Customer Reviews for SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol

SIG SAUER SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol

The subcompact SIG Sauer P290 9mm Pistol is SIG Sauer's most innovative polymer pistol. This lightweight handgun is designed to meet the demands of today's law-enforcement professionals for backup duty as well as concealed carry for citizens. 6+1 capacity. Double-action trigger.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Review 1 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

P290RS

Date:August 25, 2014
Excellent, well made firearm! Fit and finish is supurb.
I have over 200 rounds fired so far with zero issues. FMJ and JHP all fed well. Acuracy is very good. A tad bit heavy and blocky for pocket carry, but is do-able with proper pants and holster. IWB carry is a breeze! For a DAO trigger it's pretty good, not the best, but close...IMO
4.5 stars...had to round up;)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:March 30, 2013
bought this gun for a concealed hand gun. Carries well and shoot great. Everything I could ask for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sig P290 Just what you need

Date:March 14, 2013
Purchased a Sig P290 for concealed carry about 6 weeks ago. Did a lot of research on the smaller 9 MM and found this one to be my choice for size, taredown, and quality. somewhat small to my larger hands but this was solved by buying a couple of the higher capacity magazines offered by Sig. Problem solved. On the range, this little guy has handled everything i put through it. Terrific product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hip carry only

Date:September 23, 2012
I would recommend this gun as a great hip carry weapon, still a little to heavy for pocket carry though. I purchased the gun just about 9 months ago and dont regret it at all, I have put about 300-400 rounds through this weapon and it still fires great,! Sig's quality has been upheld with this gun for sure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good sub compact

Date:September 16, 2012
First off if you believe that Sig told someone that it is normal for this gun to shoot 18" low at 5 yards I have a bridge to sell you. I have bought 28 handguns in the last two years. Of those I only kept 8 and the Sig is one of them.
First off please note that this is the old version of the P290 which is why it is on sale. The new version is the P290 RS which provides restrike capability and fixes some small problems some people had reported. The gun is about the same weight as other popular polymer guns its size so it is not heavy at all. Out of all the guns I have owned with extended magazines this is the only one that feels solid and does not move when I grip it. I wanted a gun that was easy to conceal and yet could provide me a full grip and more rounds for duty in the car or while bike riding. The Sig P290 fits my needs perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

P290 with problems

Date:March 12, 2012
Bought the P290 and right out of the box it had a broken slide stop spring. Cabelas was very good about it and issued me a new p290. That one had light strikes and got worse the more i shot it. Both these guns were April/March 2011 manufacturing dates. I sent the second gun back to Sig myself. New Trigger group and Magazine catch and it works great. Reaon for the 5 stars is it shoots great and feeds ammo great.. love this gun. Just know that some early production runs had some problems which is normal, but sig has the solution figured out. It cost me nothing to send it to sig they had it fo 2 weeks. Not sorry I bought this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

p290

Date:January 23, 2012
I have owned and shot over 300 rds through this little gem.amazing accuracy,even with cheap amo.A bit heavy to carry as a pocket gun,but carries nicely on the hip.The night sights are great! Now available with a opptional 8rd.mag.nicely extending the grip for a man's hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great DAO Trigger on the P290RS

Date:April 15, 2013
Purchased this pistol about 6 months ago and have really liked the dry fire feature of the gun for DAO trigger practice! I don't have to cock the pistol to dry fire the gun and have saved a lot of money on ammo [if you can find it], I use safety snap caps to protect the firing pin! Accurate and is concealable @ about 20 oz.. I am going to buy another for my daughter's university graduation present. The mini-laser however was the only shortcoming and was sent directly back to Sig. The Sig model to get is the RS model for dry firing feature.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice pocket carry

Date:March 2, 2013
I bought this gun for pocket carry, and to get a 9MM that I could afford to shoot often. This gun works well as a pocket carry for me, but I'm a bigger guy (6'2", 200 lbs).
This is the first compact that I've bought that I was able to get decent groups with. I had an M&P that just wouldn't group for me and did not hold comfortably.
It shoots about 2" low at 10 yards; I haven't adjusted the windage yet by drifting the sights, but did adjust the laser.
I have had 1 issue with a round stove piping after about 200 rounds, and that was on the 2nd magazine. No FTE's or FTF.
The laser is pretty cool, but I don't know how long it will hold up. This is my first laser, so I don't have much experience.
It wasn't the easiest pistol to field strip, but I had less problems than the first time I field stripped a 1911, and a lot less trouble than the 1st time I field stripped an M1A. I'm not sure what all the complaints are about.
It feels a lot more solid than the other pistols of comparable size that I looked at, and I love SIG's customer service and confidence in their products.
I do not regret buying this, and would recommend it to someone looking for a small 9MM handgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Interesting Weapon

Date:March 3, 2012
I wanted a more compact, "pocketable" carry SIG. I love SiGs. The P290 went on sale so I bought one even though I'm not a big DAO fan. However, I find the P290 trigger interesting to use. It seems to have a couple of built in "stops" along the way of its fairly long pull that give me an indication of where I am relative to the eventual break. Just near the end of the travel there's a spot where I can pause and steady my aim and then it ends up like a light DA/SA sort of feel. The gun is accurate right out-of-the-box and I was able to feel comfortable and shoot reasonably well right away. I had one problem with striking the primer which took 3 strikes but it was probably due to the lousy ammo I shoot. Otherwise there were no failures. The gun is a bear to field strip until you figure it out (but no, you don't really need 3 hands). My only real critisism is that there is no indicator for having, or not having, a round in battery. Since the springs are kinda stiff for a woman, partial racking for a look see is a bit of a problem. But that's my only gripe. Fun to shoot, no malfs, decent size, a little weighty, interesting trigger about sums it up. BUT this may all be moot with the advent of the new P938, which I would have waited for if I had known about it. Still, not sorry about my P390 purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sig P290

Date:March 12, 2012
I own other Sigs. Initially, I really liked this gun - quality workmanship, easy to control, accurate, no malfunctions with first 3 boxes of target ammo.
But --- for a small handgun, too heavy for pocket carry. If you're going to wear a holster, why not carry something else?
Worse yet, VERY difficult to field strip for cleaning. See if you can take it apart by yourself before buying.
Not recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SIG Sauer® P290™ Pistol
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Overpriced failure

Date:June 30, 2012
First let me say that I purchased this gun based on size, tritium night sight, laser included. First time I went to the range it shot 18" low at 5 yards. I call Sig and they said if I use the installed tritium iron sights, I should expect the results I got. Apparently you have to aim the gun by "covering the target with the barrel". This means that the advertised tritium sights are worthless. Second, when at close range the laser can not be seen using the "cover the target" aiming. basically, I paid full price for a gun that (since the extra features are useless) should sell for about 80% of full price. I guess that is why it is on sale this week for 80% of full price. I would recommend it at the sale price, if I was not so upset about them advertising what they are not delivering. One other thing I should mention, is that the standard "sand paper" grip is hard on the skin when carrying IWB. This can be fixed by ordering other grip side plates. They are removable, kind of like cellphone covers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.