Customer Reviews for F LLI PIETTA F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers

F LLI PIETTA F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers

F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers are faithful re-creations of the venerable 1873 Colt® Single-Action Army revolvers, also known as Peacemakers or simply Colt 45s.  To help celebrate Pietta's 50 years of success and Cabela's long partnership in excellence with Pietta, we're offering special versions of the legendary 1873 Single-Action Army chambered in .357 Magnum, .44 Magnum and .45 Long Colt. Models sport handsome grips, premium finishes, six-shot cylinders, authentic fixed sights and round barrels. Transfer bars provide safe, reliable operation. SA73-1911/LC and SA73-1915/LC models feature octagonal barrels, wide turned-down hammers, steel backstraps and trigger guards, checkered grips and color-case-hardened frames.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Review 1 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2016

44 all the way

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Hey Yall,
I love this gun, it has kick and power yet its quite accurate and very fun to shoot. This was my first SAA I ever owned and I honestly think I will be buying SA from now on, it adds a whole new element to the experience that with most modern guns you cant get any more. Now for me Ive put about 200 through so far, so that not a ton but the only thing I will say is that the ejector rod for the spent casings sometimes takes a while to get them spent boys out, but no worries, this gun in this caliber is not a speed shooter, its for pure joy of shooting "cowboy action". Lastly it does shoot a little low so adjust your aiming accordingly, but honestly your getting a 44 Mag that is really quite good right out of the box.
5 outta 5 boys, now go out there and have some safe honest American cowboy action fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2016

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is my first single action pistol, and i couldnt be more happy with it. I bought the nickle plated 357 mag and have had no problems after 200 rounds of 357 or 38 special. Sights were right on and its very accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2015

.45L Octagonal Barrel, 5.5 Barrel

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is a great gun. First shot that I made hit the target, straight out of the box. I have sight in only my left eye and had no problem hitting the target. Was able to out shoot my two son's on Fathers Day. My son has the 45L Vaquero and I feel that my Pietta out performed it . Great looking with that octagonal barrel, great comments from everybody that sees it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2015

.357

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased this gun in .357 and probably shoot as many .38 special as I do .357 through it. It is a nice throw back to days gone by. Shoots well and I am reasonably accurate with it. The gun is probably more accurate and repeatable than I am. I like the case hardened look of the frame. If this type of gun is what you are looking for, I would recommend it. Good workmanship.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2015

Pietta 1873

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I just recently retired and wanted to get something classic for myself. I discovered the Pietta 1873. I got 1 at Cabelas at Lubbock. The salespeople couldn't have been more helpful, great experience and even better gun. I got the nickel 5.5" in 45 colt. It's a beautiful gun and shoots awesome. Absolutely love it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2015

Pietta 44 Mag

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought the 4 3/4", case hardened 44 Mag. Beautiful gun. I wanted something handy for a woods gun. I dislike long barrels on my handguns, as that's why I have rifles. This one fits the bill perfectly. It shoots low like everyone points out, but that will be easily fixed with a file. Recoil is acceptable as long as you remember to shoot it like an SAA and let the gun roll like it's designed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2015

Great value Cowboy revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Bought a pair of these in .357 about a year ago to get started in Cowboy Action shooting. Shot about 6 to 7 inches low out of the box, but that was easily fixed by filing down the front sight. This adjustment had the added benefit of making them easier to draw. I have competed in a dozen matches with these guns (typically 50 rounds per match) plus hundreds of rounds of practice with no problems. The action is smooth and the trigger pull is short and crisp. I shoot 125 gr LRNFP loaded over 3.7 gr of TrailBoss and the felt recoil is minimal. I bought them as "starter" guns, but they look like they will be good for the long haul.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2014

Very Pleasant surprise

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I recently Bought the Nickle .45 Colt. While there are some finish flaws,the mechanics far out weight them.They have even used a bridged base pin,coil spring for cyl. hand instead of the unreliable flat spring. Timing is spot on. Usually with Uberti i had to tweak it a little, but not this gem.Only thing i did was polish internals a little and lighten the trigger. Mine had a awful heavy trigger break. Love the hard rubber grips!!! Feel perfect in my hand. This is definitely a keeper!! May have to pick up a left hand gun.. :-) more is better.
Vast improvement over earlier guns.. I like this more than the Uberti i had.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013

Good Gun.

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought a 4 3/4 barrel length 1873 SA in .44 Mag. The fit and finish is super. Pietta makes a fine Colt style firearm. This pistol has the Colt action (cylinder is locked unless the hammer is at half cock where the cylinder is released and spins freely to be loaded) and has parts that are interchangeable with Colt. It has the hammer to firing pin transfer bar like in Rugers so you can carry this gun with all six chambers loaded and no chance of accidental discharge of the firearm. Well made gun, Looks good, shoots good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2013

great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have never had or shot a saa type gun before and after buying and shooting this one I wish I had bought one a long time ago. it is a fun firearm to shoot,it's accurate. I got the 357 mag model and shooting the 38spl is nothing even my 7 year old can shoot it. my only complaint would be is that is seems like the firing pin has too much play in it. other then that its a great firearm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013

.44 Equalizer

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I was pleasantly surprised to find a traditional reproduction Peacemaker in .44 Rem. Magnum, as those cartridges are hotter than hells half acre, and require a substantial amount of gun to hold the pressure. With a 4 3/4" barrel, the recoil of this hogleg is significant with Magnum loadings, so I am of the opinion that a .44 special would be a good general purpose cartridge to shoot in this revolver. That pistol is most certainly a handful, but performed reasonably well- except for that infernal ejector rod assembly. I found that the Pietta split the difference between the Colt action and that of Sturm & Ruger's action. The Half-Cock feature figured prominently in my decision to purchase a Pietta, and I consider it a major selling point. The fact that the six gun can be carried with a live round under the hammer, yet still functions like a Colt, is a plus. Case ejection seems to be a major problem, and proper cylinder indexing with the gate would be a good place to start correcting this issue. The ejector rod assembly needs to be reworked from the head all the way to the end of the rod. The head space between the cylinder and the forcing cone could stand a little tightening up, and it could use a tighter gate spring as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2013

Love My Pietta Revolver

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
I had this revolver on my wish list for over a year and when I finally got it I wasn't disappointed! I got the .357 and it's a fun little gun to shoot and build up my confidence when shooting .38's yet can give me the power when I want it with the .357. I used it to take my CPL and outshot all the boys! We had to do our shooting in a down pour so the walnut grips swelled up and the stain started to come off. I contacted Pietta and within a week I had brand new replacement grips from Italy! Great company to work with that stands behind their guns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2012

Excellent buy for the $$$

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this gun to add to my collection of SAA’s to use as a dedicated black powder revolver, and I find it to be well worth the money spent. The timing is excellent and overall the action is very smooth, and unlike others who have written, I find my revolver shoots straight on, right to the point of aim but just a little low, which I can correct. I took it to the range today and put a mix of .45 Colt and .45 S&W black powder loads through it and it worked and shot like a champ. Even my heavy 38grain FFg Colt loads didn’t slow the action down; it remained smooth and easy to work throughout the session. They say you get what you pay for; I say I got a LOT MORE than what I paid for with this purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2012

good, reliable, accurate..

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i got this gun about a week ago, it functions flawlessly when firing and i was able to take my .45 lc version out and in the first shot take a small branch off of a bush. the function and accuracy is great the problems i have is the finish seems cheap and will rub off easily im sure, the firing pin is located on the hammer and is loose, the loose pin only catches when you manually work the action but works fine other wise. great gun over all i put cheap american eagle ammo through it and still hit my poa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2012

PIETTA 45lc 1873

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
After purchasing the PIETTA 45lc and cleaning I have shot more than 500 rounds threw it... 25 yards very tight group but low and left always. I do my own reloads and was able to get better grouping. I would recommend this to other people
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012

Pietta 1873 SSA

By
Location: Lebanon, Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
After shooting at the range, one of several hand loads shot settled in at about a 1.25" group at 25 yards, which I was really happy with. The point of impact in relation to point of aim was aprrox. 7" low, and 4" left. The revolver functioned well in all other respects.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012

Great Value

By
Location: Bucks County, PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought the .357 version. As with other reviews, it shoots low. Otherwise, fit and finish is outstanding. Great value for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2012

good, accurate shooter

By
Location: Grand Junction, Co
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Firing pin seems to hang when working action once in a while, never (so far) when shooting. Great s.s.a. replica, very accurate, cleans up great, fun gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2012

Pietta 45

By
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Nice piece.. I read some reviews were people complain about it shooting low. Mine was no exception.. took a file to the front site and dialed it rite in. Now it's on the mark. The only other thing found was the pin the cylinder rotates on was to tight, so I took it over a wire wheel. Problem solved. Nice job Pietta
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.