Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols

RUGER Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols

A classically styled pistol loaded with practical features, Ruger 1911 Centerfire Pistols boast fixed Novak® three-dot sights, an extended magazine release, beavertail safety, oversized ejection port, adjustable trigger, skeletonized hammer, oversized grip safety and titanium firing pin. The stainless steel barrel and bushing are produced on the same machine and from the same bar stock for excellent accuracy. Stainless steel frame and slide have a bead-blasted low-glare finish. Includes two seven-round magazines. Bushing wrench and soft case. Precision-checkered hardwood grips. Made in USA .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.93 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
57 out of 57(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FAILURES

Date:May 15, 2012
I LOVE THIS GUN AND WAITED A LONG TIME FOR IT.
EVERY THING ABOUT IT IS GREAT,BUT I HAVE PROBLEMS WITH IT ,MAYBE SOMEONE CAN EXPLAIN
WHAT IS WRONG. THE CLIP WAS REALLY HARD TO
LOAD NEVER.DID GET IT FULL.1ST CLIP FAILED TO FEED ON THE LAST ROUND. 2ND DID THE SAME, 3RD CLIP I USED ANOTHER BRAND OF AMMO AND IT FAILED TO FEED THE 1ST THREE ROUNDS AND I GAVE UP. PS I STILL LOVE TO LOOK AT IT AND FEEL IT . HELP!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lakeville, MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent 1911

Date:May 20, 2011
I looked at a number of makes, models, and price ranges but continued to be impressed with the great reviews this new offering from Ruger was receiving. As many of you already know, Ruger has been manufacturing 1911 frames and component parts for a number of well known manufacturers. It's high time they came out with their own edition.
For me it had all the upgrades I was looking for at a reasonable price. The fit and finish are top quality. I find the slide to frame fit to be smooth and tight. The trigger pull is smooth, crisp and predictable.
My first time at the range revealed a very accurate and, so far, reliable firearm. 50 rounds without any issues what so ever. Certainly not an exhaustive test but I just wanted to get it dirty for the first time. Freehand at 25' I was able to "shoot the center out" with 5 rounds. I consider myself a reasonable marksman, not anything special so I'm very impressed.
There are many makes, models and price ranges as well as terrific manufacturers of John Moses Browning's classic. I can vouch for the Ruger SR-1911 without reservation at this early stage of the game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent weapon

Date:March 30, 2015
Bought my SR1911 two weeks ago.
Initial racking was very stiff, so I disassembled and cleaned the weapon. Racking was much easier then, but still stiff. Met a guy with two SR1911's at the carry class and he loves his, but put a 14 lb spring in the gun to replace the factory spring which is a 20 lb. After putting 100 rounds through the guy, it's great to shoot as it feels right in my hand and very solid.
Mine shoots slighlty left and low, but groups nicely. Sights are excellent but need adjustment.
If the racking doesn't loosen up, I'll be replacing the factory spring with a 14 or 16 lb one.
It's my first 1911 model, but I'm a fan already. This won't be my last 1911. The SR1911 is great value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value in a 1911

Date:February 11, 2015
Quality equal to 1911's priced $200-300 more. Great looking in matte stainless, three dot sights are a pleasure to use (even with my progressive lenses). Typical Ruger attention to detail including a massive action lock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great 45

Date:January 26, 2015
My son and I each purchased this pistol so that we could shoot together. After familiarizing myself with this weapon, (a bit different than my 9mm Beretta) we went out to the range and fired off a hundred rounds without any hangups or miss fires. This pistol shot well right out of the box and we're both glad we made this purchase. A solid easy to handle addition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet Shooter

Date:December 25, 2014
Straight shooter right out of the box. Feels great in the hand. All the controls are in good locations and are easy to use. 100% American made! The recoil works well with the all steel frame making target accusation very easy (my wife even commented that it reminded her of the feel of a 9mm). Solid, tight fitting construction (no slide rattle). Everything you'd expect from Ruger!
(Image of 1st shot straight out of the box at 30ft, standing, .45acp 230 grain FMJ)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I now have 2

Date:December 20, 2014
RUGER HIT A HOMERUN!!
Quality: A+
Accuracy: A+
Priced right, pleasure to shoot. No more plastic pistols for me.
Highly recommended!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1911 HP

Date:September 18, 2014
Ruger and Cabelas pulled it off with this exclusive high polished 1911. Smooth, sexy and a functional work of art. My favorite gun so far and approximently 400 rounds thru it and not one issue. I enjoy this gun so much I carry it at times for my concealed gun. You know when I'm out fine dining. Lol. Thanks Ruger and Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Shooter

Date:August 14, 2014
I purchased the CMD, as i already have a 5inch 1911. I was highly impressed with the feel, handling and accuracy of this pistol. Recoil is well managed, which allows for quicker follow up shots. I have used it as a carry pistol, but it is a little on the heavy side. Fit and finish are very good. In my opinion this pistol is excellent value for money, given the std features and performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent 1911

Date:April 7, 2014
First let me start by saying yes, I am a female and I am a die hard 1911 fan. I found this one and decided to add it to my existing collection of 1911s (everything ranging from a highly customized Officer model, a National Match, XSE (the National Match and XSE are competition guns), a Ultra Raptor II (my carry of choice), and a Super Carry Pro). I love this firearm as much as I do my National Match and XSE (I was shocked). It is accurate, easy to handle and just a basic good weapon. For a female with a smaller hand it is balanced nicely and a comfortable fit. I thought I would buy it just to have something else to play with, but it is making me think there is a possibility it could be a reliable competition weapon. I want to run a few more rounds, but so far I have not been disappointed. Now if my Ruger Match Competition ever comes in I'll think I have died and gone to heaven!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best 1911 bang for buck!

Date:March 19, 2014
I was so impressed with both the "Government" & the "Commander" that I bought a pair of them! I took the full size gun to a PD reserve academy qualification shoot after only putting 50 rounds through it. I ordinarily would not have done that with a new gun but, it is a Ruger! At any rate the outcome was a 495/500 qualifying score (1 in the 8, 3 in the 9). The other 46 punched out a single hole in the X/10 that you could put your fist through. I hope they come out with a compact so I can have the trifecta!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome 1911!!

Date:February 22, 2014
Just like all the other reviews, this is a great 1911. Mine is the commander; it feels great in your hands, looks amazing, and it operates very well. I have about 200 rounds through it without a hiccup. There is a tremendous amount of value in this firearm, don't let the price point drive your decision when looking for a high quality 1911.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Purchase

Date:December 23, 2013
Great purchase! After years of contemplating another sidearm purchase, I knew I wanted a 1911. Did some more research, and short of spending a lot more money, I decided on this item. American made, bushing and barrel machined out of the same billet, features beyond any competitor in the same price bracket, and at the time of purchase, $75 off. I have had this sidearm for 3 months now, with approximately 250 rnds fed through it without a single hiccup. This is now my EDC. Wife loves it so much, (she's even a better shot than I), that we will be purchasing another in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

reliable, dependable, police duty worthy

Date:December 11, 2013
Great gun right out of the box. This gun is now my police duty weapon, I'm a Reserve Officer. I have L.E. qualified twice with this weapon, once on an outdoor range picking up dirty ammo off the ground after tactical shooting drills and reloading, no malfunctions of any kind after over 1000 rounds. I was in a group of 9 officers, 4 were shooting Springfield XD's 40's and 45's, the other 4 were shooting Glock 40's full and midsize. All 4 shooting XD's had malfunctions multiple times, the guns were the cause not the shooters , 1 of the Glock shooters had a malfunction but it was him he admitted, not the gun. My Ruger sr1911 ran flawlessly, not a single problem. This gun will run fine even when filthy dirty, it has been machined with the tolorences needed for real life, in the trenches shooting. You CAN trust this gun to save lives.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:November 19, 2013
nice shoot... spot on aim right out of box... no miss fires or FTFs spent 400 rounds through cleaning after 100 or so. nothing like it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beautiful Gun!

Date:October 24, 2013
The price was right for this 1911. I own several other Ruger firearms, so I trusted the quality of theirs. This is a really nice looking gun with all of the features of the more expensive brands. I have put about 400 rounds of different ammo through it. It is very accurate right out of the box and the recoil is sweet. I absolutely love this gun! Once again, Ruger has come through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SR1911 5" Barrel

Date:October 23, 2013
This is a great version of a 1911 pistol. This gun will make you shoot good, as it is really accurate but will tell you what you are doing wrong. Feedback on poor trigger control is fantastic. Great gun for experienced collector or newbie to large caliber competition grade pistols at a fair price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best for the price

Date:August 22, 2013
Everything about his gun is great 2" groups right out of box at 25 yards 200 rounds from 185 grns to 230 grns brass to the cheapest steel case not one hickup only problem i had was to wait six months to get it but well worth the wait
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Execellent 1911

Date:August 21, 2013
Purchased the SR1911 CMD on 11-Aug-2013. Went home and field stripped, cleaned and lubed. Wife and I headed for the range where we shot 100 rounds in about 20 minutes and the barrel was smoking hot. No problems. Recoil is softer than we thought it would be.
My wife has been shooting for about two years and was impressed with her first outing with a .45. She likes it.
I'd recommend the commander to anybody looking for a 1911 .45 caliber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger SR-1911 Full Size

Date:July 29, 2013
This gun is excellent! Reliable and fun to shoot. You will not regret buying this. Plus, Ruger stands behind their product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 57