Customer Reviews for MAGNUM RESEARCH Magnum Research Desert Eagle 1911 Pistols

MAGNUM RESEARCH Magnum Research Desert Eagle 1911 Pistols

Known for rugged, no-fail reliability, the famed Magnum Research Desert Eagle lineup now includes the single-action .45 ACP 1911 “G” full-size, “C” semi-compact pistols and "U"-Ultralite officer model. They offer fully loaded custom features, including: a skeletonized hammer; extended magazine release; extended thumb safety; full-length stainless steel guide rod; high-ride beavertail grip safety; aluminum trigger with overtravel stop; enlarged ejection port; and beveled magazine well. Drift adjustable, high-profile sculpted rear sight with fixed-front blade. Two magazines included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 7 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
5 out of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Magnum Research Desert Eagle 1911 Pistols
Review 1 for Magnum Research Desert Eagle 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

satified

Date:October 3, 2013
I bought this 1911 desert eagle G and i test fired it to the range and I put 500 rounds on it and it was very flawless, no single malfunction or what soever. Accuracy was excellent. I tried different kinds of ammunition and no single misfire or malfunction and I rapid fire it with straight four mags and it was excellent. I would highly recommend this gun to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Magnum Research Desert Eagle 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gorgeous piece!

Date:July 5, 2013
This is a beautiful weapon...as all 1911s, it is a work of art. However, this is even a step beyond. The trigger out of the box is the smoothest of all my pistols in any caliber--about 3.5 pounds, with no creep and very little take up. I put a Crimson Trace laser grip on the pistol, and almost didn't, since the cocobolo grips were so pretty.
Some folks claim failures, and that is possible...but to the person who described failures in the first 100 rounds, ANY pistol requires a break in period of up to 500 rounds. My break in period was more for the magazines to loosen up, and yes, I got some FTE initially. After the first few boxes that ended and my pistol is certainly reliable now.
I have put about 5000 rounds through mine so far, all 230 grain (FMJ and JHP) and it seems to like both types. I think the wear is excellent--some muzzle wear from blast, but otherwise the finish has held up exceptionally well (I bought the pistol in 2010).
The stock spring poundage is adequate--I upgraded the spring to 18# once, and got some FTEs, so I put another 16# in and the failures stopped. I might even try a 14# and see if it's better. Recoil is NO issue.
Accuracy at the range is better than my buddy's Colt Gold Cup 1911! At 10 yards I beat him...then he tried mine and outshot his own pistol.
I do wish the sights were better...they are plain black. I used orange day-glo Krylon paint (sprayed some on a piece of foil and painted with a modeling brush) and touched up the front and rear so now they stand out. Simple fix.
Overall a great 1911 and one I'm very happy to recommend. Best part? NO upgrading is necessary!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Magnum Research Desert Eagle 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 1911

Date:May 9, 2013
Love this fine weapon. With over 500 rounds thru it I have not had one problem. The smooth operation and balance are also big pluses.
Do with it came with a 3 dot sight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Magnum Research Desert Eagle 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Could be great if...

Date:February 5, 2013
I purchased this about a month ago because I wanted a 1911 and I really liked the feel of the trigger. After over 500 rounds I am only able to give it a mid rating due to quality and reliability issues. Ejector issues right out of the box. I could not get one magazine though it with out at least one FTE. This was later found to be due to no tension on the ejector from the factory. After that was corrected I have had some feed issues. Also during the first 200 rounds the rear sight came loose and started moving around.
Since I bought this for home defense, I am now forced, for my own piece of mind, to take it to a gun smith for a reliability tune up, cost I should not have to incur on a new weapon that is put together correctly.
On the good side, MR was very quick in fixing the ejector and sight and returning it. (less than 2 weeks) Cabela’s was very helpful though the process. I feel that this could be an excellent product, if MR can get a handle on their QC. Until that happens I can not recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Magnum Research Desert Eagle 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 1911

Date:October 6, 2012
I purchased this pistol about 3 months ago and have been extremely happy with it. It's a complete joy to shoot with a great trigger pull and very little recoil which is true of most 1911s. The slide is incredibly smooth to operate ( much easier than most comparable 1911s), which is why I picked this gun over the many others available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Magnum Research Desert Eagle 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Terrible Performance

Date:September 30, 2012
I purchased this handgun today from Cabela's. One hour after purchasing, I took it to the range, where it stovepiped 30-50% of all rounds. I called the salesperson at Cabela's, who suggested lubricating the siderails and trying a different manufacturer of ammo. I lubricated the firearm well and tried 5 different brands of ammo. All malfunctioned about 80-100% of the time. I returned it to Cabela's the same day. The salesperson there noted the extractor to be defective. This is the worst weapon I have ever purchased, and I would highly recommend never purchasing it. On a positive note, it does have an amazing trigger pull.. for that first round at least. Cabela's did an outstanding job with customer service of handling this awful product that they sold though.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Magnum Research Desert Eagle 1911 Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great first handgun

Date:May 12, 2012
I bought my Magnum Research desert eagle 1911 last year as it was the 100 year anniversary of it. This gun like many other 1911 models is made to last. No cheap parts were made in this gun... This makes it bit heavier than any polymer covered gun. But that makes it feel solid when shooting it. Anyways, ive shot somewhere between 2,000 to 3,000 rounds (mostly 230 gr fmj rounds) and i haven't had to fix anything. Only thing i would change is put some different sights on it, adjustable or 3 dot..
Mainly this is a very good gun for anyone. This was my first handgun and i figured why start out with something cheap that i wont like. Going with a more expensive gun, especially a 1911 model was a great decision..
These guns have been around this long for a reason.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.