Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles

RUGER Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles

Based on the scout-rifle concept - one rifle capable of handling just about any hunting or survival situation - the Ruger M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifle delivers versatility and power in a light, compact, fast-handling rifle. It’s chambered in .308 Winchester and outfitted with a 10-round detachable magazine. Includes removable flash suppressor. The 5/8-24 threaded barrel fits most standard .30-cal. muzzle accessories. Other highlights include sturdy Mauser-type extractor, rugged one-piece stainless steel bolt, medium-contour cold-hammer-forged barrel; glass-reinforced nylon trigger guard and magazine well, three-position, safety adjustable rear peep sight with post front sight, and weather-resistant stock with recoil pad and studs for mounting sling swivels.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Review 1 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denton, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger Scout Rifle

Date:November 7, 2011
Superb handling and workmanship, to be expected of a truly American company! It uses the M77 bolt action which has been proven to be one of the best! And they wisely calibered the rifle in .308 to be effective in any non-feather game setting on the continent when used by an experienced shooter! With the short barrel it is perfect for the field and good on horseback with the right scabard! Only a M-14 could do a better job!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome, but dirty, filthy mags from the factory.

Date:December 1, 2011
Upfront, it's a Five Star rifle that I gave four stars because Ruger should have known better. When I recieved it I cleaned it as usual, but I didnt think about cleaning the inside of the Mag. After firing a few rounds, the action gummed up and it was very tough to cycle. I looked at the shell casings after each shot and they were filty with a thick grease- from the inside of the mags. It's as if the mags were never put through a wash after the going through the progressive stamping die. I'm an engineer- and that's unexcusable in a manufacturing setting. Anyway, once I figured it out, I cleaned all the mags (I bought four of them) and retried. Now, I can say- aside from my 1917 Enfield, it's the best bolt action gun I've fired. Steel mags are pricey, but Ruger came out with plastic mags this month. Get them instead to avoid the problem I had. Buy it, you'll love ii. I mounted a Leopold FX 2.5x scope to it, just like Boston said. :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality do all rifle

Date:December 30, 2011
I got this rifle right after Christmas as a gift to myself. I am very happy of my purchase. After a normal new buy cleaning, it feels like it can handle the test of time. It is well built, light, and ready for hunting after I get some 5 round poly mags. I am very happy with this buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fredericksburg, Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this little rifle.

Date:March 1, 2012
I'm 70, and have owned lots of rifles, some of them Rugers, lots of firearms. I think this one is the best of the lot and highly recommend the Ruger Gunsite .308 to anyone who doesn't want to keep a bunch of rifles around. This one does it all!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Born/raised in West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger Gunsite LH Rifle

Date:March 11, 2012
Quality Mauser action rifle, accurate, comfortable, light weight, nice. Would & have recommended to friends...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good rifle

Date:November 7, 2012
shoots really well at 100 yards dime size groups 200 yards inch groups really pleased with it few problems when i first got it action felt gritty an jammed the bolt after working it it went away stock is alittle to short after putting a scope an bipod on its heavy
a 5 round mag would have been nice if it was included with the rifle
the gsr could be better improved with a synthetic stock 18 inch fluted barrel an bolt (cut down on weight) full length scope mount an double sling swivels
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice do-all rifle

Date:December 28, 2012
I bought this rifle earlier this year and have not regreted this rifle whatsoever. The overall fit and finish of this weapon are top notch. Me and a couple friends were shooting tactical.308s and this seemed (at least to me) to be nicer than ones AR-10 and the others Reminton 700. The rifle is excellent right out of the box,
the only thing I did to it before deer season was add a sling. Its adjustable stock is really nice for a semi custom fit. I am not very precise with the ghost ring sights that come stock with the gun, but they are very popular in many circles. After deer season I added a tactical long-range scope but even with super high rings the large 50mm objective bell would not fit because of the picatinny rail, had to remove it but fill screws for the holes are readily obtained. With the scope and a harris bipod I got some excellent groups at 50 yds. (that was the furthest I could shoot at the range). this rifle easily merits 5 stars-the only thing I would change in the rifle would be compatible with AR-10 or M-14 mags (the ruger ones are very expensive to buy).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fear the man with one gun..

Date:February 26, 2013
.. for he probably knows how to use it. I believe this to be true although I am not sure that it is about this model. My only complaint is that the barrel is to short and you lose 30 fps velocity with every inch of barrel below a 20 inch. I still gave 5 stars despite the barrel length and here is why.. I have owned 4 Ruger bolt action rifles. This is the best made that I have ever had!! It is very well made with free floated barrel, drop out mag, nice laminate stock, bedded action, flash hider, and 3 different options for sights. I love it and can't wait for the 18 inch stainless model to arrive whenever Ruger gets them distributed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome gun

Date:May 5, 2013
This gun shoots great right out of the box. I did have to add the extra stock pieces to adult size. I did have a issue with the bolt and had to send it back because the brass were all getting damaged. I was told that I was cycling the bolt to fast and if I slowed down my action the casings would not be damaged. It worked but I did not buy this gun to treat it like a woman.
Extra magazines are expensive, ay parts are big money and nothing is interchangeable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one smart gun

Date:June 22, 2013
I purchased this rifle to use for general use take camping for protection, some hunting, and just good old target.... I like the weight and short barrel. Carries well when slung and cycles very nice. I paired it with a vortex red/green dot scope. It works very good for me as I dont shoot long distance 50-60 yards. My son does shoot long distance and has used it he claims it very good at 100-150yards. The scout concept makes it a very good general purpose fire arm. I have not had any problems with it at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent firearm.

Date:July 8, 2013
The rifle is great. Only thing that was a bit of a drag is that the metal 10 round box magazine that comes with the rifle is very grimey inside and has to be taken apart and cleaned before use. This magazine is hard to take apart. I purchased the plastic magazines from ruger and they are much nicer and fit snuggly as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The do it all rifle...

Date:July 24, 2013
I bought this gun originally for a Minnesota woods gun but now.. I have put a Minox 3x15x42mm scope onto the XS Sight System full length rail with see through rings. A bi-pod, sling, poly mag, and a M60 muzzle break. I am now ready for my Wyoming trip at long range shots and anything else I can think of!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Go to gun!

Date:August 13, 2013
I bought this rifle because i had heard a lot of great things about it and had watched some testing videos, so i decided to give it a try. Quite possibly the most versatile rifle i have ever owned. I have hunted everything from deer to elk to cougar to bear and would probably use this rifle for any hunt i would go on. Smooth action bolt and really set up to modify however you want. Great gun and has really become my go to rifle for whatever i am going out to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: Armenia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Problems

Date:September 5, 2013
Bought this gun and took it to the range. I used factory Winchester 308 rounds. The rounds would chamber but after firing the bolt was extreamely stiff to open. I shot 5 rounds and all extracted the same. I took the rifle back to Cabela's for them to send bact to Ruger and they told me this was the 4th Ruger that morning that had been brought in with problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:October 17, 2013
I purchased this gun because I wanted a shorter rifle that would work well in a blind. I was also looking for something with length of pull below 13" because I'm on the short side. After much searching I found the Gunsite Scout. I shot it with and without scope and it's pretty accurate either way. It is NOT an MOA rifle so don't expect it to be. I'm happy with 2" inch groups from 100 yards and I was able to do that with plain old Remington Core Lokt 150grain. The action is reliable, but a little on the rough side. The trigger was pretty crispy and about 4 lbs, not bad.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle In Any Configuration!

Date:October 23, 2013
I have had this rifle for over a year now and marvel at its versatility. Iron sites at 50 yards it is dead accurate. Scout Scope even tighter. With a 4X12 and rail kit, it is unbelievable at 200 yards. Be sure to use good ammo, 308 WIN ONLY and don't go with cheap off brands. This rifle is great with Hornady SST, if you can find it and very good with Hornady White Tail. Easy to maintain, fun to shoot and probably accurate farther than I can see. Get one and get rid of your other rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Scout fan

Date:October 28, 2013
The mags need a little work. I have to give this gun many stars it replaced my Remington vtr. I'm very impressed small,light,and accurate at long range. Good job Ruger
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great firearm

Date:January 22, 2014
Put a scope on my Gunsight Scout and had it bore sighted at Cabelas today. Went over to Barracks 616 shooting range to sight it in, and all shots grouped very well. Right now it's 1" high at 25 yards, good enough until the weather warms up so I can zero it at 200 yards. I'm very happy with the groups I was shooting from a bag rest. I was using Remington UMC, 150 grain ammo. I plan on trying different brands for best accuracy in a hunting cartridge. Thank you Cabela's for having what I wanted, in stock, and bore sighting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® M77 Gunsite Scout Bolt-Action Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Update

Date:February 8, 2014
Since my last review I've contacted Ruger about plug screws, in the event someone, like me, wants to remove the weaver base for scope clearance when mounting the scope back closer to the shooter. Ruger sent me the screws at no charge. Very quickly I might add. Excellant customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.