the shoulder with Kick Off, and way easier to strip and clean than the older AL391 Urika I traded in for it was. Not that I'm knocking the AL391, it was a great shooter too, which is why it was an easy decision to get the A400 instead of an O/U at twice the cost. I'm looking forward to using this on pheasant and duck this season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweet

Date:September 12, 2013
just awesome. it cycles everything. recoil is nothing compared to the 870 i was using, even without the so called 'break-in period'. shoulders and points great. tried to talk myself out of paying the high price, but im glad i didnt settle for a different shotgun. just like everything else, you pay for the 'good stuff'.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievable

Date:August 16, 2013
Until now I was convinced that nothing shot better than my grandfather's pre-WWII A5. This shotgun can do it all. Whether you want to down waterfowl across the river, or just shoot clays in the off-season, this is your shotgun.
So fast and so smooth. Nothing like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellence!

Date:April 9, 2013
I purchased an A400 Extreme in April of 2012. Very impressed with the fit and finish of the gun over the Benelli's and other higher end shotguns. Recoil is minimal, even when shooting heavier waterfowl loads. Despite what some reviews might say, the A400 is very easy to field strip for cleaning. I try to take care of all my firearms but I hunt with it daily and I don't wipe it down with a diaper, if you know what I am saying. The gun works flawlessly even after 200 rounds without a cleaning, and probably could handle a lot more. I love the A400 Extreme so much, I just purchased an A400 Explor in April of 2013 for trap shooting and upland bird hunting. All of the quality you would expect out of Beretta. Both of my hunting buddies shoot Super Vinci's, both of my buddies like my A400 over the Benelli. Don't get me wrong, Benelli's are nice guns but in my opinion Beretta takes it to another level.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

grounbreaking new shotgun blows everyones mind...

Date:January 3, 2013
ive been runnin the new A400 uniko extreme K/O in 12GA. with 30' barrel since opening day of dove Sept. 1st. in my zone.bagged around 200 birds with 2 3/4 7 1/2 shot heavy dove loads. now im 100 ducks into duck season shootin 3' blackclouds and still havent had a jam or mal. this shotgun has super soft recoil and amazingly fast cycling and really a breath of fresh air to shoot and ive shot them all.Beretta really nailed it on the head with this one, by changing to a locking bolt and new self cleaning gas piston arrangement the gun shoots wet and dirty with no problems.and has the quickest takedown and clean of any ive seen.beretta really broke the mold with this one and always keep setting the bar others strive to reach...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not All It's Cracked Up To Be

Date:December 18, 2012
I'm a Beretta fanatic and had never been happier with my Extrema 1. However, as I hunt in a lot of salt marsh and rain, the rust was starting to get to me, so I decided to step up to the Beretta A400 Xtreme. As much as I love this gun due it's light weight, superb shouldering, anti-rust protection, and soft recoil (after the break-in period), it fails to cycle shells in the rain or when it gets wet (which is what I hunt in most of the time). If you're a serious duck hunter like me, forego the A400 and stick with the Xtrema line. I will be going back to my Xtrema 1 if this problem persists after contacting Beretta.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Coulden't be happier

Date:November 4, 2012
I have previously had a Mossburg pump, later a Benelli SuperNova pump. Both were good shotguns, with the Benelli being very comfortable to shoulder and shoot. I wanted to get a really nice semi auto and spent quite awhile researching. What I was shopping for specifically was one shotgun to do any possible activity - from trap to goose hunting. I picked the Beretta based on research and because it fit me very well.
My experience using it has been very satisfying, I have used it to shoot trap/skeet with great success as well as hunting various fowl which I have started this year.
Any shell I have put into is has cycled with no issues. The recoil reducing features do make this shotgun much more comfortable to shoot than one without. The fit an finish is all very fine and I think it is a very nice looking shotgun. The layout of the trigger and safety I much prefer over the previous editions of this shotgun. I can think of no way to improve it and will be using this as long as I am able to be outdoors I am sure.
It is pricey, but I believe it was worth it. I am positive this shotgun will fill any role that I would need a shotgun for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A400 extreme

Date:October 12, 2012
Hopefully this review will help someone out there. I’ve owned this A400 xtreme for about a month, purchased new 9/12/12, with the 28” barrel, barrel actually sticks out of the receiver 27.5”. Gun weights exactly 7lb, 11.5oz on my mail scale, and is 49” long, with the ½” spacer, and factory recoil pad. The length of pull is very customizable, as it comes with 1/2”, and 1” spacers from the factory. It also has the thick .79” microcore field recoil pad. Beretta makes two thinner pads if needed. Gun comes with 4 drop options, and has cast on/off for left/right handed shooters. I was able to change the drop without taking out the kickoff mechanism, under the recoil pad with a 13mm deep socket. Gun only comes with 3 chokes (cyl, mod, full) as many manufactures are going to, to lower their cost I assume. Comes with the hard beretta takedown case (similar to benellis), a choke wrench, tube of oil, two plugs. Gun will hold 5 23/4”, 6 if you want to “float” or “ghost” one under the carrier, this is all with the plug out. Removing and installing the plug is quick, take the cap off, and slide it in, out tip the gun barrel down, and it comes out. I didn’t take the time to max it out with 3”, and 3.5” shells. The magazine cap comes off in ¼ to ½ turn, it works fine, but I don’t see any real value. That’s about all I can think to point out from a physical perspective.
So far I’ve only ran 500 rounds through it. I started at the skeet range with 1oz, 1140 fps loads. To my surprise it spit these out with force. I patterned the gun and was a bit high. I changed the shim, and am now where I want to be ~60/40, 60% on the high side. I hear some comments that this is a fast shooting action. I tried to test this against an xtrema 2, sbe2, and an m2, but to me all guns cycled as fast as I could pull the trigger, I know not very scientific, but this is what I observed. The recoil was less to me than the SBE2/m2 (I know fit plays a role here, and I’ve got my benellis dialed in). My xtrema 2, is not the kickoff model, but perceived recoil is less with this a400. To me the gun handles a lot like the xtrema 2, a bit heavier feeling than the SBE2, maxus, sx3, but no complaints. In the browning guns defense (maxus/sx3) I’ve only handled them, not actually shot them. I personally think you need that extra weight to help reduce recoil, especially with the 3.5”shells. Fit and finish seems to be typical with beretta/benelli quality. I have no concerns with feeling like I’m going to wear something out prematurely, especially with what I’ve seen my xtrema 2 go through.
In summary, I think its one of the softest shooting 12 gauges out there, that can handle light skeet loads to the heaviest 3.5”shells. For upland hunting, I’ll leave this one in the case and reach for something lighter weight, after all this geared for waterfowl. That said I’d rather shoot the A400 at the skeet field, than all my other plastic guns. I think its excellent at what it was designed for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A+performance

Date:September 16, 2012
Great gun. Shot a couple rounds of trap with it. Incredibly smooth without any problems shooting/ejecting light target loads (velocity under 1000) Easy to use, take apart, clean! Not as light as super Vinci but the swing of the gun is great. Can't wait to get into the field!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Extreme!!

Date:August 26, 2012
The Softest, FASTEST shotgun ever! Beretta really did a fine job on this gun. Cycled everything I loaded in it, 2 3/4 skeet loads to 3' duckloads, did not try any 3 1/2" shells, just a really good gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not What It's Cracked Up To Be

Date:August 19, 2012
Don't believe what Beretta says about this gun. I bought it for the sole purpose of reducing recoil.I was not happy with the results, nor was a friend of mine who bought one also. We called Beretta and they said it takes 400 rounds to break in the kick off. I did notice an imrovement but it still had more cheek slap and muzzle climb than my SBEII or SX3 . The ejector came out of mine after 75 rounds. This was easily fixed with a punch. Beretta told me they did'nt get it staked well enough. I also found this gas system to be very dirty. I have shot over 2300 rounds through mine and I think it is a good gun just not what they claim it is. The bottom line is IMO, If you are looking for a waterfowl gun go with a Benelli SBE II or Vinci. They are much easier to clean and maintain, they have the best feel, and they work in all extremes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Satisfied...Not Blown Away

Date:February 20, 2012
Took my new Beretta A400 Extreme to the range today for a clay shoot and overall was satisfied but thats the problem. For a gun in this price range there was nothing that i found really justifiable and overall i was just satisfied and not blown away. I put 100 rounds through it and it cycled all flawlessly and had light recoil, just like my browning silver hunter camo with 3.5" chamber that i paid half for. One thing that i did notice is that the camo is already pealing off the top of the stock (kinda mad at myself for not noticing that at the store). All in all it is a great gun but for the price i don't know if its worth all that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Beretta A400 XTREME with Kick-Off Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect

Date:January 20, 2012
Beretta nailed it with this shotgun. It fits and handles perfect for me. Patterns most anything well right out of the box with factory chokes. Lightweight, fast, feels good and worth every penny. Recoil is non-existant for the most part. Cycles everything I have put through it with ease. I'm around 80 shells through it so far and had it a week now. Already killin ducks. I would seriously consider this shotgun if you are looking for a top shelf duck gun. It surpasses Benelli easily and is already looking to prove to be a very reliable gun. Not sure what the other reviewer is referring to about Beretta working kinks out. Mine seems ready to rock out of the box with no complaints so far, but then again I'm not a Benelli fanboy. Excellent shotgun for any hardcore waterfowler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24