Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol

RUGER Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol

Lightweight and compact for comfortable carry, the double-action-only LC9 9mm Pistol has an alloy-steel blued barrel and slide, a glass-filled nylon frame and adjustable three-dot sights. 7+1 capacity. Made in USA. Available: LC9 with CTC Laser – The same lightweight and compact LC9 Pistol outfitted with a Crimson Trace® Laserguard® for spot-on accuracy. LC9 with LaserMax – The same classic LC9 Pistol equipped with a LaserMax centerfire laser for point-and-shoot perfection. LC9s – Striker-fired version of the award-winning LC9. Short, light and crisp trigger pull for quicker, spot-on shooting. Can be used with all existing LC9 accessories, including lasers, holsters and extended 9-round magazines. Checkered grip frame. Includes finger-grip extension floorplate that can be added to the magazine. LC9 with Viridian Green Laser – The same classic LC9 Pistol equipped with a Viridian Green Laser for rapid target acquisition.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.953 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
8
50 out of 64(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Review 1 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:November 9, 2014
I bought the LC9S 9mm this gun was right on the money out of the box the trigger pull was great not at all like the LC9. Great weight easy to conceal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

A major letdown.

Date:October 6, 2014
I purchased my LC9 (hammer fired) a little over a year ago as my first CCW. Yes the trigger pull is heavy and long, yes it has a lot of lawyer related safeties, but it was the perfect size and perfect price. I put a few hundred rounds through it no problem before I noticed the front sight was drifting. Called up Ruger Customer service. They sent me out a new slide with the front sight pinned down. I get the package in the mail and open it only to find a side that had finish damage on the left side. A bunch of micro pitting that looked like a mini shotgun had hit the side. A gun is a tool. Doesn't have to look pretty. Bothered me a bit but not enough to warrant sending it back.
4 days ago I picked up my LC9S. I had such high hopes for the gun. The plastic recoil rod was redesigned. The heavy trigger pull has been replaced by crisp striker fire system. On paper it looks like Ruger took all the problems with the lc9 and improved on them. Well I'm still carrying my old lc9 for a reason.
The magazine that came with the weapon was USA made and was a dull flat black color.. The follower was incorrectly cut so it would not push the slide lock lever up when the magazine was empty. Contacted Ruger customer service and they sent me out new followers. Great.
Meanwhile I took it out to the range with my old 7 round magazines. I fired a few hundred rounds of brass cased ammo and was plagued by failure to ejects and to a lesser extent failure to feed.
I got home and started cleaning the firearm. I have no idea why Ruger redesigned the ejector housing. It's now smaller and farther to the left. I'm not even sure it makes contact with the spent casing at all. The extractor is also loose! I can wiggle it no problem and it sticks in whatever position I wiggle it too. If I manually insert a spent casing into the extractor it's so loose it's a wonder it could grab anything at all.
I hope that everything wrong with the firearm can be fixed. Otherwise I have an extremely expensive paperweight that I just added to my collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little CCW

Date:June 8, 2014
Sold off my LCP-380 and stepped up to a little more power, weight, and an easy to handle pocket piece. Took me 30 rounds to get used to the trigger pull but much better and more options than the sweet little LCP--you will not be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Far a Great Little Gun

Date:February 17, 2014
Bought this for my wife for her birthday, she had a Sig Sauer Mosquito but 22LR ammo in high velocity was impossible to find. She picked it out because it was purple, but i did my research on the gun itself. Bought from Cabelas because they had the best price , compared to Scheels and a local gun shop. She is a novice shooter but was able to shoot this easily and comfortably. I have had other Ruger pistols in the past that have been junk but this one really breaks the mold. Easy to use, accurate (for a ccw pistol) and just the right combo of power and light recoil. Only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it only comes with 1 mag (i get that you may only carry it with one but come on you need a second for practice at least). For the price I tnink a spare mag would be reasonable. I would recommed the 9 rounder for practice shooting! Also guy at Cabelas sold 3 while we were there but could not tell us if they were +P rated (manual says you can use +P ammo but it will reduce usable life of firearm). All in all a nice little ccw, I kinda want one for myself now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little gun

Date:February 14, 2014
Shot Sig ,Glock, Springfield and others and think this is a great little gun. Mag doesn't drop out as some have said. Trigger takes a little getting use too but 30 to 40 rounds in you can adjust. I like My 1911 but size doesn't lend it's self to concealed . For the sub compact size I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unsure of reliability. Maybe just bad luck?

Date:January 5, 2014
I bought the firearm about 4 months ago. It's a nice, compact, good looking gun. On paper this is a very nice firearm. Unfortunately in reality I can't say that I'm very comfortable relying on this as a CCW. When I originally got the firearm the front sight was not pinned down at all. After a few hundred rounds the front sight felt like it could be shifted around with nothing more than a stiff wind. I contacted Ruger and they sent me a replacement slide in the mail within a week . Regardless of what I think of their product I will admit that Ruger customer service is excellent.
With that problem fixed and a few hundred more rounds through the gun, I'm now having issues with my magazine popping out after firing. I have tried different ways of holding the firearm and I do not have any part of my hand near the mag release button. I am using factory Ruger magazines. I have since removed the finger extensions in the chance that my grip was causing the issue. We'll see after the next time I go to the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun but requires practice

Date:December 29, 2013
I have owned this gun for almost two years now. When I first bought it I loved the looks, the way it felt and how easy it was to conceal but there was one big problem. A small gun, long trigger pull, 9mm, and very thin grip. Gun was almost impossibly to shoot accurately. I was told by several people to run about 300 rounds through it and practice a lot. The gun is small and light so it has a snappy recoil. The laser max laser sight is dead on if you can hold the gun steady enough while firing it. I was about to trade it in when after about the 6th time to the range I figured out the trick to shooting this gun. Firm grip and you have to fire the weapon using the tip of your finger. Once you try this and you fire about 300 rounds the gun is then very accurate and very deadly. I was hitting 2 to 3 inch groupings with rapid fire at 4 yards and 3 to 5 inch groupings at about 10 yards. Pretty impressive from such a small, light gun. This is not a gun you can just pick up and expect to be accurate. It takes some practice and getting use to but that is the compromise for a sub compact high caliber gun. It is extremely light and very easy to conceal. Laser is very accurate. I recommend this gun for conceal carry but if your looking for something that is easier to Handel and doesn't have a snappy recoil I suggest a compact or full size pistol. I will say this is the nicest sub compact I have shot compared to other high caliber pocket pistols. If you want conceal ability I recommend the Ruger LC9.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Pistol, Wrong Shooter

Date:December 23, 2013
I purchased this pistol for my wife in hopes to intrigue her interest enough to pursue her CCP after loving my 1911. I purchased the laser model to aid in her ease of use. Overall, the pistol operates flawlessly. The grouping is decent considering the short handle and the snappy recoil. Long story short, we most likely will be looking to sell this pistol in favor of purchasing another 1911. Again, this pistol is very good at what it was designed for, with some excellent features, aside from the dual action trigger, it just doesn't work for my wife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Small Frame Gun

Date:December 1, 2013
I bought this gun for the size and weight. It is super slim and about the same width as my cell phone. The trigger is extremely long but that doesn’t bother me because I don’t use it as a CCW gun. It normally stays in my hunting pack as an emergency gun or for finishing animals up close (a job it has excelled at). I don’t even notice it in my backpack when I am hiking or in my tackle box. I have large hands and like the feel of it better than the subcompact Glock because I can wrap my hand all the way around it. Accuracy is good enough at 10 to 15 yards, but after that you’re better off choosing a different pistol. The gun has some slop to it and does rattle when I shake it but I haven’t had any trouble with it over the last 2 years and probably 1000 rounds. I would say buy this gun based on the price if you want a small reliable automatic that is lightweight, just make sure you are ok with the trigger before buying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Do NOT Underrate This Pistol!

Date:October 23, 2013
Bought this as a CCW gun. It took some practice with such a small pistol, but it really does sport great accuracy. This is by no means a target competition pistol, but it is great at hitting central mass at 10, 15 and 25 yards once you work with it and break it in. Uses any ammo and is a breeze to maintain. Conceals like a dream. A modern "pocket gun" with the utmost Ruger reliability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good summer carry

Date:October 5, 2013
I bought this based on size and my good experiences with Rugers. This is a really well built pistol and has been 100 percent reliable over the first 1500 rounds. It is exactly what it should be, a good small defensive weapon. This isn't a range gun so 25 yard accuracy is weak and the trigger is really long. But I've come to appreciate the inherent safety of the long trigger pull for a pocket pistol. The slide safety doesn't bother me since I've grown up shooting 1911s but I still hate the magazine release safety's.
Good reliable defensive weapon!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love my LC9

Date:September 29, 2013
took some getting used to, very looong trigger pull and a different recoil than I was used to but after some time at the range have come to love this gun! Very well made very accurate right out of the box. Disappears in my pocket and over all just a great little gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LC9

Date:August 25, 2013
Rugged, reliable, good shooting, easy to break down, and concealable with numerous safety features. Priced right and made in USA. Add a Laser-Max laser and you have a great self defense/home defense weapon at any tome of day. This pistol packs a punch. It flawlessly consumes any type of ammo it is fed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Conceal Carry

Date:August 13, 2013
Just purchased this new from Cabelas last week and have to say I'm thrilled with it. Many issues other people are having I have not experienced. Yes it has a long trigger pull but this hasn't been an issue for me. Firing off consecutive rounds has been wonderful and at 25ft the grouping was satisfactory.
Has fired and extracted every round of the 150 or so I've put through it so far. The first trip to the range was a bit unnerving because I didn't do well with grouping or accuracy. Second time around I put about 100 rounds through it and was very satisfied.
Some pointers about the gun. It has a long trigger pull. So if you like hair triggers, not the gun for you. It's lightweight so expect a kick. My fiancé felt that the .357 LCR firing .38 had less kick than the LC9. The grips can be a bit harsh to sensitive hands. Not an issue for me because it does provide excellent grip. Very concealable, many safety features that some May or may not find desirable. The loaded chamber indicator DOES NOT interfere with the sights. It looks sexy.
Final thoughts - it serves it's purpose as a CCW, it may take some practice to get where you want. It's a subcompact 9mm, don't expect to nail your target at 50yrds every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Disappointed

Date:August 2, 2013
I got this for my wife for a concealed carry. We both though a 9mm would be good for her due to the light recoil, and the laser seemed like a great Idea. However this gun has a few major flaws.
1. The slide/barrel has too much play so the laser does not stay accurate. You can push on the side of the slide with your finger and change how much the laser is off by up to a foot at 10 yards!!!
2. The trigger pull is very long and heavy. My wife can't hit anything because of the trigger and I have trouble. We both shoot my PX4 compact much more accurately. I even tried a much cheaper SCCY 9mm that had a much better trigger pull.
3. The recoil is very harsh. Maybe it's the shape but we both had a bruise on our thumb knuckle where the dovetail hits right below the slide. My Kimber .45 has about the same perceived recoil. Again the cheap and light SCCY had much less felt recoil.
I only shot a few rounds through that SCCY, so I'm not exactly recommending it, but it's the closest thing I've tried for comparison. I love my Beretta PX4 so I'll probably get her one of those in 9mm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great carry gun

Date:June 3, 2013
Most importantly, it always goes bang and loads the next round. Trigger took about 150 rounds, evaluation and focus to master, But it is what its meant to be. Has fired 115, 124, and 135 grain without issue. And it disappears in my pocket. So the bottom line is, it does what it was designed to do. Also as accurate as one can expect from a gun this size. And furthermore on the trigger criticism, take it to the range and practice. That's all you need
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LC9 with Lasermax

Date:May 26, 2013
I recently purchased this pistol. I admit that I was actually wanting an S&W Shield, but the only shop at which I could find one in stock wanted $140 more than Cabelas listed price. I settled for the LC9 as a compromise, but I have to admit I have been very happy that I did.
I'm a big guy and find that trying to carry my full size M&P 9mm is very difficult to conceal without printing. The LC9 carries easily in my front pocket without printing (ok, a little, but it looks like a wallet in a good pocket holster). Doesn't matter whether I'm wearing casual slacks or blue jeans, pocket carry with this gun is very comfortable.
The LC9 was very accurate for me when I took it to the range, easily getting 3-4 inch groups first time at 25 feet. I still consider myself a novice, but I feel confident that I could hit what I'm aiming at with this gun, with or without the laser. I did need to fine tune the aim of the laser, but that was simple with the included wrench.
I was surprised that the LC9 was as comfortable to fire as it was. Yes, the trigger pull is long, but I view that as a matter of training. It does provide me with a little more assurance that it won't accidentally discharge while I'm carrying it close to parts of my body that I particularly care about keeping intact. I find that if I focus on keeping a good grip and trigger finger placement that the long pull isn't an issue. But then again, I'm enough of a novice that I tend to blame myself for things that go wrong instead of blaming the gun.
Bottom line so far: nothing has fallen off or broken, it's gone bang every time I pulled the trigger, and I usually hit what I've aimed at (or at least come very close). I like the LC9 and am happy to recommend it. I still want a Shield, but this fits better in my pocket, which means I'm more likely to carry it and have it when I need it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Is what it is

Date:May 5, 2013
I purchased this firearm solely for concealed carry. I gave it 5 stars only because that is what it should be used for in my opinion. Its light and concealable, functioned flawlessly after 50 rounds of factory ammunition. I don't believe this is a plinking firearm. Its construction over time in my opinion would not hold up to such use, therefore with that said I would like to explain in my opinion why. The frame is made out of nylon, when you take the gun down you see why it is so light, the recoil spring pin is also made out of plastic. I noticed some wear on the slide and the barrel after running 50 rounds through it. It is what it is, you get what you pay for. If I was grading it on quality of construction and materials I wouldn't give it more than a 3 star. Great gun for concealed carry though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:May 4, 2013
Used this weapon for CCW training. Couldn't have asked for a better pistol. Due to round limitations of current time I ran this untested. Managed to shoot true first try during test, Couldn't be happier. Thanks Ruger and CTC!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® LC9® 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does what it's Supposed to Do

Date:March 28, 2013
As a two year enthusiast of shooting, and from the standpoint of personal carry defense, I find this gun to be a great choice for newcomers.
I selected it as my second choice piece for carry. Reasons I have chose this are purely SAFETY, caliber, size and weight. I think the LONG Trigger pull is an ADVANTAGE as far as safety goes; newcomers, in my opinion do not need hairpin triggers which could further the chance of accidental discharges. YES the manual safety is objectionable to some experienced shooters, but to a newcomer, I find it the ultimate safety backup behind the long trigger pull.
Practice at the range of the mechanics of using that left thumb to tick off the manual safety over and over as you grab/grip the gun before shooting goes a long way to ensuring that you would not forget to turn the safety off in a time of intense pressure in an emergency defensive use. I purposely practice this mechanical exercise over and over.
Those who complain about the long trigger pull... should not because it is inherent in most double actions... BUT again... this is a safety plus for me. Most who complain about the long pull perhaps may not have taken into account the amount of adrenaline that would be present in a "situation" ... that LONG PULL will surely seem like a SHORT pull in the heat of the moment. Also... How can you complain about a long trigger pull... Didn't you try the gun before you bought it?
Gun has been very dependable, solid feel like all Rugers and a great size for a 9mm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 64