Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols

RUGER Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols

Lightweight and compact for comfortable carry, the double-action-only Ruger LC9 9mm Pistol has an alloy-steel blued barrel and slide, a glass-filled nylon frame and adjustable three-dot sights. Crisp trigger pull for quicker, spot-on shooting. Checkered grip frame. Includes finger-grip extension floorplate that can be added to the magazine. Striker-fired versions of the award-winning LC9. 7+1 capacity. Made in USA. Available: • LC9s – Can be used with all existing LC9 accessories, including lasers, holsters and extended nine-round magazines. •  LC9s Pro – No external manual safety, magazine disconnect or inert magazine. Can be used with all existing LC9 accessories, including lasers, holsters and extended nine-round magazines. Safety features include an integrated trigger safety and inspection port that allows for visual confirmation of a loaded or empty chamber. • LC9s Package – Same as the LC9s above with a Blade-Tech Total Eclipse Ambidextrous Holster, one seven-round magazine and gun lock. Cabela's Exclusive. • LC9s Kryptek Neptune™ – Can be used with all existing LC9 accessories, including lasers, holsters and extended nine-round magazines. Safety features include a manual thumb safety, internal lock and magazine disconnect. Kryptek Neptune camo stock. • LC9s Muddy Girl – Can be used with all existing LC9 accessories, including lasers, holsters and extended nine-round magazines. Safety features include a manual thumb safety, internal lock and magazine disconnect. Muddy Girl camo stock.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.901 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
6
1 Star
9
55 out of 71(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Review 1 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

LC9S-PRO Conceals easily, trigger not good

Date:January 12, 2016
I didn't like the trigger at all. Lot of creep, not a clean break, with really no discernible reset. Gun wasn't accurate at 15+ yards at all for me. Put 200 rds through it with no failures so it shoots good. It's size makes it very easy to conceal just about anywhere. With a trigger job this might make an excellent CCW.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

almost a 5

Date:November 17, 2015
Handles good, about 500 rounds so far with no problems, fits in front pocket or small hip holster easily. Small enough for easy carry, large enough for good grip. Would be a 5 but for pain in the butt take down. Need to use small allen wrench, paper clip, or small screw driver on leatherman. Sights are adequate, better than stock Glock gen 2. Would be nice if supplied with extra mag. Easiest concealed carry I've owned in 25 yrs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handy and Dandy!!!

Date:November 16, 2015
My search for a reliable, concealable, and adequately powerful concealed carry gun is over! I initially considered myself "a revolver guy," believing that a revolver is "more reliable." Looked really hard at the 642 Smith, which was about $50 more. Smith was harder to conceal and even though it was "hammerless," the cylinder printed worse and it was generally less ergonomic. Ruger fit in the side pocket of my Wranglers just fine. And when you compare 5 rounds of .38 spl with 8 rounds of 9mm in a slimmer, easier to pack weapon, it's a no brainer. Plus the doohicky that Ruger so thoughtfully put on the bottom of the magazine gives my big paws plenty of purchase on the grip to be comfortable. And it's a Ruger, which means it'll fire with a pound of sand in the breech. Took it to the range and it digested everything I fed it with no hiccups whatsoever. Recoil was less than my wife's SP 101, which is built like a bank vault and nowhere near as concealable. And did I mention 8 rounds vs. 5? This little Ruger will be my constant companion. I chose the "pro" model because I wanted to avoid the childproof safety dreck. Getcha one while they're cheap!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Questionable reliability

Date:March 23, 2015
LC9S. Owned for 3 weeks. After 75 rounds of regular ammo (not +P) the circular end of the guide rod in the recoil spring assembly detached. It seems to be a press fit. This rendered the pistol non functional. Called Ruger customer service and they are mailing a new assembly at no charge. Otherwise it is a nice pistol. Good trigger. Slide easy to rack. Accurate enough. Small enough for pocket carry. Hopefully the new recoil spring assembly will be reliable. However, it doesn't inspire confidence in a personal protection firearm. I bought this for my girlfriend. I have a KelTec PF-9. Not as nice as the Ruger, but I have had it for years and it has never malfunctioned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Nice Pistol for Concealed Carry

Date:January 15, 2015
I purchased this pistol primarily for conceal carry. It is very small and carries nicely in a pocket or inside the pant holster. The accuracy is very good with the Lasermax and I find the recoil easily manageable. The trigger is super long, but that is a safety feature for carrying. Aftermarket trigger kits are available if you want to change it. The slide stop on mine would not actuate because of a weak magazine spring. One call to Ruger customer service took care that! Overall a very good 9mm for concealed carrying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My new favorite gun.

Date:December 7, 2014
My first Ruger pistol and it is by far my new favorite gun. Compact, reliable, accurate, and eats any ammo you feed it. After 1000 rounds of various brands of ammo it has been 100% reliable.
The trigger of this LC9s is one of the best I have experienced. Better than my XDM which is no slouch.
If you are looking for a compact single stack 9mms look no further.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Missed the mark

Date:December 4, 2014
Yes it is affordable, easy to conceal and with 9mm back on the shelves, economical to shoot. That is about all that is good about the firearm. The trigger pull is heavy and very long. Which makes it difficult to shoot for accuracy. The front site post moves in a stiff breeze. It is just not worth the frustration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:November 9, 2014
I bought the LC9S 9mm this gun was right on the money out of the box the trigger pull was great not at all like the LC9. Great weight easy to conceal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

A major letdown.

Date:October 6, 2014
I purchased my LC9 (hammer fired) a little over a year ago as my first CCW. Yes the trigger pull is heavy and long, yes it has a lot of lawyer related safeties, but it was the perfect size and perfect price. I put a few hundred rounds through it no problem before I noticed the front sight was drifting. Called up Ruger Customer service. They sent me out a new slide with the front sight pinned down. I get the package in the mail and open it only to find a side that had finish damage on the left side. A bunch of micro pitting that looked like a mini shotgun had hit the side. A gun is a tool. Doesn't have to look pretty. Bothered me a bit but not enough to warrant sending it back.
4 days ago I picked up my LC9S. I had such high hopes for the gun. The plastic recoil rod was redesigned. The heavy trigger pull has been replaced by crisp striker fire system. On paper it looks like Ruger took all the problems with the lc9 and improved on them. Well I'm still carrying my old lc9 for a reason.
The magazine that came with the weapon was USA made and was a dull flat black color.. The follower was incorrectly cut so it would not push the slide lock lever up when the magazine was empty. Contacted Ruger customer service and they sent me out new followers. Great.
Meanwhile I took it out to the range with my old 7 round magazines. I fired a few hundred rounds of brass cased ammo and was plagued by failure to ejects and to a lesser extent failure to feed.
I got home and started cleaning the firearm. I have no idea why Ruger redesigned the ejector housing. It's now smaller and farther to the left. I'm not even sure it makes contact with the spent casing at all. The extractor is also loose! I can wiggle it no problem and it sticks in whatever position I wiggle it too. If I manually insert a spent casing into the extractor it's so loose it's a wonder it could grab anything at all.
I hope that everything wrong with the firearm can be fixed. Otherwise I have an extremely expensive paperweight that I just added to my collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little CCW

Date:June 8, 2014
Sold off my LCP-380 and stepped up to a little more power, weight, and an easy to handle pocket piece. Took me 30 rounds to get used to the trigger pull but much better and more options than the sweet little LCP--you will not be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Far a Great Little Gun

Date:February 17, 2014
Bought this for my wife for her birthday, she had a Sig Sauer Mosquito but 22LR ammo in high velocity was impossible to find. She picked it out because it was purple, but i did my research on the gun itself. Bought from Cabelas because they had the best price , compared to Scheels and a local gun shop. She is a novice shooter but was able to shoot this easily and comfortably. I have had other Ruger pistols in the past that have been junk but this one really breaks the mold. Easy to use, accurate (for a ccw pistol) and just the right combo of power and light recoil. Only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it only comes with 1 mag (i get that you may only carry it with one but come on you need a second for practice at least). For the price I tnink a spare mag would be reasonable. I would recommed the 9 rounder for practice shooting! Also guy at Cabelas sold 3 while we were there but could not tell us if they were +P rated (manual says you can use +P ammo but it will reduce usable life of firearm). All in all a nice little ccw, I kinda want one for myself now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little gun

Date:February 14, 2014
Shot Sig ,Glock, Springfield and others and think this is a great little gun. Mag doesn't drop out as some have said. Trigger takes a little getting use too but 30 to 40 rounds in you can adjust. I like My 1911 but size doesn't lend it's self to concealed . For the sub compact size I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unsure of reliability. Maybe just bad luck?

Date:January 5, 2014
I bought the firearm about 4 months ago. It's a nice, compact, good looking gun. On paper this is a very nice firearm. Unfortunately in reality I can't say that I'm very comfortable relying on this as a CCW. When I originally got the firearm the front sight was not pinned down at all. After a few hundred rounds the front sight felt like it could be shifted around with nothing more than a stiff wind. I contacted Ruger and they sent me a replacement slide in the mail within a week . Regardless of what I think of their product I will admit that Ruger customer service is excellent.
With that problem fixed and a few hundred more rounds through the gun, I'm now having issues with my magazine popping out after firing. I have tried different ways of holding the firearm and I do not have any part of my hand near the mag release button. I am using factory Ruger magazines. I have since removed the finger extensions in the chance that my grip was causing the issue. We'll see after the next time I go to the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun but requires practice

Date:December 29, 2013
I have owned this gun for almost two years now. When I first bought it I loved the looks, the way it felt and how easy it was to conceal but there was one big problem. A small gun, long trigger pull, 9mm, and very thin grip. Gun was almost impossibly to shoot accurately. I was told by several people to run about 300 rounds through it and practice a lot. The gun is small and light so it has a snappy recoil. The laser max laser sight is dead on if you can hold the gun steady enough while firing it. I was about to trade it in when after about the 6th time to the range I figured out the trick to shooting this gun. Firm grip and you have to fire the weapon using the tip of your finger. Once you try this and you fire about 300 rounds the gun is then very accurate and very deadly. I was hitting 2 to 3 inch groupings with rapid fire at 4 yards and 3 to 5 inch groupings at about 10 yards. Pretty impressive from such a small, light gun. This is not a gun you can just pick up and expect to be accurate. It takes some practice and getting use to but that is the compromise for a sub compact high caliber gun. It is extremely light and very easy to conceal. Laser is very accurate. I recommend this gun for conceal carry but if your looking for something that is easier to Handel and doesn't have a snappy recoil I suggest a compact or full size pistol. I will say this is the nicest sub compact I have shot compared to other high caliber pocket pistols. If you want conceal ability I recommend the Ruger LC9.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Pistol, Wrong Shooter

Date:December 23, 2013
I purchased this pistol for my wife in hopes to intrigue her interest enough to pursue her CCP after loving my 1911. I purchased the laser model to aid in her ease of use. Overall, the pistol operates flawlessly. The grouping is decent considering the short handle and the snappy recoil. Long story short, we most likely will be looking to sell this pistol in favor of purchasing another 1911. Again, this pistol is very good at what it was designed for, with some excellent features, aside from the dual action trigger, it just doesn't work for my wife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Small Frame Gun

Date:December 1, 2013
I bought this gun for the size and weight. It is super slim and about the same width as my cell phone. The trigger is extremely long but that doesn’t bother me because I don’t use it as a CCW gun. It normally stays in my hunting pack as an emergency gun or for finishing animals up close (a job it has excelled at). I don’t even notice it in my backpack when I am hiking or in my tackle box. I have large hands and like the feel of it better than the subcompact Glock because I can wrap my hand all the way around it. Accuracy is good enough at 10 to 15 yards, but after that you’re better off choosing a different pistol. The gun has some slop to it and does rattle when I shake it but I haven’t had any trouble with it over the last 2 years and probably 1000 rounds. I would say buy this gun based on the price if you want a small reliable automatic that is lightweight, just make sure you are ok with the trigger before buying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Do NOT Underrate This Pistol!

Date:October 23, 2013
Bought this as a CCW gun. It took some practice with such a small pistol, but it really does sport great accuracy. This is by no means a target competition pistol, but it is great at hitting central mass at 10, 15 and 25 yards once you work with it and break it in. Uses any ammo and is a breeze to maintain. Conceals like a dream. A modern "pocket gun" with the utmost Ruger reliability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good summer carry

Date:October 5, 2013
I bought this based on size and my good experiences with Rugers. This is a really well built pistol and has been 100 percent reliable over the first 1500 rounds. It is exactly what it should be, a good small defensive weapon. This isn't a range gun so 25 yard accuracy is weak and the trigger is really long. But I've come to appreciate the inherent safety of the long trigger pull for a pocket pistol. The slide safety doesn't bother me since I've grown up shooting 1911s but I still hate the magazine release safety's.
Good reliable defensive weapon!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love my LC9

Date:September 29, 2013
took some getting used to, very looong trigger pull and a different recoil than I was used to but after some time at the range have come to love this gun! Very well made very accurate right out of the box. Disappears in my pocket and over all just a great little gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LC9

Date:August 25, 2013
Rugged, reliable, good shooting, easy to break down, and concealable with numerous safety features. Priced right and made in USA. Add a Laser-Max laser and you have a great self defense/home defense weapon at any tome of day. This pistol packs a punch. It flawlessly consumes any type of ammo it is fed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 71