Customer Reviews for STOEGER Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns

STOEGER Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns

Stoeger's Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun features the famous Inertia Driven® operating system for performance-first dependability at a value-driven price. It reliably cycles 2-3/4”, 3” and 3-1/2” shells for maximum versatility in the field or at the range. Red-bar fiber-optic sight offers quick and easy target acquisition, even in low-light conditions. Includes stock-integrated recoil reducer. Receiver is drilled and tapped for Weaver-style scope bases. Includes four choke tubes (improved cylinder, modified, full and extra-full turkey) and choke tube wrench. Also includes shim kit to adjust the fit of the gun for drop and cast. 
Overall Customer Rating:
4.758 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
31 out of 33(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Review 1 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Shotgun for the Money

Date:August 5, 2015
Overall this shotgun has been by far for the best shotgun that have ever bought. It handles very smoothly and is very easy to breakdown and clean. For my first semiautomatic shotgun it has out performed any other shotgun that I have used so far and I will be using this one for a very long time until I absolutely need to upgrade. I think this shotgun handles just as well as the Beretta a400 xtreme which both of my friends have and I have sometimes out shot them without any failures during the hunt and they had a couple stoppages while they were firing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bang for your buck

Date:June 1, 2015
Mine cycles 2-3/4" to 3-1/2 " mag no problem with the recoil reducer installed in my gun. Shot deer slugs target loads goose loads turkey loads the gun just eats ammo up. Never Jams just thoroughly clean and keep going.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing shotgun for the price

Date:March 10, 2015
I bought this shotgun hunting all of the above. We hunt everything form bear to squirrel hunting. I shot my first rabbit and bobcat with it hoping to get a Coyote with it but the gun itself is amazing I cleaned out the Magazine tube with the factory grease it will double fire on you if you don't. It shoots great just and amazing shotgun overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A workhorse even in the mud.

Date:March 6, 2015
I've run a few hundred rounds through the gun both with and without the recoil reducer both light and magnum loads.
The gun doesn't cycle light loads with the recoil reducer installed. I called Stoeger and they confirmed my findings saying it's typical. I'm fine with that. I shoot magnums during duck season.
Years ago a veteran duck hunter said to me "Only bring a gun you're willing to use as a paddle". He was right! This gun has been through mud, muck, snow (lots), sand, rocks, seawater, etc.. I hunt a coastal marsh and get to my spots via canoe. I often wade through low tide muck to retrieve my ducks (no dog). It's a rough life for a gun and I don't baby this gun at all.
This 3500 did well but clean it after use. My only cycling problems occurred when I failed to clean it from the previous day's hunting.
I'd buy it again. But honestly, I'd probably get the Stoeger over/under. It's 6" shorter and easier to maneuver in a canoe and transport. More reliable with fewer moving parts. Plus, I rarely squeeze off three rounds in a row. Two is usually my limit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not perfect, but WOW!

Date:February 9, 2015
First of all, this is my first semi-auto shotgun. Read all the reviews on all the different guns and decided this was indeed the best gun to money out there. I shot 5 rounds in the backyard, then took it sporting clay shooting a few days later. Same rounds and the backyard no problems. Cooler day on the range and I had about 10 failures to feed. Yes, they were 2 3/4", 1 1/8 oz, 3 dram target rounds. I didn't follow the recommended break in process. So, I got what I deserved. Now, let me clarify, I had about 6 failures in the first 4 stations, 4 in the next 6 stations and by the last stations none. I didn't clean anything, it was straight off the shelf at the local gun store. It had been there long enough to collect some store dust, so it wasn't out of the box a week from the factory.
I took it home, cleaned it, took the grease off of it and used gun oil. Went to a church trap shoot 3 weeks later, much cooler than before, where they had el-cheapo shells. No failures shooting 100 plus rounds! Probably a total of 150 more rounds hunting since and no failures. Man does this gun dust bunnies!
If you are looking for a semi-auto, new to it or experienced, don't let user error like my original time out change your mind. Follow the instructions for the break in and you'll have perhaps the finest shotgun for any price out there!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

You get what you pay for

Date:October 9, 2014
I purchased a new stoeger m3500 in July to use as my new duck gun. After reading many many many reviews and looking at other semi auto as well as pumps i decided to take a gamble with the stoeger. I read the manual and broke the gun in EXACTLY the way stoeger said. The gun had a few cycling issues where shells would become hung up in the barrel and manually need to be removed so i switched ammo brand and found that the problem lessened but didn't completely go away even with numerous cleanings. After owning the shotgun 3 months and firing roughly 400 rounds through it i went out on opening day and when i shot at the first duck the gun just went click. The extractor pin in the front of the bolt worked its way out and then got bent causing the gun to malfunction. The bolt wouldnt rotate and the exposed pin gouged the inside of my reciever. I have had to send the gun back to stoeger for warranty work and will not be buying another stoeger again. Never had a problem like this before but i will be selling my stoeger once I get it back for a gun of much higher quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clean off the factory grease first on magazine tub

Date:September 13, 2014
Didnt cleaning at first, I took the gun out to the skeet range. Shooting 2 3/4" heavy field loads, I ended up having the gun double fire 3 times on my first box of shells. It did it to my friend twice when he shot it. The next box of Winchester 3Drams eq loads fired fine. I know they recommend shooting some heavy loads throughout it first, but this range didn't allow that, no steel and no shot larger than #6. I took the gun home and took it apart and cleaned the heavy grease off the magazine tube and spring and cleaned the bolt and re-oiled. I also installed the recoil reducer. I then bought a box of 3" and 3.5" steel waterfowl loads and shot 5 stand at another range today. The gun functioned flawlessly, no double fires this time. The final box of 2 3/4" steel #7 trap load , they all loaded but I had 3 times the trigger didn't reset and the gun couldn't fire. I blame this on the lower trap load and still breaking in I think. I am happy with my purchase so far. Used new Carlson waterfowl choke modified , uses the beretta/benelli Mobil choke tubes. Ordered a kicks for it as well. Can't wait to make it rain B52s
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Up there with the best!

Date:September 8, 2014
Bought this gun (max-4) in about mid-may. Went and cycled 100 3 1/2 2 shot through it and let me tell you I have used 2 3/4 trap loads and 3 inch loads and even with the recoil reducer installed I have never had an issue with the gun cycling. I also shoot my dad's SBE II and yes their is a difference because the Benelli is lighter and such. but when you put them side by side I have to say I actually enjoy shooting the Stoeger more, I don't feel the kick that many people talk about, it does definetly bark though. one of the main reasons I did look at Stoeger was because it had the Benelli inertia system, which I prefer over gas-systems.
I will definitely buy another somewhere down the line, given the price you definitely will get your moneys worth. Plus just graduating from college I don't have the SBE II type budget, but the Stoeger has definitely made me a believer in that cheaper products can have just as good of quality as the more expensive ones.
But all in all this has to be one of my most favorite shotguns. I have patterned this gun about every 100 rounds and the groupings are not drifting at all same nice tight patterns at 30 yards. I have already put 700 rounds through it since I purchased it and will be putting about another 1000 to 1500 through it during goose and duck season here in Wisconsin and on my duck trip out to North Dakota. I have to give it to Stoeger they have really created one heck of a shotgun in the M3500.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bought another one

Date:July 23, 2014
I bought a M3500 in black three years ago. I hunt waterfowl and upland birds with it. It performs so well and I shoot so well with it I just bought another M3500 in camo. Easy to clean and maintain. Great performance for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:June 23, 2014
Just shot my first 50 rounds with this gun and not a single problem with it..besides my shoulder being numb. I was advised to shoot upwards of 200 rounds of 3.5inch 2 shot…this gun has some serious kick but I would recommend this gun to anyone. Feels great and comes up to your shooting eye nicely. Can’t wait for waterfowl season to start now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice semi for the price

Date:May 20, 2014
Bought this gun after lots of reading up on it and shooting a m3000. It is a very nice working mans gun. Priced right, and does everything advertised. I installed the recoil reducer right away and it did not shoot the light load 2 3/4 but did shoot heavier load 2 3/4 and up without a hiccup. Just as advertised. Shot about 300 rounds in one day between eight of us, tried out all the chokes and pretty much shot any shell that was laying around in any order it was picked up. No problems. The chokes are good enough that you could miss a bird because the group is that tight on the full and turkey choke. I'm excited to get out there and shoot some geese and ducks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Had it for 2-3 years.

Date:April 5, 2014
Man you could not ask for a better gun. I've shot every thing from small upland birds to magratorry geese and ducks. It puts a slaying on turkey's. I waded in water up to my chest and gun killed a turkey not five secondes after I got out of the river onto the bank so I could kill the bird. Also shot many geese partridge rabbit and pidgins. Also squirls. It shoots every loud lightly and soft recoils from magnum to large three and a half inch loads. Best gun for the buy and is just as good as my super black eagle.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding shotgun

Date:March 4, 2014
I purchased this shotgun 2 years ago. I have probably shot upwards of 2000 rounds through it and never had a problem. I used 3 1/2 loads to break it in as suggested, and have had no problems shooting anything from 2 3/4 target loads up to 3 1/2 turkey loads. Gun has never misfired, is easy to break down and clean, and has held up to all types of weather conditions...rain, snow sleet, and hot summer days. I would definitely buy this gun again. I have other friends who have bought the same gun and are just as pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet autoloader!

Date:February 1, 2014
I bought this used after reading all the good feedback from cabelas. This is a nice autoloader. Seems like it weighs less than what the specs list. It was already broke in but had no issue for my light reloads Managed a couple chukars on my 1st hunt.It's got the hi vis sights on it so not sure if it's stock or was added on before my purchase.Those sights are great! Unfortunantly mine just came with a coyote choke .I managed a modified choke via cabelas for the chukar hunt. I'll have to pick up the others later.
A lot of confusion with chokes.Anyone wanting to know which chokes to get,this takes the benelli/beretta chokes and cabelas stocks them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bang for the buck

Date:December 29, 2013
Bought gun to use goose and turkey hunt performs flawless break it in right and it will cycle 23/4 aa targetloads to 3/12 steel waterfoul loads very happy with firearm gun performs as well as the B guns
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Two Years - Flawless

Date:December 15, 2013
I have owned the M3500 for two years. Fired every shell from 2 and 3/4 inch to 3 and 1/2 inch flawlessly in all types of weather. Easy to clean. I put an oversize safety on it (same as Benelli M1) -otherwise perfect. Best gun I have owned in 45 years of hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dont belive the hate.

Date:October 23, 2013
My M3500 has never had a misfire, Light strike, Misfed, Jam, or any other malfunction. I've used every assortment in 12GA, it cycles and fires flawlessly. I have owned it for two years now. somewhere around 1000 shells without error. field and range time. I hunt water fowl, whitetail, and small game with it. If i manage to break it ill get another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not happy at first.......

Date:September 6, 2013
After buying this, I couldn't wait to get it out to break it in with some stiff 3-1/2" magnums. It jammed half of the time - I was LIVID. I called Stoeger the same day, and I was told that it needed to be completely disassembled and all of the packing grease removed, then re-oiled. I had my doubts, but took it home and did this. Since then it hasn't missed a lick. Have shot 1-1/8 oz dove loads without a hitch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun for the price!

Date:August 11, 2013
Got my Stoeger M3500 today and its great. Got it home and cleaned it then took it out and put some rounds through it. Works great! Recommend this gun to people that want a reliable gun for a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stoeger Model 3500 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Field Tested

Date:July 26, 2012
I have put the M3500 through everything mother nature can throw at it. 90 degree teal hunts, sub zero Canada goose hunts, to freezing rain during a Snow goose hunt and this gun performed flawlessly. I've shot everything from 2 3/4in 1oz dove loads to 3 1/2in 1 9/16oz goose loads without a problem. It's even honestly been a boat paddle when the trolling motor battery refused to work due to the cold. Stoeger hit a home run with the M3500. Truly an excellent firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 33