Customer Reviews for STOEGER Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun

STOEGER Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun

It features Benelli’s famous Inertia Driven® operating system for performance-first dependability at a value-driven price. It reliably cycles 2-3/4", 3" and 3-1/2" shells for maximum versatility in the field or at the range. Stock-integrated recoil reducer. Includes four choke tubes (IC, M, F, XFT).
Overall Customer Rating:
4.852 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Review 1 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clean off the factory grease first on magazine tub

Date:September 13, 2014
Didnt cleaning at first, I took the gun out to the skeet range. Shooting 2 3/4" heavy field loads, I ended up having the gun double fire 3 times on my first box of shells. It did it to my friend twice when he shot it. The next box of Winchester 3Drams eq loads fired fine. I know they recommend shooting some heavy loads throughout it first, but this range didn't allow that, no steel and no shot larger than #6. I took the gun home and took it apart and cleaned the heavy grease off the magazine tube and spring and cleaned the bolt and re-oiled. I also installed the recoil reducer. I then bought a box of 3" and 3.5" steel waterfowl loads and shot 5 stand at another range today. The gun functioned flawlessly, no double fires this time. The final box of 2 3/4" steel #7 trap load , they all loaded but I had 3 times the trigger didn't reset and the gun couldn't fire. I blame this on the lower trap load and still breaking in I think. I am happy with my purchase so far. Used new Carlson waterfowl choke modified , uses the beretta/benelli Mobil choke tubes. Ordered a kicks for it as well. Can't wait to make it rain B52s
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Up there with the best!

Date:September 8, 2014
Bought this gun (max-4) in about mid-may. Went and cycled 100 3 1/2 2 shot through it and let me tell you I have used 2 3/4 trap loads and 3 inch loads and even with the recoil reducer installed I have never had an issue with the gun cycling. I also shoot my dad's SBE II and yes their is a difference because the Benelli is lighter and such. but when you put them side by side I have to say I actually enjoy shooting the Stoeger more, I don't feel the kick that many people talk about, it does definetly bark though. one of the main reasons I did look at Stoeger was because it had the Benelli inertia system, which I prefer over gas-systems.
I will definitely buy another somewhere down the line, given the price you definitely will get your moneys worth. Plus just graduating from college I don't have the SBE II type budget, but the Stoeger has definitely made me a believer in that cheaper products can have just as good of quality as the more expensive ones.
But all in all this has to be one of my most favorite shotguns. I have patterned this gun about every 100 rounds and the groupings are not drifting at all same nice tight patterns at 30 yards. I have already put 700 rounds through it since I purchased it and will be putting about another 1000 to 1500 through it during goose and duck season here in Wisconsin and on my duck trip out to North Dakota. I have to give it to Stoeger they have really created one heck of a shotgun in the M3500.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bought another one

Date:July 23, 2014
I bought a M3500 in black three years ago. I hunt waterfowl and upland birds with it. It performs so well and I shoot so well with it I just bought another M3500 in camo. Easy to clean and maintain. Great performance for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:June 23, 2014
Just shot my first 50 rounds with this gun and not a single problem with it..besides my shoulder being numb. I was advised to shoot upwards of 200 rounds of 3.5inch 2 shot…this gun has some serious kick but I would recommend this gun to anyone. Feels great and comes up to your shooting eye nicely. Can’t wait for waterfowl season to start now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice semi for the price

Date:May 20, 2014
Bought this gun after lots of reading up on it and shooting a m3000. It is a very nice working mans gun. Priced right, and does everything advertised. I installed the recoil reducer right away and it did not shoot the light load 2 3/4 but did shoot heavier load 2 3/4 and up without a hiccup. Just as advertised. Shot about 300 rounds in one day between eight of us, tried out all the chokes and pretty much shot any shell that was laying around in any order it was picked up. No problems. The chokes are good enough that you could miss a bird because the group is that tight on the full and turkey choke. I'm excited to get out there and shoot some geese and ducks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Had it for 2-3 years.

Date:April 5, 2014
Man you could not ask for a better gun. I've shot every thing from small upland birds to magratorry geese and ducks. It puts a slaying on turkey's. I waded in water up to my chest and gun killed a turkey not five secondes after I got out of the river onto the bank so I could kill the bird. Also shot many geese partridge rabbit and pidgins. Also squirls. It shoots every loud lightly and soft recoils from magnum to large three and a half inch loads. Best gun for the buy and is just as good as my super black eagle.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding shotgun

Date:March 4, 2014
I purchased this shotgun 2 years ago. I have probably shot upwards of 2000 rounds through it and never had a problem. I used 3 1/2 loads to break it in as suggested, and have had no problems shooting anything from 2 3/4 target loads up to 3 1/2 turkey loads. Gun has never misfired, is easy to break down and clean, and has held up to all types of weather conditions...rain, snow sleet, and hot summer days. I would definitely buy this gun again. I have other friends who have bought the same gun and are just as pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet autoloader!

Date:February 1, 2014
I bought this used after reading all the good feedback from cabelas. This is a nice autoloader. Seems like it weighs less than what the specs list. It was already broke in but had no issue for my light reloads Managed a couple chukars on my 1st hunt.It's got the hi vis sights on it so not sure if it's stock or was added on before my purchase.Those sights are great! Unfortunantly mine just came with a coyote choke .I managed a modified choke via cabelas for the chukar hunt. I'll have to pick up the others later.
A lot of confusion with chokes.Anyone wanting to know which chokes to get,this takes the benelli/beretta chokes and cabelas stocks them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bang for the buck

Date:December 29, 2013
Bought gun to use goose and turkey hunt performs flawless break it in right and it will cycle 23/4 aa targetloads to 3/12 steel waterfoul loads very happy with firearm gun performs as well as the B guns
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Two Years - Flawless

Date:December 15, 2013
I have owned the M3500 for two years. Fired every shell from 2 and 3/4 inch to 3 and 1/2 inch flawlessly in all types of weather. Easy to clean. I put an oversize safety on it (same as Benelli M1) -otherwise perfect. Best gun I have owned in 45 years of hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dont belive the hate.

Date:October 23, 2013
My M3500 has never had a misfire, Light strike, Misfed, Jam, or any other malfunction. I've used every assortment in 12GA, it cycles and fires flawlessly. I have owned it for two years now. somewhere around 1000 shells without error. field and range time. I hunt water fowl, whitetail, and small game with it. If i manage to break it ill get another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not happy at first.......

Date:September 6, 2013
After buying this, I couldn't wait to get it out to break it in with some stiff 3-1/2" magnums. It jammed half of the time - I was LIVID. I called Stoeger the same day, and I was told that it needed to be completely disassembled and all of the packing grease removed, then re-oiled. I had my doubts, but took it home and did this. Since then it hasn't missed a lick. Have shot 1-1/8 oz dove loads without a hitch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun for the price!

Date:August 11, 2013
Got my Stoeger M3500 today and its great. Got it home and cleaned it then took it out and put some rounds through it. Works great! Recommend this gun to people that want a reliable gun for a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Field Tested

Date:July 26, 2012
I have put the M3500 through everything mother nature can throw at it. 90 degree teal hunts, sub zero Canada goose hunts, to freezing rain during a Snow goose hunt and this gun performed flawlessly. I've shot everything from 2 3/4in 1oz dove loads to 3 1/2in 1 9/16oz goose loads without a problem. It's even honestly been a boat paddle when the trolling motor battery refused to work due to the cold. Stoeger hit a home run with the M3500. Truly an excellent firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GET THIS GUN

Date:July 23, 2012
i have a rem 870 wingmaster awesome gun but not a duckblind gun. i bought this in the intent to use it this year for duck and turkey. i have about 700 rounds through this gun not one misfire or anything. i love this gun. cant go wrong. and you dont pay for the name like rem or benelli but the quality of them without breaking the bank. thats my 2cents
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THE BEST GUN FOR THE MONEY!!!!

Date:June 27, 2012
I bought my M3500 last season. this shot gun shoots so smooth and that helps me keep a beed on the targets and will shoot as fast as you can pull the trigger. I shot 4 boxes that day and it didnt miss a beat. I love this gun!!!! All my friends are all selling thier guns to get a M3500.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:June 25, 2012
I have owned this gun for over year now. I shot a years worth of skeet last year and most of the way through with skeet this year. Nearly 1000 2-3/4" shells at clays and very minor issues, most of which have been my fault. I have also used this gun numerous times hunting in the marsh side by side with some $1500+ guns and have watched their guns fail a time or two while mine has gone boom boom boom everytime while hunting. I would highly recommend breaking the gun in with some fairly heavy 3-1/2" shells if you could. It does kick fairly hard with the larger loads but after break in I can cycle anything from the lightest to the heaviest loads with out any issues. I personally soak the outside of the magazine tube where the recoil spring slides as well the slides themselves and the bolt heavily prior to use with the smaller loads and the M3500 hasn't failed me yet. Shot my best rounds of skeet with this gun!
LOVE IT!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Columbia, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Big Bang for the buck!!

Date:March 9, 2012
I bought the gun since I was very new to duck hunting. I had been shooting my friends Winchester X2 but thought that if I did not continue to duck hunt, I would not be out of pocket a bunch. I bought the gun, I am addicted to duck and goose hunting and love the gun from top to bottom. I have cycled everything through the gun and it works flawlessly. Gun is easy to clean, easy to disassemble and re-assemble. The gun is a tad heavy with the recoil reducer but felt the same as the X2 I had been using. I bought the 28" barrel and have no regrets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spanish Fork, UT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cycled like a beast!!!

Date:January 12, 2012
This ran through everything i put through it. I ran 3.5 to 3" dove load and it did it all without a hitch. I definitely recommend installing the recoil reducer if you are doing 3.5 loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stoeger M3500 Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mt Olive IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy For The Money Best In Price Range

Date:December 19, 2011
Bought a new M3500 in july took it right out of the box and shot the cheepest 2-3/4 to the hevest 3.5s in no order just seeing if it would do what the reveiws i saw online said it would was not disapointed have used the gun for a dove and duck season and half of a goose season the olny issue i have is finding info on aftermarket choke tubes and that it will not cycle ligh 2-3/4 loads with the recoil reducer in (will not pick up next round) other than the it has out preformed all the 11-87 supermags and mossberg 935 i have shot would recomend it to any one who dose not have 1000-1500 to spend on a gun i think it is the best auto loader in its price range waited to write review to have real feild time with gun over 500 rounds with out a miss i hope this helps you
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 27