Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol

RUGER Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol

Lightweight and compact for comfortable carry, the double-action-only LC9 9mm Pistol has an alloy-steel blued barrel and slide, a glass-filled-nylon frame and adjustable three-dot sights. 7+1 capacity. Made in USA. Available: LC9 with CTC Laser – The same lightweight and compact LC9 Pistol outfitted with a Crimson Trace Laserguard for spot-on accuracy. LC9 with LaserMax – The same classic LC9 Pistol equipped with a LaserMax centerfire laser for point-and-shoot perfection. LC9 Purple – The same classic LC9 Pistol with purple, high-performance, glass-filled-nylon frame and trigger guard. LC9 Raspberry – The same classic LC9 Pistol with raspberry high-performance, glass-filled-nylon frame and trigger guard.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
48 out of 61(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Review 1 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:January 28, 2013
This gun was purchased new at Cabella's on 12/19/2012. First trip to the range, the magazine would pop out of the handle on every shot. Hoping this was a magazine problem, I purchased a 2nd magazine. The 2nd trip to the range, same thing. Needless to say the gun went back to Ruger for Warrantee repair. Also found it impossible to shoot accurately due to the Looooong - Hard trigger pull. When shaking this gun, a sloppy rattle inside the slide can be heard. Soon this gun will join the large number of other used LC9s for sale in the gun Library at Cabella's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

looks nice but don't work

Date:May 5, 2012
I bought this pistol and returned it the same day. Before I will carry a gun, it has to function 100% with at least 150 rounds of FMJ and HP. I chambered a round, squeezed the trigger (which was awful by the way), and sent a round downrange. Squeezed the trigger again. Nothing. A close look showed that the next round didn't seat. Okay, maybe a bad round. I ejected the round and tried again. Same results. This isn't the first time I've had problems with Ruger autos.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:March 24, 2012
Front sight moved every shot. Way to much play in carrier and barrel. At 5 to 7 yds very hard to hit paper. Return ruger and got a Bersa BP9CC.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Oconomowoc, WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

36 trigger pulls, 12 shots

Date:January 13, 2012
This pistol came highly recommended and my Ruger P94 in 40 S&W has been perfect. I took it to the range tonight with new, quality ammo shot 2 clips worth of ammo. It took 3 attempts for every shot (on average). If there were an external hammer, it might not be as bad, but I had to manually cycle the action, remove the cartridges and reload them into the clip.
Pistol is going back to Cabelas on Monday. For a tool on which survival depends, this quality is absolutely unacceptable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pacific NW
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

LC 9 A PROBLEM CHILD !!!

Date:November 15, 2011
I was in the market for a very small 9mm carry pistol.
I rented a Ruger LC9. I was concerned about a glass filled nylon frame since this was tried unsuccessfully in sports equipment. Durability is questionable.
After firing about 25 rds. of low velocity FMJ I reached the following conclusions;
Due to it's light weight second shot targeting is poor.
With a double action only 13 lb. long trigger pull accuracy is compromised.
It is very concealable but its small grip has quite a bit of snap.
I ordered one and took it to the range. I fired about 15 rds. and experienced several light strikes on the primer resulting in misfires, several fail to ejects and fail to feed.
Replacement gun #1 had several misfires some strikes entirely missing the primer and a few failure to feed and eject.
Replacement gun #2
I did not test fire this gun because the trigger was so poor I sent it back. These 3 LC 9's had serial numbers between 60,000 and 69,000.
My next replacement gun was a Kahr MK 9. It cost quite a bit more but has everything good about the LC 9 and a whole lot more.
I used to like Ruger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sloppy gun

Date:April 12, 2011
Bought this gun and got home and I was shocked at the slop in the manufacture of this gun. I gave it a try and mounted a trigger guard laser. So much slop between the frame and slide the laser is all over the place. Since I was getting this as a "point and shoot" for my wife kinda defeated the whole idea. Sold it and bought a Kahr CW9 and love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Meriden,Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not reliable

Date:March 26, 2011
LCP misfires from the first time to the range until now. Sent it back to Ruger and they replaced the slide. it's no better. It's a one shot pistol. maybe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unsure of reliability. Maybe just bad luck?

Date:January 5, 2014
I bought the firearm about 4 months ago. It's a nice, compact, good looking gun. On paper this is a very nice firearm. Unfortunately in reality I can't say that I'm very comfortable relying on this as a CCW. When I originally got the firearm the front sight was not pinned down at all. After a few hundred rounds the front sight felt like it could be shifted around with nothing more than a stiff wind. I contacted Ruger and they sent me a replacement slide in the mail within a week . Regardless of what I think of their product I will admit that Ruger customer service is excellent.
With that problem fixed and a few hundred more rounds through the gun, I'm now having issues with my magazine popping out after firing. I have tried different ways of holding the firearm and I do not have any part of my hand near the mag release button. I am using factory Ruger magazines. I have since removed the finger extensions in the chance that my grip was causing the issue. We'll see after the next time I go to the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Disappointed

Date:August 2, 2013
I got this for my wife for a concealed carry. We both though a 9mm would be good for her due to the light recoil, and the laser seemed like a great Idea. However this gun has a few major flaws.
1. The slide/barrel has too much play so the laser does not stay accurate. You can push on the side of the slide with your finger and change how much the laser is off by up to a foot at 10 yards!!!
2. The trigger pull is very long and heavy. My wife can't hit anything because of the trigger and I have trouble. We both shoot my PX4 compact much more accurately. I even tried a much cheaper SCCY 9mm that had a much better trigger pull.
3. The recoil is very harsh. Maybe it's the shape but we both had a bruise on our thumb knuckle where the dovetail hits right below the slide. My Kimber .45 has about the same perceived recoil. Again the cheap and light SCCY had much less felt recoil.
I only shot a few rounds through that SCCY, so I'm not exactly recommending it, but it's the closest thing I've tried for comparison. I love my Beretta PX4 so I'll probably get her one of those in 9mm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: lawrence kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

cheap

Date:December 28, 2011
i just got this gun and i hate the triger pull its very long
i have had it about 4 days i shot about 100 rounds and im ready to trade it off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Lafayette, La
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Trigger pull difficult

Date:July 5, 2011
Purchased this as my concealed carry weapon, unfortunately after 600 + rounds I still find it lacks accuracy. Partly due to the double action trigger pull and the sloppy rail system I cannot suggest this weapon. Infact I intend to sell it as soon as possible. I find the sig 220, my antique ortes 380 and the glock 23 have a much smoother trigger pull thus increased accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good Pistol ....but why did they do this?

Date:May 2, 2011
I purchased the Ruger LC9 at a gunshow because I liked the feel and the fact it used a 9mm round. The first thing I noticed is all the safety features: Locking safety, side safety, magazine safety, and double action trigger. I would prefer a slide release (since it locks open after the last round) in place of the side safety which is really useless. The double action is long which means you really have to practice with this at the range to hit anything. I fired 200 rounds through mine and am still hitting all over the place. Hopefully, the gun will settle down like the LCP did. I recommend the Kahr 11 instead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Pistol, Wrong Shooter

Date:December 23, 2013
I purchased this pistol for my wife in hopes to intrigue her interest enough to pursue her CCP after loving my 1911. I purchased the laser model to aid in her ease of use. Overall, the pistol operates flawlessly. The grouping is decent considering the short handle and the snappy recoil. Long story short, we most likely will be looking to sell this pistol in favor of purchasing another 1911. Again, this pistol is very good at what it was designed for, with some excellent features, aside from the dual action trigger, it just doesn't work for my wife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good not Great

Date:August 3, 2012
Not my first choice for a conceal carry gun. I bought this for the safety features. As I am very responsible with my firearms, I have small children and care more about their safety and got a gun with (more then enough safety features) to keep my wife and myself at ease. The LC9 is a good gun. It's worth every penny you pay for it, and lives up to the ruger reputation quite well. This firearm is pretty slim and tucks nicely into the waistband or under the arm. However.... This puppy isn't recommended for shooting +P ammo. Which if you're like me, thats a problem. I want as much stopping power (as well as fire power) into the smallest package I can get! I know, I know, why don't I just get a .40? Like I said, I want fire power too. usually the .40 has 1 less round. Again, this is a good gun, but I'm keeping my eyes peeled for something better. When I find it, I'm saying goodbye to the LC9.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Outside in Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

LC9 LaserMax

Date:March 15, 2012
First time out: Looonngggg trigger pull! About fell asleep pulling the trigger back for the first shot of my new gun. Yeah, the one that's supposed to save my life. Gotta pull with the tip of your finger or it won't work very good. Had the laser on. After the shot, the laser was gone. Had to take the laser apart and move the battery around to get contact again. Did that several times, finally gave up. Went back to my trusty 9mm. (Another Brand) Kept the gun for now, we'll see.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Serves its Purpose

Date:March 9, 2012
Im not overal impressed. Ive had a couple chambering issues when loading the first round off the mag. However once the first round is chambered the gun performs flawlessly. You cant find a 9MM for this price size and weight anywhere else. This has some serious kick for a 9MM due to its small frame and extremely light weight. Great for conceal and carry. Not great to go defend your house with. It could be better. But it serves its purpose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Far a Great Little Gun

Date:February 17, 2014
Bought this for my wife for her birthday, she had a Sig Sauer Mosquito but 22LR ammo in high velocity was impossible to find. She picked it out because it was purple, but i did my research on the gun itself. Bought from Cabelas because they had the best price , compared to Scheels and a local gun shop. She is a novice shooter but was able to shoot this easily and comfortably. I have had other Ruger pistols in the past that have been junk but this one really breaks the mold. Easy to use, accurate (for a ccw pistol) and just the right combo of power and light recoil. Only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it only comes with 1 mag (i get that you may only carry it with one but come on you need a second for practice at least). For the price I tnink a spare mag would be reasonable. I would recommed the 9 rounder for practice shooting! Also guy at Cabelas sold 3 while we were there but could not tell us if they were +P rated (manual says you can use +P ammo but it will reduce usable life of firearm). All in all a nice little ccw, I kinda want one for myself now!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun but requires practice

Date:December 29, 2013
I have owned this gun for almost two years now. When I first bought it I loved the looks, the way it felt and how easy it was to conceal but there was one big problem. A small gun, long trigger pull, 9mm, and very thin grip. Gun was almost impossibly to shoot accurately. I was told by several people to run about 300 rounds through it and practice a lot. The gun is small and light so it has a snappy recoil. The laser max laser sight is dead on if you can hold the gun steady enough while firing it. I was about to trade it in when after about the 6th time to the range I figured out the trick to shooting this gun. Firm grip and you have to fire the weapon using the tip of your finger. Once you try this and you fire about 300 rounds the gun is then very accurate and very deadly. I was hitting 2 to 3 inch groupings with rapid fire at 4 yards and 3 to 5 inch groupings at about 10 yards. Pretty impressive from such a small, light gun. This is not a gun you can just pick up and expect to be accurate. It takes some practice and getting use to but that is the compromise for a sub compact high caliber gun. It is extremely light and very easy to conceal. Laser is very accurate. I recommend this gun for conceal carry but if your looking for something that is easier to Handel and doesn't have a snappy recoil I suggest a compact or full size pistol. I will say this is the nicest sub compact I have shot compared to other high caliber pocket pistols. If you want conceal ability I recommend the Ruger LC9.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Small Frame Gun

Date:December 1, 2013
I bought this gun for the size and weight. It is super slim and about the same width as my cell phone. The trigger is extremely long but that doesn’t bother me because I don’t use it as a CCW gun. It normally stays in my hunting pack as an emergency gun or for finishing animals up close (a job it has excelled at). I don’t even notice it in my backpack when I am hiking or in my tackle box. I have large hands and like the feel of it better than the subcompact Glock because I can wrap my hand all the way around it. Accuracy is good enough at 10 to 15 yards, but after that you’re better off choosing a different pistol. The gun has some slop to it and does rattle when I shake it but I haven’t had any trouble with it over the last 2 years and probably 1000 rounds. I would say buy this gun based on the price if you want a small reliable automatic that is lightweight, just make sure you are ok with the trigger before buying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® LC9 9mm Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good summer carry

Date:October 5, 2013
I bought this based on size and my good experiences with Rugers. This is a really well built pistol and has been 100 percent reliable over the first 1500 rounds. It is exactly what it should be, a good small defensive weapon. This isn't a range gun so 25 yard accuracy is weak and the trigger is really long. But I've come to appreciate the inherent safety of the long trigger pull for a pocket pistol. The slide safety doesn't bother me since I've grown up shooting 1911s but I still hate the magazine release safety's.
Good reliable defensive weapon!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 61