Customer Reviews for F LLI PIETTA F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers

F LLI PIETTA F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers

F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers are faithful re-creations of the venerable 1873 Colt Single-Action Army revolvers, also known as Peacemakers or simply Colt 45s.  To help celebrate Pietta's 50 years of success and Cabela's long partnership in excellence with Pietta, we're offering special versions of the legendary 1873 Single-Action Army chambered in .357 Magnum, .44 Magnum and .45 Long Colt. Models sport handsome grips, premium finishes, six-shot cylinders, authentic fixed sights and round barrels. Transfer bars provide safe, reliable operation. SA73-1911/LC and SA73-1915/LC models feature octagonal barrels, wide turned-down hammers, steel backstraps and trigger guards, checkered grips and color-case-hardened frames.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Review 1 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleasant surprise

Date:March 15, 2014
I recently Bought the Nickle .45 Colt. While there are some finish flaws,the mechanics far out weight them.They have even used a bridged base pin,coil spring for cyl. hand instead of the unreliable flat spring. Timing is spot on. Usually with Uberti i had to tweak it a little, but not this gem.Only thing i did was polish internals a little and lighten the trigger. Mine had a awful heavy trigger break. Love the hard rubber grips!!! Feel perfect in my hand. This is definitely a keeper!! May have to pick up a left hand gun.. :-) more is better.
Vast improvement over earlier guns.. I like this more than the Uberti i had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun.

Date:November 12, 2013
I bought a 4 3/4 barrel length 1873 SA in .44 Mag. The fit and finish is super. Pietta makes a fine Colt style firearm. This pistol has the Colt action (cylinder is locked unless the hammer is at half cock where the cylinder is released and spins freely to be loaded) and has parts that are interchangeable with Colt. It has the hammer to firing pin transfer bar like in Rugers so you can carry this gun with all six chambers loaded and no chance of accidental discharge of the firearm. Well made gun, Looks good, shoots good.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:July 28, 2013
I have never had or shot a saa type gun before and after buying and shooting this one I wish I had bought one a long time ago. it is a fun firearm to shoot,it's accurate. I got the 357 mag model and shooting the 38spl is nothing even my 7 year old can shoot it. my only complaint would be is that is seems like the firing pin has too much play in it. other then that its a great firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44 Equalizer

Date:July 2, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised to find a traditional reproduction Peacemaker in .44 Rem. Magnum, as those cartridges are hotter than hells half acre, and require a substantial amount of gun to hold the pressure. With a 4 3/4" barrel, the recoil of this hogleg is significant with Magnum loadings, so I am of the opinion that a .44 special would be a good general purpose cartridge to shoot in this revolver. That pistol is most certainly a handful, but performed reasonably well- except for that infernal ejector rod assembly. I found that the Pietta split the difference between the Colt action and that of Sturm & Ruger's action. The Half-Cock feature figured prominently in my decision to purchase a Pietta, and I consider it a major selling point. The fact that the six gun can be carried with a live round under the hammer, yet still functions like a Colt, is a plus. Case ejection seems to be a major problem, and proper cylinder indexing with the gate would be a good place to start correcting this issue. The ejector rod assembly needs to be reworked from the head all the way to the end of the rod. The head space between the cylinder and the forcing cone could stand a little tightening up, and it could use a tighter gate spring as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love My Pietta Revolver

Date:June 5, 2013
I had this revolver on my wish list for over a year and when I finally got it I wasn't disappointed! I got the .357 and it's a fun little gun to shoot and build up my confidence when shooting .38's yet can give me the power when I want it with the .357. I used it to take my CPL and outshot all the boys! We had to do our shooting in a down pour so the walnut grips swelled up and the stain started to come off. I contacted Pietta and within a week I had brand new replacement grips from Italy! Great company to work with that stands behind their guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent buy for the $$$

Date:December 15, 2012
I bought this gun to add to my collection of SAA’s to use as a dedicated black powder revolver, and I find it to be well worth the money spent. The timing is excellent and overall the action is very smooth, and unlike others who have written, I find my revolver shoots straight on, right to the point of aim but just a little low, which I can correct. I took it to the range today and put a mix of .45 Colt and .45 S&W black powder loads through it and it worked and shot like a champ. Even my heavy 38grain FFg Colt loads didn’t slow the action down; it remained smooth and easy to work throughout the session. They say you get what you pay for; I say I got a LOT MORE than what I paid for with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good, reliable, accurate..

Date:October 30, 2012
i got this gun about a week ago, it functions flawlessly when firing and i was able to take my .45 lc version out and in the first shot take a small branch off of a bush. the function and accuracy is great the problems i have is the finish seems cheap and will rub off easily im sure, the firing pin is located on the hammer and is loose, the loose pin only catches when you manually work the action but works fine other wise. great gun over all i put cheap american eagle ammo through it and still hit my poa
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PIETTA 45lc 1873

Date:April 26, 2012
After purchasing the PIETTA 45lc and cleaning I have shot more than 500 rounds threw it... 25 yards very tight group but low and left always. I do my own reloads and was able to get better grouping. I would recommend this to other people
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lebanon, Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta 1873 SSA

Date:January 17, 2012
After shooting at the range, one of several hand loads shot settled in at about a 1.25" group at 25 yards, which I was really happy with. The point of impact in relation to point of aim was aprrox. 7" low, and 4" left. The revolver functioned well in all other respects.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bucks County, PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:January 16, 2012
I bought the .357 version. As with other reviews, it shoots low. Otherwise, fit and finish is outstanding. Great value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction, Co
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good, accurate shooter

Date:January 13, 2012
Firing pin seems to hang when working action once in a while, never (so far) when shooting. Great s.s.a. replica, very accurate, cleans up great, fun gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for F.LLI Pietta 1873 SA Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta 45

Date:January 12, 2012
Nice piece.. I read some reviews were people complain about it shooting low. Mine was no exception.. took a file to the front site and dialed it rite in. Now it's on the mark. The only other thing found was the pin the cylinder rotates on was to tight, so I took it over a wire wheel. Problem solved. Nice job Pietta
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.