Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols

RUGER Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols

A classically styled pistol loaded with practical features, Ruger 1911 Centerfire Pistols boast fixed Novak® three-dot sights, an extended magazine release, beavertail safety, oversized ejection port, adjustable trigger, skeletonized hammer, oversized grip safety and titanium firing pin. The stainless steel barrel and bushing are produced on the same machine and from the same bar stock for excellent accuracy. Stainless steel frame and slide have a bead-blasted low-glare finish. Bushing wrench and soft case. Precision-checkered hardwood grips with an option for Crimson Trace Laser Grips.  Made in USA .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.877 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
64 out of 65(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Review 1 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2015

Nothing special

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Without a doubt, the roughest 1911 I've ever owned. Poor trigger, and poor slide to frame fit. You get what you pay for. Never again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-12points
0out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2012

FAILURES

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I LOVE THIS GUN AND WAITED A LONG TIME FOR IT.
EVERY THING ABOUT IT IS GREAT,BUT I HAVE PROBLEMS WITH IT ,MAYBE SOMEONE CAN EXPLAIN
WHAT IS WRONG. THE CLIP WAS REALLY HARD TO
LOAD NEVER.DID GET IT FULL.1ST CLIP FAILED TO FEED ON THE LAST ROUND. 2ND DID THE SAME, 3RD CLIP I USED ANOTHER BRAND OF AMMO AND IT FAILED TO FEED THE 1ST THREE ROUNDS AND I GAVE UP. PS I STILL LOVE TO LOOK AT IT AND FEEL IT . HELP!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2011

Excellent 1911

By
Location: Lakeville, MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I looked at a number of makes, models, and price ranges but continued to be impressed with the great reviews this new offering from Ruger was receiving. As many of you already know, Ruger has been manufacturing 1911 frames and component parts for a number of well known manufacturers. It's high time they came out with their own edition.
For me it had all the upgrades I was looking for at a reasonable price. The fit and finish are top quality. I find the slide to frame fit to be smooth and tight. The trigger pull is smooth, crisp and predictable.
My first time at the range revealed a very accurate and, so far, reliable firearm. 50 rounds without any issues what so ever. Certainly not an exhaustive test but I just wanted to get it dirty for the first time. Freehand at 25' I was able to "shoot the center out" with 5 rounds. I consider myself a reasonable marksman, not anything special so I'm very impressed.
There are many makes, models and price ranges as well as terrific manufacturers of John Moses Browning's classic. I can vouch for the Ruger SR-1911 without reservation at this early stage of the game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2016

One of the best

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this gun just because I wanted a 1911. It was one of the best purchases I have ever made. This is my go to pistol when I am hunting or backpacking in the mountains. I love how accurate it was out of the box. It is very comfortable to shoot and I have yet to have a jam or any other problem with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2016

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Have several different autos. But this one out shoots all of them. Trigger is light and balance is great. 500 rounds thru it no problems. My son bought one and he feels the same.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2015

It's a Ruger - It Works

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Just got the SR1911 Commander as a birthday present a couple of weeks ago. I took it apart and cleaned & lubed it before going to the range. Slide-to-frame fit is tight, like the barrel-to-bushing fit. Once at the range, I had a couple of FTF's with my reloads, the kind that always chambered in my Colt 1991A1 Commander. Switched to different reloads using different brass, and the problem disappeared - evidently the chamber is a little tighter than the Colt but that's okay. The Novak sights are very good. The trigger pull is good, but I may play with the overtravel screw to see if I can improve it. Once I put a few rounds through it my groups began to tighten up; 100 rounds later it was dropping them right where I aimed, and some of the holes at 15 yards were touching each other. After the initial few rounds, I experienced no other problems. The magazine springs are STRONG; it's tough loading 7 rounds into them.
It's a good-looking, well-functioning gun. It points and shoots like a good 1911 should. It works, and I don't expect it to break - just like my other four Rugers. It doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles. It's not a Kimber or or an Ed Brown, but I'll bet it shoots nearly as well, and I didn't have to pay a grand or two for it. It's my new carry gun. Ruger done good!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2015

great 1911!

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Nice fit and finish, nice balance, i love this pistol!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2015

Excellent pistol

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the SR 1911 lwt commander. After breaking it in, where there were no misfires, I took the pistol to the range. I ran through a qualification course and shot a 96 %. The
The pistol has a nice fit from slide to frame with very little to no play in it. The trigger is a tad heavy compared to my 1911 Sig. Target acquisition is easy. The magazine release drops the magazine completely. Charging the pistol of course takes practice to master, but it is easy. I shot a few per centge points higher with the Ruger than I did with my Sig 1911 with a five inch barrel.
The pistol is nice to shot. It does not have the sharp recoil of a .40 S&S. I ran 230 grain hardball through it. I experienced no failures to feed. This is one of the nicest pistols I have shot.
Buy a nice holster for it. I didn't know but when I purchased the pistol I received a discount from Ruger for any online purchase from the Ruger store. I bought a Mitch Rosen holster and the gun fits snug in it.
Keep her clean and she'll sing for you with every trigger pull.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2015

My first pistol -- I couldn't have chosen better!

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I field stripped my SR1911, cleaned and oiled it before firing my firs box of 50 rounds, not a single issue. I pull the trigger and it goes bang!
Out of the box the slide was so stiff and tight that when new I had to cock the hammer to rack the slide. After 200 rounds it is much easier.
I did purchase an UpLULA to ease loading the magazine. It is worth every penny.
As a newbie I think 5 inch grouping at 10 yards is not too bad. I worked on my grip and the pattern really began to tighten up. The pistol is far more accurate than I am.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2015

Great 1911 purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Being a 1911 fan, been looking around for sometime for a 1911 that will meet my budget limitations. SR911 CMD turned out to be a great purchase. No issues encountered after 450 rds. Shots are a little lower to the left though (or it could be me), but groupings are really tight. With its very beautiful looks, this 1911 is really awesome!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2015

Excellent weapon

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought my SR1911 two weeks ago.
Initial racking was very stiff, so I disassembled and cleaned the weapon. Racking was much easier then, but still stiff. Met a guy with two SR1911's at the carry class and he loves his, but put a 14 lb spring in the gun to replace the factory spring which is a 20 lb. After putting 100 rounds through the guy, it's great to shoot as it feels right in my hand and very solid.
Mine shoots slighlty left and low, but groups nicely. Sights are excellent but need adjustment.
If the racking doesn't loosen up, I'll be replacing the factory spring with a 14 or 16 lb one.
It's my first 1911 model, but I'm a fan already. This won't be my last 1911. The SR1911 is great value for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2015

Great Value in a 1911

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Quality equal to 1911's priced $200-300 more. Great looking in matte stainless, three dot sights are a pleasure to use (even with my progressive lenses). Typical Ruger attention to detail including a massive action lock.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2015

A great 45

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My son and I each purchased this pistol so that we could shoot together. After familiarizing myself with this weapon, (a bit different than my 9mm Beretta) we went out to the range and fired off a hundred rounds without any hangups or miss fires. This pistol shot well right out of the box and we're both glad we made this purchase. A solid easy to handle addition.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2014

Sweet Shooter

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Straight shooter right out of the box. Feels great in the hand. All the controls are in good locations and are easy to use. 100% American made! The recoil works well with the all steel frame making target accusation very easy (my wife even commented that it reminded her of the feel of a 9mm). Solid, tight fitting construction (no slide rattle). Everything you'd expect from Ruger!
(Image of 1st shot straight out of the box at 30ft, standing, .45acp 230 grain FMJ)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2014

I now have 2

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
RUGER HIT A HOMERUN!!
Quality: A+
Accuracy: A+
Priced right, pleasure to shoot. No more plastic pistols for me.
Highly recommended!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2014

1911 HP

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Ruger and Cabelas pulled it off with this exclusive high polished 1911. Smooth, sexy and a functional work of art. My favorite gun so far and approximently 400 rounds thru it and not one issue. I enjoy this gun so much I carry it at times for my concealed gun. You know when I'm out fine dining. Lol. Thanks Ruger and Cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2014

Excellent Shooter

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased the CMD, as i already have a 5inch 1911. I was highly impressed with the feel, handling and accuracy of this pistol. Recoil is well managed, which allows for quicker follow up shots. I have used it as a carry pistol, but it is a little on the heavy side. Fit and finish are very good. In my opinion this pistol is excellent value for money, given the std features and performance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014

Excellent 1911

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
First let me start by saying yes, I am a female and I am a die hard 1911 fan. I found this one and decided to add it to my existing collection of 1911s (everything ranging from a highly customized Officer model, a National Match, XSE (the National Match and XSE are competition guns), a Ultra Raptor II (my carry of choice), and a Super Carry Pro). I love this firearm as much as I do my National Match and XSE (I was shocked). It is accurate, easy to handle and just a basic good weapon. For a female with a smaller hand it is balanced nicely and a comfortable fit. I thought I would buy it just to have something else to play with, but it is making me think there is a possibility it could be a reliable competition weapon. I want to run a few more rounds, but so far I have not been disappointed. Now if my Ruger Match Competition ever comes in I'll think I have died and gone to heaven!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2014

Best 1911 bang for buck!

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I was so impressed with both the "Government" & the "Commander" that I bought a pair of them! I took the full size gun to a PD reserve academy qualification shoot after only putting 50 rounds through it. I ordinarily would not have done that with a new gun but, it is a Ruger! At any rate the outcome was a 495/500 qualifying score (1 in the 8, 3 in the 9). The other 46 punched out a single hole in the X/10 that you could put your fist through. I hope they come out with a compact so I can have the trifecta!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® 1911 Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2014

Awesome 1911!!

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Just like all the other reviews, this is a great 1911. Mine is the commander; it feels great in your hands, looks amazing, and it operates very well. I have about 200 rounds through it without a hiccup. There is a tremendous amount of value in this firearm, don't let the price point drive your decision when looking for a high quality 1911.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 65