Customer Reviews for AUTO ORDNANCE Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

AUTO ORDNANCE Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun

Built to exacting standards, this Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun shows off its military roots and adds a few modern enhancements. The original "G.I." configuration includes vertical slide serrations, fixed combat sights and a lanyard loop. The precision-machined frame and slide handsomely complement the black grip panels, thumb safety, slide release, barrel bushing and grip safety. Includes one seven-round magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Review 1 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2015

not so good

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
bought this pistol because it was cheap and had good
reviews. It shoots very well, but there is a very small gap btwn the back of the barrel and were the round
rests against the end of the chamber. Also found that
auto Ordnance does not carry this model on it's web
-site or in it's inventory, nor does it carry any main
parts, such as the slide, frame, and the rubberized
grips that come with it,. It's a cabelas exclusive,
made just for Cabelas, and no one else. You have
to hope that you can get parts from one of the
other pistols, if they are compatible, and also
hope the warranty will cover the green paint needed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2015

not so good

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
after buying this gun had no problems with it, but
checked Auto Ordnance website, this weapon is not
shown nor is it in their inventory, This weapon is a
Cabelas Exclusive only. Can't even get parts for it
because there are none. Now it maybe that you can
substitute other parts from other guns, in their
inventory, but as far as getting the correct parts as a
slide, frame, or the black grip that comes with it you
can't, they don't carry them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2015

Old School Shooter

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Got home, field stripped and lubed the pistol. Breakdown, lube and re-assembly were a snap. Fit and finish were very good. I put 50 rounds of Winchester 230 FMJ ball ammo through the gun with no issues. Trigger pull was a little stiff but I expected that. Accuracy was good with little recoil.
If you're looking for a reliable, heavy metal sidearm this is it. This is your basic Model 1911, 45 so you could easily customize it to fit your needs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2015

Great Value For Your Money

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I got one of the 1911A1's with the "Sniper Green" duracote type finish. The fit and finish on this gun is impressive. You don't need a bushing wrench to disassemble but there is no barrel movement at all. Everything is very tight with the exception of the trigger which has some movement in all directions. You get only one magazine with the gun but I did get an extra set of faux wood grips that look like spalted wood. The soft, black rubber grips that come with the pistol are very comfortable. I also picked up a set of WWII type, brown grips. The trigger pull is very heavy, well over five pounds, but there is no creep and it breaks clean. No noticeable over travel. I have fired only 25 rounds through the gun but it functioned perfectly. Accuracy was acceptable given that the my eyesight isn't the best these days, gun has the low, combat sights and I was shooting at a black target. Painting the front sight white or some other highly visible color should help a lot. Other than the color of the finish and the grips, this is an extremely faithful reproduction of the issue 1911A1 I carried in the Army. All in all I am very pleased with my purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2014

Win some lose some

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Gender: Male
I will start out by saying i agree with the other reviews, this is a pretty accurate 1911 for what it is. I did have some FTF and FTE in the first hundred or so rounds. However I got the green parkerized version and the feed ramp was very thickly parkarized. After the first 25 rounds I broke it down and polished the feed ramp, no more FTF. After that i broke it in a little more and no more FTE. Now my most recent problem is that i lost my front sight ramp while shooting one day. I knew this was an old problem with kahr and was a possibility when i bought the pistol so im not actually all that mad. Now don't get me wrong i love this pistol and enjoy shooting it, but i find it annoying that i have to stake a new sight in, and with no gunsmith for a hundred or so miles i have to do it myself.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2014

Auto ordinance 1911

By
Right out of the box. 50 rounds all covered by a dollar coin. Had three different people fire it. Everyone was impressed by the gun.. and want to buy one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2013

Some Quirks But Decent Overall

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I was impressed at how accurate A.O. was with the appearance and feel. The trigger is the exact length of the originals. 3/4in. I put about 65 ends of federal 230 grain and mine jammed 3 times... But then again its been shot once so it may need to "break in". I think its the mag though. Mags that come with 1911s have a reputation of being total garbage.
THE ONE THING TO REMEMBER IS BEFORE SHOOTING ANY 1911 ALWAYS DRENCH IT WITH REM OIL OR SOME OTHER GUN LUBE!!!
Overall its a fine piece... But I still swear by colt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2012

Good purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I was looking for a basic 1911 with military specs. I feel I found what I was lookinf for in this pistol. First 100 shots was very accurate, only negative issues were trigger was about 8lbs. and the 7 round magazine that came with the gun will jam. No good throw it away. Other wise I am completley satisfied with the pistol.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2012

great 1911

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
made by kahr arms of america in worcester,ma. so its made in the u.s.a.!! so far i have about 500 rouds through mine including hollow ponts. i have had no failures with this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2012

Auto-Ordnance 1911pkzsew

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Hello,
These 1911's come in three models, all the same except for the one mentioned in the above title, it had the real wooden grips. I was looking for a basic 1911, good quality, reliable, and in a price range that I could afford. I can honestly say the fit and finish was excellent, zero FTE, one FTF after 82 rounds of 230gr.ball ammo, along with a few rounds of 185gr. JHP. I would absolutly bet my life on this weapon. Only negative thing was the 7rd mag that shipped with the pistol, no big deal, bought wilson combat mag's(47D) which I was planning on buying anyway. Buy one, you will not regret it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Auto-Ordnance 1911 Handgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2012

Just like the Army

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased one of these in October. I was looking for a 1911A1 that was the best copy of an Army issue like the one I carried over seas. This hand gun is it. Down to the parkerizing and left hand rifling. Also it is made in theUSA. Excellent job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.