Customer Reviews for STOEGER Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns

STOEGER Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns

Stoeger's Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun features the famous Inertia Driven® operating system for performance-first dependability at a value-driven price. It reliably cycles 2-3/4”, 3” and 3-1/2” shells for maximum versatility in the field or at the range. Red-bar fiber-optic sight offers quick and easy target acquisition, even in low-light conditions. Includes stock-integrated recoil reducer. Receiver is drilled and tapped for Weaver-style scope bases. Includes four choke tubes (improved cylinder, modified, full and extra-full turkey) and choke tube wrench. Also includes shim kit to adjust the fit of the gun for drop and cast. 
Overall Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
37 out of 40(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Review 1 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2016

Great gun so far!

By
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Spent about a month researching this gun and finally decided that I should call Stoeger and ask them if I should buy a M3500 this year or wait until next year when I could afford a Benelli.
I spoke to a rep. there and he said the standard of a gun being turned in for warranty work to a gun manufacturer is 5% and the M3500 is under 3%.
So I purchased it Monday and cleaned it with Super Quick Clean, then Wednesday I cycled 25 3.5" Fiocci through it with one failure to eject. Since then I it has flawlessly cycled 85 rounds of Remington Gun club 2.75", dram 3, 8 Shot, 1 1/8 oz.
By the way it cycled the 3.5" 1 3/8 oz shells as soft as my cynergy would cycle a 3" shell...I still love my cynergy because it is way easier to clean but goose hunting with a gun that is 1/3 of the price and cycles 3.5" softer I'll choose the M3500 for the hunt!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2016

2 week decision

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I spent 2 weeks researching and talking to people about duck guns and never came to definite conclussion. I was deciding bw an A300, A350, Remington VM, and Stoeger 3500. My ideal gun was the SB Eagle but couldn't justify the price. Decided that I wanted to be able to shoot 3 1/2s and loved the price so I went w the 3500. I absolutely love this gun. Cycled 80 rounds so far flawlessly. Definitely spend the time learning how to clean the gun before you take it out and only shoot 3 1/2s for the first 200 rounds. I installed the recoil reducer w lockrite and went w a kick's ported choke. Benellis and Berettas sound cool but you will be happier with this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2015

Great Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this shotgun over the summer with the anticipation that this would change my hunting experience from my previously used (but still owned) Remington 887. Stoeger did not disappoint in the slightest! I couldn't be happier with the performance of this shotgun and after only half of a season its done its job for me! I haven't treated this gun like gold at all and it has stood the test of a very intense duck season so far! I'm sure there are other great semi auto shotguns out there BUT for the price you can't beat this gun. If you're looking to transition from a pump to semi auto without breaking the bank look no further! The only thing I'm not crazy about is the factory chokes, don't get me wrong I have killed plenty of ducks this season using the factory chokes but I'm looking to improve my pattern with an aftermarket choke. I have become a much more efficient hunter thanks to Stoeger and I am positive that I will have this gun for many more seasons to come!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2015

worst purchase ever

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
does not eject 3 1/2" shells ever and rarely ejects 3" shells. safety sticks all the time. bought this gun for duck and goose hunting and i regret it. spend the extra money and get a benelli.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-11points
1out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2015

Workhorse of Magnum Shotguns

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Ive had a Black 30" 3500 w/ recoil reducer installed for 3 years. It looks like its been to h3ll and back, but I have never had one problem with it. Ive probably shot 30 boxes of 3.5" bbb & T out of this thing and have never had cycling issues (never gone home with a sore shoulder). I also shoot light trap / sporting clay loads with no issue either. Its isnt as ergonomic as my buddies SBE, but the M3500 cycles at the same performance level at half the price. Great gun for sure - reminds me of a solid trusty hammer.
*Dont use a lot of gun oil when cleaning. It likes to run dry and dirty.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2015

Worth The Money!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Wasn't expecting the gun to be as enjoyable as it is! Cycled all shells, 3.5" - 2 3/4" Without a problem straight from the box. I shot trap a long time and shot a few semi-auto trap guns and the thing that distracted me the most back then was the mechanical sound of the bolt cycling with each shot. There is no sound with my 3500 that I am aware of so I can concentrate on my follow up shots. Love it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2015

M3500

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Had the gun for about a year now primarily for waterfowl and it has been flawless... fires anything from 1 1/8 ounce loads up to 3.5" steel shot. Got some hunting partners that spent way more for their higher end guns that often fail to cycle all rounds. Buy the gun and spend your savings on decoys and such
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2015

Best Shotgun for the Money

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Overall this shotgun has been by far for the best shotgun that have ever bought. It handles very smoothly and is very easy to breakdown and clean. For my first semiautomatic shotgun it has out performed any other shotgun that I have used so far and I will be using this one for a very long time until I absolutely need to upgrade. I think this shotgun handles just as well as the Beretta a400 xtreme which both of my friends have and I have sometimes out shot them without any failures during the hunt and they had a couple stoppages while they were firing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2015

Best bang for your buck

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Mine cycles 2-3/4" to 3-1/2 " mag no problem with the recoil reducer installed in my gun. Shot deer slugs target loads goose loads turkey loads the gun just eats ammo up. Never Jams just thoroughly clean and keep going.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2015

Amazing shotgun for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought this shotgun hunting all of the above. We hunt everything form bear to squirrel hunting. I shot my first rabbit and bobcat with it hoping to get a Coyote with it but the gun itself is amazing I cleaned out the Magazine tube with the factory grease it will double fire on you if you don't. It shoots great just and amazing shotgun overall.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2015

A workhorse even in the mud.

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've run a few hundred rounds through the gun both with and without the recoil reducer both light and magnum loads.
The gun doesn't cycle light loads with the recoil reducer installed. I called Stoeger and they confirmed my findings saying it's typical. I'm fine with that. I shoot magnums during duck season.
Years ago a veteran duck hunter said to me "Only bring a gun you're willing to use as a paddle". He was right! This gun has been through mud, muck, snow (lots), sand, rocks, seawater, etc.. I hunt a coastal marsh and get to my spots via canoe. I often wade through low tide muck to retrieve my ducks (no dog). It's a rough life for a gun and I don't baby this gun at all.
This 3500 did well but clean it after use. My only cycling problems occurred when I failed to clean it from the previous day's hunting.
I'd buy it again. But honestly, I'd probably get the Stoeger over/under. It's 6" shorter and easier to maneuver in a canoe and transport. More reliable with fewer moving parts. Plus, I rarely squeeze off three rounds in a row. Two is usually my limit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2015

Not perfect, but WOW!

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
First of all, this is my first semi-auto shotgun. Read all the reviews on all the different guns and decided this was indeed the best gun to money out there. I shot 5 rounds in the backyard, then took it sporting clay shooting a few days later. Same rounds and the backyard no problems. Cooler day on the range and I had about 10 failures to feed. Yes, they were 2 3/4", 1 1/8 oz, 3 dram target rounds. I didn't follow the recommended break in process. So, I got what I deserved. Now, let me clarify, I had about 6 failures in the first 4 stations, 4 in the next 6 stations and by the last stations none. I didn't clean anything, it was straight off the shelf at the local gun store. It had been there long enough to collect some store dust, so it wasn't out of the box a week from the factory.
I took it home, cleaned it, took the grease off of it and used gun oil. Went to a church trap shoot 3 weeks later, much cooler than before, where they had el-cheapo shells. No failures shooting 100 plus rounds! Probably a total of 150 more rounds hunting since and no failures. Man does this gun dust bunnies!
If you are looking for a semi-auto, new to it or experienced, don't let user error like my original time out change your mind. Follow the instructions for the break in and you'll have perhaps the finest shotgun for any price out there!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2014

You get what you pay for

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I purchased a new stoeger m3500 in July to use as my new duck gun. After reading many many many reviews and looking at other semi auto as well as pumps i decided to take a gamble with the stoeger. I read the manual and broke the gun in EXACTLY the way stoeger said. The gun had a few cycling issues where shells would become hung up in the barrel and manually need to be removed so i switched ammo brand and found that the problem lessened but didn't completely go away even with numerous cleanings. After owning the shotgun 3 months and firing roughly 400 rounds through it i went out on opening day and when i shot at the first duck the gun just went click. The extractor pin in the front of the bolt worked its way out and then got bent causing the gun to malfunction. The bolt wouldnt rotate and the exposed pin gouged the inside of my reciever. I have had to send the gun back to stoeger for warranty work and will not be buying another stoeger again. Never had a problem like this before but i will be selling my stoeger once I get it back for a gun of much higher quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2014

Clean off the factory grease first on magazine tub

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Didnt cleaning at first, I took the gun out to the skeet range. Shooting 2 3/4" heavy field loads, I ended up having the gun double fire 3 times on my first box of shells. It did it to my friend twice when he shot it. The next box of Winchester 3Drams eq loads fired fine. I know they recommend shooting some heavy loads throughout it first, but this range didn't allow that, no steel and no shot larger than #6. I took the gun home and took it apart and cleaned the heavy grease off the magazine tube and spring and cleaned the bolt and re-oiled. I also installed the recoil reducer. I then bought a box of 3" and 3.5" steel waterfowl loads and shot 5 stand at another range today. The gun functioned flawlessly, no double fires this time. The final box of 2 3/4" steel #7 trap load , they all loaded but I had 3 times the trigger didn't reset and the gun couldn't fire. I blame this on the lower trap load and still breaking in I think. I am happy with my purchase so far. Used new Carlson waterfowl choke modified , uses the beretta/benelli Mobil choke tubes. Ordered a kicks for it as well. Can't wait to make it rain B52s
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2014

Up there with the best!

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Bought this gun (max-4) in about mid-may. Went and cycled 100 3 1/2 2 shot through it and let me tell you I have used 2 3/4 trap loads and 3 inch loads and even with the recoil reducer installed I have never had an issue with the gun cycling. I also shoot my dad's SBE II and yes their is a difference because the Benelli is lighter and such. but when you put them side by side I have to say I actually enjoy shooting the Stoeger more, I don't feel the kick that many people talk about, it does definetly bark though. one of the main reasons I did look at Stoeger was because it had the Benelli inertia system, which I prefer over gas-systems.
I will definitely buy another somewhere down the line, given the price you definitely will get your moneys worth. Plus just graduating from college I don't have the SBE II type budget, but the Stoeger has definitely made me a believer in that cheaper products can have just as good of quality as the more expensive ones.
But all in all this has to be one of my most favorite shotguns. I have patterned this gun about every 100 rounds and the groupings are not drifting at all same nice tight patterns at 30 yards. I have already put 700 rounds through it since I purchased it and will be putting about another 1000 to 1500 through it during goose and duck season here in Wisconsin and on my duck trip out to North Dakota. I have to give it to Stoeger they have really created one heck of a shotgun in the M3500.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2014

Bought another one

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought a M3500 in black three years ago. I hunt waterfowl and upland birds with it. It performs so well and I shoot so well with it I just bought another M3500 in camo. Easy to clean and maintain. Great performance for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2014

great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Just shot my first 50 rounds with this gun and not a single problem with it..besides my shoulder being numb. I was advised to shoot upwards of 200 rounds of 3.5inch 2 shot…this gun has some serious kick but I would recommend this gun to anyone. Feels great and comes up to your shooting eye nicely. Can’t wait for waterfowl season to start now!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2014

Very nice semi for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought this gun after lots of reading up on it and shooting a m3000. It is a very nice working mans gun. Priced right, and does everything advertised. I installed the recoil reducer right away and it did not shoot the light load 2 3/4 but did shoot heavier load 2 3/4 and up without a hiccup. Just as advertised. Shot about 300 rounds in one day between eight of us, tried out all the chokes and pretty much shot any shell that was laying around in any order it was picked up. No problems. The chokes are good enough that you could miss a bird because the group is that tight on the full and turkey choke. I'm excited to get out there and shoot some geese and ducks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2014

Had it for 2-3 years.

By
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Man you could not ask for a better gun. I've shot every thing from small upland birds to magratorry geese and ducks. It puts a slaying on turkey's. I waded in water up to my chest and gun killed a turkey not five secondes after I got out of the river onto the bank so I could kill the bird. Also shot many geese partridge rabbit and pidgins. Also squirls. It shoots every loud lightly and soft recoils from magnum to large three and a half inch loads. Best gun for the buy and is just as good as my super black eagle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014

Outstanding shotgun

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased this shotgun 2 years ago. I have probably shot upwards of 2000 rounds through it and never had a problem. I used 3 1/2 loads to break it in as suggested, and have had no problems shooting anything from 2 3/4 target loads up to 3 1/2 turkey loads. Gun has never misfired, is easy to break down and clean, and has held up to all types of weather conditions...rain, snow sleet, and hot summer days. I would definitely buy this gun again. I have other friends who have bought the same gun and are just as pleased.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 40