Customer Reviews for BERETTA Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off

BERETTA Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off

The Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off reliably cycles everything from light 2-3/4” trap loads to hard-hitting 3-1/2" waterfowl shells. Blink gas system can cycle four shells in less than one second, while the innovative Kick Off Mega recoil-reduction system cuts felt recoil up to 70%. Gas operating with compensating exhaust valve and a self-cleaning piston offer smooth, reliable operation. Aqua Technology ensures every part of the gun is corrosion-resistant. B-Lok forend cap with only 60˚ of rotation allows fast and easy assembly/disassembly. Synthetic stock with overmolded grips has an adjustable shim system and withstands rain, snow, dust and mud. Micro-Core recoil pad absorbs shock. Crossbolt safety sports ergonomics for a better grip and is reversible for left-handed shooters. Also features a chrome-plated trigger. Fiber-optic beaded front sight. Includes three Optima-Bore® HP choke tubes (full, modified and cylinder), two stock spacers and a custom-fitted carry case.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.207 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
24 out of 29(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Review 1 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2016

Top of the Line

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have hunted with my A400 Xtreme Unico for 3 seasons now. It has never failed me, even in the harshest conditions (rain, sleet, ice, mud, etc). It took me a few boxes to get used to it, but now I can drop ducks no problem. The Kick-Off system all but eliminates recoil. I can blow through a box or more of 3" high brass and not feel it the next day! I highly recommend this gun. Keep it clean and oiled, and it will never fail you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2015

A400 Xtreme

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought this gun while looking for my first semi-auto. I went into the store with my mind made up on a 300 outlander walked out with an A400 Xtreme. Shoulders nice, feels great, the only problem I have had with it a few shells not cycling. I followed the break in recommendation from Beretta and some of the lighter loads still have a hard time cycling. Not a big deal as I don't shoot the lighter loads very often but when I go out target shooting with my son some lighter loads 1oz and 7/8 oz loads fail to cycle properly. Beretta's self cleaning gas system get very dirty. I've cleaned it every time I have used the gun, due to the fact that I don't want my gun to fail during duck season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015

worst shotgun in the world

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
it jam every time when i use Remington 12 Ga 3 1/2 inch shell 1700 fps, after it gets wet or on rain day, the shotgun jam every time, this is garbage !!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2014

Disappointed

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Purchased this after my Super Vinci. The kickoff system works great, especially when using 3.5" rounds.
Unfortunately I've had cycling problems on/off with this shotgun. Happened 3 times in one day when using 3" waterfowl loads. My buddy has been using my Super Vinci along side me during these hunts and hasn't had one problem.
If I didn't have this issue, I'd be giving this 5 stars all day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2014

best semi ever made, hands down

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I hunt with this gun, it has never jammed.... ever, I also shoot skeet competitively with it, it has never failed me and I have fired around 10,000 rounds through it (clean it about every 300 rounds to keep it cycling fast), you also cant beat the recoil
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2014

decent

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
the berretta a400 is decent. the fit of all the parts is a little off. it is just a little klinky. a little too heavy and is built for bigger framed people. shoots good though. I like my brownings better but the berretta a400 is not a bad choice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2014

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
I traded my Benelli Super vinci for the a400 and never looked back. I had the first year of the super vinci and don't know if i had a lemon but it would not cycle all duck loads. A friend had an a400 and never had a problem. So i made the choice and to date not had one problem. Only downfall is the weight compared to the Benelli.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is one of my new favorite guns. The weight is perfect, the swing of the gun is perfect, and the recoil is next to nothing. Went through 200 rounds and have no soreness. I did the last 75 rounds in ten minutes and had a blast. Only issue is getting use to the sound of the spring when it recoils little louder than what I am use too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2014

Failed first test

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The a400 extreme failed the first time I tested it. It wouldn't eject. I was very disappointed. Returned the gun to Beretta for repair. Total time for repair was one month. Hopefully when I get a chance to test fire the gun it will preform as advertised.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2014

Love my A400 Xtreme !!!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought the A400 Xtreme for Thumping Honker's! With Winchester Blindside 3 1/2 in BB & #2's this shot gun is my favorite at my young age of 60. It points dead on and is light and fast! Great job Beretta!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2013

Awesome!!!

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
A fantastic shotgun for waterfowlers period. My brother bought one first and I got mine a year later. No failures in extreme cold. We hunt in saltwater and NO rust. Fits me and points much better than my older SBE I. I highly recommend
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2013

THE Duck Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I finally got to hunt with my Beretta A400 Xtreme Unico this weekend. Wow. Just...wow! It shoulders very comfortably and, thanks to the Kick Off system, the recoil is practically nonexistent. Seriously, my shoulder would always be sore the next day with my other shotguns--not with the A400. I opted for the 28" barrel--it really helps reach out and knock 'em down. The new Digital Breakup Camo pattern is pretty sweet too. Beretta continues to set the standard for quality and ingenuity.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2013

Another Great Beretta

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Went in for an O/U walked out with an A400 Extreme with Kick Off. So far I've put 5 boxes of shells through it on the trap line and a couple on 5 stand. It's a great shooter, easy on the shoulder with Kick Off, and way easier to strip and clean than the older AL391 Urika I traded in for it was. Not that I'm knocking the AL391, it was a great shooter too, which is why it was an easy decision to get the A400 instead of an O/U at twice the cost. I'm looking forward to using this on pheasant and duck this season.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2013

sweet

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
just awesome. it cycles everything. recoil is nothing compared to the 870 i was using, even without the so called 'break-in period'. shoulders and points great. tried to talk myself out of paying the high price, but im glad i didnt settle for a different shotgun. just like everything else, you pay for the 'good stuff'.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2013

Unbelievable

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 25 and under
Until now I was convinced that nothing shot better than my grandfather's pre-WWII A5. This shotgun can do it all. Whether you want to down waterfowl across the river, or just shoot clays in the off-season, this is your shotgun.
So fast and so smooth. Nothing like it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2013

Excellence!

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased an A400 Extreme in April of 2012. Very impressed with the fit and finish of the gun over the Benelli's and other higher end shotguns. Recoil is minimal, even when shooting heavier waterfowl loads. Despite what some reviews might say, the A400 is very easy to field strip for cleaning. I try to take care of all my firearms but I hunt with it daily and I don't wipe it down with a diaper, if you know what I am saying. The gun works flawlessly even after 200 rounds without a cleaning, and probably could handle a lot more. I love the A400 Extreme so much, I just purchased an A400 Explor in April of 2013 for trap shooting and upland bird hunting. All of the quality you would expect out of Beretta. Both of my hunting buddies shoot Super Vinci's, both of my buddies like my A400 over the Benelli. Don't get me wrong, Benelli's are nice guns but in my opinion Beretta takes it to another level.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2013

grounbreaking new shotgun blows everyones mind...

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
ive been runnin the new A400 uniko extreme K/O in 12GA. with 30' barrel since opening day of dove Sept. 1st. in my zone.bagged around 200 birds with 2 3/4 7 1/2 shot heavy dove loads. now im 100 ducks into duck season shootin 3' blackclouds and still havent had a jam or mal. this shotgun has super soft recoil and amazingly fast cycling and really a breath of fresh air to shoot and ive shot them all.Beretta really nailed it on the head with this one, by changing to a locking bolt and new self cleaning gas piston arrangement the gun shoots wet and dirty with no problems.and has the quickest takedown and clean of any ive seen.beretta really broke the mold with this one and always keep setting the bar others strive to reach...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2012

Not All It's Cracked Up To Be

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I'm a Beretta fanatic and had never been happier with my Extrema 1. However, as I hunt in a lot of salt marsh and rain, the rust was starting to get to me, so I decided to step up to the Beretta A400 Xtreme. As much as I love this gun due it's light weight, superb shouldering, anti-rust protection, and soft recoil (after the break-in period), it fails to cycle shells in the rain or when it gets wet (which is what I hunt in most of the time). If you're a serious duck hunter like me, forego the A400 and stick with the Xtrema line. I will be going back to my Xtrema 1 if this problem persists after contacting Beretta.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2012

Coulden't be happier

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have previously had a Mossburg pump, later a Benelli SuperNova pump. Both were good shotguns, with the Benelli being very comfortable to shoulder and shoot. I wanted to get a really nice semi auto and spent quite awhile researching. What I was shopping for specifically was one shotgun to do any possible activity - from trap to goose hunting. I picked the Beretta based on research and because it fit me very well.
My experience using it has been very satisfying, I have used it to shoot trap/skeet with great success as well as hunting various fowl which I have started this year.
Any shell I have put into is has cycled with no issues. The recoil reducing features do make this shotgun much more comfortable to shoot than one without. The fit an finish is all very fine and I think it is a very nice looking shotgun. The layout of the trigger and safety I much prefer over the previous editions of this shotgun. I can think of no way to improve it and will be using this as long as I am able to be outdoors I am sure.
It is pricey, but I believe it was worth it. I am positive this shotgun will fill any role that I would need a shotgun for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Beretta A400 XTREME Semiautomatic Shotgun with Kick-Off
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2012

A400 extreme

By
Hopefully this review will help someone out there. I’ve owned this A400 xtreme for about a month, purchased new 9/12/12, with the 28” barrel, barrel actually sticks out of the receiver 27.5”. Gun weights exactly 7lb, 11.5oz on my mail scale, and is 49” long, with the ½” spacer, and factory recoil pad. The length of pull is very customizable, as it comes with 1/2”, and 1” spacers from the factory. It also has the thick .79” microcore field recoil pad. Beretta makes two thinner pads if needed. Gun comes with 4 drop options, and has cast on/off for left/right handed shooters. I was able to change the drop without taking out the kickoff mechanism, under the recoil pad with a 13mm deep socket. Gun only comes with 3 chokes (cyl, mod, full) as many manufactures are going to, to lower their cost I assume. Comes with the hard beretta takedown case (similar to benellis), a choke wrench, tube of oil, two plugs. Gun will hold 5 23/4”, 6 if you want to “float” or “ghost” one under the carrier, this is all with the plug out. Removing and installing the plug is quick, take the cap off, and slide it in, out tip the gun barrel down, and it comes out. I didn’t take the time to max it out with 3”, and 3.5” shells. The magazine cap comes off in ¼ to ½ turn, it works fine, but I don’t see any real value. That’s about all I can think to point out from a physical perspective.
So far I’ve only ran 500 rounds through it. I started at the skeet range with 1oz, 1140 fps loads. To my surprise it spit these out with force. I patterned the gun and was a bit high. I changed the shim, and am now where I want to be ~60/40, 60% on the high side. I hear some comments that this is a fast shooting action. I tried to test this against an xtrema 2, sbe2, and an m2, but to me all guns cycled as fast as I could pull the trigger, I know not very scientific, but this is what I observed. The recoil was less to me than the SBE2/m2 (I know fit plays a role here, and I’ve got my benellis dialed in). My xtrema 2, is not the kickoff model, but perceived recoil is less with this a400. To me the gun handles a lot like the xtrema 2, a bit heavier feeling than the SBE2, maxus, sx3, but no complaints. In the browning guns defense (maxus/sx3) I’ve only handled them, not actually shot them. I personally think you need that extra weight to help reduce recoil, especially with the 3.5”shells. Fit and finish seems to be typical with beretta/benelli quality. I have no concerns with feeling like I’m going to wear something out prematurely, especially with what I’ve seen my xtrema 2 go through.
In summary, I think its one of the softest shooting 12 gauges out there, that can handle light skeet loads to the heaviest 3.5”shells. For upland hunting, I’ll leave this one in the case and reach for something lighter weight, after all this geared for waterfowl. That said I’d rather shoot the A400 at the skeet field, than all my other plastic guns. I think its excellent at what it was designed for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 29